DETAILED ACTION
Note From Examiner
Claim 1 has been presented as:
1. (Currently amended) A water feeder stopper for preventing inverted water leakage, comprising:
a cover portion (1), wherein the cover portion (1) is a solid body, a lower end of the cover portion (1) is connected to an extension portion (2), the extension portion (2) is a hollow body, an opening and closing portion (3) is provided in the middle of the cover portion (1), and the opening and closing portion (3) remains in a closed state without an external force;
the extension portion (2) is configured to form a tight seal with an inner side wall of a water storage bottle (6), preventing fluid leakage;
wherein the opening and closing portion (3) is provided with at least one penetrating incision (5);
wherein an inner surface and an outer surface of the opening and closing portion (3) are both curved with the inner surface being convex and the outer surface being concave inward, so as to bear a water pressure when the water storage bottle (6) is inverted.
However, based on the previously made amendments (7/9/2025), the Examiner believes the claim is intended to be presented as:
1. (Currently amended) A water feeder stopper for preventing inverted water leakage, comprising:
a cover portion (1), wherein the cover portion (1) is a solid body, a lower end of the cover portion (1) is connected to an extension portion (2), the extension portion (2) is a hollow body, an opening and closing portion (3) is provided in the middle of the cover portion (1), and the opening and closing portion (3) remains in a closed state without an external force;
the extension portion (2) is configured to form a tight seal with an inner side wall of a water storage bottle (6), preventing fluid leakage;
wherein the opening and closing portion (3) is provided with at least one penetrating incision (5);
wherein an inner surface and an outer surface of the opening and closing portion (3) are both curved with the inner surface being convex and the outer surface being concave inward, so as to bear a water pressure when the water storage bottle (6) is inverted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krug et al. (US 3136440) (hereinafter Krug) in view of Smith (US 1825553).
Regarding Claim 1
Krug teaches a stopper capable of preventing inverted water leakage (below – Fig. 2 and 4), capable of being used in a water feeder, comprising: a cover portion (12/18), wherein the cover portion is a solid body, a lower end of the cover portion is connected to an extension portion (10/26), the extension portion is a hollow body, an opening and closing portion (18) is provided in the middle of the cover portion, and the opening and closing portion remains in a closed state without an external force; the extension portion is configured to form a tight seal with an inner side wall of a water storage bottle, preventing fluid leakage; wherein an inner surface and an outer surface of the opening and closing portion (18) are both curved with the inner surface being convex and the outer surface being concave inward, so as to bear a water pressure when the water storage bottle (6) is inverted (Col. 2, Ln. 45 – Cl. 4, Ln. 3).
Krug does not teach the opening and closing portion is provided with at least one penetrating incision.
Smith teaches a stopper capable of preventing inverted water leakage (below – Fig. 14), comprising: a cover portion (37), wherein the cover portion is a solid body, a lower end of the cover portion is connected to an extension portion (36), the extension portion is a hollow body, an opening and closing portion (35) is provided in the middle of the cover portion, and the opening and closing portion remains in a closed state without an external force; the extension portion (2) is configured to form a tight seal with an inner side wall of a water storage bottle (10), preventing fluid leakage; wherein the opening and closing portion is provided with at least one penetrating incision (40) (Pg. 2, Ln. 13-38 and 95-114).
Krug and Smith are analogous inventions in the field of stoppers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the opening and closing portion of Krug with the teachings of the at least one penetrating incision of Smith in order to ensure that after receipt of a projection through the incision(s), the elasticity of the closure will force the incision to tightly close and prevent any further extrusion of the contents of the container (Pg. 2, Ln. 8-12).
Regarding Claim 4
Krug in view of Smith (hereinafter “modified Krug”) teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Krug further teaches an outer diameter of the cover portion (12/18) is greater than an outer diameter of the extension portion (10/26), as can be seen in Fig. 4 above.
Regarding Claim 8
Modified Krug teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Smith further teaches a center point of the opening and closing portion (35) is located at a center point of the cover portion (36), and a center point of the penetrating incision (40) is located at the center point of the opening and closing portion, as can be seen in Fig. 14 above, and Fig. 2 (as an example).
Regarding Claim 9
Modified Krug teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as stated above. Krug further teaches the opening and closing portion (18) is made of a flexible material, including synthetic rubber or natural rubber (Col. 2, Ln. 49-53).
Claim(s) 10 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Krug as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Manning et al. (US 623940) (hereinafter Manning).
Regarding Claim 10
Modified Krug teaches all the limitations of claim 1 as shown above. Modified Krug does not teach at least one groove pattern is provided on an outer side wall of the extension portion.
Manning teaches a stopper capable of preventing inverted water leakage (below – Fig. 1 and 4), comprising: a cover portion (80), wherein the cover portion is a solid body, the cover portion being attached to an extension portion (100), the extension portion is a hollow body, an opening and closing portion (82) is provided in the middle of the cover portion, and the opening and closing portion (3) remains in a closed state without an external force; the extension portion is configured to form a tight seal with an inner side wall of a water storage bottle (6), preventing fluid leakage; wherein the opening and closing portion (3) is provided with at least one penetrating incision (84); and at least one groove pattern (104) is provided on an outer side wall of the extension portion, as can be seen in Fig. 1 and 4 below (Col. 7, Ln. 66 – Col. 8, 46).
Modified Krug and Manning are analogous inventions in the field of stoppers. It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to modify the stopper of modified Krug with the teachings of the groove pattern of Manning in order to provide additional resistance for the stopper against any internal pressure from the container that would attempt to dislodge the stopper.
Regarding Claim 11
Modified Krug in view of Manning teaches all the limitations of claim 10 as stated above. Manning further teaches the inner side wall of the water storage bottle is provided with at least one raised pattern (70) engaged with the least one groove pattern (104), as can be seen in the figures above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Krug does not teach a penetrating incision; Smith does not teach the specific curved surface configuration; or modified Krug does not teach the groove pattern and raised pattern engagement. The Examiner notes that none of these are state in the rejection. As such, the Applicant’s arguments appear to be moot.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JENNIFER CASTRIOTTA/Examiner, Art Unit 3733
/DON M ANDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3733