DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-16 and 18-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
Claims 13-16 and 18 recitation of a “bitstream to be decoding by the method according to claim 1” is a product by process claim limitation where the product is the bitstream and the process is the method steps to generate the bitstream. MPEP §2113 recites “Product-by-Process claims are not limited to the manipulations of the recited steps, only the structure implied by the steps”. Thus, the scope of the claim is the recording medium storing the bitstream (with the structure implied by the method steps). The structure includes motion vector candidate, HMVP tables, current block and other information manipulated by the steps.
To be given patentable weight, recording medium and the bitstream (i.e. descriptive material) must be in a functional relationship. A functional relationship can be found where the descriptive material performs some function with respect to the recording medium to which it is associated. See MPEP §2111.05(I)(A). When a claimed “computer-readable medium merely serves as a support for information or data, no functional relationship exists”. MPEP §2111.05(III). The computer-readable storage medium storing the claimed bitstream in claims 13-16 and 18 merely services as a support for the storing of the bitstream and provides no functional relationship between the stored bitstream and computer-readable storage medium. Therefor the structure of the bitstream, which scope is implied by the method steps, is non-functional descriptive material and given no patentable weight. MPEP §2111.05(III).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 13-16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. US 2021/0344969.
As to claim 13, Zhang teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for storing a bitstream to be decoded by the method for video decoding according to claim 1. [¶ 0514; ¶ 0516; see claim interpretation above.]
As to claim 14, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, teaches wherein the method further comprises: storing the translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at regular inter mode or affine model. [¶ 0514; ¶ 0516; see claim interpretation above.]
As to claim 15, Zhang (modified by Zhang 1) teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the method further comprises: storing the non-translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at affine mode. [¶ 0514; ¶ 0516; see claim interpretation above.]
As to claim 16, Zhang (modified by Zhang 1) teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the non-translational motion information further comprises non-translational parameters or original CPMVs of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode. [¶ 0514; ¶ 0516; see claim interpretation above.]
As to claim 18, Zhang teaches the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium of claim 13, wherein the HMVP table comprises one of following tables: an existing HMVP table or a new HMVP table. [¶ 0514; ¶ 0516; see claim interpretation above.]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. US 2021/0344969 in view of Xu et al. US 2021/0391263 further in view of Ohm, "Meeting Report on the 25th Meeting of the Joint Video Experts Team (JVET)" Joint Video Experts Team (JVET) of ITU-T SG 16 WP 3 and ISO/IEV JTC 1/SC29, JVET-Y1000-v1, pages 1-206, 12-21 Janurary 2022.
As to claim 1, Zhang teaches a method for video decoding, comprising: obtaining, by a decoder, a plurality of motion vector candidates from a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table, wherein the plurality of motion vector candidates comprise a first motion vector constructed candidate and a second motion vector constructed candidate, wherein the HMVP table stores translational motion information and non-translation motion information [fig. 29; ¶ 0202-0203; ¶ 0435-0439]
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; obtaining, by the decoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining, by the decoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Xu teaches wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; [¶ 0052]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Zhang does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the decoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining, by the decoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Ohm teaches obtaining, by the decoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; [pg. 120] and obtaining, by the decoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block. [pg. 120]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Ohm with the teachings of Zhang (modified by Xu) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 2, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Ohm teaches further comprising: storing, by the decoder, the translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at regular inter mode or affine mode. [pg. 119]
As to claim 3, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches further comprising: storing, by the decoder, the non-translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at affine mode. [¶ 0387; ¶ 0434-0436]
As to claim 4, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 3. Zhang teaches wherein the non-translational motion information further comprises non-translational parameters or original CPMVs of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode. [¶ 0434-0435]
As to claim 6, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 1. Zhang teaches wherein the HMVP table comprises one of following tables: an existing HMVP table or a new HMVP table. [¶ 0433-0436; ¶ 0480]
As to claim 7, Zhang teaches an apparatus for video coding, comprising: one or more processors; and a memory coupled to the one or more processors and configured to store instructions executable by the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are configured to: obtain a plurality of motion vector candidates from a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table, wherein the plurality of motion vector candidates comprise a first motion vector constructed candidate and a second motion vector constructed candidate, wherein the HMVP table stores translational motion information and non-translation motion information, [fig. 29; ¶ 0202-0203; ¶ 0435-0439]
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; obtaining, by the decoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining, by the decoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Xu teaches wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; [¶ 0052]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Zhang does not explicitly teach obtaining a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Ohm teaches obtaining a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; [pg. 120] and obtaining a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block. [pg. 120]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Ohm with the teachings of Zhang (modified by Xu) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As to claim 8, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 7. Ohm teaches wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are further configured to: store the translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at regular inter mode or affine mode. [pg. 119]
As to claim 9, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 7. Zhang teaches wherein the one or more processors, upon execution of the instructions, are further configured to: store the non-translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at affine mode. [¶ 0387; ¶ 0434-0436]
As to claim 10, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 9. Zhang teaches wherein the non-translational motion information comprises non-translational parameters or original CPMVs of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode. [¶ 0434-0435]
As to claim 12, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 7. Zhang teaches wherein the HMVP table comprises one of following tables: an existing HMVP table or a new HMVP table. [¶ 0433-0436; ¶ 0480]
As claim 19, Zhang teaches a method for video encoding, comprising: obtaining, by a encoder, a plurality of motion vector candidates from a history-based motion vector prediction (HMVP) table, wherein the plurality of motion vector candidates comprise a first motion vector constructed candidate and a second motion vector constructed candidate, wherein the HMVP table stores translational motion information and non-translation motion information, [fig. 29; ¶ 0202-0203; ¶ 0435-0439]
Zhang does not explicitly teach wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; obtaining, by the encoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining, by the encoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Xu teaches wherein the non-translational motion information comprises position and size information of the neighboring blocks that are coded at the affine mode; [¶ 0052]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Xu with the teachings of Zhang allowing for improved coding efficiency.
Zhang does not explicitly teach obtaining, by the encoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; and obtaining, by the encoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block.
Ohm teaches obtaining, by the encoder, a virtual block based on the first motion vector constructed candidate and the second motion vector constructed candidate; [pg. 120] and obtaining, by the encoder, a plurality of control point motion vectors (CPMVs) for a current block based on a plurality of CPMVs of the virtual block. [pg. 120]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the techniques of Ohm with the teachings of Zhang (modified by Xu) allowing for improved coding efficiency.
As claim 20, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 19. Ohm teaches storing, by the encoder, the translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at regular inter mode or affine mode. [pg. 119]
As claim 21, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches the limitations of claim 19. Ohm teaches further comprising: storing, by the encoder, the non-translational motion information in the HMVP table in response to determining that neighboring blocks of the current block are coded at affine mode. [pg. 119]
As claim 22, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches a method for storing a bitstream, comprising: performing the method for video encoding according to claim 19 to generate a bitstream; {see rejection of claim 19 above] and storing the bitstream. [¶ 0476 - Zhang]
As claim 2, Zhang (modified by Xu and Ohm) teaches a method for transmitting a bitstream, comprising: performing the method for video encoding according to claim 19 to generate a bitstream; {see rejection of claim 19 above] and transmitting the bitstream. [¶ 0476 - Zhang]
Conclusion
/ANNER HOLDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483