DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claim(s) 1-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2025/0210291 (Maezawa) in view of US 2020/0180462 (Ando).
Regarding claim 1, Maezawa teaches a vehicular power control system (Fig. 1-2 shows vehicular power control system) comprising:
a high voltage battery mounted on a vehicle (Fig. 1 shows high-voltage battery 2) [0024];
a voltage conversion unit (Fig. 2 shows DCDC 7) configured to convert a high voltage output from the high voltage battery into a low voltage (DCDC 7 configured to a step-down converter) [0035];
a control unit (Fig. 2 shows ECU 10 and switches 21-23) configured to control activation of the voltage conversion unit (ECU 10 controls the DCDC 7) [0035];
a low voltage battery (Fig. 2 shows sub bat 6); and
an external power supply connector (Fig. 2 shows external charge port 5) configured to connect a prescribed external power supply (charge port 5 configured to connect an external power supply) [0033-0034],
wherein the control unit (Fig. 2 shows ECU 10 and switches 21-23) has a function of at least temporarily supplying external power to the voltage conversion unit and the control unit as the operation voltage instead of the low voltage battery (ECU 10 controls switches 21-24 for external charge port 5 electrically connecting a device external to vehicle 1 to send power to battery 2 and auxiliary battery 6 thereby going through DCDC 7 i.e. voltage conversion unit and switches 21-23) [0033-0036], the external power being supplied from the external power supply via the external power supply connector (external power being suppled from external power supply via external charge port 5) [0033-34], and
the control unit (Fig. 2 shows ECU 10 and switches 21-23) includes:
a switching circuit (Fig. 2 shows switches 21-23) that selectively switches a connection destination of a circuit of the external power supply connector (Fig. 2 shows external charger port 5) away from a first circuit connected to the low voltage battery (Fig. 2 shows external charger port 5 connects external power supply away from auxiliary battery 6 via a first circuit) [0034] and to a second circuit connected to the voltage conversion unit (Fig. 2 shows DCDC 7) and the control unit (Fig. 2 shows ECU and switches 21-23), an IG relay circuit (Fig. 2 shows switch SW 8) configured to switch an opening and closing of a connection of a battery power supply line connected to the low voltage battery and an IG input power supply line such that the control unit controls the opening and closing of the connection (DCDC 7 and ECU and switches 21-23, and SW 8 configured to switch an opening and closing of a connection of a battery power supply line connected to auxiliary battery 6 and an IG input power supply line such that the ECU controls the opening and closing of the connection) [0027, 0033-0036, 0045].
However, Maezawa does not teach low voltage battery configured to supply a prescribed operation voltage to the voltage conversion unit and the control unit; a path switching relay that selectively switches a connection destination of an IG line connection terminal of the voltage conversion unit to one of the second circuit and the IG input power supply line such that a selection state by the path switching relay is automatically switched according to whether a voltage is applied to the second circuit.
However, Ando teaches low voltage battery (Fig. 1 shows auxiliary battery 40) configured to supply a prescribed operation voltage to the voltage conversion unit (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC 42, DC/DC 26) and the control unit (Fig. 1 shows ECUs receiving power from auxiliary battery 40) [0045]; a path switching relay (Fig. 1 shows relay 52) that selectively switches a connection destination of an IG line connection terminal (Fig. 1 shows start switch 61 comprising IG line connection terminal) of the voltage conversion unit (Fig. 1 shows DC/DC 42 and DC/DC 26) to one of the second circuit and the IG input power supply line such that a selection state by the path switching relay (Fig. 1 shows relay 52) is automatically switched according to whether a voltage is applied to the second circuit (charging relay 52 selectively switches a connection destination of IG line connection terminal of the DC-to-DC 42, 26 to one of the second circuit and the IG input power supply line such that a selection state by charging relay 52 is automatically switched according to whether voltage is applied to second circuit via IG switch i.e. second circuit) [0039-43, 0051-0053].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have low voltage battery configured to supply a prescribed operation voltage to the voltage conversion unit and the control unit; a path switching relay that selectively switches a connection destination of an IG line connection terminal of the voltage conversion unit to one of the second circuit and the IG input power supply line such that a selection state by the path switching relay is automatically switched according to whether a voltage is applied to the second circuit as taught by Ando in order to protect the circuitry of the vehicle as well as supplying the loads of the vehicle with adequate power in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 2, Maezawa does not teach wherein the control unit includes: a backflow prevention circuit connected between an output of the low voltage battery and the second circuit.
However, Ando teaches wherein the control unit includes: a backflow prevention circuit connected between an output of the low voltage battery and the second circuit (Fig. 1 shows diode 44 i.e. backflow prevention circuit connected between an output of the battery 40 and the start switch 61 i.e. second circuit) [0051].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the control unit includes: a backflow prevention circuit connected between an output of the low voltage battery and the second circuit as taught by Ando in order to protect the circuitry by ensuring that there is not backflow of current.
Regarding claim 3, Maezawa does not teach wherein the control unit includes: a relay circuit that switches an output of the low voltage battery and a connection state between the second circuit and a load side circuit.
However, Ando teaches wherein the control unit includes: a relay circuit that switches an output of the low voltage battery and a connection state between the second circuit and a load side circuit (Fig. 1 shows switch 46 that switches an output of auxiliary battery 40 and a connection state between the start switch 61 i.e. second circuit and a motor 22 i.e. load side circuit) [0036].
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the control unit includes: a relay circuit that switches an output of the low voltage battery and a connection state between the second circuit and a load side circuit as taught by Ando in order to protect the auxiliary battery from overcharging or over discharging.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 11/12/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, the Applicant presents the argument that the current references fail to teach the following limitation: a switching circuit that selectively switches a connection destination of a circuit of the external power supply connector away from a first circuit connected to the low voltage battery and to a second circuit connected to the voltage conversion unit and the control unit.
However, the Examiner presents: Maezawa teaching a switching circuit in Fig. 2 portraying switches 21-23 are switched and DCDC 7 is inactive selectively switches a connection destination of a circuit of the external power supply connector 5 away from a first circuit connected to SUBBAT 6 i.e. low voltage battery as is taught in paragraph [0034] and electrically connected to DCDC 7, ECU and switch 8 i.e. IG relay circuit as shown in Fig. 2. DCDC 7 and ECU and switches 21-23, and SW 8 configured to switch an opening and closing of a connection of a battery power supply line connected to auxiliary battery 6 and an IG input power supply line such that the ECU controls the opening and closing of the connection [0027, 0033-0036, 0045].
The Examiner would like to point to the application drawing Fig. 1 which teaches the switching element as a single pole double throw switch connecting either to the low-voltage 12V battery or the high voltage battery and the ECU, such a structure is not described in the claim language as it is presented currently.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SWARNA N. CHOWDHURI
Examiner
Art Unit 2836
/S.N.C/Examiner, Art Unit 2836
/REXFORD N BARNIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836