DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim3 and 14 objected to because of the following informalities: The claims recite an acronym without first defining it in the claim language (email). It is recommended to the applicant to recite “electronic mail (email)”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 19 is objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate of claim 18. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/044,356 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the detection of a fraudulent communication that involves the determination of a risk level. See for example below, an illustrative table of independent claim 1 in each associated application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application: 18/900,424
Co-pending Application: 19/044,356
A method comprising:
obtaining electronic communication content corresponding to an electronic communication;
determining a risk level of the electronic communication based on the electronic communication content, the risk level corresponding to a likelihood that the electronic communication includes content produced using generative artificial intelligence (AI);
detecting selection of the electronic communication such that the electronic communication is at least partially displayed on a display of a user computing device; and
in response to detecting selection of the electronic communication, when the risk level of the electronic communication exceeds a fraudulence threshold, presenting a notification on the user computing device, the notification comprising one or more elements indicating that the risk level of the electronic communication is high; wherein the method is performed by one or more processors.
A method comprising:
obtaining observational data comprising interaction data on a user computing device;
detecting, in a communication application executing on the user computing device, a command to send an electronic communication;
determining a risk level of the electronic communication based on analyzing the interaction data, the risk level corresponding to a likelihood that the electronic communication is not generated by a human user; and
when the risk level of the electronic communication is below a risk threshold,associating a validation indicator with the electronic communication, and allowing the sending of the electronic communication to proceed; wherein the method is performed by one or more processors.
Claim 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/382,196 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both drawn to the detection of a fraudulent communication that involves the determination of a risk level. See for example below, an illustrative table of independent claim 1 in each associated application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Instant Application: 18/900,424
Co-pending Application: 19/382,196
A method comprising:
obtaining electronic communication content corresponding to an electronic communication;
determining a risk level of the electronic communication based on the electronic communication content, the risk level corresponding to a likelihood that the electronic communication includes content produced using generative artificial intelligence (AI);
detecting selection of the electronic communication such that the electronic communication is at least partially displayed on a display of a user computing device; and
in response to detecting selection of the electronic communication, when the risk level of the electronic communication exceeds a fraudulence threshold, presenting a notification on the user computing device, the notification comprising one or more elements indicating that the risk level of the electronic communication is high; wherein the method is performed by one or more processors.
1. A method comprising:
obtaining electronic communication content corresponding to an electronic communication;
assessing a risk level of the electronic communication based on the electronic communication content;
classifying the electronic communication into one of a plurality of risk categories based on assessing the risk level, the plurality of risk categories comprising at least a safe risk category associated with no warnings and a required risk category;
detecting selection of the electronic communication in a communication application such that the electronic communication is at least partially displayed in a user interface of the communication application;
in response to detecting selection of the electronic communication, when the electronic communication is classified in the required risk category, displaying a required warning comprising one or more required warning elements; and blocking an interactive element of the electronic communication until the required warning is acknowledged by a user.
The method of claim 1, wherein the risk level corresponds to a likelihood that the electronic communication includes content produced using generative artificial intelligence (AI)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jakobsson (US 2020/0053111).
Regarding claims 1, 13 and 20, Jakobsson discloses a method performed by a processor, non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions executed by one or more processors, and a computer system comprising: one or more hardware processors; at least one memory storing one or more instructions which, when executed by the one or more hardware processors, cause the one or more hardware processors to perform [0452-0458]:
obtaining electronic communication content corresponding to an electronic communication [0027-0030] (the user receiving an email in a launchpad attack);
determining a risk level of the electronic communication based on the electronic communication content, the risk level corresponding to a likelihood that the electronic communication includes content produced using generative artificial intelligence (AI) [0070, 0071, 0130] (a risk score is computed based on factors such as normal and abnormal behavior such as the origin being one of script);
detecting selection of the electronic communication such that the electronic communication is at least partially displayed on a display of a user computing device [0070] (the user believes there is word document and opens it);
in response to detecting selection of the electronic communication, when the risk level of the electronic communication exceeds a fraudulence threshold, presenting a notification on the user computing device, the notification comprising one or more elements indicating that the risk level of the electronic communication is high [0115, 0116] (notifications are sent to Alice and Bob using unaffected channels).
Regarding claim 2, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses in response to detecting selection of the electronic communication, when the risk level of the electronic communication does not exceed the fraudulence threshold, displaying, on the display of the user computing device, one or more elements indicating that the risk level of the electronic communication is low [0115, 0116, 0233, 0234] (notifications are sent to Alice and Bob using unaffected channels).
Regarding claim 3 and 14, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein the electronic communication is an email [0039, 0016].
Regarding claim 4 and 15, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein the electronic communication content includes content obtained using an integration framework for an electronic communication client executing on the user computing device [0165] (web bug or beacon).
Regarding claim 5, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein selection of the electronic communication is detected using an integration framework for an electronic communication client executing on the user computing device [0165] (web bug or beacon).
Regarding claim 6, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein the one or more elements are displayed using an integration framework for an electronic communication client executing on the user computing device [0165] (web bug or beacon).
Regarding claim 7, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein the electronic communication content includes content obtained from a communication server configured to handle communications including the electronic communication for a plurality of users including the user [0165, 0258] (security system traps and scrutinizes all outgoing emails).
Regarding claim 8 and 16, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses wherein the electronic communication content includes content obtained from system-level software executing on the user computing device [0045-0047, 0258] (security system traps and scrutinizes all outgoing emails).
Regarding claim 9 and 17, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses capturing an image rendered on at least a portion of the display of the user computing device; and processing the image to obtain image-derived content; wherein the electronic communication content includes the image-derived content [0196] (a honeypot may be implemented to run the data that has risk associated with it).
Regarding claim 10 and 18-19, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson further discloses identifying a flagged portion of the electronic communication content; identifying a display position of the flagged portion on the user computing device; and displaying, by the display position of the flagged portion, a corresponding warning element indicating that the flagged portion is suspect [0144, 0258] (data may be flagged and a risk assessment may be made).
Regarding claim 11, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson does not further discloses wherein determining the risk level of the electronic communication is based on a model generated based on supervised learning techniques.
However, the examiner takes official notice that at the time the claimed invention was made it was well known in the art to implement a model generated based on supervised learning techniques, see for example cited NPL Unsupervised Pre-training vs Supervised Fine-tuning for LLMs.
Regarding claim 12, Jakobsson disclose all the limitations of independent claims 1, 13, and 20. Jakobsson does not further discloses wherein determining the risk level of the electronic communication is based on a large language model (LLM).
However, the examiner takes official notice that at the time the claimed invention was made it was well known in the art to implement a large language model, see for example cited NPL Unsupervised Pre-training vs Supervised Fine-tuning for LLMs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Leddy et al (US 2020/0067861): discloses dynamically updating a filter set includes: obtaining a first message from a first user; evaluating the obtained first message using a filter set; determining that the first message has training potential; updating the filter set in response to training triggered by the first message having been determined to have training potential; obtaining a second message from a second user; and evaluating the obtained second message using the updated filter set.
/KENDALL DOLLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2436