DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pp.7-10, filed November 18, 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of independent claim(s) 21, 30, and 32 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of newly considered prior art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21, 25-27, 29-34, 37-38, and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hoshino (US 2006/0262447).
Regarding claim 21 Hoshino discloses a method for evaluating an internal state of a media library, the media library comprising a plurality of storage locations configured to receive media cartridges, one or more media drives, and one or more media retrievers, including a first media retriever, configured to move one or more media cartridges between the plurality of storage locations and the one or more media drives, the method comprising:
moving, with the first media retriever, a state evaluator device into a first position in the media library (in Figure 2, a cell is allowed to receive the insertion of the monitoring apparatus 37 and the claws 35a of the hand 34 are allowed to hold the monitoring apparatus – [0043]; note hand 34 is being interpreted as the media retriever), the state evaluator device comprising: (i) a housing that comprises a shape and cross-section in a form of respective media cartridges of the one or more media cartridges (monitoring apparatus 37 is formed in a shape identical to that of the magnetic tape cartridge – [0043]); (ii) at least one camera coupled to and enclosed within the housing and having a field of view external to the housing (Figure 3 shows the monitoring apparatus 37 containing CCD camera 41);
capturing one or more images of one or more components of the media library, with the at least one camera while the state evaluator device is in the first position (camera 41 in monitoring apparatus 37 captures images of the inside of the enclosure 22 of Figure 2 – [0045, 0050, 0063, 0082-0083]; capturing an image of the inside of the enclosure – [0010]); and
analyzing the one or more images captured with the at least one camera (implementing an image analysis on image data – [0065]), wherein the first media retriever is configured to move the one or more media cartridges and the state evaluation device to the one or more media drives utilizing the same mechanics (in Figure 2 Arm 34 moves both monitoring apparatus 37 and cartridges 28).
Regarding claim 25 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: communicating the one or more images to an external device external to the media library prior to analyzing the one or more images, wherein analyzing the one or more images is performed by the external device (CCD controller generates an image information signal which is transmitted to a processing unit where image analysis is performed; the processing unit is located externally from the monitoring apparatus – [0064-0065]).
Regarding claim 26 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21, further comprising: receiving information indicative of a second position in the media library for the state evaluator device to be moved to; and moving, with the first media retriever, the state evaluator device to the second position (the cell is allowed to receive the insertion of the monitoring apparatus unit 37. Besides, the claws 35a on the hand 34 are allowed to hold the monitoring apparatus unit 37 therebetween – [0043]).
Regarding claim 27 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 26, wherein the first position is one of the plurality of storage locations and the second position is one of the one or more media drives (moving cartridges from storage location to a magnetic drive – [0057]).
Regarding claim 29 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the media cartridges are tape cartridges and the one or more media drives are tape drives (tape drives and tape cartridges – [0033]).
Claim 30 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 21.
Claim 31 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 6.
Claim 32 corresponds to the device performing the method of claim 21. Therefore, claim 32 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 21.
Regarding claim 33 Rawlins discloses the device of claim 32, wherein the controller is further configured to analyze the one or more images captured using the at least one camera (image analysis is performed in processing unit 13 – [0064-0065]).
Regarding claim 34 Hoshino discloses the device of claim 32, wherein the controller is further configured to communicate the one or more images captured using the at least one camera to an external device, wherein the external device is being configured to analyze the one or more images captured (CCD controller generates an image information signal which is transmitted to a processing unit where image analysis is performed; the processing unit is located externally from the monitoring apparatus – [0064-0065]).
Regarding claim 37 Hoshino discloses the device of claim 32, wherein the controller is further configured to: receive information indicative of a position into which the device is to be moved; and control at least one media retrievers of the one or more media retrievers to move the device to the position (instructing the transfer of the monitoring apparatus units 37 based on the monitoring apparatus controlling application 17. The position of the monitoring apparatus unit 37 can be detected based on the identification information data included in the data signal, for example. The carrier robot 29 transfers the target monitoring apparatus unit 37 into the cell adjacent to the battery charger 38 – [0080]).
Regarding claim 38 Hoshino discloses the device of claim 37, wherein the position is one of a first storage location of the plurality of storage locations or a first media drive of the one or more media drives (instructing the transfer of the monitoring apparatus units 37 based on the monitoring apparatus controlling application 17. The position of the monitoring apparatus unit 37 can be detected based on the identification information data included in the data signal, for example. The carrier robot 29 transfers the target monitoring apparatus unit 37 into the cell adjacent to the battery charger 38 – [0080]).
Regarding claim 40 Hoshino discloses the device of claim 32, wherein the at least one camera is disposed at least partially in a recess of the housing (Figure 3 shows components of camera 41 being located in a recess of the housing).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 22, 28, and 39 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino (US 2006/0262447) in view of Critchlow (US 2005/0080512).
Regarding claim 22 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the state evaluator device further comprises a light assembly, and wherein the method further comprises illuminating an interior of the media library with the light assembly prior to capturing the one or more images.
In his disclosure Critchlow teaches a light assembly, and wherein the method further comprises illuminating an interior of the media library with the light assembly prior to capturing the one or more images (light source 240 provides illumination that provides illumination for sensor 250 – [0034]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Critchlow into the teachings of Hoshino because with such incorporation the positional accuracy is increased.
Regarding claim 28 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21. However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the media library comprises a plurality of position markers disposed at one or more locations in the media library, and wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing at least one image containing at least one position marker of the plurality of position markers.
In his disclosure Critchlow teaches the media library comprises a plurality of position markers disposed at one or more locations in the media library, and wherein capturing the one or more images comprises capturing at least one image containing at least one position marker of the plurality of position markers (an imaging sensor that detects calibration marks from different positions – claim 1).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the teachings of Critchlow into the teachings of Rawlins because with such incorporation the positional accuracy is increased.
Claim 39 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 22.
Claim(s) 23-24, 35-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hoshino (US 2006/0262447) in view of Kido (US 2018/0330489).
Regarding claim 23 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 21, wherein the at least one camera comprises a first camera configured to capture images in a first range of wavelengths and a second camera configured to capture images in a the range of wavelengths, and wherein capturing the one or more images comprises:
capturing at least one image in the first range of wavelengths with the first camera; and capturing at least one image in the range of wavelengths with the second camera (Figure 9 shows first and second cameras 41a and 41b; a person with ordinary skill in the art would know that the images that cameras capture are images that fall within a range of wavelengths).
However, fails to explicitly disclose capturing at least one image in a second range of wavelengths.
In his disclosure Kido teaches capturing at least one image in a second range of wavelengths (images acquired in different types of wavelengths from an ultraviolet to a near-infrared wavelength – [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the camera generating data in the ultraviolet wavelength of Kido into the teachings of Hoshino because by obtaining images at different wavelengths the accuracy of the analysis is improved.
Regarding claim 24 Hoshino discloses the method of claim 23. Hoshino discloses a first and a second camera that captures images at a first range of wavelengths (refer to rejection of claim 23).
However, fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first range of wavelengths comprises infrared wavelengths and the second range of wavelengths comprises ultraviolet wavelengths.
In his disclosure Kido teaches the first range of wavelengths comprises infrared wavelengths and the second range of wavelengths comprises ultraviolet wavelengths (images acquired in different types of wavelengths from an ultraviolet to a near-infrared wavelength – [0062]).
It would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the camera generating data in the ultraviolet wavelength of Kido into the teachings of Hoshino because by obtaining images at different wavelengths the accuracy of the analysis is improved.
Claim 35 corresponds to the device that performs the method of claim 23. Therefore, claim 35 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 23.
Claim 36 corresponds to the device that performs the method of claim 24. Therefore, claim 36 is being rejected on the same basis as claim 24.
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: US Pub. No. 2007/0268791.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARIA E VAZQUEZ COLON/Examiner, Art Unit 2482