DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted on 12/30/2024, 03/11/2025 and 07/27/2026 been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 and 19 are objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1 of claim 12, replace “claim 8” with -- claim 9 --, or on line 2 of claim 12 replace “the plurality” with -- a plurality --;
On line 1 of claim 19, replace “claim 15” with -- claim 16 --, or on line 2 of claim 16 replace “the plurality” with -- a plurality --.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Stewart (US 20160182174 A1).
Consider claim 1, Stewart discloses a television (TV) signal receiver (read as device 700, a television that includes DVB-T2 receiver 710, figure 7, par [0027]), comprising:
a radio-frequency (RF) receiver circuit configured to receive a plurality of broadcast TV signals from a corresponding plurality of TV signal transmitters (read as DVT-T2 receiver 710 receiving broadcast DVB-T2 signal 701 through an antenna and implementing the figure 6 method for DTV receiver 210, which receives signals 201-1 through 201-4 from broadcasters 200-1 through 200-4, respectively; with the DVT-T2 receiver 710 and the DTV front-end as the RF receiver circuit, figures 5-7, par [0023]-[0024] and [0027]); and
a control circuit configured to (read as processor 760, a stored-program control processor, executing the figure 6 software stored in memory 765, figure 5, par [0027]):
determine a plurality of propagation delays for the received plurality of broadcast TV signals, respectively (read as the processor 760 executing the figure 6 software to determine, for each received signal from its corresponding transmitter, the time differential Ti – ti between reception time Ti and transmission time ti; using ρi = c(Ti – ti) as the distance between the corresponding transmitter and receiver and correct receiver buffering or progressing delay, so the intervale from transmission to reception corresponds to the respective propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0025]-[0027]);
determine a location of the TV signal receiver based on a time-of-arrival (TOA) of the plurality of broadcast TV signals and the plurality of propagation delays, respectively (read as measure reception time Ti for each corresponding transmitter and that tuning multiple channels provides multiple time of arrival estimates, and determine each corresponding time differential Ti – ti and ρi = c(Ti – ti), then ues the indexed ρi values in the equations that solve receiver coordinates x, y, z and possible error b; thus, the location is determined based on each broadcast signal’s time of arrival and corresponding propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0024]-[0025] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 8, Stewart discloses a method performed by a television (TV) signal receiver for supporting broadcast positioning service (BPS) (read as the figure 6 method use in DTV receiver 210, which implements a geolocation feature from received broadcast TV signals, figure 6, par [0017] and [0024]) comprising:
receiving a plurality of broadcast TV signals from a corresponding plurality of TV signal transmitters (read as DVT-T2 receiver 710 receiving broadcast DVB-T2 signal 701 through an antenna and implementing the figure 6 method for DTV receiver 210, which receives signals 201-1 through 201-4 from broadcasters 200-1 through 200-4, respectively; with the DVT-T2 receiver 710 and the DTV front-end as the RF receiver circuit, figures 5-7, par [0023]-[0024] and [0027]);
determining a plurality of propagation delays for the received plurality of broadcast TV signals, respectively (read as the processor 760 executing the figure 6 software to determine, for each received signal from its corresponding transmitter, the time differential Ti – ti between reception time Ti and transmission time ti; using ρi = c(Ti – ti) as the distance between the corresponding transmitter and receiver and correct receiver buffering or progressing delay, so the intervale from transmission to reception corresponds to the respective propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0025]-[0027]); and
determining a location of the TV signal receiver based on a time-of-arrival (TOA) of the plurality of broadcast TV signals and the plurality of propagation delays, respectively (read as measure reception time Ti for each corresponding transmitter and that tuning multiple channels provides multiple time of arrival estimates, and determine each corresponding time differential Ti – ti and ρi = c(Ti – ti), then ues the indexed ρi values in the equations that solve receiver coordinates x, y, z and possible error b; thus, the location is determined based on each broadcast signal’s time of arrival and corresponding propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0024]-[0025] and [0027]-[0028]).
Consider claim 15, Stewart discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium, having stored thereon computer-executable instructions that, when executed by a processor device, cause the processor device to (read as device 700, a television that includes DVB-T2 receiver 710, with processor 760, a stored-program control processor, executing the figure 6 software stored in memory 765, figures 5 and 7, par [0027]):
receive a plurality of broadcast television (TV) signals from a corresponding plurality of TV signal transmitters (read as DVT-T2 receiver 710 receiving broadcast DVB-T2 signal 701 through an antenna and implementing the figure 6 method for DTV receiver 210, which receives signals 201-1 through 201-4 from broadcasters 200-1 through 200-4, respectively; with the DVT-T2 receiver 710 and the DTV front-end as the RF receiver circuit, figures 5-7, par [0023]-[0024] and [0027]);
determine a plurality of propagation delays for the received plurality of broadcast TV signals, respectively (read as the processor 760 executing the figure 6 software to determine, for each received signal from its corresponding transmitter, the time differential Ti – ti between reception time Ti and transmission time ti; using ρi = c(Ti – ti) as the distance between the corresponding transmitter and receiver and correct receiver buffering or progressing delay, so the intervale from transmission to reception corresponds to the respective propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0025]-[0027]); and
determine a location of a TV signal receiver based on a time-of-arrival (TOA) of the plurality of broadcast TV signals and the plurality of propagation delays, respectively (read as measure reception time Ti for each corresponding transmitter and that tuning multiple channels provides multiple time of arrival estimates, and determine each corresponding time differential Ti – ti and ρi = c(Ti – ti), then use the indexed ρi values in the equations that solve receiver coordinates x, y, z and possible error b; thus, the location is determined based on each broadcast signal’s time of arrival and corresponding propagation delay estimate, figures 6-7, par [0024]-[0025] and [0027]-[0028]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stewart (US 20160182174 A1) of Pattabiraman et al. (U.S 20100073229 A1).
Consider claim 12, as applied to claim 8 above, Stewart discloses the plurality of communication frames further comprise measurement for each of one or more TV signal transmitters of the plurality of TV signal transmitters (read as T2 frames whose data symbols carry the Network Information Table (NIT) and Cell List Descriptor 110, which includes altitude, latitude and longitude fields for each transmitter; each broadcaster transmit that descriptor and DTV receiver 210 receives it for the respective channels, par [0018], [0020] and [0023]-[0024]); and the measurements for each TV signal transmitter of the one or more TV signal transmitters comprise one or more of a tower location, an antenna pattern, a bootstrap timing offset, and a transmit power level for the TV signal transmitter and for one or more neighboring TV signal transmitters of the TV signal transmitter (read as the altitude, latitude and longitude fields as the geocentric coordinates of the corresponding transmitter, figures 3 and 6, par [0020] and [0025]) but does not specifically disclose the measurements as neighboring measurements.
Nonetheless, Pattabiraman discloses transmitting neighboring towers assistant information, which each beacon transmitting a data stream of embedded assistance data that includes Geocode data (Latitude, Longitude and Altitude) of the towers and geocode information about the adjacent towers; the further disclose the digital or analog TV positioning signals and neighboring towers broadcasting position information about towers in the vicinity, figure 2, par [0049], [0052], [0063] and [0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pattabiraman into the teachings of Stewart, to configure Stewart’s Cell List Descriptor signaling to include Pattabiraman’s adjacent towers geocodes, in order to maintain access to adjacent/neighboring transmitter coordinates through neighboring broadcast assistance when a particular tower’s own data is unavailable (see par [0078] of Pattabiraman).
Consider claim 13, as applied to claim 12 above, Stewart, as modified by Pattabiraman, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose validating the location of the TV signal receiver based on the neighbor measurements.
Nonetheless, Pattabiraman further discloses position quality and integrity checks, which the geocode information about adjacent towers, and uses transmitter locations (xi, yi, zi) to compute a fix, evaluates the position estimates using a position quality metric based on pseudo-range residuals and geometry of the towers relative to the estimated position, and performs receiver integrity monitoring based on a check of consistency of measurements is used to eliminate "outlier" measurements; the geocodes identity the transmitter positions that define the tower geometry, so these position quality and integrity checks corresponds to validating the estimated receiver location based in part on the neighboring measurements, par [0052], [0159], [0168] and [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Pattabiraman into the teachings of Stewart, which modified by Pattabiraman, to configure Stewart’s receiver location calculation using Pattabiraman’s position quality metrics and receiver integrity monitoring, in order to asses the calculated location using tower geometry and eliminate outlier measurements that may result from synchronization loss or multipath (see par [0168] and [0179]).
Consider claim 19, as applied to claim 15 above, Stewart discloses the plurality of communication frames further comprise measurement for each of one or more TV signal transmitters of the plurality of TV signal transmitters (read as T2 frames whose data symbols carry the Network Information Table (NIT) and Cell List Descriptor 110, which includes altitude, latitude and longitude fields for each transmitter; each broadcaster transmit that descriptor and DTV receiver 210 receives it for the respective channels, par [0018], [0020] and [0023]-[0024]); and the measurements for each TV signal transmitter of the one or more TV signal transmitters comprise one or more of a tower location, an antenna pattern, a bootstrap timing offset, and a transmit power level for the TV signal transmitter and for one or more neighboring TV signal transmitters of the TV signal transmitter (read as the altitude, latitude and longitude fields as the geocentric coordinates of the corresponding transmitter, figures 3 and 6, par [0020] and [0025]) but does not specifically disclose the measurements as neighboring measurements.
Nonetheless, Pattabiraman discloses transmitting neighboring towers assistant information, which each beacon transmitting a data stream of embedded assistance data that includes Geocode data (Latitude, Longitude and Altitude) of the towers and geocode information about the adjacent towers; the further disclose the digital or analog TV positioning signals and neighboring towers broadcasting position information about towers in the vicinity, figure 2, par [0049], [0052], [0063] and [0078].
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teachings of Pattabiraman into the teachings of Stewart, to configure Stewart’s Cell List Descriptor signaling to include Pattabiraman’s adjacent towers geocodes, in order to maintain access to adjacent/neighboring transmitter coordinates through neighboring broadcast assistance when a particular tower’s own data is unavailable (see par [0078] of Pattabiraman).
Consider claim 20, as applied to claim 19 above, Stewart, as modified by Pattabiraman, discloses the claimed invention above but does not specifically disclose validating the location of the TV signal receiver based on the neighbor measurements.
Nonetheless, Pattabiraman further discloses position quality and integrity checks, which the geocode information about adjacent towers, and uses transmitter locations (xi, yi, zi) to compute a fix, evaluates the position estimates using a position quality metric based on pseudo-range residuals and geometry of the towers relative to the estimated position, and performs receiver integrity monitoring based on a check of consistency of measurements is used to eliminate "outlier" measurements; the geocodes identity the transmitter positions that define the tower geometry, so these position quality and integrity checks corresponds to validating the estimated receiver location based in part on the neighboring measurements, par [0052], [0159], [0168] and [0109]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further incorporate the teachings of Pattabiraman into the teachings of Stewart, which modified by Pattabiraman, to configure Stewart’s receiver location calculation using Pattabiraman’s position quality metrics and receiver integrity monitoring, in order to asses the calculated location using tower geometry and eliminate outlier measurements that may result from synchronization loss or multipath (see par [0168] and [0179]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 9-11, 14, 16-18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Junpeng Chen/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645