DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested: STOPWATCH AND TIMER USER INTERFACES FOR INCLUDING DIFFERENT TIMESCALES.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-15, 18-24 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Time Timer (YouTube video, "Time Timer: iPad edition," dated Feb. 16, 2014, downloaded from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZlfJ7abSJYE) in view of Otero (US 2014/0359508).
Regarding claim 1, Time Timer teaches a device, comprising:
a display (1:00-1:20, the system involves a device with a display and graphical user interface);
an input mechanism (1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, the user has an input mechanism in the lower left hand corner of the interface, to adjust the timescale of the timer interface; for example, the user can set the timescale to a number of minutes, and possibly seconds and/or hours; as seen in 1:11, the user can also directly select and adjust the colored region in the timer interface to adjust the timescale);
one or more processors; and
memory storing one or more programs configured to be executed by the one or more processors (inherently, the Time Timer device includes a processor and memory with instructions), the one or more programs including instructions for:
displaying, via the display, a first representation of a time user interface including a
first timescale (1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, the system can display a timer interface, which has a time scale i.e., the timer might be for a particular amount of time, as visually indicated in the interface; or a revolution of a clock face may correspond to a particular amount of time; for example, 1:55-2:40 indicates a timer interface with a timescale of 44 minutes i.e., one revolution of the timer face is equivalent to 44 minutes; this is later adjusted; note that the claim term, "time user interface" may map to the entire display in Time Timer, including the timer interface and the input mechanism), the user
while displaying the first representation of the time user interface including the first timescale, detecting, via the input mechanism, a movement of the input mechanism (1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, a user can touch and slide the input mechanism to adjust the timescale for the timer interface, which causes the mechanism to animate/rotate/move to indicate the new timescale); and
in response to detecting the movement of the input mechanism:
in accordance with a determination that an amount of the movement of the input mechanism includes a first amount, updating, via the display, the first representation of the time user interface to include a second timescale different from the first timescale (1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, for a timer interface with a particular timescale, the user can adjust the timescale; for example, at 1:05-1:12, a user can adjust the time from 36 minutes to 27 minutes; in 1:58-2:12, a user adjusted the timescale for a timer interface from 44 minutes to 2 hours and 44 minutes; the amount of movement of the sliding and the input mechanism corresponds to the amount that the timescale is changed); and
in accordance with a determination that the amount of the movement of the input mechanism includes a second amount different from the first amount, updating, via the display, the first representation of the time user interface to include a third timescale different from the first timescale and the second timescale (1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, the user can adjust the timescale of the timer interface multiple times using the mechanism, and to different degrees; for example, see 2:08-2:15, where the user makes multiple time adjustments; in 2:29-2:51, multiple adjustments are made to a timer/clock interface, resulting in shifts in corresponding blue and red regions in the timer/clock interface).
However, Time Timer does not expressly disclose the input mechanism is a rotatable input mechanism; the movement of the input mechanism is a rotational movement of the rotatable input mechanism.
In the same field of endeavor, Otero teaches
the input mechanism is a rotatable input mechanism;
the movement of the input mechanism is a rotational movement of the rotatable input mechanism ([0005-0011, 0037-0045, 0041, 0052-0053], in lieu of another input mechanism, it is known to use a dial control; for example, the dial can include multiple concentric rings and corresponding handles, which can be rotated around a center in a circular motion to indicate an increase or decrease in a parameter).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the input mechanism is a rotatable input mechanism; the movement of the input mechanism is a rotational movement of the rotatable input mechanism as suggested in Otero into Time Timer because Time Timer and Otero pertain to analogous fields of technology. Time Timer pertains to a graphical user interface and an input mechanism e.g., a sliding menu or sliding mechanism, used to increase or decrease parameters for a timer interface. Otero also pertains to a graphical mechanism used to increase or decrease parameters. As noted in Otero, the graphical mechanism can be used in place of any other similar input mechanism, and can be used for timer, stopwatch and clock applications. It would be desirable to incorporate the above feature into Time Timer to provide alternative, known ways of adjusting the parameters for the timer interface e.g., see Otero [0005-0011, 0037-0045, 0041, 0052-0053].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches wherein updating the first representation of the time user interface to include the second timescale includes selecting the second timescale from a plurality of predefined timescales (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, the user can adjust the timescale of the timer interface multiple times using the mechanism, and to different degrees; the selection of a parameter is from a predefined set e.g., varying by the second, minute and/or hour, where a certain amount of motion/sliding is associated with selection of one of a set of predefined values, as indicated in the rolling menu; see also Otero [0028], similarly, motion can be used to select, for example, different time parameters from a predefined range e.g., limited to hours, minutes and seconds).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 2. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches wherein:
the rotational movement of the rotatable input mechanism corresponds to a first input timescale, different from each of the plurality of predefined timescales; and
selecting the second timescale from the plurality of predefined timescales includes:
determining which of the plurality of predefined timescales is closest to the first input timescale; and
selecting the closest timescale of the plurality of predefined timescales as the second timescale (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, the user can adjust the timescale of the timer interface multiple times using the mechanism, and to different degrees; the selection of a parameter is from a predefined set of distinct values e.g., varying by the second, minute and/or hour, where a certain amount of motion/sliding is associated with selection of one of a set of predefined values, as indicated in the rolling menu; see also Otero [0028], similarly, motion can be used to select, for example, different time parameters from a predefined range e.g., limited to hours, minutes and seconds; it would be obvious from the above to a person of ordinary skill in the art that a user of the Time Timer/Otero invention would be able to select the next closest timescale; for example, if the timer interface had a timescale of 44 minutes, as indicated in Time Timer 1:55-2:40, the user could naturally advance the timescale to the next closest value e.g., 45 minutes, by moving the handle a minimal amount).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches
updating the first representation of the time user interface to include the second timescale includes displaying an animation of the first representation changing from the first timescale to the second timescale; and
updating the first representation of the time user interface to include the third timescale includes displaying an animation of the first representation changing from the first timescale to the third timescale (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, as seen in 1:00-1:20, the red zone representing the time of the timer can animate to reflect changes to that timescale; in 2:00-2:20, the counter on the circular timer interface can animate to indicate the different times entered; Otero [0052-0053], movement of the handle results in an animation).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero Also teaches wherein the time user interface is associated with a plurality of predefined timescales including one or more of: 0-60 seconds, 0-30 seconds, 0-6 seconds, and 0-3 seconds (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, Time Timer allows for a setting of any number of seconds e.g., 0 to 3, 0 to 6 and 0 to 30 etc.; see for example, 1:57-2:12, which shows the input mechanism with options to provide time scales anywhere from 0 to 59 seconds, and 1 min i.e., 60 seconds).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches wherein a rate of movement of a first element included in the time user interface is determined based on a current timescale of the time user interface (Time Timer 3:10-3:30, 3:35-3:45, during a timer sequence, the timer expires in a single revolution; thus, the edge/line defining the passage of time of the colored region moves around the center more quickly or slowly depending on the timescale e.g., 20 seconds, 20 minutes, 30 minutes etc.).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches
wherein the first representation of the time user interface includes a representation of a second time user interface including a fourth timescale different from the first timescale, the one or more programs further including instructions for:
in response to detecting the rotational movement of the rotatable input mechanism, updating the representation of the second time user interface to include a fifth timescale different from the fourth timescale (Time Timer 2:25-2:45, in a clock timer interface, there are two distinct colored elements, one representing the timescale in hours and another representing the timescale in minutes; a user can separately adjust these parameters using the input mechanism, resulting in animated changes in the corresponding colored elements; the user can select any of a set of predefined minutes or hours presented in the input mechanism).
Regarding claim 10, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing one or more programs configured to be executed by one or more processors of a device with a display and a rotatable input mechanism, the one or more programs including instructions (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, the system involves a device with a display and graphical user interface; inherently, the Time Timer device includes a processor and memory with instructions).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 11 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 11. Claim 12 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 13 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 14 also corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 15 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 18 also corresponds to claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 19, the claim corresponds to claim 1 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 20 also corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 20. Claim 21 also corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 22 also corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 23 also corresponds to claim 5 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 24 also corresponds to claim 6 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 27, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 27 also corresponds to claim 9 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Claims 7, 8, 16, 17, 25 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Time Timer and Otero, as applied in claims 1, 10 and 19, and further in view of Tsubata (US 2012/0188856).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. The combination of Time Timer and Otero also teaches wherein the first representation of the time user interface includes a first element, wherein the first element is positioned based on a current time on the first timescale (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, for a timer interface with a particular timescale, the user can adjust the timescale; when the timer starts, there is an element that indicates the current or elapsed time; as seen in for example 3:10-3:30, 3:35-3:45, during a timer sequence, there is an edge/line defining the passage of time that moves around the center).
However, the combination of Time Timer and Otero does not expressly disclose the current time is a lap time.
In the same field of endeavor, Tsubata teaches the current time is a lap time (Figs. 7, 3 , [0075, 0007, 0043, 0048], it is known to determine and display an elapsed lap time and remaining lap time i.e., a remaining time relative to a target lap time).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the current time is a lap time as suggested in Time Timer and Otero into Tsubata, because Time Timer and Tsubata pertain to analogous fields of technology. Time Timer pertains to a timer that indicates an elapsed time and a time remaining until a target time. Tsubata does the same, in the context of lap times. It would be desirable to incorporate this feature into Time Timer so Time Timer can be utilized in a variety of timing situations e.g., see Tsubata Figs. 7, 3 [0075, 0007, 0043, 0048].
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Time Timer, Otero and Tsubata teaches the invention as claimed in claim 7. The combination of Time Timer, Otero and Tsubata also teaches wherein:
updating the first representation of the time user interface to include the second timescale includes updating the position of the first element based on the current lap time on the second timescale; and
updating the first representation of the time user interface to include the third timescale includes updating the position of the first element based on the current lap time on the third timescale (Time Timer 1:00-1:20, 1:55-2:40, 3:20-3:25, for a timer interface with a particular timescale, the user can adjust the timescale; when the timer starts, there is an element that indicates the current or elapsed time).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 10. Claim 16 also corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Time Timer, Otero and Tsubata teaches the invention as claimed in claim 16. Claim 17 also corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Time Timer and Otero teaches the invention as claimed in claim 19. Claim 25 also corresponds to claim 7 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Time Timer, Otero and Tsubata teaches the invention as claimed in claim 25. Claim 26 also corresponds to claim 8 and is rejected for the same reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.e
Abdukalykov (US 2014/0104158) teaches an application on a portable device that can adjust a timescale in a graphical user interface e.g., see Abdukalykov Abstract.
/ERIC J YOON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2118