Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitations uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are:
“a communication module configured to perform radio signal transmissions and receptions;” “determining whether to perform a spatial reuse transmission when an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) packet is detected by the communication module;” “transmitting a data packet via the communication module when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires” in claim 1;
“wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter” in claim 2;
“wherein the processor reperforms countdown of an expired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter under a condition in which the communication module does not successfully receive a response packet corresponding to the data packet in a predetermined time, and retransmits the data packet via the communication module when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires” in claim 3;
“wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the retransmitted data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter” in claim 4;
“wherein the processor changes a power detection parameter corresponding to the spatial reuse transmission from an initial value to a detection threshold when the communication module detects the OBSS packet, and changes the power detection parameter from the detection threshold back to the initial value after the communication module transmits the data packet and successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet, wherein the detection threshold is determined according to a bandwidth of the OBSS packet” in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lv et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0230703 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Lv teaches “[a] wireless transceiver device, comprising:
a communication module configured to perform radio signal transmissions and receptions; and a processor coupled to the communication module and configured to perform the following operations” (see ¶ [0202]; wireless communication device (i.e., wireless transceiver device) includes at least one processor and at least one transceiver coupled to an antenna (i.e., a communication module configured to perform radio signal transmissions; and a processor coupled to the communication module); the processor may be configured to execute software code and implement a method described herein; the memory may be used to store data and instructions (or code) that can be used by the processor; the transceiver electronics may implement the described transmission and reception mechanisms; (i.e., configured to perform the following operations));
Lv further teaches “determining whether to perform a spatial reuse transmission when an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) packet is detected by the communication module” (see ¶ [0060]; the spatial reuse procedure starts with one station (i.e., wireless transceiver device) detects the preamble of PPDU from other BSS (i.e., overlapping basic service set (OBSS) packet) and may enter the SR state (i.e., determining whether to perform a spatial reuse transmission); thus, determining whether to perform a spatial reuse transmission when an overlapping basic service set (OBSS) packet is detected by the communication module);
Lv also teaches “performing countdown of a spatial reuse backoff counter in response to determining that the spatial reuse transmission is to be performed” (see ¶ [0100]; after the OBSS PPDU transmitted (i.e., determining that the spatial reuse transmission is to be performed), if the RSSI measurement of received PPDU is less than the SR-CCAT (i.e. OBSS-PD), the STA2 assesses the medium as idle at SR (i.e., spatial reuse) condition, and decreases the backoff counter by 1 (i.e., performing countdown of a spatial reuse backoff counter); thus, performing countdown of a spatial reuse backoff counter in response to determining that the spatial reuse transmission is to be performed);
Lv further teaches “performing countdown of an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) backoff counter after the OBSS packet is transmitted” (see ¶¶ [0081], [0085], [0087]; after the OBSS PPDU transmitted (i.e., after the OBSS packet is transmitted); the backoff counter is used by SR-EDCA mechanism, and SR (spatial reuse) backoff counting is started; SR-EDCA may use the same backoff counters as the legacy EDCA mechanism, and applies enhanced CCAT for spatial reuse (i.e. SR-CCAT) to assess the medium occupancy status; SR-EDCA backoff counting (i.e., performing countdown of an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA)) is based on SR-CCA assessment; thus, performing countdown of an enhanced distributed channel access (EDCA) backoff counter after the OBSS packet is transmitted);
Lv also teaches “transmitting a data packet via the communication module when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires” (see ¶ [0134]; if the backoff counter is decreased to 0 (i.e., when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires) and the SR duration timer does not expire, then the SR capable STA starts transmitting a new PPDU (i.e., transmitting a data packet) in the spatial reuse over the on-going transmission; thus, transmitting a data packet via the communication module when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires).
Regarding claim 2, Lv teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter” (see ¶¶ [0104], [0134], and [0139]; the SR receiver could examine the SRP (spatial reuse parameter) value of the on-going transmission and make a BA/Ack transmission (i.e., receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet) decision conformant with the SRP value; thus, wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet; SR capable STA checks whether the SR duration timer expires or not in parallel, if the SR duration timer expires, the STA switches back to the legacy EDCA mechanism with legacy CCAT threshold to contend the medium; the SR duration timer can expire before the backoff counters are decreased to 0; switching to legacy EDCA mechanism stops any unexpired backoff counters of spatial reuse backoff counter; thus, wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter).
Regarding claim 3, Lv teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the processor reperforms countdown of an expired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter under a condition in which the communication module does not successfully receive a response packet corresponding to the data packet in a predetermined time, and retransmits the data packet via the communication module when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires” (see ¶ [0104], [0133], [0134]; the SR receiver could examine the SRP (spatial reuse parameter) value of the on-going transmission and make a BA/Ack transmission decision conformant with the SRP value; therefore, based on the SRP value, a response packet corresponding to the data packet may not be received in a predetermined time; thus, wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet; if the channel is assessed as idle for aSlotTime using either SR-CCAT or ED threshold, the SR capable STA decreases the backoff counter(s) by one (i.e., reperforms countdown of an expired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter); the SR capable STA starts transmitting a new PPDU (i.e., retransmits the data packet) in the spatial reuse over the on-going transmission based on expiration of the backoff counter) if the backoff counter is decreased to 0 (i.e., when one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter expires)).
Regarding claim 4, Lv teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the retransmitted data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter” (see ¶¶ [0104], [0134], and [0139]; the SR receiver could examine the SRP (spatial reuse parameter) value of the on-going transmission and make a BA/Ack transmission (i.e., receives a response packet corresponding to the retransmitted data packet) decision conformant with the SRP value; thus, wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet; SR capable STA checks whether the SR duration timer expires or not in parallel, if the SR duration timer expires, the STA switches back to the legacy EDCA mechanism with legacy CCAT threshold to contend the medium; the SR duration timer can expire before the backoff counters are decreased to 0; switching to legacy EDCA mechanism stops any unexpired backoff counters of spatial reuse backoff counter; thus, wherein after the communication module successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the retransmitted data packet, the processor finishes the spatial reuse transmission and stops an unexpired one of the spatial reuse backoff counter and the EDCA backoff counter).
Regarding claim 5, Lv teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the processor changes a power detection parameter corresponding to the spatial reuse transmission from an initial value to a detection threshold when the communication module detects the OBSS packet, and changes the power detection parameter from the detection threshold back to the initial value after the communication module transmits the data packet and successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet, wherein the detection threshold is determined according to a bandwidth of the OBSS packet” (see ¶¶ [0031], [0049]-[0051]; when the spatial reuse capable STA receives OBSS-PD parameters, it should use it as OBSS CCA threshold in the spatial reuse channel contention; the OBSS-PD is an adjustable CCA threshold based on the transmit power; when the STA calculates and determines the target transmit power for a new spatial reuse transmission which is different from the reference transmit power, the relative CCA threshold could be adjusted accordingly; the CCA-PD can be performed by the PHY of station via measuring the signal strength of preamble (short training sequence) of an OFDM transmission at a receiving level equal to or greater than the minimum modulation and coding rate sensitivity, called CCA Threshold (CCAT) (i.e., detection threshold); therefore, changes a power detection parameter corresponding to the spatial reuse transmission from an initial value to a detection threshold when the communication module detects the OBSS packet); furthermore, CCAT=−82 dBm for 20 MHz channel bandwidth, CCAT=−79 dBm for 40 MHz channel bandwidth (i.e., wherein the detection threshold is determined according to a bandwidth of the OBSS packet); after receiving the BA/ACK (i.e., after the communication module transmits the data packet and successfully receives a response packet corresponding to the data packet), if SR timer expires, the STA can switch back to the legacy EDCA mechanism with legacy CCAT threshold (i.e., changes the power detection parameter from the detection threshold back to the initial value) to contend the medium).
Regarding claim 6, Lv teaches the apparatus of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein the bandwidth of the OBSS packet is a 20 MHz channel bandwidth, a 40 MHz channel bandwidth, an 80 MHz channel bandwidth, or a Per 20 MHz subchannel bandwidth” (see ¶¶ [0050] and [0051]; CCAT=−82 dBm for 20 MHz channel bandwidth, CCAT=−79 dBm for 40 MHz channel bandwidth; thus, the bandwidth of the OBSS packet is a 20 MHz channel bandwidth, a 40 MHz channel bandwidth, an 80 MHz channel bandwidth, or a Per 20 MHz subchannel bandwidth).
Regarding claims 7-12, they are method claims corresponding to claims 1-6 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-6. Claims 7-12 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claims 13-18, they are method claims corresponding to claims 1-6 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-6. Claims 13-18 are rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 19, Lv teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches “wherein the second wireless transceiver device is a station in a Wi-Fi system specification” (see ¶¶ [0070] and [0071] and FIG. 2A; the WiFi system shown has multiple stations).
Regarding claim 19, Lv teaches the system of claim 13, and further teaches “wherein the second wireless transceiver device is an access point in a Wi-Fi system specification” (see ¶¶ [0070] and [0071] and FIG. 2A; the WiFi system shown has access points).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0380038) teaches spatial reuse using EDCA and spatial reuse backoff counters.
Barriac et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2017/0311329) teaches detecting OBSS packets and performing spatial reuse.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475