DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and figures 5 and 3, claims 33-34 and 36-55, in the reply filed on 9/08/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 33-34, 36-41, 43-46, 50-51, and 55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bookham (EP1209454A1; cited by Applicant) in view of Kavdir (Visible and near-infrared spectroscopy for nondestructive quality assessment of pickling cucumbers; cited by Applicant), Poteet (US 20220384043 A1), Stadthagen (US 20200061604 A1), and Merritt (US 20230375525 A1).
Regarding claim 33, Bookham teaches a system comprising:
a light source operable to emit light (figure 3);
the sample positioned such that the light, when emitted by the light source, passes through the sample (figure 3).
a first spectrometer that, in response to receiving a first portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a first wavelength range of the first portion of the broadband light onto a first plurality of pixel detectors forming a first detector array (paragraph 54; figure 5);
a digitizer that is electrically connected to the first and second detector arrays, the digitizer being operable to: read a first array of raw spectral values from the first detector array (figure 3);
a signal processing circuit (figure 3) programmed to:
deconvolve, based on a spectral response of each of the first pluralities of pixel detectors, the first raw spectral values to generate an array of deconvolved spectral values (paragraph 39);
feed the array of deconvolved spectral values into a model that processes the array of deconvolved spectral values to obtain an indication of the presence of one or more constituents in the fluid (paragraphs 43, 59, 5, and 11); and
output the indication (paragraphs 43, 59, 5, and 11).
Bookham suggests but doesn’t explicitly teach the emitted light is broadband light (suggested by “broadband spectrometer” in paragraph, which suggests to a person of ordinary skill in the art emitting broadband light to have a broadband light that can be detected). Additionally, like Bookham (and like the instant application), Merritt is also directed to spectrometers and to measuring absorption and teaches a broadband light source for emitting broadband light (paragraphs 277 and 281). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the emitted light of Bookham be broadband light in order to gain a variety of information about the sample in a short time period by seeing how it responds to multiple wavelengths.
Bookham doesn’t explicitly teach a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines the sample, where the sample is a fluid; a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array; the digitizer configured to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; the deconvolution is also in response to the second plurality of pixel detectors and second values; the model is a trained machine-learning
However, Bookham teaches that there is a need for this type of system in diagnostics in health care to provide accurate and fast measurements (paragraph 2). Like Bookham (and like the instant application), Stadthagen is directed to a spectrometer, and Stradthagen is also concerned with health related diagnostics and teaches a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines the sample, where the sample is a fluid (paragraphs 109-110, 113, 167).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that it comprises a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines the sample, where the sample is a fluid in order to adapt the system to diagnostics in health care and provide accurate and fast measurements for the diagnostics.
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array; the digitizer electrically connected to the second detector array and being operable to to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; the digitizer configured to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; the deconvolution is also in response to the second plurality of pixel detectors and second values; the model is a trained machine-learning
Like Bookham (and like the instant application), Kavdir is directed to a spectrometer system as well as to measuring absorbance and teaches a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array provides the benefit of measure a large range of wavelengths (section 2.1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination by adding a second spectrometer to measure the same way as the first spectrometer but for a different wavelength range (that is, such that the second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array) – in order to measure a large wavelength range at a high resolution.
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the digitizer electrically connected to the second detector array and being operable to to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; the deconvolution is also in response to the second plurality of pixel detectors and second values; the model is a trained machine-learning
Like Bookham (and like the instant application), Poteet is directed to a spectrometer system and to absorption measurements and teaches a second spectrometer (figure 1); the digitizer (paragraph 57 explains that the digitizer is a part of element 602) electrically connected to the second spectrometer (paragraph 57; figures 1 and 5) and being operable to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second spectrometer (paragraph 57 and figure 5); the data processing is also in response to the second plurality of pixel detectors and second values (paragraphs 23-33); the model is a trained machine-learning (figure 1). Additionally, Poteet teaches this provides the benefit of improved detection and high accuracy (paragraph 110).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the digitizer electrically connected to the second detector array and being operable to to read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; the deconvolution is also in response to the second plurality of pixel detectors and second values; the model is a trained machine-learning – in order to measure a large wavelength range at a high resolution quickly, at a low cost, with a high accuracy, and with a compact system (Poteet, paragraphs 23 and 110).
Regarding claim 34, in the above combination the signal processing circuit is further programmed to: merge the first and second arrays of raw spectral values into a composite array of raw spectral values (fusion in figure 1 of Poteet); and deconvolve the composite array of raw spectral values to obtain the array of deconvolved spectral values (since the processing is on the fused/composite data).
Regarding claim 36, in the above combination the first wavelength range comprises at least part of the visible region of the electromagnetic spectrum; and the second wavelength range comprises at least part of the near-infrared region of the electromagnetic spectrum (Kavdir, figure 1).
Regarding claim 37, in the above combination the first wavelength range comprises 350-700 nm; and the second wavelength range comprises 900-1700 nm (Kavdir, section 2.1; Poteet, paragraph 82).
Regarding claim 38, in the above combination the first and second wavelength ranges partially overlap (Kavdir, section 2.1).
Regarding claim 39, Bookham doesn’t explicitly teach the first and second wavelength ranges do not overlap. Official Notice is taken that it is well known in the field of optical measuring and testing to measure a first and second wavelength range that do not overlap. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the first and second wavelength ranges do not overlap in order to measure a wider wavelength range.
Regarding claim 40, in the above combination the first spectrometer has a first resolving resolution; and the second spectrometer has a second resolving resolution different than the first resolving resolution (Kavdir, section 2.1).
Regarding claim 41, in the above combination each of the first and second spectrometers comprising a spectrophotometer (since Bookham teaches spectrophotometer and so the combination is a second spectrophotometer; paragraphs 20 and 38).
Regarding claims 43-44, in the above combination the cassette holder comprising a container holder that positions a container such that the fluid, when confined within the container, is illuminated by the broadband light (Stradhagen, paragraphs 109-110, 113, 167 and Bookham, figure 3)
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the container is a cuvette comprising glass or plastic. Official Notice is taken that it is well known in the art to have a container that is a cuvette comprising glass or plastic. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the container is a cuvette in order to have highly accurate measurements with a high signal-to-noise ratio by having a transparent container adapted to optical measurements.
Regarding claim 45, in the above combination the fluid comprising human saliva (Poteet, paragraphs 5, 11, 14, and 23; Stadthagen, paragraph 56).
Regarding claim 46, in the above combination the fluid comprising a biological fluid obtained from a human or animal (Poteet, paragraphs 5, 11, 14, and 23; Stadthagen, paragraph 56)..
Regarding claim 50, in the above combination the signal processing circuit comprising a field-programmable gate array (Poteet, paragraph 57).
Regarding claims 51 and 55, in the above combination the signal processing circuit is further programmed to: feed the array of deconvolved spectral values into the trained machine-learning model by transmitting the array of deconvolved spectral values to an computer system that feeds the array of deconvolved spectral values into the trained machine-learning model to obtain the indication; and receive the indication from the computer system (Bookham: paragraphs 43, 59, 5, and 11; Poteet: paragraph 57; figures 1 and 5).
The above combination doesn’t explicitly teach the computer system is an external computer system. Official Notice is taken that it is well known for some processing to be done on an external computer system. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the above combination such that the machine learning portion is done on an external computer system in order to ensure that the device remains a compact device by allowing some portion of the processing to be done externally, as well as to allow additional processing power remotely.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 42, 47-49, and 52-54 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 42, the prior art of record (taken alone or in combination) fails to anticipate or render obvious, “a light source operable to emit broadband light; a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines a fluid; and positioned such that the broadband light, when emitted by the light source, passes through the test cassette; a first spectrometer that, in response to receiving a first portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a first wavelength range of the first portion of the broadband light onto a first plurality of pixel detectors forming a first detector array; a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array; a digitizer that is electrically connected to the first and second detector arrays, the digitizer being operable to: read a first array of raw spectral values from the first detector array; and read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; and a signal processing circuit programmed to: deconvolve, based on a spectral response of each of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors, the first and second arrays of raw spectral values to generate an array of deconvolved spectral values; feed the array of deconvolved spectral values into a trained machine-learning model that processes the array of deconvolved spectral values to obtain an indication of the presence of one or more constituents in the fluid; and output the indication… further comprising: an input fiber-optic cable; first and second spectrometer fiber-optic cables; a fiber collimator that couples the broadband light, after passing through the test cassette, into the input fiber-optic cable; and an optical splitter that: divides the broadband light exiting the input fiber-optic cable into the first and second portions; couples the first portion into the first spectrometer fiber-optic cable; and couples the second portion into the second spectrometer fiber-optic cable; wherein (i) the first spectrometer fiber-optic cable couples the first portion into the first spectrometer and (ii) the second spectrometer fiber-optic cable couples the second portion into the second spectrometer,” in combination with the other claimed limitations
Regarding claims 47-49, the prior art of record (taken alone or in combination) fails to anticipate or render obvious, “a light source operable to emit broadband light; a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines a fluid; and positioned such that the broadband light, when emitted by the light source, passes through the test cassette; a first spectrometer that, in response to receiving a first portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a first wavelength range of the first portion of the broadband light onto a first plurality of pixel detectors forming a first detector array; a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array; a digitizer that is electrically connected to the first and second detector arrays, the digitizer being operable to: read a first array of raw spectral values from the first detector array; and read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; and a signal processing circuit programmed to: deconvolve, based on a spectral response of each of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors, the first and second arrays of raw spectral values to generate an array of deconvolved spectral values; feed the array of deconvolved spectral values into a trained machine-learning model that processes the array of deconvolved spectral values to obtain an indication of the presence of one or more constituents in the fluid; and output the indication… wherein: the signal processing circuit comprises a memory storing a kernel matrix having a plurality of cells, wherein: each cell of the plurality of cells is indexed by a first index value of a plurality of first index values and a second index value of a plurality of second index values; the first index value uniquely identifies one of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors; the second index value uniquely identifies one of a plurality of reference wavelengths; and each cell stores the spectral response of the one of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors identified by the first index value of said each cell, the spectral response being at the one of the plurality of reference wavelengths identified by the second index value of said each cell; and the signal processing circuit is further programmed to deconvolve the first and second arrays of raw spectral values by performing least-squares regression based at least on the first and second arrays of raw spectral values and the kernel matrix,” in combination with the other claimed limitations.
Regarding claims 51-54, the prior art of record (taken alone or in combination) fails to anticipate or render obvious, “a light source operable to emit broadband light; a cassette holder that is: shaped to receive a test cassette that confines a fluid; and positioned such that the broadband light, when emitted by the light source, passes through the test cassette; a first spectrometer that, in response to receiving a first portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a first wavelength range of the first portion of the broadband light onto a first plurality of pixel detectors forming a first detector array; a second spectrometer that, in response to receiving a second portion of the broadband light after the broadband light has passed through the test cassette, disperses a second wavelength range of the second portion of the broadband light onto a second plurality of pixel detectors forming a second detector array; a digitizer that is electrically connected to the first and second detector arrays, the digitizer being operable to: read a first array of raw spectral values from the first detector array; and read a second array of raw spectral values from the second detector array; and a signal processing circuit programmed to: deconvolve, based on a spectral response of each of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors, the first and second arrays of raw spectral values to generate an array of deconvolved spectral values; feed the array of deconvolved spectral values into a trained machine-learning model that processes the array of deconvolved spectral values to obtain an indication of the presence of one or more constituents in the fluid; and output the indication… the signal processing circuit comprising: a processor; a memory communicably coupled to the processor; and a deconvolution engine implemented as machine-readable instructions that are stored in the memory and, when executed by the processor, control the signal processing circuit to deconvolve the first and second arrays of raw spectral values to obtain the array of deconvolved spectral values… wherein: the memory stores a kernel matrix comprising a plurality of cells, wherein: each cell of the plurality of cells is indexed by a first index value of a plurality of first index values and a second index value of a plurality of second index values; the first index value uniquely identifies one of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors; the second index value uniquely identifies one of a plurality of reference wavelengths; and each cell stores the spectral response of the one of the first and second pluralities of pixel detectors identified by the first index value of said each cell, the spectral response being at the one of the plurality of reference wavelengths identified by the second index value of said each cell; and the machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, control the signal processing circuit to deconvolve include machine-readable instructions that, when executed by the processor, control the signal processing circuit to perform least-squares regression based at least on the first and second arrays of raw spectral values and the kernel matrix,” in combination with the other claimed limitations
Additional Prior Art
WO 0169191 A1 reads, “A second spectrometer will not use a filter and will saturate from approximately 700 to 925 nm but will yield good signal to noise (SIN) data from approximately 500 to 699 nm and approximately 926 to 1150 nm. Other outputs 82 to filtered input spectrometers 170 will permit the examination of specific spectral ranges. Additionally, this method allows the use of the same exposure times on both, or a plurality of, spectrometers 170 making them easier to control in parallel.”
Leboeuf (US 20020106716 A1) is directed to analysis of fluids using spectrometers and reads, “A first spectrophotometer covers the spectrum of the near and mean infrared ranges while a second spectrophotometer covers the spectrum of the ultraviolet and visible ranges.” (abstract)
Conclusion
/RUFUS L PHILLIPS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2877