DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2023/026388).
Regarding claims 1, 19 and 20, Liu discloses an apparatus (Referred to as “UE”), comprising: one or more memories or a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing processor-executable code (Fig. 18, 1830; paragraph [132]: "The memory 1830 may store various data used by at least one component (e.g., the processor 1820 or the sensor module 1876) of the electronic device 1801. The various data may include, for example, software (e.g., the program 1840) and input data or output data for a command related thereto"); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 18, 1820; paragraph [129]: "The processor 1820 may execute software (e.g., a program 1840) to control at least one other component (e.g., a hardware or a software component) of the electronic device 1801 coupled with the processor 1820 and may perform various data processing or computations"): monitor a first subset of a set of resources for a first portion of resource blocks of a synchronization signal block (SSB) (Fig. 10, step 1010; paragraph [0098]: If the UE is a RedCap UE, then fewer PBCH bits from the central portion of the PRBs (e.g., 12 central PRBs from symbols 1-3 as shown in FIG. 7) are obtained from the broadcast signal (1010)" ; Fig. 7; paragraph [0091]: FIG. 7 illustrates an example SSB") based at least in part on a capability of a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 10, 1004; [0098]: "If the UE is a RedCap UE (e.g., a UE that is bandwidth-limited to 5 MHz) (1004)" ; paragraph [0052]: "Herein the present disclosure, the terms reduced capabilities (RedCap) is intended to refer to limited bandwidth capabilities of a UE that is not sufficient to meet legacy bandwidth requirements on UEs."); monitor a second subset of the set of resources for a second portion of resource blocks of the SSB based at least in part on the capability of the UE, wherein the first subset of the set of resources is different from the second subset of the set of resources (Figure 10, step 1012; paragraph [0098]: "Next, the RedCap UE may obtain additional PBCH bits from symbols 4 and 5 (i.e., fifth and sixth symbols) (1012). As shown in FIG. 7, the PBCH bits obtained from symbols 4 and 5 correspond to the bits that were not obtained from symbols 1-3 that are outside of the bandwidth limits of the RedCap UE. That is, the upper and lower portions of the PBCH as illustrated in FIG. 7 with reference numbers 1-6, which are duplicated in symbols 4-5"), the first subset of the set of resources allocated for one or more wireless devices having a different capability than the capability of the UE (paragraph [0004]: "RedCap UEs, which have lower bandwidth capability than legacy bandwidth requirements on UEs, may not be able to perform a legacy initial access procedure."), wherein a first part of a physical broadcast channel (PBCH) is mapped to the first subset of the set of resources and a second part of the PBCH is mapped to the second subset of the set of resources (Fig. 7; paragraph [0098]: " If the UE is a RedCap UE, then fewer PBCH bits from the central portion of the PRBs (e.g., 12 central PRBs from symbols 1-3 as shown in FIG. 7) are obtained from the broadcast signal (1010). Next, the RedCap UE may obtain additional PBCH bits from symbols 4 and 5 (i.e., fifth and sixth symbols) (1012). As shown in FIG. 7, the PBCH bits obtained from symbols 4 and 5 correspond to the bits that were not obtained from symbols 1-3 that are outside of the bandwidth limits of the RedCap UE "; paragraph [0091]: "certain portions of the PBCH that are outside of the 5 MHz bandwidth may be duplicated by adding two PBCH symbols"); decode system information associated with the SSB based at least in part on the first subset of the set of resources and the second subset of the set of resources (Fig. 10, 1008; paragraph [0098]: "Once the RedCap UE obtains all of the bits, then PBCH bits may be rearranged in the manner in which the PBCH bits are typically arranged in a legacy PBCH (1008). Finally, the RedCap UE may decode the PSS, SSS, and PBCH bits (1008)" ; paragraph [0063]: "Minimum SI (System Information) is carried on the Physical Broadcast Channel") ; and perform a cell acquisition procedure based at least in part on the system information (paragraph [0060]: "The SSB is a self-contained block that enables the UE to acquire a synchronization and an initial information from the network such as gNB").
Regarding claim 2, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: monitor a synchronization raster point, wherein monitoring the first subset of the set of resources and the second subset of the set of resources is based at least in part on monitoring the synchronization raster point (paragraph 90: “a new SSB may be designed, called eSSB, occupying 12 resource blocks (RBs). Accordingly, FIG. 6 illustrates an example eSSB 604 in comparison with the legacy SSB 602 that includes a new channel, ePBCH. In other words, the PBCH in the SSB 602 that occupies 20 PRBs is replaced with an ePBCH that occupies just 12 PRBs. Here, the ePBCH may occupy 4.3 MHz for a 30 kHz SCS, and therefore may be decoded by a NB RedCap UE that has a maximum bandwidth of 5 MHz.”).
Regarding claim 3, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: monitor a channel bandwidth with a channel raster of 100 kilohertz (kHz) based at least in part on monitoring the synchronization raster point, wherein the channel raster is associated with the SSB (paragraph 90: “a new SSB may be designed, called eSSB, occupying 12 resource blocks (RBs). Accordingly, FIG. 6 illustrates an example eSSB 604 in comparison with the legacy SSB 602 that includes a new channel, ePBCH. In other words, the PBCH in the SSB 602 that occupies 20 PRBs is replaced with an ePBCH that occupies just 12 PRBs. Here, the ePBCH may occupy 4.3 MHz for a 30 kHz SCS, and therefore may be decoded by a NB RedCap UE that has a maximum bandwidth of 5 MHz.”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive a primary synchronization signal (PSS) via a first plurality of resource blocks of the first portion of resource blocks; receive a secondary synchronization signal (SSS) via a second plurality of resource blocks of the first portion of resource blocks; receive the first part of the PBCH and one or more first demodulation reference signals (DMRSs) of a set of DMRSs via a third plurality of resource blocks of the first portion of resource blocks; and receive the second part of the PBCH and one or more second DMRSs of the set of DMRSs via a fourth plurality of resource blocks of the second portion of resource blocks (paragraph 122: “a 12-symbol length CORESET may be configured for one CORESET within one slot, and PDSCH and the associated DMRS may be transmitted at the seventh symbol of the current slot or in the later slots. The new resource mapping criterion may be designed if a longer CORESET duration is introduced.”).
Regarding claim 5, Liu discloses that the first plurality of resource blocks, the second plurality of resource blocks, and the third plurality of resource blocks are associated with a first set of frequency resources, and the fourth plurality of resource blocks are associated with a second set of frequency resources (paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 6, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: demap the first part of the PBCH and the one or more first DMRSs based at least in part on the third plurality of resource blocks and the second part of the PBCH and the one or more second DMRSs based at least in part on the fourth plurality of resource blocks, wherein the first part of the PBCH is an initial part of the PBCH and the second part of the PBCH is a subsequent part of the PBCH (paragraph 122: “a 12-symbol length CORESET may be configured for one CORESET within one slot, and PDSCH and the associated DMRS may be transmitted at the seventh symbol of the current slot or in the later slots. The new resource mapping criterion may be designed if a longer CORESET duration is introduced.”).
Regarding claim 7, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: demap a first frequency-domain subcarrier for the first part of the PBCH and the one or more first DMRSs based at least in part on the third plurality of resource blocks, wherein the first frequency-domain subcarrier is counted relative to a first initial subcarrier of the third plurality of resource blocks; demap a first time-domain symbol, after demapping the first frequency-domain subcarrier, for the first part of the PBCH and the one or more first DMRSs based at least in part on the third plurality of resource blocks; demap a second frequency-domain subcarrier for the second part of the PBCH and the one or more second DMRSs based at least in part on the fourth plurality of resource blocks, wherein the second frequency-domain subcarrier is counted relative to a second initial subcarrier of the fourth plurality of resource blocks; and demap a second time-domain symbol, after demapping the second frequency-domain subcarrier, for the second part of the PBCH and the one or more second DMRSs based at least in part on the fourth plurality of resource blocks (paragraph 122: “a 12-symbol length CORESET may be configured for one CORESET within one slot, and PDSCH and the associated DMRS may be transmitted at the seventh symbol of the current slot or in the later slots. The new resource mapping criterion may be designed if a longer CORESET duration is introduced.”; paragraph 123: “An encoded DCI may be split into several parts and mapped to the bundled CORESETs, respectively. An NB RedCap UE may collect the desired CCEs from the bundled CORESETs according to a predefined or configured CCE mapping rule before DCI decoding.”)).
Regarding claim 8, Liu discloses that the first part of the PBCH and the second part of the PBCH are encoded using a same encoding scheme (paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 9, Liu discloses that the first part of the PBCH is encoded using a first redundancy version and the second part of the PBCH is encoded using a second redundancy version different from the first redundancy version (paragraph 125).
Regarding claim 10, Liu discloses that the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a first set of subcarriers, the second portion of resource blocks is associated with a second set of subcarriers, and the first set of subcarriers and the second set of subcarriers are a same set of subcarriers (paragraph 61).
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses that the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a first set of subcarriers, and the second portion of resource blocks is associated with a second set of subcarriers, and the first set of subcarriers and the second set of subcarriers are different set of subcarriers (paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses that at least the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a subcarrier spacing of 7.5 kHz (paragraph 62).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses that the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: refrain from monitoring for a subset of the second set of subcarriers based at least in part on the subset of the second set of subcarriers being outside a channel bandwidth associated with the set of resources (FIG. 7 and paragraph 97: “While shown with the same number of bits for legacy or NB mapping of the PBCH, may be possible to have the PBCH on symbols 4-5 (of FIG. 7) occupying more than 12 PRBs. In this way, coverage of for the NB RedCap UEs may be increased, if desired. In general, the reduced PBCH may be equal or less than 12 PRBs, such that the SSB with SCS of 30 kHz may be decoded by Rel-18 NB RedCap UEs.”).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses that, to monitor the second subset of the set of resources, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: monitor for the second portion of resource blocks with different mapping patterns based at least in part on a channel bandwidth associated with the set of resources, wherein the mapping patterns include at least a first mapping pattern mapping to frequency resource after an ending subcarrier of the first subset of the set of resources, a second mapping pattern mapping to second frequency resources before an initial subcarrier of the first subset of the set of resources, and a third mapping pattern mapping to third frequency resources after the ending subcarrier of the first subset of the set of resources and before the initial subcarrier of the first subset of the set of resources (paragraph 98: “If the UE is a RedCap UE (e.g., a UE that is bandwidth-limited to 5 MHz) (1004), then step 1010 will be processed, whereas if the UE is a legacy UE, then step 1006 will be process. Thus, if the UE is a legacy UE, then the legacy PBCH bits (e.g., as shown in FIG. 1 with 24 central PRBs from symbols 1-3 (i.e., second through fourth symbols)) are obtained from the broadcast signal (1006).”).
Regarding claim 15, Liu discloses that, wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: receive, via a broadcast system information message, an indication of a mapping pattern for the second portion of resource blocks, wherein the mapping pattern is based at least in part on the channel bandwidth associated with the set of resources (paragraph 98).
Regarding claim 16, Liu discloses that the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a first set of time resources, the second portion of resource blocks is associated with a second set of time resources, and the first set of time resources and the second set of time resources are different (paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 17, Liu discloses that the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a first set of subcarriers, and the second portion of resource blocks is associated with a second set of subcarriers corresponding to frequencies greater than the first set of subcarriers (paragraph 122).
Regarding claim 18, Liu discloses that the first portion of resource blocks is associated with a first set of subcarriers, and the second portion of resource blocks is associated with a second set of subcarriers corresponding to frequencies less than the first set of subcarriers (paragraph 123).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2021/0144569) discloses that a monitoring configuration indicated by a base station is based on a UE capability to monitor SSB resources within a given time duration.
/SAM BHATTACHARYA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646