DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is responsive to: Application filed 27 Sep. 2024
Claims 1-14 are pending in this case. Claims 1 and 8 are independent claims
Claim Objections
Claims 5, 6, 7, 12, 13 and 14 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 5-7 recites “A method of claim ….” A Claims 12-14 recite “A system of ….”
The claims are objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Jaramillo et al. (Pub. No.: US 2013/0235073 A1; Filed: Apr. 10, 2012) (hereinafter “Jaramillo”).
Regarding independent claims 1 and 8, Jaramillo disclose a method comprising:
generating, for display, a first text with a first set of font characteristics (0012; 0014; 0018; 0022);
receiving, using control circuitry, first feedback data associated with the first text with the
first set of font characteristics (0012; 0014; 0018; 0022);
determining, by the control circuitry, font changes to the first set of font characteristics to
increase readability (0014; 0018; 0022);
generating, for display, a second set of font characteristics based at least in part on the font changes to the first set of font characteristics, wherein the second set of font characteristics is different from the first set of font characteristics (0014; 0018; 0022; 0023);
receiving, using the control circuitry, a second feedback data associated with a second text with the second set of font characteristics (0014; 0018; 0022; 0023);
determining, using the control circuitry, whether an adjustment to the second set of font characteristics will increase readability of the second text based at least in part on the second feedback data (0014; 0018; 0022; 0023); and
generating, for display, a third set of font characteristics based at least in part on the first feedback data, the second feedback data, and the determined changes to the first set of font characteristics (0014; 0018; 0022; 0023).
Regarding dependent claims 2 and 9, Jaramillo disclose the method of claims 1 and 8 respectively, wherein at least one of the first feedback data or the second feedback data comprises at least one of eye movement, reading speed, backtrack eye movements, facial expressions, pupil dilations, actions such as putting on or taking off glasses, lip movement, or blink data (0014; 0018; 0022; 0023).
Regarding dependent claims 3 and 10, Jaramillo disclose the method of claims 1 and 8 respectively, wherein the font changes comprise of at least one change to font type, font size, font color, bold, italics, underline, kerning, or background color (0014; 0015; 0018; 0190).
Regarding dependent claims 4 and 11, Jaramillo disclose the method of claims 1 and 8 respectively, wherein the first set of font characteristics comprises at least one of font type, font size, font color, bold, italics, underline, kerning, or background color (0014; 0015; 0018; 0190).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaramillo in view Fesbinder of et al. (Pub. No.: US 2025/0181818 A1; Filed: Dec. 6, 2021) (hereinafter “Fesbinder”).
Regarding dependent claims 5 and 12, Jaramillo does not expressly disclose a method of claims 1 and 8 respectively, wherein readability comprises a readability score, based at least in part on an evaluation of feedback data.
Fesbinder teach a readability score, based at least in part on an evaluation of feedback data (0084; 0142-0143; 0190; 0204).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine Fesbinder with Jaramillo for the benefit of providing a method of improving the legibility of text and associated content.
Regarding dependent claims 6 and 13, Jaramillo does not expressly disclose a method of claims 1 and 8 respectively, wherein the readability score is based at least in part on an analysis agent performing the steps of:
receiving the first feedback data based on the first set of font characteristics;
comparing the readability score of the first set of font characteristics, based at least in part on a dimensionally reduced representation of the first set of font characteristics, and the readability score of an additional set of font characteristics, based at least in part on a dimensionally reduced representation of the additional set of font characteristics;
determining a preferred set of font characteristics with a higher readability score; and
generating a preferred set of font characteristics.
Fesbinder teach receiving the first feedback data based on the first set of font characteristics (0084; 0142-0143; 0190; 0204);
comparing the readability score of the first set of font characteristics, based at least in part on a dimensionally reduced representation of the first set of font characteristics, and the readability score of an additional set of font characteristics, based at least in part on a dimensionally reduced representation of the additional set of font characteristics (0084; 0142-0143; 0190; 0204);
determining a preferred set of font characteristics with a higher readability score (0084; 0142-0143; 0190; 0204); and
generating a preferred set of font characteristics (0084; 0142-0143; 0190; 0204).
Regarding dependent claims 7 and 14, Jaramillo in view of Fesbinder a method of claims 6 and 13 respectively, wherein the analysis agent will determine a preferred font set of characteristics from feedback data indicating that no change to the first set of font characteristics is needed (0147; 0151).
NOTE
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Conclusion
/James J Debrow/
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2174
571-272-5768