DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "an image processing unit which …analyzes a face image of the user". The “face image of the user” in mentioned in the first step. It is not clear if the claim refers to the “face image of the user” mentioned in the first step. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Also Claim 5 recites “detecting the face image”.
The Examiner suggests keeping the language consistent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 14-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 14 and 15 recite a “computer program comprising instructions for…..”. Such claimed software does not define any structural and functional interrelationships between the computer program and other elements of a computer, which permit the computer program’s functionality to be realized. As such, software (functional descriptive material) per se not claimed as embodied/encoded in computer-readable media is not statutory for that reason (i.e., “When functional descriptive material is recorded on some computer-readable medium it becomes structurally and functionally interrelated to the medium and will be statutory in most cases since use of technology permits the function of the descriptive material to be realized”). Software by itself is not capable of causing functional change in the computer. Because the full scope of the claim as properly read in light of the disclosure encompasses non-statutory subject matter, the claim as a whole is non-statutory and appears to be one type of claim that is considered nonstatutory, under the present USPTO Interim Guidelines, 1300 Official Gazette Patent and Trademark Office 142 (Nov. 22, 2005).
Claims 16 and 17 sets forth a “computer-readable medium.” However, the specification as originally filed does not explicitly define the computer readable medium by stating that it '. . . includes, but is not limited to' a number of various mediums (Para. 0091 of the publication). The United States Patent and Trademark Office (USPTO) is obliged to give claims their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification during proceedings before the USPTO. See In re Zletz, 893 F.2d 319 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (during patent examination the pending claims must be interpreted as broadly as their terms reasonably allow). The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage media (also called machine readable medium and other such variations) typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable media, particularly when the specification is absent an explicit definition or is silent. See MPEP 2111.01. When the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim covers a signal per se, the claim must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter. See In re Nuijten, 500 F.3d 1346, 1356-57 (Fed. Cir. 2007) (transitory embodiments are not directed to statutory subject matter) and Interim Examination Instructions for Evaluating Subject Matter Eligibility Under 35 U.S.C. § 101, Aug. 24, 2009; p. 2.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “an image reception unit”, “a 3D eye tracking model management unit”, “an image processing unit” and “an image output unit” in claims 1, 4-5 and “a first fully connected layer unit”, “a second FC layer unit” and “a pitch gaze estimation unit” in claims 7 and 9-10.
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art fails to neither disclose nor sufficiently suggest the combination of features as claimed and arranged by applicant. Specifically, the prior art does not disclose cropping the face image of the user; estimating gaze directions (yaw, pitch) of the left and right eyes of the user by analyzing the cropped face image of the user; and estimating real world coordinates indicating the position and the gaze direction of the user’s eyes by fusing the estimated pixel coordinates (x1, y1) of the left eye, the estimated pixel coordinates (x2, y2) of the right eye of the user, the estimated depths (z1, z2), and the estimated gaze directions (yaw, pitch) of the left and right eyes of the user, as recited in claims 5 and 12.
Claims 12-13 are allowed.
Claims 5-11 would be allowable if the applicant overcome the above 112 rejections and rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-17 would be allowable if the applicant overcome the above 101 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cashen (US 2017/0169612) in view of Boyle (US 2022/0146819).
Regarding claim 1, Cashen discloses a projection point locating system comprising:
an image reception unit which receives an image including a target object to be located at a projection point from a first camera (receiving target position input from a sensing unit that can be a camera. The sensing unit use a plurality of sensors to monitor and scan an environment to identify real-world targets; see at last paragraphs 0047-048), and receives a face image of a user who observes the target object from a second camera (the sensing unit may also include a tracking camera to capture eye position and/or head position of the operator; see at least paragraphs 0050-0052);
an eye tracking management unit for optimally locating the projection point of the target object (an alignment system that applies correction in real time in both graphics generation and image warping such as the generated virtual images and correctly aligned with their intended real-world targets within acceptable levels of distortion; see at least paragraph 0058);
an image processing unit which analyzes a face image of the user who observes the target object and estimates a position and a gaze direction of user's eyes, so as to process the target object such that the target object appears at optimal coordinates aligned with the position and the gaze direction of the user's eyes (a graphics unit receives data and information from the sensing unit that tracks eyes and head movement of the operator. The graphics unit comprise an alignment system that is configured to correct for misalignment by considering a number of dynamic error factor inputs and static error factor inputs in real time; see at least paragraphs 0045-0045, 0050-0052, 0056 and 0098-0102); and
an image output unit which displays the target object, which is processed by the image processing unit, by projecting the target object at the optimal coordinates aligned with the position and the gaze direction of the user's eyes (displaying, by a display unit, images that are correctly aligned with their intended real-world targets within acceptable levels of distortion; see at least paragraphs 0046, 0056, 0058 and 0100).
Cashen discloses the eye tracking, as above, but is not clear about generating and training a 3D tracking model, receiving the 3D tracking model and using the 3D tracking model.
Boyle discloses the above missing limitation; a 3D eye model is generated and used to model gaze depth of the user; see at least paragraphs 0028, 0048 and 0059.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Cashen by the teachings of Boyle by having the above limitations so to be able to map eye tracking functions to gaze depths so to determine the gaze depth of the user; see at least the Abstract.
Regarding claim 2, Cashen in view of Boyle disclose the projection point locating system of claim 1, wherein the 3D eye tracking model is configured by integrating an eyeball tracking model for estimating pixel coordinates (x, y) of the user's eyes (determine the location for each pupil; Boyle; see at least paragraphs 0019 and 0027-0028), a depth estimation model for estimating a depth (z) corresponding to the pixel coordinates (x, y) of the user's eyes (depth determination; Boyle; see at least paragraphs 0019, 0024 and 0027-0028), and a gaze estimation model for estimating the gaze direction of the user's eyes (gaze depth; Boyle; see at least paragraphs 0019, 0022 and 0026).
Regarding claim 3, Cashen in view of Boyle disclose the projection point locating system of claim 2, wherein the gaze direction of the user's eyes, which is estimated by the gaze estimation model, is a yaw direction and a pitch direction (Boyle; see at least paragraphs 0026 and 0048).
Regarding claim 4, Cashen in view of Boyle disclose the projection point locating system of claim 3, wherein the first camera and the second camera are general cameras that generate a 2D image, and images received by the image reception unit are 2D images that do not include depth information, and the depth information corresponding to the 2D images is estimated by the depth estimation model (the camera of Cashen; see at least paragraphs 0047 and 0050-0052 in view of the depth estimation of Boyle; see at least paragraphs 0019, 0024 and 0027-0028).
Conclusion
/YASSIN ALATA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426