DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
As per the claim 9 rejection, as it does not make sense to slide 0 distance, the limitation of claim 9 is read as the device being able to slide to a distance between 0-4 centimeters.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The following claims 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Tsui (US 9860645 B1), and further in view of Osterhaut et al (US 20120194419 Al).
As per claim 1, Tsui discloses sound reproduction device a wearable head device comprising:
a woofer component including a woofer sound outlet (fig. 11, 246, (output of manifold 232 to the ear);
a tweeter component including a tweeter sound outlet (236, (the output into manifold 232 at a position at least ½ cm behind the left woofer sound outlet within manifold 234, noting that the manifolds 232 and 234 are at least 2cm long relative to respective tubes 240 and 242, which may be 25 CM long each as per claim 2 ),
the tweeter component coupled to the woofer component (via the device as shown in the figure),
the tweeter sound outlet spaced from the woofer sound outlet by at least ½ centimeters (as shown in the figure 11);
an input configured to receive an audio signal (253 in fig. 11);
a woofer output coupled to the woofer component (support structure 240 and 232);
a tweeter output coupled to the tweeter component (the output into manifold 234 at a position at least ½ cm behind the right woofer sound outlet within manifold 234);
an audio signal filter coupled to the input and drivingly coupled to the woofer component through the woofer output, the audio signal filter configured to apply a first gain to at least a first frequency band (per the filters in para 55, the low pass crossover) apply a second gain to at least a second frequency band in a second frequency range extending from 100 Hz (per the filters in para 55, the low pass crossover).
wherein the first gain substantially exceeds the second gain (per the lpf filter);
,
However, Tsui does not specify
the explicit cutoff frequency for the filter, including at 100Hz (-3dB point) (“ in a first frequency range extending from 20 Hz to 100 Hz and further configured to apply a second gain to at least a second frequency band in a second frequency range extending from 100 Hz”)
and
a transmissive display coupled to the woofer component, the transmissive display configured to rest proximate the eyes of a user of the wearable head device.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing, as a matter of design to choice design the cutoff of the disclosed lpf filter to be 100 Hz for the purpose of creating a high/low pass filter response at common points for crossover filters in audio (a commonly recognized end of the low frequency range).
Further,
Osterhaut discloses an augmented reality apparatus comprising a sound reproduction system and teaches to implement:
a transmissive display (left and right lenses 104 is a transmissive display via projectors 108) coupled to a left support structure (the left side frame of the AR glasses shown in fig. 1) and right support structure (the right side of the AR glasses frame shown in fig. 1),
the transmissive display configured to rest proximate the eyes of a user of the head-wearable device (when worn as shown in fig. 14a, the display is proximate the user’s eyes),
Tsui teaches that the sound reproduction system uses multiple drivers to enhance the spatial characteristics of the audio experience (Col 1 lines 10-17).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing that the speaker components 120 of Osterhaut couple comprise the sound reproduction system of Tsui including the left woofer component, the left tweeter component, the right woofer component and the right tweeter component, for the purpose of producing enhanced spatial characteristics.
When combined the left and right woofer sound outlets of Tsui are positioned as per the respective left and right speaker sound outlets of earbuds 120 in Fig. 1, respectively within 1.5 cm of the left and right ear canals.
When implemented with the eartip 2B of Tsui,
the left woofer component does not directly contact the left ear canal when the transmissive display rests proximate the eyes of the user, and the right woofer component does not directly contact the right ear canal when the transmissive display rests proximate the eyes of the user,
wherein: a left speaker sound outlet is configured to rest within 1.5 centimeters of a left ear canal of the user when the transmissive display rests proximate the eyes of the user (based on the positioning of the eartip 2b of Tsui), and
a right speaker sound outlet is configured to rest within 1.5 centimeters of a right ear canal of the user when the transmissive display rests proximate the eyes of the user (based on the positioning of the eartip 2b of Tsui).
As per claim 2, The wearable head device according to claim 1, wherein: the wearable head device further comprises
one or more air impermeable portions comprising one or more air impermeable materials (the outer enclosures of the devices as taught per the claim 1 rejection and also that which forms the ducts to support to outputs for the tweeters and woofers); and
the one or more of the air impermeable portions comprise one or more of the woofer component and the tweeter component (the woofers and tweeter portions are within the housings as shown in in fig. 11).
As per claim 3, the wearable head device according to claim 1, further comprising a channel delay between the input and the woofer output (via the length of the tubes).
As per claim 4, the wearable head device according to claim 1, The prior art cited above does not explicitly state wherein the first gain exceeds the second gain by at least 10 dB.
However it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to implement the cutoff of each respective filter band for the same reasons discussed in the claim 1 rejection further noting the broadly recited range of noise floor levels covers a majority of well known audio ranges applicable to crossover filtering).
As per claim 5, the wearable head device according to claim 1, further comprising an ear clip mounting structure (the shape in fig. 11 comprises a clipping structure on the lower outer portion of the housing, which can engage the outer ear canal edge in a clippable manner when worn).
As per claim 6, the wearable head device according to claim 1, further comprising a head spanning mounting structure (per the head mounted display taught per the claim 1 rejection).
As per claim 7, the wearable head device according to claim 1, wherein: the audio signal filter comprises a crossover filter comprising a low pass filter, the crossover filter having a crossover frequency, and the second frequency range extends from 100 Hz up to the crossover frequency (per the teachings of the claim 1 and 4 rejections).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8-10,12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsui (US 9860645 B1), and further in view of Osterhaut et al (US 20120194419 Al) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Depallens et al (US 20150117694 A1).
As per claim 8, Osterhaut and Tsui disclose the wearable head device according to claim 1, additionally Tsui discloses that the sound tube/acoustic output extension is not required to be flexible (para 30) , but do not specify
wherein the tweeter component is slideably attached to a tweeter support rail.
Depallins discloses an earphone and teaches that the driver modules can be slidably attached to a sound outlet/acoustic output extension (fig. 19) for the purpose of allowing the driver and its sound outlet to be adjustable (para 10). Tsui contemplates various sizes of the acoustic output/tube per para 32 (50-250mm). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of filing to implement a siding rail system for the purpose of making the acoustic output extension of the driver adjustable.
As per claim 9, the wearable head device according to claim 8, wherein the tweeter component is configured to slide along the tweeter support rail a distance of 0-4 centimeters (the tweeter component, with the teaching of the slideable interface with the tube/acoustic output extension is able to be slid anywhere between 0-4cm as the user adjusts it, where a single movement will be greater than 0, and any number of movements can add up to anywhere between 0 and 4 cm.
As per claim 10 , Tsui and OsterHaut and Depallins disclose the wearable head device according to claim 8, but do not specify further comprising a sensor component configured to measure a position of the tweeter component.
The examiner takes official notice it was well known in the art at the time of filing to implement echo or feedback cancellation in any devices with microphone and speakers (noting both Oswterhaut and Depallins teach the use of microphones on the earphones), where said echo and feedback cancellation comprises tracking the spatial position of all sources of echo and feedback, which include the drivers at their particular positions.
As per claim 12, the wearable head device according to claim 8, further comprising circuitry configured to generate an audio delay based on a position of the tweeter component. The circuitry disclosed in Tsui fig. 11, is configured such that it drives 247 through the tube 240, which creates a delay relative to the signal output from driver 236.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable over the prior art of record if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
The submitted arguments have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
As per applicant’s argument that the prior art does not disclose the distance between the tweeter sound outlet and woofer sound outlet outputs being greater than ½ cm. The examiner notes the sound outlet of the tweeter is immediate adj to the output of 246 in fig. 11 of Tsui, where the sound outlet of the woofer is at the other end of tube 10, where the tube is greater than 1/2cm, and is notably cited between 0.5-2.5 cm as recited in claim 2 of Tsui.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can usually be reached on m-f 7:30-4:00 est.
The fax phone numbers for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned are 571-273-8300 for regular communications and 571-273-8300 for After Final communications.
/ALEXANDER KRZYSTAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2653
Examiner Alexander Krzystan
October 16, 2026