DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 8, lines 2-3, “the distal end cover … is rotationally moved between a locked state” should read “the distal end cover … is configured to be rotationally moved between a locked state.” The suggested amendment would improve clarity by specifying that the recited limitation pertains to the functional capability of the claimed distal end cover to rotate between a locked and unlocked state, rather than reciting an affirmative step of rotationally moving the distal end cover.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation is:
“a second sealing member that seals the through-hole” in claim 6 as described in Para. [0082] of Applicant’s specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the other end" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purposes of examination, “the other end” is being interpreted as “an other end.”
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the other end side of the rotary shaft" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The limitation “provided on the other side of the rotary shaft via a bent portion” is unclear because it is not clear what component includes the bent portion or how the bent portion positions the lever on the other side of the rotary shaft. For the purposes of examination, “a lever that is provided on the other end side of the rotary shaft via a bent portion and to which the operation wire is connected” is being interpreted as “a lever having a bent portion, the lever being provided on an other side of the rotary shaft, wherein the operation wire is connected to the lever.”
Claims 6-7 are rejected as being dependent upon claims previously rejected under 35 USC § 112(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The present rejection(s) reference specific passages from cited prior art. However, Applicant is advised that the rejections are based on the entirety of each cited prior art. That is, each cited prior art reference “must be considered in its entirety”. (See MPEP 2141.02(VI)) Therefore, Applicant is advised to review all portions of the cited prior art if traversing a rejection based on the cited prior art.
Claims 1 and 8-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication No. 207012171U to Xu Keduan (“Keduan”).
Regarding claim 1, Keduan discloses an endoscope (the endoscope; Fig. 1, paragraph 0040) comprising:
a distal end portion body that is provided on a distal end side of an endoscope insertion part (endoscope head base; Fig. 3, paragraph 0040);
an elevator that is provided on the distal end portion body (the mounting base 102 is provided with … lifter 200; Fig. 1, paragraph 0040);
a distal end cover that is attachable to and detachable from the distal end portion body (the front end cover 500 is detachably connected to the support 100; Fig. 5, paragraph 0046);
an operation wire that is used to operate the elevator (after the steel wire rope 300 extends from the wire rope passage 106, it is connected with the lifter 200 through the crankshaft 400; Fig. 1, paragraph 0041); and
a wire insertion passage through which the operation wire is inserted (one side of the support 100 is also provided with a wire rope passage 106; Fig. 1, paragraph 0041),
wherein, in a case in which the distal end cover is mounted on the distal end portion body, the distal end cover seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage (when the front end cover is connected with the support, the outlet of the steel wire rope and the wire rope channel is covered by the structure not shown, so that the body fluid directly enter the wire rope channel and the front end cover can be avoided; Fig. 7, paragraph 0047).
Regarding claim 8, Keduan discloses the endoscope according to claim 1. Keduan further discloses wherein the distal end cover is mounted to be rotationally movable with respect to the distal end portion body and is rotationally moved between a locked state in which rotation with respect to the distal end portion body is not possible and an unlocked state in which the locked state is released (when the endoscope is used, the relative movement of the holder 100 achieves a switch between the locked connection state and the unlocked separation state of the holder; Fig. 5-7, paragraph 0046).
Regarding claim 9, Keduan discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 8. Keduan further discloses wherein the distal end portion body includes a hook portion (the holder 100 is provided with a hook 108 at the end of the mounting base 102; Fig. 1, paragraph 0042),
the distal end cover includes a first hole for allowing insertion and removal of the hook portion (the first hole 501 is the size should be larger than the size of the hook 108 so that he hook 108 can pass through the hole 501; Fig. 4-7, paragraph 0045) and a second hole with which the hook portion is engaged (the size of the second hold 502 should be larger than the size of the hook portion 1081 so that the hook portion 1081 can be hooked into the second hole 502 inside; Fig. 4-7, paragraph 0045), and
a state in which the hook portion is inserted into the first hole is the unlocked state, and a state in which the hook portion is engaged with the second hole is the locked state (the hook portion 1081 of the hook 108 is hooked into the second hole 502, and the abutment plane 1084 on the abutment portion 1082 abuts against the end surface 531 of the stopper to restrict the front cover 500 along the collusion portion; Fig. 5-7, paragraph 00046).
Regarding claim 10, Keduan discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 8-9. Keduan further discloses wherein the first hole and the second hole are disposed along a rotation direction of the distal end cover (a notch 530 is protruded from a side of the circular arc of the notch. the notch 530 divides the notch into a first hole 501 and a second hole 502; Fig. 5-7, paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 11, Keduan discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 8-10. Keduan further discloses wherein the distal end cover includes an opening portion (opening of first cover 500; Fig. 4),
a stopper portion that is projected from a periphery part of the opening portion toward an inner side of the opening portion is provided (a notch 530 is protruded from a side of the circular arc of the notch; Fig. 5-7, paragraph 0045), and
the first hole and the second hole are disposed on both sides of the stopper portion (the notch 530 divides the notch into a first hole 501 and a second hole 502; Fig. 5-7, paragraph 0045).
Regarding claim 12, Keduan discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 8-10. Keduan further discloses a cap that is mounted on an outer side of the distal end cover (the elastic sheath 600 is connected to the outer side of the front cover 500 through the buckle structure; Fig. 8-9, paragraph 0050).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2018/0185045 A1 to Ohki (“Ohki”) in view of Keduan.
Regarding claim 1, Ohki discloses an endoscope (endoscope 1; Fig. 1, paragraph 0052) comprising:
a distal end portion body (distal end portion 7; Fig. 1, paragraph 0053) that is provided on a distal end side of an endoscope insertion part (the insertion part 2 includes a soft portion 5, a bendable portion 6, and a distal end portion 7 that are connected in this order from the proximal end toward the distal end; Fig. 1, paragraph 0053);
an elevator that is provided on the distal end portion body (a standing base 60 is provided in the standing base-receiving slit 38; Fig. 2, paragraph 0058);
a distal end cover that is attachable to the distal end portion body (the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 and the optical-system-receiving chamber 42 are covered with a protective plate; Fig. 3, paragraph 0069);
an operation wire that is used to operate the elevator (the operation wire 86 is pushed and pulled by the operation of the standing operation lever 12 … so that the standing base 60 is allowed to stand and fall; Fig. 5, paragraph 0085); and
a wire insertion passage through which the operation wire is inserted (the operation wire 86 is inserted into the insertion part 2 from a wire insertion hole 44; Fig. 4, paragraph 0084),
wherein, in a case in which the distal end cover is mounted on the distal end portion body, the distal end cover seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage (the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 and the optical-system-receiving chamber 42 are covered with a protective plate not shown in Fig. 4 (see a protective plate 43 of the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 in Fig. 3), so that airtightness is kept; Fig. 3, paragraph 0069).
However, Ohki does not explicitly disclose a distal end cover that is detachable from the distal end portion body and directly seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage.
Keduan teaches a distal end cover that is attachable and detachable from the distal end portion body (the front end cover 500 is detachably connected to the support 100; Fig. 5, paragraph 0046) and seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage (when the front end cover is connected with the support, the outlet of the steel wire rope and the wire rope channel is covered by the structure not shown, so that the body fluid directly enter the wire rope channel and the front end cover can be avoided; Fig. 7, paragraph 0047). Keduan teaches that by detaching the distal end cover, the wire channel can be cleaned more thoroughly (paragraph 0047).
Keduan is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes with a distal end cover. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal end cover of Ohki to incorporate the teachings of Keduan by constructing the distal end cover to be detachable. Doing so allows the wire channel to be cleaned more thoroughly, as recognized by Keduan.
Regarding claim 3, Ohki, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claim 1. Ohki further discloses wherein the distal end portion body includes
a lever (standing lever 82; Figs. 4-5, paragraph 0082) to which one end of the operation wire is connected (a wire-connection portion 82B which is provided at the other end portion (distal end portion) of the standing lever 82 and to which the wire operation wire 86 corresponding to the transmission member is connected through the above-mentioned connector 88 or the like; Fig. 5, paragraph 0091) and that is used to move the elevator (a standing lever 82 of a drive member 80 transmitting a driving force to the standing base 60; Fig. 5, paragraph 0068), and
a lever housing part that houses the lever (a standing lever-receiving chamber 40, which is a space portion receiving a standing lever 82 of a drive member 80; Fig. 5, paragraph 0068), and
the distal end cover seals the lever housing part (the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 and the optical-system-receiving chamber 42 are covered with a protective plate not shown in Fig. 4 (see a protective plate 43 of the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 in Fig. 3), so that airtightness is kept; Fig. 3, paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 4, Ohki, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claim 1. Ohki further discloses wherein the distal end portion body includes a partition wall (right side wall portion 34; Fig. 4, paragraph 0067) that divides a side on which the elevator is provided (the standing base-receiving slit 38, which is a space portion receiving the standing base 60, is formed between the right side wall portion 34 and the left side wall portion 36; Fig, 4, paragraph 0068) and a side on which the wire insertion passage is provided (a standing lever-receiving chamber 40, which is a space portion receiving a standing lever 82 of a drive member 80 transmitting a driving force to the standing base 60, is formed on the right side of the side wall portion 34; Fig. 4, paragraph 0068),
a through-hole that penetrates between the side on which the elevator is provided and the side on which the wire insertion passage is provided is provided in the partition wall (a holding hole 58, which passes through the distal-end-portion body from the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 to the standing base-receiving slit 38, is formed near the lower end of the side wall portion 34, which is disposed on the right side of the standing base-receiving slit 38; Fig. 4, paragraph 0077), and
the endoscope further comprises a power transmission member that is inserted through the through-hole (the rotating shaft 81 of the drive member 80 is rotatably and pivotally supported by the holding hole 58; Fig. 3-4, paragraph 0077), with one end connected to the elevator (the connecting portion 64 is provided with a rotating-shaft-receiving portion 66 that is to be fixed to a rotating shaft 81 of the drive member 80; Fig. 6, paragraph 0074) and the other end connected to the operation wire (the distal end portion of an operation wire 86 is connected to the distal end portion of the standing lever 82 through a connector 88; Fig. 5, paragraph 0084).
Regarding claim 5, Ohki, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 4. Ohki further discloses wherein the power transmission member includes
a rotary shaft that is inserted through the through-hole (the rotating shaft 81 of the drive member 80 is rotatably and pivotally supported by the holding hole 58; Fig. 3-4, paragraph 0077), with one end side connected to the elevator (the connecting portion 64 is provided with a rotating-shaft-receiving portion 66 that is to be fixed to a rotating shaft 81 of the drive member 80; Fig. 6, paragraph 0074), and
a lever that is provided on the other end side of the rotary shaft (one end portion (proximal end portion) of the standing lever 82 is connected to the rotating shaft 81; Fig. 4, paragraph 0083) via a bent portion (the standing lever 82 is formed in a longitudinal shape in which a distal end is bent; Fig. 4, paragraph 0091) and to which the operation wire is connected (the distal end portion of an operation wire 86 is connected to the distal end portion of the standing lever 82 through a connector 88; Fig. 5, paragraph 0084),
the distal end portion body includes a lever housing part that houses the lever (a standing lever-receiving chamber 40, which is a space portion receiving a standing lever 82 of a drive member 80; Fig. 5, paragraph 0068), and
the distal end cover seals the lever housing part (the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 and the optical-system-receiving chamber 42 are covered with a protective plate not shown in Fig. 4 (see a protective plate 43 of the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 in Fig. 3), so that airtightness is kept; Fig. 3, paragraph 0069).
Regarding claim 6, Ohki, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 4. Ohki further discloses a second sealing member that seals the through-hole (since a seal member 59 is disposed between the rotating shaft 81 and the holding hole 58 as shown in FIG. 3, the infiltration of gas and liquid into the standing-base receiving slit 38 and the standing lever-receiving chamber 40 is prevented; Fig. 3, paragraph 0079).
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2020/0359880 A1 to Hiraoka (“Hiraoka”) in view of Keduan.
Regarding claim 1, Hiraoka discloses an endoscope (endoscope 1; Fig. 1, paragraph 0023) comprising:
a distal end portion body (distal end portion 2a; Fig. 1, paragraph 0024) that is provided on a distal end side of an endoscope insertion part (the insertion unit 2 includes, sequentially from the distal end side, a distal end portion 2a, a bendable portion 2b that is configured to bend in accordance with the operation of the operating unit 3; Fig. 1, paragraph 0024);
an elevator that is provided on the distal end portion body (the distal end portion 2a of the endoscope 1 includes: … a forceps elevator (raising base) 12; Fig. 10, paragraph 0026);
a distal end cover that is attachable to and detachable from the distal end portion body (a lid 28; Fig. 12-13, paragraph 0040);
an operation wire that is used to operate the elevator (the forceps operation wire 16 extends toward the proximal end side and moves in the insertion direction in accordance with the operation on the operating unit 3 so as to rotate the forceps elevator 12 via the arm unit 14 and the rotary shaft 13; Fig. 2, paragraph 0032); and
a wire insertion passage through which the operation wire is inserted (Fig. 9),
wherein, in a case in which the distal end cover is mounted on the distal end portion body, the distal end cover seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage (the watertightness of the space closer to the cover 26 with respect to the rotary shaft seal 17 is maintained; Fig. 12, paragraph 0040).
However, Hiraoka does not explicitly disclose a distal end cover that is detachable from the distal end portion body.
Keduan teaches a distal end cover that is attachable and detachable from the distal end portion body (the front end cover 500 is detachably connected to the support 100; Fig. 5, paragraph 0046) and seals a space portion including at least an outlet of the wire insertion passage (when the front end cover is connected with the support, the outlet of the steel wire rope and the wire rope channel is covered by the structure not shown, so that the body fluid directly enter the wire rope channel and the front end cover can be avoided; Fig. 7, paragraph 0047). Keduan teaches that by detaching the distal end cover, the wire channel can be cleaned more thoroughly (paragraph 0047).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal end cover of Hiraoka to incorporate the teachings of Keduan by constructing the distal end cover to be detachable. Doing so allows the wire channel to be cleaned more thoroughly, as recognized by Keduan.
Regarding claim 2, Hiroka, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claims 1 and 4. Hiroka further disclose wherein the distal end cover includes a first sealing member on a surface facing the space portion (a lid 28 is bonded over the cover 26 with an adhesive; Fig. 12, paragraph 0040).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohki, as modified by Keduan, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2024/0049952 A1 to Plott et al. (“Plott”).
Regarding claim 7, Ohki, as previously modified by Keduan, discloses the endoscope according to claims 1, 4, and 6. However, Ohki, as modified by Keduan, does not explicitly disclose wherein the second sealing member is a biocompatible silicone lubricant.
Plott teaches wherein a sealing member is a biocompatible silicone lubricant (a sealing lubricant (e.g. medical grade silicone grease), to generate a fluid tight seal that still allows translation of select components about the fluid seal 23; Fig. 10A, paragraph 0084). Plott teaches the use of a sealing lubricant for allowing motion in select components while providing a seal (paragraph 0084).
Plott is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because it is in the same field of endoscopes. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the sealing member of Ohki to incorporate the teachings of Plott by using a biocompatible silicone lubricant. Doing so allows motion in select components while providing a seal, as recognized by Plott.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Patent Appl. Publ. No. 2023/0000318 A1 to Yamaya teaches a distal end cover for sealing the outlet of the wire insertion passage in the distal end of the endoscope as described in the abstract and following descriptive text.
/OLIVIA GRACE STARKEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/MICHAEL J CAREY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795