Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/9/25;11/21/25 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97(b). Accordingly, the IDSs are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 12, 17, 25-31, 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by McCawley et al. (12,714,793) (“McCawley”). McCawley discloses:
(claims 1,29,37) a housing 8; a container 73 disposed within the housing and configured to contain medicament; a plunger 50 slidably disposed within the container; a plunger rod configured to push the plunger through the container to dispense the medicament when the container contains medicament C4L55-C5L13; and a gas canister 40 configured to travel with the plunger rod and containing a compressed gas, wherein the gas canister is configured to release the compressed gas to drive the plunger rod to dispense the medicament out of a distal end of the container C12L12-C13L2.
Claims 29-31: C12L12-C13L2
Claim 37: needle 78
Claim 12: a button is configured to activate an element 60 configured to pierce the gas canister, wherein the gas canister is configured to release the compressed gas upon being pierced. C4L55-C6L9, C12L12-28
Claims 17,33: a needle 78 attached to a distal end of the container, Fig.7a
Claim 25: needle guard 79,86
Claims 26,34: vent hole 8d, Fig.4b
Claims 27,35: the gas canister 40 is attached to the plunger rod C4L57-61,C5L54-C6L10, Fig.7a,b
Claims 28,36: the gas canister is disposed within the plunger rod C4L57-61,C5L54-C6L10, Fig.7a,b
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-11, 19-24, 39-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCawley.
McCawley discloses the device and method as substantially claimed but does not directly disclose the size of the medicament container (claims 2-6), the viscosity of the medicament delivered (claims 7-11), the gauge of the needle used (claims 19-21, 39-40), the length of the needle used (claims 22-24), the shape of needle (claim 41). The ranges within these limitations are obvious over McCawley because McCawley does teach delivery of viscous agents via a needle (C5L1-13). The specific limits are obvious design considerations that fail to distinguish over McCawley. C8L39-50
Claims 13-16, 18, 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McCawley in view of McCawley et al. (US 2025/0144298)(“McCawley ‘298”).
McCawley discloses the invention as substantially claimed, see above, but does not directly disclose an interlock configured to prevent the element from piercing the gas canister while the interlock is in a locked position. ‘298 McCawley, in the analogous art, teaches a safety feature to prevent unwanted firing. ‘298 McCawley teaches an interlock that flexes radially in and out of a housing cutout when the interlock is in the locked and unlocked positions, respectively [0035-0036][0088-0089][0079]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add the interlock as taught by ‘298 McCawley to the other McCawley device for safety to a user and to prevent misfiring of the device.
With respect to claim 18, the interlock is configured to move to an unlocked position when the needle is attached to the medicament delivery device, see Figs. 9a-c of ‘298 McCawley.
Conclusion
/DEANNA K HALL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3783