DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7, 12, 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657).
With regards to claim 1, Duraisingh discloses A Building Management System (BMS) comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive a first set of data corresponding to a piece of building equipment for a building, the first set of data including ([0072] building management system may receive information from devices known as equipment models):
semantic information to provide a context regarding the piece of building equipment ([0072] An equipment model defines equipment object attributes, view definitions, schedules, trends, and the associated BACnet value objects (e.g., analog value, binary value, multistate value, etc.) that are used for integration with other systems); and
one or more first values corresponding to first timeseries data associated with the piece of building equipment ([0202] timeseries data);
transmit, responsive to receipt of the first set of data, the first set of data to a system to integrate the piece of building equipment with the system, the first set of data having a format that is self-identifiable by the system such that the system automatically discovers a semantic relationship between the piece of building equipment and one or more aspects of the building based on the semantic information ([0065] automatic equipment discovery using equipment models);
receive, responsive to integration of the piece of building equipment with the system, a second set of data that includes one or more second values corresponding to second timeseries data associated with the piece of building equipment ([0232] update time series data after a data adaptor binds an equipment);
detect a difference between the one or more first values and the one or more second values that indicates a Change of Value (COV) for at least one parameter associated with the one or more second values ([0106] detect a change of value (COV)); and
transmit, responsive to detection of the difference, to the system, a third set of data that identifies the COV without a subsequent transmission of the semantic information ([0114] When a change to the stored device list occurs, device list storage can provide a COV notification to messaging engine 420. In response to receiving the COV notification, messaging engine 420 can read the device list stored in device list storage 424 to identify all of the devices connected to system bus 354, any of zone busses 356-360 or 364, and/or SA bus 366. In some embodiments, messaging engine 420 translates the list of devices into format which can be presented to a user. For example, messaging engine 420 can translate the list of devices into a JavaScript object notation, HTML format, or any other format that facilitates presentation to a user. Messaging engine 420 can provide the updated and translated device list to web server).
With regards to claim 2, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the system includes at least one of: a cloud system remote from the building; or one or more building systems of the building controllable by the BMS ([0231] BMS used to collect and send timeseries data to cloud platform 901).
Claim 16 corresponds to claim 2 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 3, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the automatic detection of the semantic relationship triggers an ingestion of information by the system such that the system establishes communication with the piece of building equipment ([0064] automatically equipment discovery and interaction).
Claim 17 corresponds to claim 3 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 4, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the first set of data includes a device identification to identify the piece of building equipment, wherein the device identification is different than the semantic information ([0085] information about each device connected to system bus 354 (e.g., device type, device model, device ID, MAC address, device attributes)), and wherein the device identification is transmitted with the third set of data ([0114] provide a list of devices).
Claim 18 corresponds to claim 4 and is rejected accordingly.
With regards to claim 7, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: update, responsive to indication of the COV, a cache of the BMS to reflect the COV, wherein the cache is maintained by the one or more memory devices, and wherein detection of subsequent COVs triggers subsequent updates to the cache ([0157] For example, device list generator 428 can read active node table 414 in response to receiving a COV notification indicating that active node table 414 has been updated. Device list generator 428 can compare the data from active node table 414 to a previous (e.g., cached) version of active node table 414 to determine whether any new nodes have been added).
With regards to claim 12, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: provide, to the system, a request to provide a credential to verify the system; receive, from the system, the credential; verify, responsive to confirmation of a match between the credential and a value stored in a database, the system; and transmit, responsive to verification of the system, the first set of data to the system ([0282] technician may log in and provide credentials).
With regards to claim 14, Duraisingh further discloses:
wherein the first set of data is received from an edge device located at the building, and wherein at least a portion of the BMS is stored via a server bank remote to the building ([0180] send equipment data to cloud platform).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657) in view of Pelski (U.S Pub # 20240283675).
With regards to claim 5, Duraisingh does not disclose however Pelski discloses:
receive the first set of data from the piece of building equipment, wherein the first set of data is transmitted from the piece of building equipment having a second format different than the format;
retrieve, from a semantic store, a set of information that indicates the format that is self-identifiable by the system; translate, using the set of information, the first set of data from the second format to the format; and
transmit, responsive to translation of the first set of data, the first set of data having the format to the system ([0257] In some implementations, events or other data from the external systems 3002 may be ingested via one or more APIs designed to receive the data from the external systems 3002 and translate it into a format usable by system 3000).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Peleski to reformat data received from new devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ingest event information from external computing systems (Peleski [0005]).
With regards to claim 10, Duraisingh does not disclose however Pelski discloses:
wherein the first set of data is received in a second format, and wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: translate, based on one or more translations stored in a database, the first set of data from the second format to the format; and transmit, responsive to translation of the first set of data, the first set of data to the system, wherein the first set of data having the second format is unrecognizable by the system ([0257] In some implementations, events or other data from the external systems 3002 may be ingested via one or more APIs designed to receive the data from the external systems and translate it into a format usable by system 3000).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Peleski to reformat data received from new devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ingest event information from external computing systems (Peleski [0005]).
With regards to claim 11, Duraisingh does not disclose however Pelski discloses:
wherein a plurality of pieces of building equipment of the building are controllable with one or more control signals having the format, and wherein the plurality of pieces of building equipment produce information having the format ([0096] edge devices send data to be formatted correctly).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Peleski to reformat data received from new devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to ingest event information from external computing systems (Peleski [0005]).
Claims 6, 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657) in view of Gupta (U.S Pub # 20220376946).
With regards to claim 6, Duraisingh does not disclose however Gupta discloses:
extract, from the second set of data, the one or more second values to prevent a duplicative transmission of the semantic information; and transmit the second set of data to the system without an input from the system ([0154] In some embodiments to conserve data and avoid duplication of equipment templates, gateway device 302 may send the equipment list first and equipment list processor 1010 may be configured to check D2C storage 1016 for equipment templates before requesting gateway device 302 to send them. By first checking for pre-existing equipment model templates cloud-platform 1000 ensures only a single equipment template is stored, avoiding duplicate meta data).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Gupta to prevent sending redundant information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to communicate building data output to different applications (Gupta [0005]).
With regards to claim 8, Duraisingh does not disclose however Gupta discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive a fourth set of data corresponding to third timeseries data associated with a second piece of building equipment of the building; determine, responsive to receipt of the fourth set of data, that the system previously discovered the second piece of building equipment; and extract, from the fourth set of data, one or more third values that represent the third timeseries data to prevent a subsequent transmission of second semantic information, that describes the second piece of building equipment, to the system (Gupta [0154] In some embodiments to conserve data and avoid duplication of equipment templates, gateway device 302 may send the equipment list first and equipment list processor 1010 may be configured to check D2C storage 1016 for equipment templates before requesting gateway device 302 to send them. By first checking for pre-existing equipment model templates cloud-platform 1000 ensures only a single equipment template is stored, avoiding duplicate meta data).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Gupta to prevent sending redundant information.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to communicate building data output to different applications (Gupta [0005]).
Claims 9, 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657) in view of Drees (U.S Pub # 20180356808).
With regards to claim 9, Duraisingh does not disclose however Drees discloses:
retrieve, responsive to receipt of the fourth set of data, a fifth set of data pertaining to the second piece of building equipment, the fifth set of data received prior to the fourth set of data, and the fifth set of data includes one or more fourth values that represent fourth timeseries data associated with the second piece of building equipment; determine, responsive to comparison of the one or more third values and the one or more fourth values, that a second difference between the one or more third values and the one or more fourth values is within a predetermined threshold; and prevent, based on the second difference being within the predetermined threshold, transmission of a sixth set of data to the system ([0134] However, if the change in the measured variable Δy.sub.p is not greater than the threshold value δ (i.e., the result of step 1116 is “no”), then a new transmission is not sent).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Drees to reduce network traffic.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to cause transmission in determination that a delta value exceeds a threshold value (Drees [0008]).
With regards to claim 13, Duraisingh does not disclose however Drees discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: transmit the third set of data to identify the COV responsive to a determination that the difference between the one or more first values with respect to the one or more second values exceeds a predetermined threshold ([0134] If the change in the measured variable Δy.sub.p is greater than a threshold value δ (i.e., the result of step 1116 is “yes”), a new transmission is sent).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Drees to reduce network traffic.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to cause transmission in determination that a delta value exceeds a threshold value (Drees [0008]).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657) in view of Majewski (U.S Pub # 20210389968).
With regards to claim 19, Duraisingh discloses a Building Management System (BMS) comprising one or more memory devices storing instructions thereon that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to:
receive, via the connection from the edge device, the first set of data ([0072] building management system may receive information from devices known as equipment models):
update, responsive to receipt of the first set of data, a second cache to reflect the first set of data, the second cache stored in the one or more memory devices ([0092] update an active node table when a new device is discovered
extract, from the first set of data, one or more first values associated with the plurality of parameters of a piece of building equipment ([0072] An equipment model defines equipment object attributes, view definitions, schedules, trends, and the associated BACnet value objects (e.g., analog value, binary value, multistate value, etc.) that are used for integration with other systems);
detect, based on a comparison between the first set of data and a previous set of data pertaining to the piece of building equipment, a difference between the one or more first values with respect to one or more second values included in the previous set of data, wherein the difference indicates a Change of Value (COV) for at least one parameter of the plurality of parameters ([0106] detect a change of value (COV));
transmit, responsive to detection of the difference, a second set of data to identify the COV ([0114] When a change to the stored device list occurs, device list storage can provide a COV notification to messaging engine 420. In response to receiving the COV notification, messaging engine 420 can read the device list stored in device list storage 424 to identify all of the devices connected to system bus 354, any of zone busses 356-360 or 364, and/or SA bus 366. In some embodiments, messaging engine 420 translates the list of devices into format which can be presented to a user. For example, messaging engine 420 can translate the list of devices into a JavaScript object notation, HTML format, or any other format that facilitates presentation to a user. Messaging engine 420 can provide the updated and translated device list to web server); and
update, responsive to transmission of the second set of data, the second cache to reflect the COV for the one or more first values ([0158] update active node table).
Duraisingh does not disclose however Majewski discloses:
establish a connection with an edge device to communicate with the edge device, the edge device configured to maintain a first cache stored in a memory of the edge device, the first cache including a first set of data corresponding to a plurality of parameters of one or more aspects of a building ([0067] edge controller can also maintain a cache to store the data and/or the metadata collected from the assets).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh by Majewski to locally cache device information on edge devices.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to manage a facility and operations related with assets of a facility (Majewski [0032]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duraisingh (US Pub # 20200233657) in view of Majewski (U.S Pub # 20210389968) and in further view of Drees (U.S Pub # 20180356808).
With regards to claim 20, Duraisingh does not disclose however Drees discloses:
wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processors to: receive a third set of data corresponding to a second plurality of parameters of a second piece of building equipment; detect, based on a comparison between the third set of data and a second previous set of data pertaining to the second piece of building equipment, a second difference between one or more third values included in the third set of data with respect to one or more fourth values included in the second previous set of data pertaining to the second piece of building equipment; determine, responsive to detection of the second difference, that the second difference is within a predetermined threshold; and prevent, based on the second difference being within the predetermined threshold, transmission of a fourth set of data ([0134] However, if the change in the measured variable Δy.sub.p is not greater than the threshold value δ (i.e., the result of step 1116 is “no”), then a new transmission is not sent).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the date the current invention was effectively filed to have modified the system of Duraisingh and Majewski by Drees to reduce network traffic.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to cause transmission in determination that a delta value exceeds a threshold value (Drees [0008]).
Conclusion
/TONY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2166