Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/900,718 filed on September 28, 2024. Claims 1-24 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-24 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on January 03, 2025 and April 23, 2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1, 23 and 24 recite “a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path…” and “the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path…”. It is not obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art what is intended by the wording – the location cannot include a path, rather, it can be included in a path. Therefore, the specification lacks written description to support the limitation of “a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path…” and “the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path…”.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Claims 2-22 are rejected in virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 12, 13, 15, 16, 17, 19, 21, 22, 23 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Konig (US 11209278 B2) in view of Witte (US 10345109 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Konig discloses a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with one or more input devices and one or more output devices: (see at least [220]; "The device may comprise one or more output interfaces by means of which information may be relayed to the user. The output interface(s) may include a speaker for audible output in addition to the visual display. The device may comprise input interfaces including one or more physical buttons to control on/off operation or other features of the device.") Konig describes a method which includes an electronic device in communication with one or more input and output devices.
while navigating to a physical location: (see at least [0091]; "The device may be associated with a vehicle in which the user is travelling, i.e. which is travelling between the origin and destination. ") Konig describes navigating to a physical location.
Konig does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via the one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path.
However, Witte teaches in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, (see at least [0043, 0050, ]; ". The first location may be a current location, a location along a predetermined route being navigated, and/or an origin of a desired route…The steps of the method are implemented while the vehicle, with which the navigation device is associated, travels along a predetermined route to a destination… For example, this may be the case where the first and/or second locations are associated with a predetermined route being navigated, to provide first and second locations between which alternative routes to at least a portion of the predetermined route may be generated. ") Witte describes determining a current location that includes a predetermined path.
navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via the one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see at least [49]; "It will be appreciated that the method of the present invention may be initiated in response to a user input, e.g. requesting the generation of a route, or may be initiated automatically, e.g. when congestion is detected along a predetermined route that is being navigated. The method may be initiated by the navigation device in response to received live traffic data.") Witte describes navigating a path while forgoing outputting to the user a respective path including the current location.
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: (see at least [45]; "The method may then provide a route that is an alternative to at least a portion of a remainder of the predetermined route, or, in embodiments, the (entire) remainder thereof. The route may then be described as an “en-route alternative”.") Witte describes navigating the location which does not include a predetermined path.
outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte described outputting to the user interface in order for the user to select the respective path.
while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte describes outputting the user interface for selecting a path,
in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and (see at least [14, 15]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes…During navigation along a calculated route, it is usual for such PNDs to provide visual and/or audible instructions to guide the user along a chosen route to the end of that route, i.e. the desired destination.") Witte describes navigating to the selected path out of a multitude of routes.
in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path. (see at least [14, 15]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes…During navigation along a calculated route, it is usual for such PNDs to provide visual and/or audible instructions to guide the user along a chosen route to the end of that route, i.e. the desired destination.") Witte describes routing to a selected path, to include a second path, out of a multitude of proposed paths.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches determining whether the vehicle is traveling along a predetermined path, prompting the user to choose a path if it is not, and navigating to the chosen route in order for the user to travel to their desired destination in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 2, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface for selecting the respective path includes:
in accordance with a determination that a relationship between dimensions of a vehicle in communication with the electronic device and dimensions of an environment of the vehicle is a first relationship, an indication of a third path corresponding to the first relationship, and (see at least [0055]; "Thus, in some embodiments the main route may be used in obtaining the sub-network of alternative routes. In some embodiments the method comprises the step of generating the main route between the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair, and using the main route in generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes to the main route between the origin and destination, the set of a plurality of alternative routes providing the set of a plurality of alternative routes defining the sub-network. The main route may be generated taking into account all of the segments of the navigable network, or at least all of the segments to be considered for routing purposes, e.g. in a routing corridor, within a given area of the origin, etc. The main route may be any least cost route through the network, e.g. with respect to time, distance or fuel consumption, etc. In these embodiments the origin and destination of the first origin-destination pair are identical to the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair..")
in accordance with a determination that the relationship between the dimensions of the vehicle and the dimensions of the environment of the vehicle is a second relationship different from the first relationship, an indication of a fourth path corresponding to the second relationship, the fourth path different from the third path. (see at least [0055]; "Thus, in some embodiments the main route may be used in obtaining the sub-network of alternative routes. In some embodiments the method comprises the step of generating the main route between the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair, and using the main route in generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes to the main route between the origin and destination, the set of a plurality of alternative routes providing the set of a plurality of alternative routes defining the sub-network. The main route may be generated taking into account all of the segments of the navigable network, or at least all of the segments to be considered for routing purposes, e.g. in a routing corridor, within a given area of the origin, etc. The main route may be any least cost route through the network, e.g. with respect to time, distance or fuel consumption, etc. In these embodiments the origin and destination of the first origin-destination pair are identical to the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair..")
Regarding claim 4, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes a prompt for the user to create the respective path, and (see at least [64]; " For example, the cost function may be selected as appropriate, e.g. based upon user input, to result in a least cost route that is a shortest route, fastest route, most ecological route, etc."
Konig does not explicitly teach the user input includes input corresponding to creation of the respective path.
However, Witte teaches the user input includes input corresponding to creation of the respective path. (see at least [49]; " It will be appreciated that the method of the present invention may be initiated in response to a user input, e.g. requesting the generation of a route")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches the user input includes corresponding to the creation of a respective path in order to be able to navigate the desired path of the user based on their preferences and criteria.
Regarding claim 5, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the user input selecting the respective path includes a voice input. (see at least [64]; For example, the cost function may be selected as appropriate, e.g. based upon user input, to result in a least cost route that is a shortest route, fastest route, most ecological route, etc. In some embodiments the main route is a least cost route through the sub-network. In embodiments in which one or more alternative route is generated between the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair, the or each alternative route may be the next lowest cost route or routes between the origin and the destination after the main route. Thus the main route may be a least cost route between the origin and the destination, and the at least one alternative route may be the next least cost route or routes between the origin and destination. ")
Regarding claim 6, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface for selecting the respective path includes: in accordance with a determination that a vehicle in communication with the electronic device previously followed a third path including a current location of the vehicle, an indication of a fourth path based on the third path, and in accordance with a determination that the vehicle previously followed a fifth path including the current location of the vehicle, the fifth path different from the third path, an indication of a sixth path based on the fifth path, the sixth path different from the fourth path. (see at least [49, 50, 169]; "The sub-network may therefore be referred to as a personal network, and comprises routes previously travelled by the user. The personal network defining the sub-network may itself be defined by a subset of routes previously travelled by a user, i.e. a subset of a larger personal network which includes routes traveled between different origin destination pairs…. The network of routes is thus a previously generated network of alternative routes between the origin and destination. The step of defining the sub-network may therefore comprise generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes between the origin and destination…The navigation device may comprise a display for displaying an electronic map to a user, a set of one or more processors configured to access digital map data and cause an electronic map to be displayed to a user via the display, and a user interface operable by a user to enable the user to interact with the device. Thus, the system of the present invention in these further aspects may be a system, e.g. processing device of a navigation device.")
Regarding claim 7, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: in accordance with a determination that a user of the electronic device previously followed a third path including a current location of the electronic device, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a fourth path based on the third path, and in accordance with a determination that the user previously followed a fifth path including the current location of the electronic device, the fifth path different from the third path, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a sixth path based on the fifth path, the sixth path different from the fourth path. (see at least [49, 50, 41, 57]; "The sub-network may therefore be referred to as a personal network, and comprises routes previously travelled by the user. The personal network defining the sub-network may itself be defined by a subset of routes previously travelled by a user, i.e. a subset of a larger personal network which includes routes traveled between different origin destination pairs…. The network of routes is thus a previously generated network of alternative routes between the origin and destination. The step of defining the sub-network may therefore comprise generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes between the origin and destination…In accordance with any of the aspects or embodiments of the invention the navigation device may comprise a display for displaying an electronic map to a user, a set of one or more processors configured to access digital map data and cause an electronic map to be displayed to a user via the display, and a user interface operable by a user to enable the user to interact with the device. Thus, the system of the present invention may be a system, e.g. processing device of a navigation device…The origin and destination may be user specified or automatically selected, or combinations thereof. ")
Regarding claim 8, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: in accordance with a determination that a second electronic device previously followed a third path including a current location of the electronic device, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a fourth path based on the third path, and in accordance with a determination that the second electronic device previously followed a fifth path including the current location of the electronic device, the fifth path different from the third path, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a sixth path based on the fifth path, the sixth path different from the fourth path. (see at least [49, 50, 41, 57]; "The sub-network may therefore be referred to as a personal network, and comprises routes previously travelled by the user. The personal network defining the sub-network may itself be defined by a subset of routes previously travelled by a user, i.e. a subset of a larger personal network which includes routes traveled between different origin destination pairs…. The network of routes is thus a previously generated network of alternative routes between the origin and destination. The step of defining the sub-network may therefore comprise generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes between the origin and destination…In accordance with any of the aspects or embodiments of the invention the navigation device may comprise a display for displaying an electronic map to a user, a set of one or more processors configured to access digital map data and cause an electronic map to be displayed to a user via the display, and a user interface operable by a user to enable the user to interact with the device. Thus, the system of the present invention may be a system, e.g. processing device of a navigation device…The origin and destination may be user specified or automatically selected, or combinations thereof. ")
Regarding claim 9, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, from a second electronic device associated with the current location of the electronic device, path information for the current location of the electronic device, wherein while navigating to the physical location: in accordance with the determination that that current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: in accordance with a determination that the path information from the second electronic device includes first path information, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a third path based on the first path information, and in accordance with a determination that the path information from the second electronic device includes second path information different from the first path information, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes an indication of a fourth path based on the second path information, the fourth path different from the third path. (see at least [49, 50, 41, 57]; "The sub-network may therefore be referred to as a personal network, and comprises routes previously travelled by the user. The personal network defining the sub-network may itself be defined by a subset of routes previously travelled by a user, i.e. a subset of a larger personal network which includes routes traveled between different origin destination pairs…. The network of routes is thus a previously generated network of alternative routes between the origin and destination. The step of defining the sub-network may therefore comprise generating a set of a plurality of alternative routes between the origin and destination…In accordance with any of the aspects or embodiments of the invention the navigation device may comprise a display for displaying an electronic map to a user, a set of one or more processors configured to access digital map data and cause an electronic map to be displayed to a user via the display, and a user interface operable by a user to enable the user to interact with the device. Thus, the system of the present invention may be a system, e.g. processing device of a navigation device…The origin and destination may be user specified or automatically selected, or combinations thereof. "
Regarding claim 12, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more path options, in accordance with a determination that one or more first path options satisfy a set of criteria and one or more second path options different from the one or more first path options do not satisfy the set of criteria, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of the one or more first path options, and in accordance with a determination that the one or more second path options satisfy the set of criteria and the one or more first path options do not satisfy the set of criteria, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of the one or more second path options.
However, Witte teaches The method of claim 1, wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more path options, (see at least [56]; "The device then generates a plurality of routes that are a subset of possible routes between the current location and destination")
in accordance with a determination that one or more first path options satisfy a set of criteria and one or more second path options different from the one or more first path options do not satisfy the set of criteria, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of the one or more first path options, and (see at least [50]; "The plurality of routes generated between the first and second locations may be considered alternative routes between the first and second locations. The routes may be generated in any suitable manner known in the art. For example, the routes might be a least cost route and one or more next lowest cost routes generated between the first and second locations through the navigable network as determined by a routing engine. For example, the routes may be a least cost route and each route having a higher cost within a predetermined range of the least cost route. ")
in accordance with a determination that the one or more second path options satisfy the set of criteria and the one or more first path options do not satisfy the set of criteria, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of the one or more second path options. (see at least [50]; " The plurality of routes generated between the first and second locations may be considered alternative routes between the first and second locations. The routes may be generated in any suitable manner known in the art. For example, the routes might be a least cost route and one or more next lowest cost routes generated between the first and second locations through the navigable network as determined by a routing engine…For example, the cost function may be selected as appropriate e.g. based upon user input, to result in a least cost route that is a shortest route, fastest route, most ecological route, etc. In an example, when a cost function is selected to determine a fastest route, the plurality of routes may determine the fastest route and any routes that are within a threshold of the journey time associated with the fastest route, e.g. any routes within 10% of the fastest route or 20% of the fastest route, etc.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches the user interface corresponding with the routes that meet the a set of critera in order to navigate along the desired routes of the user or the most efficient route as determined by the settings.
Regarding claim 13, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more path options, (see at least [133]; "The method may comprise outputting data indicative of the existence of at least some, or the or each alternative route at the first decision point to user. This may involve outputting any suitable information indicative of the main route and the or each alternative route to the user.")
in accordance with a determination that vehicles in an environment of the electronic device have a first behavior, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more first path options, and (see at least [133]; "The representation may be selectable to obtain an overview of the route. The method may comprise providing the user with comparative data for the main and the or each alternative route, e.g. indicative of a difference in estimated time of arrival, distance, fuel consumption, etc, when taking the alternative route. Data indicative of the main route and at least one alternative route at a decision point may be output to the user when the current position of the user is within a predetermined distance of the decision point.")
in accordance with a determination that the vehicles in the environment of the electronic device have a second behavior different from the first behavior, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more second path options different from the one or more first path options. (see at least [133]; "The representation may be selectable to obtain an overview of the route. The method may comprise providing the user with comparative data for the main and the or each alternative route, e.g. indicative of a difference in estimated time of arrival, distance, fuel consumption, etc, when taking the alternative route. Data indicative of the main route and at least one alternative route at a decision point may be output to the user when the current position of the user is within a predetermined distance of the decision point.")
Regarding claim 15, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 14, further comprising while navigating to the physical location and while the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path: in accordance with a determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet one or more criteria, presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including a request for user input to select the respective path.
However, Witte teaches The method of claim 14, further comprising while navigating to the physical location and while the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path: in accordance with a determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet one or more criteria, presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including a request for user input to select the respective path. (see at least [5, 10, 14]; "Typically these devices further comprise one or more input interfaces that allow a user to interact with and control the device, and one or more output interfaces by means of which information may be relayed to the user…Typically, the PND is enabled by software for computing a “best” or “optimum” route between the start and destination address locations from the map data. A “best” or “optimum” route is determined on the basis of predetermined criteria and need not necessarily be the fastest or shortest route…In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes. Optionally, the user may intervene in, or guide, the route selection process, for example by specifying that certain routes, roads, locations or criteria are to be avoided or are mandatory for a particular journey. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches a request for a user to select a path after determining the user provided path does not meet all criteria in order for the vehicle to safely traverse a path to the destination that meets all the required criteria.
Regarding claim 16, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses the method further comprises, while navigating to the physical location: in accordance with a determination that the user interface for selecting the respective path has been presented for greater than a predetermined time threshold, navigating along the respective path. (see at least [11]; "In addition, the device may continually monitor road and traffic conditions, and offer to or choose to change the route over which the remainder of the journey is to be made due to changed conditions.")
Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 15, wherein: in accordance with the determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet the one or more criteria: presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including the request for user input to select the respective path includes presenting, using the one or more output devices, an indication of the respective path and an option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to forgo navigating along the respective path,
However, Witte teaches The method of claim 15, wherein: in accordance with the determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet the one or more criteria: presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including the request for user input to select the respective path includes presenting, using the one or more output devices, an indication of the respective path and an option that, when selected, causes the electronic device to forgo navigating along the respective path, and (see at least [5, 14]; "Typically these devices further comprise one or more input interfaces that allow a user to interact with and control the device, and one or more output interfaces by means of which information may be relayed to the user…In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes. Optionally, the user may intervene in, or guide, the route selection process, for example by specifying that certain routes, roads, locations or criteria are to be avoided or are mandatory for a particular journey")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches a request for a user to select a path after determining the user provided path does not meet all criteria in order for the vehicle to safely traverse a path to the destination that meets all the required criteria.
Regarding claim 17, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 15, wherein: in accordance with the determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet the one or more criteria: presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including the request for user input to select the respective path includes presenting a plurality of path options based on the path directions provided by the human. (see at least [20]; "When navigating along a route, or planning a route, users may be presented with alternative routes between an origin and destination by a navigation device, or other system having route generating functionality. Rather than simply providing the user with a single route optimised with respect to time, distance or another criterion such as fuel economy, this provides the user with the opportunity to decide which of a number of possible routes they prefer for some reason. These routes would typically not be optimised with respect to the given criterion, e.g. time, but might be preferable to a user for another reason, e.g. in that they avoid a particular junction or stretch of road that the user dislikes, are more scenic, etc.
(21) Generating and selecting alternative routes which are sensible routes a user might wish to use presents some challenges. It will be appreciated that numerous routes could theoretically be provided which differ in some respect from a first, e.g. fastest, route. In particular, in order to provide more useful alternative routes that are more likely to be helpful to a user, it is desirable for the alternative routes to differ to an appropriate degree from the first, e.g. fastest, route.")
Regarding claim 19, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location, in accordance with the determination that the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path: (see at least [0092]; "The method may comprise attempting to match the current position of the user to a segment of the electronic map as the user travels between the origin and destination of the second origin-destination pair along the main route, and detecting when the current position may no longer be matched to a segment of the main route and instead lies on a segment of the alternative route outgoing from a decision point.")
in accordance with a determination that a vehicle in an environment of the electronic device is traveling along a path that satisfies one or more criteria, navigating along the path along which the vehicle is traveling; and
(see at least [20]; "When navigating along a route, or planning a route, users may be presented with alternative routes between an origin and destination by a navigation device, or other system having route generating functionality. Rather than simply providing the user with a single route optimised with respect to time, distance or another criterion such as fuel economy, this provides the user with the opportunity to decide which of a number of possible routes they prefer for some reason. These routes would typically not be optimised with respect to the given criterion, e.g. time, but might be preferable to a user for another reason, e.g. in that they avoid a particular junction or stretch of road that the user dislikes, are more scenic, etc.")
in accordance with a determination that the vehicle in an environment of the electronic device is traveling along a path that fails to satisfy the one or more criteria, outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path. (see at least [11, 17]; " In addition, the device may continually monitor road and traffic conditions, and offer to or choose to change the route over which the remainder of the journey is to be made due to changed conditions. …A further important function provided by the device is automatic route re-calculation in the event that: a user deviates from the previously calculated route during navigation (either by accident or intentionally); real-time traffic conditions dictate that an alternative route would be more expedient and the device is suitably enabled to recognize such conditions automatically, or if a user actively causes the device to perform route re-calculation for any reason.")
Regarding claim 21, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path includes displaying, via a display component included in the one or more output devices, a visual indication of the respective path. (see at least [162]; "means for displaying a schematic representation of at least a portion of the main route to the user, the representation comprising an icon indicative of a current position of the user along the main route, an icon indicative of the position of the decision point along the main route, and a selectable icon indicative of the existence of the at least one generated alternative route; ")
Regarding claim 22, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses The method of claim 1, wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more path options, (see at least [70]; "The method may comprise displaying at least a portion of the main route and at least a portion of the or each alternative route between the origin and the destination of the second origin-destination pair to the user. ")
in accordance with a determination that an environment of the electronic device is a first type of environment, the one or more path options are selected according to a first set of one or more criteria, and (see at least [127]; "In some embodiments a plurality of alternative routes is stored in the route pool, each being optimised with respect to a different given property, e.g. estimated time of arrival, length and fuel consumption. This may allow a user to be presented with a route that may suit their particular preferences. The route pool may contain only alternative routes that are optimised with respect to a given property. ")
in accordance with a determination that the environment of the electronic device is a second type of environment different from the first type of environment, the one or more path options are selected according to a second set of one or more criteria different from the first set of one or more criteria. (see at least [126]; "It will be appreciated that the alternative route along a particular outgoing segment that is stored in the route pool may be one of a plurality of alternative routes generated along the segment. The alternative route that is stored may be an alternative route that is optimised with respect to a given property, e.g. estimated time of arrival, length or fuel consumption…The stored data indicative of the alternative routes is stored in one or more databases, i.e. a route pool, comprising data indicative of alternative routes that are expected to be taken in the future, i.e. at the first decision point. The stored data may initiate the route pool, or update the route pool where the route pool has previously been initiated, e.g. in relation to an earlier decision point. )
Regarding claim 23, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses An electronic device comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and are configured to be executed by the one or more processors, the one or more programs including instructions for: (see at least [2, 125, 39]; "This invention relates to methods and systems for generating alternative routes, and also extends to navigation devices and servers arranged to generate alternative routes. ..The data may be stored in a memory of the device…Thus, the method is preferably carried out by a set of one or more processors of a device or system having route generating capability and/or navigation functionality, as required. For example, the methods may be implemented by a computer system, e.g. a desktop or laptop system, which does not have navigation functionality.")
while navigating to a physical location: (see at least [0091]; "The device may be associated with a vehicle in which the user is travelling, i.e. which is travelling between the origin and destination. ") Konig describes navigating to a physical location.
Konig does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path.
However, Witte teaches in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, (see at least [0043, 0050, ]; ". The first location may be a current location, a location along a predetermined route being navigated, and/or an origin of a desired route…The steps of the method are implemented while the vehicle, with which the navigation device is associated, travels along a predetermined route to a destination… For example, this may be the case where the first and/or second locations are associated with a predetermined route being navigated, to provide first and second locations between which alternative routes to at least a portion of the predetermined route may be generated. ") Witte describes determining a current location that includes a predetermined path.
navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see at least [49]; "It will be appreciated that the method of the present invention may be initiated in response to a user input, e.g. requesting the generation of a route, or may be initiated automatically, e.g. when congestion is detected along a predetermined route that is being navigated. The method may be initiated by the navigation device in response to received live traffic data.") Witte describes navigating a path while forgoing outputting to the user a respective path including the current location.
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: (see at least [45]; "The method may then provide a route that is an alternative to at least a portion of a remainder of the predetermined route, or, in embodiments, the (entire) remainder thereof. The route may then be described as an “en-route alternative”.") Witte describes navigating the location which does not include a predetermined path.
outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte described outputting to the user interface in order for the user to select the respective path.
while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte describes outputting the user interface for selecting a path,
in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and (see at least [14, 15]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes…During navigation along a calculated route, it is usual for such PNDs to provide visual and/or audible instructions to guide the user along a chosen route to the end of that route, i.e. the desired destination.") Witte describes navigating to the selected path out of a multitude of routes.
in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path. (see at least [14, 15]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes…During navigation along a calculated route, it is usual for such PNDs to provide visual and/or audible instructions to guide the user along a chosen route to the end of that route, i.e. the desired destination.") Witte describes navigating to the selected path out of a multitude of routes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches determining whether the vehicle is traveling along a predetermined path, prompting the user to choose a path if it is not, and navigating to the chosen route in order for the user to travel to their desired destination in an efficient manner.
Regarding claim 24, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs, the one or more programs comprising instructions, which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device, cause the electronic device to perform a method comprising: (see at least [claim 16]; "A non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors of a navigation device, cause the navigation device to perform a method for determining a route taken by a user through a navigable network,")
while navigating to a physical location: (see at least [0091]; "The device may be associated with a vehicle in which the user is travelling, i.e. which is travelling between the origin and destination. ") Konig describes navigating to a physical location.
Konig does not explicitly teach in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path.
However, Witte teaches in accordance with a determination that a current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating includes a predetermined path, (see at least [0043, 0050, ]; ". The first location may be a current location, a location along a predetermined route being navigated, and/or an origin of a desired route…The steps of the method are implemented while the vehicle, with which the navigation device is associated, travels along a predetermined route to a destination… For example, this may be the case where the first and/or second locations are associated with a predetermined route being navigated, to provide first and second locations between which alternative routes to at least a portion of the predetermined route may be generated. ") Witte describes determining a current location that includes a predetermined path.
navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and navigating along the path while forgoing outputting, via one or more output devices, a user interface for selecting a respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see at least [49]; "It will be appreciated that the method of the present invention may be initiated in response to a user input, e.g. requesting the generation of a route, or may be initiated automatically, e.g. when congestion is detected along a predetermined route that is being navigated. The method may be initiated by the navigation device in response to received live traffic data.") Witte describes navigating a path while forgoing outputting to the user a respective path including the current location.
in accordance with a determination that the current location of the electronic device at which the electronic device is navigating does not include the predetermined path: (see at least [45]; "The method may then provide a route that is an alternative to at least a portion of a remainder of the predetermined route, or, in embodiments, the (entire) remainder thereof. The route may then be described as an “en-route alternative”.") Witte describes navigating the location which does not include a predetermined path.
outputting, via the one or more output devices, the user interface for selecting the respective path including the current location of the electronic device along which to navigate; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte described outputting to the user interface in order for the user to select the respective path.
while outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path, receiving, via the one or more input devices, a user input selecting the respective path; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte describes outputting the user interface for selecting a path,
in response to receiving the input selecting the respective path: in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a first path, navigating using the first path; and (see a least [14]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes") Witte describes outputting the user interface for selecting a path,
in accordance with a determination that the input corresponds to a request to select a second path different from the first path, navigating using the second path. (see at least [14, 15]; "In the context of a PND, once a route has been calculated, the user interacts with the navigation device to select the desired calculated route, optionally from a list of proposed routes…During navigation along a calculated route, it is usual for such PNDs to provide visual and/or audible instructions to guide the user along a chosen route to the end of that route, i.e. the desired destination.") Witte describes navigating to the selected path out of a multitude of routes.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Witte which teaches determining whether the vehicle is traveling along a predetermined path, prompting the user to choose a path if it is not, and navigating to the chosen route in order for the user to travel to their desired destination in an efficient manner.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Konig (US 11209278 B2) in view of Witte (US 10345109 B2), in further view of Zhang (CN 111998865 A).
Regarding claim 3, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, they do not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface for selecting the respective path includes: in accordance with a determination that weather conditions at the current location of the electronic device are first weather conditions, a third path corresponding to the first weather conditions, and in accordance with a determination that the weather conditions at the current location of the electronic device are second weather conditions different from the first weather conditions, a fourth path corresponding to the second weather conditions, the fourth path different from the first path.
However, Zhang teaches The method of claim 1, wherein the user interface for selecting the respective path includes: in accordance with a determination that weather conditions at the current location of the electronic device are first weather conditions, a third path corresponding to the first weather conditions, and (see at least [0047]; " In some embodiments, the target path determination module 440 may determine the target path based on the navigation length of each of the one or more second candidate paths. For example, the navigation length of the target path may be the shortest among the one or more second candidate paths. In some embodiments, the target path determination module 440 may determine the target path based on travel time, taking into consideration of navigation length, speed limit, and/or real-time factors such as traffic conditions, weather conditions, and road-work arrangements.")
in accordance with a determination that the weather conditions at the current location of the electronic device are second weather conditions different from the first weather conditions, a fourth path corresponding to the second weather conditions, the fourth path different from the first path. (see at least [0047]; " In some embodiments, the target path determination module 440 may determine the target path based on the navigation length of each of the one or more second candidate paths. For example, the navigation length of the target path may be the shortest among the one or more second candidate paths. In some embodiments, the target path determination module 440 may determine the target path based on travel time, taking into consideration of navigation length, speed limit, and/or real-time factors such as traffic conditions, weather conditions, and road-work arrangements.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Zhang which teaches generating a navigation path based on the weather conditions in order to avoid weather conditions that may significantly compromise the arrival time of the vehicle or may be unsafe to travel through.
Claims 10, 11, 14, 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Konig (US 11209278 B2) in view of Witte (US 10345109 B2), in further view of Melchior (WO 2023192297 A1) and Stein (US 11983894 B2).
Regarding claim 10, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location: detecting, via the one or more input devices, an object in an environment of the electronic device that is not included in map information accessible to the electronic device; in accordance with a determination that the object satisfies one or more criteria, updating the map information to include information associated with the object; and in accordance with a determination that the object does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing updating the map information to include the information associated with the object.
However, Melchior teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location: detecting, via the one or more input devices, an object in an environment of the electronic device that is not included in map information accessible to the electronic device; (see a least [0081]; ". During vehicle travel, the navigation module 110 may receive information from one or more sensors 150, via a sensor interface (I/F) 140, to control and adjust the navigation of the robotic vehicle. For example, the sensors 150 may provide sensor data to the navigation module 110 and/or the drive control subsystem 120 in response to sensed objects and/or conditions in the environment to control and/or alter the robotic vehicle’s navigation. As examples, the sensors 150 can be configured to collect sensor data related to objects, obstructions, equipment, goods to be picked, hazards, completion of a task, and/or presence of humans and/or other robotic vehicles..")
in accordance with a determination that the object satisfies one or more criteria, updating the map information to include information associated with the object; and (see at least [0081, 0083]; " During vehicle travel, the navigation module 110 may receive information from one or more sensors 150, via a sensor interface (I/F) 140, to control and adjust the navigation of the robotic vehicle. For example, the sensors 150 may provide sensor data to the navigation module 110 and/or the drive control subsystem 120 in response to sensed objects and/or conditions in the environment to control and/or alter the robotic vehicle’s navigation. As examples, the sensors 150 can be configured to collect sensor data related to objects, obstructions, equipment, goods to be picked, hazards, completion of a task, and/or presence of humans and/or other robotic vehicles..
In various embodiments, sensor data from one or more of the sensors 150, e.g., one or more stereo cameras 152 and/or LiDAR scanners 154, 157, can be used to generate and/or update a 2-dimensional or 3- dimensional model or map of the environment,.")
in accordance with a determination that the object does not satisfy the one or more criteria, forgoing updating the map information to include the information associated with the object. (see at least [0078]; "That is, an operator may guide the robotic vehicle 100 through a path within the environment while the robotic vehicle, through a machine-learning process, learns and stores the path for use in task performance and builds and/or updates an electronic map of the environment as it navigates. The path may be stored for future use and may be updated, for example, to include more, less, or different locations, or to otherwise revise the path and/or path segments, as examples")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Melchior which teaches detecting an object, updating map information with the object information if it meets the criteria, or not updating the map data with the object if it does not meet the criteria in order to keep the map updated with applicable data for route generation and efficient navigating for the user and vehicle.
Regarding claim 11, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location: at a first time, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an object in an environment of the electronic device that is not included in map information accessible to the electronic device; at a second time different form the first time, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the object; and tracking the object in the environment of the electronic device based on detecting the object at the first time and at the second time.
However, Melchior teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location: at a first time, detecting, via the one or more input devices, an object in an environment of the electronic device that is not included in map information accessible to the electronic device; (see at least [0081]; "For example, the sensors 150 may provide sensor data to the navigation module 110 and/or the drive control subsystem 120 in response to sensed objects and/or conditions in the environment to control and/or alter the robotic vehicle’s navigation. As examples, the sensors 150 can be configured to collect sensor data related to objects, obstructions, equipment, goods to be picked, hazards, completion of a task, and/or presence of humans and/or other robotic vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Melchior which teaches detecting an object in the environment that is not on the map in order to avoid a collision with an object.
Melchior does not explicitly teach at a second time different form the first time, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the object; and tracking the object in the environment of the electronic device based on detecting the object at the first time and at the second time.
However, Stein teaches at a second time different form the first time, detecting, via the one or more input devices, the object; and (see at least [157]; "Processing unit 110 may calculate the motion of candidate objects by observing the different positions of the objects across multiple image frames, which are captured at different times.") Stein
tracking the object in the environment of the electronic device based on detecting the object at the first time and at the second time. (see at least [157]; "Processing unit 110 may calculate the motion of candidate objects by observing the different positions of the objects across multiple image frames, which are captured at different times.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Stein which teaches tracking the objects at different times in order to continuously avoid a collision with the object if it is moving.
Regarding claim 14, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses wherein: the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more path option(see at least [133]; "The method may comprise outputting data indicative of the existence of at least some, or the or each alternative route at the first decision point to user. This may involve outputting any suitable information indicative of the main route and the or each alternative route to the user.")
in accordance with a determination that the path directions provided by the human include first path directions, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more first path options corresponding to the first path directions, and (see at least [20, 21]; "
When navigating along a route, or planning a route, users may be presented with alternative routes between an origin and destination by a navigation device, or other system having route generating functionality. Rather than simply providing the user with a single route optimised with respect to time, distance or another criterion such as fuel economy, this provides the user with the opportunity to decide which of a number of possible routes they prefer for some reason. These routes would typically not be optimised with respect to the given criterion, e.g. time, but might be preferable to a user for another reason, e.g. in that they avoid a particular junction or stretch of road that the user dislikes, are more scenic, etc.
(21) Generating and selecting alternative routes which are sensible routes a user might wish to use presents some challenges. It will be appreciated that numerous routes could theoretically be provided which differ in some respect from a first, e.g. fastest, route. In particular, in order to provide more useful alternative routes that are more likely to be helpful to a user, it is desirable for the alternative routes to differ to an appropriate degree from the first, e.g. fastest, route.")
in accordance with a determination that the path directions provided by the human include second path directions different from the first path directions, the user interface for selecting the respective path includes representations of one or more second path options different from the first path options corresponding to the second path directions.
(see at least [20, 21]; "
When navigating along a route, or planning a route, users may be presented with alternative routes between an origin and destination by a navigation device, or other system having route generating functionality. Rather than simply providing the user with a single route optimised with respect to time, distance or another criterion such as fuel economy, this provides the user with the opportunity to decide which of a number of possible routes they prefer for some reason. These routes would typically not be optimised with respect to the given criterion, e.g. time, but might be preferable to a user for another reason, e.g. in that they avoid a particular junction or stretch of road that the user dislikes, are more scenic, etc.
(21) Generating and selecting alternative routes which are sensible routes a user might wish to use presents some challenges. It will be appreciated that numerous routes could theoretically be provided which differ in some respect from a first, e.g. fastest, route. In particular, in order to provide more useful alternative routes that are more likely to be helpful to a user, it is desirable for the alternative routes to differ to an appropriate degree from the first, e.g. fastest, route.")
Konig does not explicitly teach The method of claim 1, further comprising while navigating to the physical location and while the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path, detecting, using the one or more input devices, a human in an environment of the electronic device providing path directions,
However, Melchior teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising while navigating to the physical location and while the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path, detecting, using the one or more input devices, a human in an environment of the electronic device providing path directions, (see a least [0081]; "The navigation module 110 can communicate instructions to a drive control subsystem 120 to cause the robotic vehicle 100 to navigate its path within the environment. During vehicle travel, the navigation module 110 may receive information from one or more sensors 150, via a sensor interface (I/F) 140, to control and adjust the navigation of the robotic vehicle. For example, the sensors 150 may provide sensor data to the navigation module 110 and/or the drive control subsystem 120 in response to sensed objects and/or conditions in the environment to control and/or alter the robotic vehicle’s navigation. As examples, the sensors 150 can be configured to collect sensor data related to objects, obstructions, equipment, goods to be picked, hazards, completion of a task, and/or presence of humans and/or other robotic vehicles...")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Melchior which teaches detecting a human in the surrounding environment in order to avoid a collision with a pedestrian.
Regarding claim 20, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig discloses outputting the user interface for selecting the respective path.(see at least [155] ; " displaying, when selection of the icon by a user is detected, a representation on a map of at least portions of the main route and the alternative route extending from the decision point to the destination, wherein the representations of the main route and the alternative route are each selectable by a user to provide an indication of the route intended to be taken at the decision point;")
Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location, in accordance with the determination that the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path: in accordance with a determination that an environment of the electronic device includes one or more objects indicating a path, navigating along the path indicated by the one or more objects; and in accordance with a determination that the environment of the electronic device does not include the one or more objects indicating the path,
However, Melchior teaches The method of claim 1, further comprising: while navigating to the physical location, in accordance with the determination that the current location of the electronic device does not include the predetermined path: (see at least [0085]; "In example embodiments, the robotic vehicle 100 may use and/or include a dynamic path adjust module 180. In various embodiments, the dynamic path adjust module 180 comprises computer program code stored in memory 12 and executable by the at least one processor 10 to cause the navigation system 110 to at least partially or temporarily deviate from a predetermined path based on the real-time senor data from the sensors 150 and or other inputs, such as from supervisor 200, other robotic vehicles, and/or from other systems within the environment.")
in accordance with a determination that an environment of the electronic device includes one or more objects indicating a path, navigating along the path indicated by the one or more objects; and (see a least [0081]; ". During vehicle travel, the navigation module 110 may receive information from one or more sensors 150, via a sensor interface (I/F) 140, to control and adjust the navigation of the robotic vehicle. For example, the sensors 150 may provide sensor data to the navigation module 110 and/or the drive control subsystem 120 in response to sensed objects and/or conditions in the environment to control and/or alter the robotic vehicle’s navigation. As examples, the sensors 150 can be configured to collect sensor data related to objects, obstructions, equipment, goods to be picked, hazards, completion of a task, and/or presence of humans and/or other robotic vehicles..")
in accordance with a determination that the environment of the electronic device does not include the one or more objects indicating the path, (see at least [0064]; "In the context of a robotic vehicle, the inventive concepts can also be used for, among other things, obstacle avoidance. In this application, a dynamic path will be planned based on sensing an obstacle obstructing the trained path during autonomous follow. This dynamic path will depart from the trained path in order to avoid the obstacle, then rejoin the trained path at a different location farther along."
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Melchior which teaches detecting an object and presenting a route around it to the user in order to avoid a collision with the object.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Konig (US 11209278 B2) in view of Witte (US 10345109 B2), in further view of Forstall (US 20090005964 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Konig and Witte, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, Konig does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 15, wherein: in accordance with the determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet the one or more criteria: presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including the request for user input to select the respective path includes presenting a prompt for the user to provide the respective path.
However, Forstall teaches The method of claim 15, wherein: in accordance with the determination that the path directions provided by the human fail to meet the one or more criteria: presenting the user interface for selecting the respective path including the request for user input to select the respective path includes presenting a prompt for the user to provide the respective path. (see at least [92]; " For example, the destination engine can use the user interface to prompt the user to select a destination from among a group of destinations derived based on the historical data.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Konig to incorporate teachings of Forstall which teaches prompting the user to select a path in order for the vehicle to be able to navigate a path to the destination which meets the requirements to safely navigate.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664