DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
the grooves in the deck mounting surface allowing for the clocked orientation of the electrical connector as set forth in claim 5; and
the pilot receiving feature as set forth in claim 18
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Ito et al. discloses an electric motor assembly ([200], see Fig. 10) comprising:
a motor end cap [222] forming an upper housing (see Figs. 10 and 15), the motor end cap comprising a flat motor mounting surface (see below; bottom surface of [222a]) for mounting the electric motor assembly to a deck mounting surface [211] of a utility vehicle [1];
a motor output cap [260] forming a lower housing (see Figs. 13 and 15) and connected to the motor end cap by a plurality of fasteners (fasteners connect the end cap to the stator housing [121] and therefore to the motor end cap, see Col. 11, lines 51-59); and
a motor stator housing [221] interposed between the motor end cap and motor output cap (stator housing is between the end cap and output cap, see Fig. 15) to form an electric motor compartment (component formed within stator housing [221] where motor components reside, see Fig. 15) wherein an electric motor [220] comprising a motor stator [225], motor windings (see Col. 12, lines 39-42), and a motor rotor assembly [224] are located;
wherein the flat motor mounting surface of the motor end cap extends around and radially beyond an outer circumference of the motor stator housing (see Fig. 10).
Regarding claim 6, Ito et al. teaches a motor output shaft [223] supported on a first end (see below) by an upper bearing [223a] disposed in the motor end cap ([222], see Fig. 15) and supported on a second end (see below) by a sealed lower bearing [223a] disposed in the motor output cap ([260], surrounded by the motor output cap, see Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Ito et al. teaches wherein the motor output cap [260] comprises a bearing seal protection flange [226] that fits closely around an outer circumference (see Fig. 15) of the motor output shaft [223] to protect the sealed lower bearing [223a] from debris (see Col. 12, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 8, Ito et al. teaches wherein the stator housing [221] comprises a plurality of fins [221a] around its outer circumference (see Figs. 10 and 12), and wherein each of the plurality of fasteners (fasteners not shown but inserted into threaded hole [221d], see Col. 11, lines 26-27) is flanked on either side by one of the plurality of fins (see Figs. 10 and 12; on either side of the threaded hole [221d] is a fin [221a]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2) in view of Inuzuka (US 12249875 B2).
Regarding claim 2, Ito et al. discloses the electric motor assembly as applied above, as well as, wherein the flat motor mounting surface (see above) of the motor end cap [222] comprises a plurality of holes ([222c]; see Col. 12, lines 24-29) for use in attaching the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface [211], but fails to disclose the holes are downward-facing and threaded and used to attached the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface from an underside of the deck mounting surface.
Inuzuka discloses a similar electric motor assembly [4] wherein the flat motor mounting surface (bottom surface of [600]) comprises a plurality of downward-facing threaded holes [601] for use in attaching the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface [200] from an underside of the deck mounting surface (see Col. 9, lines 3-8 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the hole of Ito et al. with the downward facing holes of Inuzuka since both are holes for fasteners used for mounting the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Regarding claim 3, Ito et al. discloses the electric motor assembly as applied above, but fails to disclose the wherein the downward-facing threaded holes do not extend fully through the motor end cap, such that an upper surface of the motor end cap is substantially smooth.
However, Inuzuka discloses wherein the downward-facing threaded holes [601] do not extend fully through the motor housing [60], such that an upper surface of the motor end cap is substantially smooth (see Fig. 4; downward-facing threading holes are within screw bosses [600], allowing for the screw [202] to be inserted but covered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the downward-facing threaded holes within screw bosses as taught by Inuzuka on the motor end cap of Ito et al. in order for the motor end cap to be connected to the deck mounting surface with structural reinforcement to maintain the connection while mowing (see Inuzuka Col. 9, lines 1-13).
Regarding claim 4, Ito et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the motor end cap [222] further comprises one or more pilot features [222a] for use in aligning the holes [222c] with corresponding mounting holes (see below) in the deck mounting surface [211].
But Ito et al. fails to explicitly disclose the holes are downward-facing and threaded.
However, Inuzuka discloses the downward-facing threaded holes [601].
It can be seen then that when the downward-facing threaded holes of Inuzuka are provided as the holes in the motor end cap of Ito et al. that the downward-facing threaded holes are formed within the pilot feature for alignment with the corresponding mounting holes in the deck as disclosed by Ito et al.
Examiner’s Note: Ito et al.’s [222a] comprises two sets of holes [222b] and [222c] for connection to the motor stator housing and deck. Alignment of the holes is accomplished through [222a]; therefore, acting as a guide for the right connection between the motor end cap, motor output cap, stator housing and deck, and is a pilot feature. Further, the flat motor mounting surface is a surface of the pilot feature [222a] in which the holes [222b and 222c] extend through.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2) and Inuzuka (US 12249875 B2) as applied to claims 2-4 above, and further in view of Wadzinski et al. (US 8701377 B1) and Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2).
Regarding claim 5, Ito et al, of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein each of the one or more pilot features [222a] corresponds with the deck mounting [211] surface such that orientation of the electrical motor assembly is clocked (pilot feature aligns holes [222c] and mounting holes of the deck thereby orientating the assembly in a particular direction from the central axis, see Figs. 10 and 14).
But Ito et al. fails to disclose an electrical connector extending from a side of the motor end cap and wherein the pilot features correspond with one or more grooves in the deck mounting surface such that the orientation of the electrical connector may be clocked.
Wadzinski et al. discloses a similar electrical motor assembly (see Col. 12, lines 5-8) and one or more grooves (see below) in the deck mounting surface [70] within deck [34] for orientation of the electrical motor assembly (see Col. 5, lines 55-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the one or more grooves of Wadzinski et al. on the deck mounting surface of Ito et al. in order to orientate the electrical motor assembly in relation to the grooves for ease of assembly for the user (see Wadzinski et al. Col. 5, lines 55-61).
But Wadzinski et al. fails to disclose an electrical connector extending from a side of the motor end cap.
Zeiler et al. discloses a similar electrical motor assembly [110] comprising an electrical connector [816] extending from a side (see Fig. 15) of the motor end cap [804].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical connector of Zeiler et al. on the electrical motor assembly of Ito et al. in order to provide electrical power to the motor assembly through a safe and sealed connection from the energy storage device (see Zeiler et al. Col. 14, lines 44-53). It can be seen then that when the electrical connector of Zeiler et al. is provided to the electrical motor assembly of Ito et al. that the pilot feature of Ito et al. slides along the groove as taught by Wadzinski et al. to orientate the motor assembly for assembly with the mounting holes thereby clocking the orientation of the electrical connector away from the groove and towards the middle of the deck mounting surface.
Claim(s) 9-13, 16, and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2) in view of Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2).
Regarding claim 9, Ito et al. discloses the electric motor assembly as applied above, as well as wherein the stator housing [221] is configured to fit through a deck motor opening (see below) of the deck mounting surface [211] to be exposed to airflow beneath the deck mounting surface (see Col. 11, lines 2-4 and Fig. 15), but fails to disclose the motor output cap is also configured to fit through a deck motor opening of the deck mounting surface to be exposed to airflow beneath the deck mounting surface.
Zeiler et al. discloses a similar electric motor assembly [110] wherein the stator housing ([822], forms the housing where motor cavity [814] is formed for the motor stator, rotor, and windings [830 and 832]) and the motor output cap ([826], forms another housing between first base [824] separating the stator housing, see Col. 15, lines 22-26) are configured to fit through a deck motor opening (opening where electric motor assembly is inserted, see Fig. 3) of the deck mounting surface [108] to be exposed to airflow beneath the deck mounting surface (see Col. 6, lines 14-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to change the diameter of the motor output cap of Ito et al. to be smaller than the diameter of the deck motor opening as taught by Zeiler, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, changing the size of the motor output cap of Ito et al. does not depart from the scope of the invention, as the motor output cap would still protect and provide an airflow to the motor stator housing (see Ito et al. Col. 14, lines 24-30 and Col. 20, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 10, Ito et al. teaches a utility vehicle [1] comprising:
a deck mounting surface [211] comprising at least one deck motor opening (see below); and
an electric motor assembly [200] comprising:
a motor end cap [222] forming an upper housing (see Figs. 10 and 15), the motor end cap comprising a flat motor mounting surface (see below; bottom surface of [222a]) for mounting the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface;
a motor output cap [260] forming a lower housing (see Figs. 13 and 15) and connected to the motor end cap by a plurality of fasteners (fasteners connect the end cap to the stator housing [121] and therefore to the motor end cap, see Col. 11, lines 51-59); and
a motor stator housing [221] interposed between the motor end cap and motor output cap (stator housing is between the end cap and output cap, see Fig. 15) to form an electric motor compartment (component formed within stator housing [221] where motor components reside, see Fig. 15) wherein an electric motor [220] comprising a motor stator [225], motor windings (see Col. 12, lines 39-42), and a motor rotor assembly [224] are located;
wherein, when the flat motor mounting surface of the motor end cap is mounted to the deck mounting surface (see Fig. 15), the motor stator housing extends through the at least one deck motor opening (see Col. 11, lines 2-4 and Fig. 15).
But Ito et al. fails to explicitly disclose wherein, when the flat motor mounting surface of the motor end cap is mounted to the deck mounting surface, the motor output cap extends through the at least one deck motor opening.
Zeiler et al. discloses a similar utility vehicle [100] comprised of an electric motor assembly [110] wherein the motor output cap ([826], forms another housing between first base [824] separating the stator housing, see Col. 15, lines 22-26) and motor stator housing ([822], forms the housing where motor cavity [814] is formed for the motor stator, rotor, and windings [830 and 832]) extends through the at least one deck motor opening (opening where electric motor assembly is inserted, see Fig. 3 and Col. 6, lines 14-19).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to change the diameter of the motor output cap of Ito et al. to be smaller than the diameter of the deck motor opening as taught by Zeiler, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). Further, changing the size of the motor output cap of Ito et al. does not depart from the scope of the invention, as the motor output cap would still protect and provide an airflow to the motor stator housing (see Ito et al. Col. 14, lines 24-30 and Col. 20, lines 1-9).
Regarding claim 11, Ito et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses a motor output shaft [223] supported on a first end (see below) by an upper bearing [223a] disposed in the motor end cap ([222], see Fig. 15) and supported on a second end (see below) by a sealed lower bearing ([223a]; sealed through [226]) disposed in the motor output cap ([260], surrounded by the motor output cap, see Fig. 15); and
a mowing blade [250] rotatably connected to the motor output shaft;
wherein rotation of the mowing blade creates an airflow to cool the motor output cap and the motor stator housing (see Col. 13, lines 49-53 and Col. 14, lines 33-35).
Regarding claim 12, Ito et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the motor output cap [260] comprises a bearing seal protection flange [226] that fits closely around an outer circumference (see Fig. 15) of the motor output shaft [223] to protect the sealed lower bearing [223a] from debris (see Col. 12, lines 17-19).
Regarding claim 13, Ito et al. discloses the utility mower as applied above, but fails to disclose a debris shield fitted to the motor output shaft and positioned adjacent to the sealed lower bearing to protect the sealed lower bearing.
Zeiler et al. discloses a similar utility vehicle [100] comprising a debris shield [828] fitted to the motor output shaft [808] and positioned adjacent to the sealed lower bearing [824”] to protect the sealed lower bearing (protects the lower bearing by preventing clippings or debris from entering the housing, see Col. 15, lines 28-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the debris shield of Zeiler et al. on the utility mower of Ito et al. in order to protect the motor output shaft and therefore the rotor, stator, and winding assembly from debris and clippings (see Zeiler et al. Col. 15, lines 28-31).
Regarding claim 16, Ito et al. discloses the utility mower as applied above, but fails to disclose wherein the motor end cap comprises an electrical compartment and presents an electrical connector protected by a plurality of connector guards.
Zeiler et al. discloses a similar utility mower [100] wherein the motor end cap [804] comprises an electrical compartment (compartment formed for electrical input [816], see Fig. 15) and presents an electrical connector [816] protected by a plurality of connector guards (see below and [818], see Col. 14, lines 49-53).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the electrical component, electrical connector, and plurality of connector guards of Zeiler et al. on the utility mower of Ito et al. in order to provide electrical power to the motor assembly through a safe and sealed connection from the energy storage device (see Zeiler et al. Col. 14, lines 44-53).
Regarding claim 20, Ito et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the stator housing [221] comprises a plurality of fins [221a] around its outer circumference (see Figs. 10 and 12), and wherein each of the plurality of fasteners (fasteners not shown but inserted into threaded hole [221d], see Col. 11, lines 26-27) is flanked on either side by one of the plurality of fins (see Figs. 10 and 12; on either side of the threaded hole [221d] is a fin [221a]).
Regarding claim 21, Ito et al. discloses the utility mower as applied above, but fails to disclose wherein the at least one deck motor opening (see above) has a perimeter that is not recessed (see Fig. 10) from the deck mounting surface [211].
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2) and Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2) as applied to claims 9-13, 16, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Geringer (US 4731981 A) and Byldenburgh (US 2651530 A).
Regarding claim 14, Zeiler et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the debris shield [828] comprises an edge (see below) that conforms to an exterior shape (see Fig. 17) of the motor output shaft [808], but fails to disclose the edge is a lip and the lip having at least one retention feature for permanently retaining the debris shield on the motor output shaft after assembly.
Geringer discloses a similar utility vehicle [8] comprising of a debris shield [30] with a lip [72] that conforms to an exterior shape (see Fig. 1) of the motor output shaft [78 and 22].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the edge of the debris shield of Zeiler et al. with the lip of Geringer since both are ways to connect the debris shield to the motor output shaft; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
But Geringer fails to disclose the lip having at least one retention feature for permanently retaining the debris shield on the motor output shaft after assembly.
Byldenburgh discloses a similar utility vehicle (see Fig. 1) comprising of a debris shield ([30], protects the output shaft from debris or clippings by being formed around it, see Fig. 2) having an edge (see below) with at least one retention feature [44] for permanently retaining the debris shield on the motor output shaft after assembly (permanently retained through welding, see Col. 3, lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to attach the debris shield of Ito et al., Zeiler et al., and Geringer via welding at the lip as taught by Byldenburgh in order for the debris shield to permanently maintain its position despite any movement through use (see Byldenburgh Col. 3, lines 1-4).
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2), Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2), Geringer (US 4731981 A) and Byldenburgh (US 2651530 A) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Kroll (US 2675662 A).
Regarding claim 15, the above combination discloses the utility vehicle as applied, but the combination fails to disclose wherein the debris shield has a plurality of drainage openings formed therein.
Kroll discloses a similar utility vehicle (see Fig. 1) wherein the debris shield ([15], protects the output shaft from debris or clippings, see Fig. 1) has a plurality of drainage openings ([36], see Col. 3, lines 74-75 and Col. 4, line 1) formed therein.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the drainage openings of Kroll on the debris shield of Ito et al., Zeiler et al., Geringer, and Byldenburgh in order for the debris shield to allow air in the interior of the housing to escape while also supplementing and maintaining the airflow created by the blades (see Kroll Col. 4, lines 52-60).
Claim(s) 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2) and Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2) as applied to claims 9-13, 16, and 20-21 above, and further in view of Inuzuka (US 12249875 B2).
Regarding claim 17, Ito et al. discloses the electric motor assembly as applied above, as well as, wherein the flat motor mounting surface (see above) of the motor end cap [222] comprises a plurality of holes ([222c]; see Col. 12, lines 24-29) for securing the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface [211], but fails to disclose the holes are downward-facing and threaded and used to attached the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface from an underside of the deck mounting surface.
Inuzuka discloses a similar electric motor assembly [4] wherein the flat motor mounting surface (bottom surface of [600]) comprises a plurality of downward-facing threaded holes [601] for securing the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface [200] from an underside of the deck mounting surface (see Col. 9, lines 3-8 and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the hole of Ito et al. with the downward facing holes of Inuzuka since both are holes for fasteners used for mounting the electric motor assembly to the deck mounting surface; therefore, yielding the same predictable result.
Regarding claim 19, Ito et al. discloses the electric motor assembly as applied above, but fails to disclose the wherein the downward-facing threaded holes do not extend fully through the motor end cap, such that an upper surface of the motor end cap is substantially smooth.
However, Inuzuka discloses wherein the downward-facing threaded holes [601] do not extend fully through the motor housing [60], such that an upper surface of the motor end cap is substantially smooth (see Fig. 4; downward-facing threading holes are within screw bosses [600], allowing for the screw [202] to be inserted but covered).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the downward-facing threaded holes within screw bosses as taught by Inuzuka on the motor end cap of Ito et al. in order for the motor end cap to be connected to the deck mounting surface with structural reinforcement to maintain the connection while mowing (see Inuzuka Col. 9, lines 1-13).
Claim(s) 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (US 10426084 B2), Zeiler et al. (US 11712001 B2), and Inuzuka (US 12249875 B2) as applied to claims 17 and 19 above, and further in view of Wadzinski (US 8701377 B1).
Regarding claim 18, Ito et al., of the above resultant combination, further discloses wherein the motor end cap [222] further comprises at least one pilot feature ([222a]; helps to align the holes together for connection), thereby aligning the plurality of holes [222c] with a plurality of fastener holes (see below) arranged around the at least one deck motor opening (see above) in the deck mounting surface [211], but fails to disclose wherein the deck mounting surface further comprises at least one pilot receiving feature and the plurality of downward-facing threaded holes.
However, Inuzuka discloses the plurality of downward-facing threaded holes [601].
It can be seen then that when the plurality of downward-facing threaded holes of Inuzuka are applied as the holes of Ito et al. that the pilot feature of Ito et al. aligns the downward-facing threaded holes with the fastener holes as disclosed by Ito et al.
But Inuzuka fails to disclose wherein the deck mounting surface further comprises at least one pilot receiving feature
Wadzinski et al. discloses a similar electrical motor assembly (see Col. 12, lines 5-8) and at least one pilot receiving feature (see below) in the deck mounting surface [70] within in deck [34] for orientation of the electrical motor assembly (see Col. 5, lines 55-61).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the one or more grooves of Wadzinski et al. on the deck mounting surface of Ito et al. in order to orientate the electrical motor assembly in relation to the grooves for ease of assembly for the user (see Wadzinski et al. Col. 5, lines 55-61). Therefore, when the pilot receiving feature of Wadzinski et al. is applied to the deck of Ito et al., the pilot feature is configured to mate with the pilot receiving feature to guide the electrical motor assembly into the correct position for assembly.
Examiner’s Note: Ito et al.’s [222a] comprises two sets of holes [222b] and [222c] for connection to the motor stator housing and deck. Alignment of the holes is accomplished through [222a]; therefore, acting as a guide for the right connection between the motor end cap, motor output cap, stator housing and deck, and is a pilot feature. Further, the flat motor mounting surface is a surface of the pilot feature [222a] in which the holes [222b and 222c] extend through.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see attached PTO-892 for the full list of references.
Reference US 10862376 B2 discloses a similar electric motor assembly [16] comprising of a motor end cap [26], stator housing [40], and motor output cap [27].
/SUNNY D WEBB/Examiner, Art Unit 3671
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671