Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 20150257555 issued to Wong.
Regarding claim 1,
Wong discloses a pillow (Wong: FIG. 1 (10)) comprising: a pair of framing portions on opposite sides of a connecting portion, where the pair of framing portions and the connecting portion form a pillow body made of a compressible material that conforms to applied pressure while providing support when a user's head (Wong: FIG. 3a (70)) where the pair of framing portions and connecting portion are configured to surround a user's head substantially along a circumference around the user’s head to position the framing portions towards the front of and on opposing sides of the user's head; (Wong: FIG. 1) a pair of shells configured to fit in in a space formed in corresponding framing portions, each shell structure having a front end and a rear end (Wong: FIG. 2A (30)) where the pair of shells made of a strong flexible material; (Wong: [0038] “The inner frame 30 is made with a resilient plastic or foam material.”) an adjustment strap affixed at a fixed strap end to a rear end of one of the shell structures and extending along the connecting portion to an adjustable end to adjustably connect to the other shell structure to enable the user to adjust the circumference of the pillow around the user's head; (Wong: FIG. 1,3b,2b,2c at least one of (60, 100) and the vertical unlabeled longitudinal aperture may be interpreted as a fixed strap end to a rear end of the shell structure, and (124) may be interpreted as the adjustable end shown in FIG. 1) and a front closure mechanism attached to front ends of the shell structures to connect one of the framing portions to the other framing portion. (Wong: [0043] “Alternately, the closure mechanism 120 may be a length of hook-and-loop type fastening material (not shown) looped through at least one of the air apertures 60,100, or a strap with a mechanical snap fastener (not shown), or the like.” The examiner notes that the straps are equipped with a closure mechanism that connects the ends of the shells to one another.)
Regarding claim 2,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 1 further comprising a vent opening in each of the two framing portions. (Wong: FIG. 2B 3B)
Regarding claim 3,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 2 where the space in each framing portion surrounds the vent opening. (Wong: FIG. 2B, 3B, the examiner notes that the framing portion is surrounding the vent openings)
Regarding claim 4,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 3 where the adjustable end of the adjustment strap is configured to slip into a loop on the shell structure that receives the adjustable end of the adjustment strap. (Wong: FIG. 1,3b,2b,2c at least one of (60, 100, 124) can be interpreted as a loop on the shell structure to receive the adjustable strap.)
Regarding claim 9,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 1 where the front closure mechanism includes a front closure loop attached to the front of one of the shell structures and a cord having a cord locking mechanism, where the cord is configured to slid in the front closure loop, and where a tension of the pillow around the user's head is adjusted using the cord locking mechanism. (Wong: FIG. 1, 120 allows for the drawstring/cord to be adjusted)
Regarding claim 10,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 1 where the pillow body is made of memory foam. (Wong: [0039] and [0038] talks about the framing portions being made of memory foam.)
Regarding claim 11,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 1 further comprising a fabric cover over a surface of the pillow body where the fabric cover surrounds the pillow body to cover the adjustment strap extending around the connecting portion. (Wong: FIG. 9 [0053] the examiner notes that the cover would cover both outer surfaces of the pillow body which would also include the straps.)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170071349 issued to Wong (“Wong 2”).
Regarding claim 5,
Wong discloses the pillow of claim 4.
Wong does not appear to disclose where the shell structures include an inner shell insert molded to fit in the space in each framing portion, and an outer shell configured to fit into the inner shell.
However, Wong 2 discloses where the shell structures include an inner shell insert molded to fit in the space in each framing portion, and an outer shell configured to fit into the inner shell. (Wong 2 (260) the framing grommets, may be interpreted as a pair of inner shells that are within the framing portions and receive the outer shells.)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wong directed to a pillow by framing grommets into the outer shells as taught in Wong 2 directed to a pillow since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with a reasonable expectation of success because the modification or addition would have yielded the predicted result of increasing the resiliency of the outer shell.
Regarding claim 6,
Wong in view of Wong 2 discloses the pillow of claim 5 where the shell structure is made of a suitable rigid or semi-rigid material including a material selected from a group consisting of plastic, polyurethane, polycarbonate, and ABS. (Wong: [0038] “The inner frame 30 is made with a resilient plastic or foam material.”)
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of U.S. Publication No. 20170071349 issued to Wong (“Wong 2”) further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110017793 issued to Mellion.
Regarding claim 7,
Wong in view of Wong 2 discloses the pillow of claim 5.
Wong in view of Wong 2 does not appear to disclose where the loop on the shell structure configured to receive the adjustable end of the adjustment strap includes a loop strap affixed to the rear end of the shell structure and an O-ring surrounding the loop strap, where the adjustable end of the adjustment strap inserts into the O-ring and loops back to attach to the adjustment strap.
However, Mellion discloses where the loop on the shell structure configured to receive the adjustable end of the adjustment strap includes a loop strap affixed to the rear end of the shell structure and an O-ring surrounding the loop strap, where the adjustable end of the adjustment strap inserts into the O-ring and loops back to attach to the adjustment strap. (Mellion: FIG. 19 shows strap (190) having an adjustment end and a rear end with an O-ring (or D-ring, reference hints at either or) attached. The strap is looped back on itself which can be seen.)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wong in view of Wong 2 directed to travel pillow by adding an O-ring to one of the loops as taught in Mellion directed to a travel pillow since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with a reasonable expectation of success because the modification or addition would have yielded the predicted result of enabling easier adjustment or secondary attachment of the closure strap and allowing it to fold on itself to increase sturdiness.
Regarding claim 8,
Wong in view of Wong 2 in view of Mellion discloses the pillow of claim 7 where a first area of the adjustable end of the adjustment strap facing the user's head when the adjustable end extends from the loop includes a hook-or-loop surface, and a second area of the adjustment strap facing away from the user's head on a proximal side of the loop includes a loop-or- hook surface for attachment of the adjustable end of the adjustment strap to the adjustment strap. (Wong: [0043] “Alternately, the closure mechanism 120 may be a length of hook-and-loop type fastening material (not shown) looped through at least one of the air apertures 60,100, or a strap with a mechanical snap fastener (not shown), or the like.” The examiner notes that the straps are equipped with a closure mechanism that connects the ends of the shells to one another.)
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230404284 issued to Tesser.
Regarding claim 12,
Wong in view of Tesser discloses the pillow of claim 11.
Wong does not appear to disclose where the fabric is made of a material selected from a group consisting of a jersey material, nylon, lycra, polyester, cotton polyester blend, and a mesh material.
However, Tesser discloses where the fabric is made of a material selected from a group consisting of a jersey material, nylon, lycra, polyester, cotton polyester blend, and a mesh material. (Tesser: [0033] made from a combination of different fabrics and [0020])
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the cover of Wong to comprise of different fabrics as taught in Tesser which would cover the shells since the court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960) In this case, producing covers for the shells is obvious in view of Tesser because Tesser discusses using different fabrics or the same fabrics for the inner/outer covers.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230404284 issued to Tesser further in view of WIPO Publication No. WO2020211230 issued to Letu.
Regarding claim 13,
Wong in view of Tesser discloses the pillow of claim 11.
Wong in view of Tesser does not appear to disclose where the fabric cover includes an opening extending over the adjustment strap extending around the connecting portion to enable adjustment of the adjustment strap without removing the fabric over.
However, Letu discloses where the fabric cover includes an opening extending over the adjustment strap extending around the connecting portion to enable adjustment of the adjustment strap without removing the fabric over. (Letu: FIGS. 1-3 (11, 12) see also page 4 5th paragraph “In some embodiments, at least one perforated ear 13 is provided in the pillowcase 10. After one end of the strap 20 penetrates into the pillowcase 10 from the opening 11, it also passes through the at least one perforated ear 13 in turn, and then passes through the opening 12…”
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wong in view of Tesser directed to a travel pillow by having openings within the cover for the strap as taught in Letu directed to a travel pillow since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with a reasonable expectation of success because the modification or addition would have yielded the predicted result of protecting the straps from exposure to the environment.
Claim(s) 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong in view of U.S. Publication No. 20230404284 issued to Tesser further in view of U.S. Publication No. 20110017793 issued to Mellion.
Regarding claim 14,
Wong in view of Teser in view of Letu discloses the pillow of claim 13.
Wong in view of Tesser in view of Letu does not appear to disclose where the opening in the fabric cover includes a closure mechanism.
However, Mellion discloses where the opening in the fabric cover includes a closure mechanism. (Mellion: FIG. 8 shows a closure mechanism)
It would have been obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Wong in view of Tesser in view of Letu directed to a travel pillow by adding a closure mechanism as taught in Mellion directed to a travel pillow since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined or modified the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, with a reasonable expectation of success because the modification or addition would have yielded the predicted result of allowing for the pillow to be placed in and out of the fabric cover securely and easily.
Conclusion
/ADAM C ORTIZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673