DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 9, and 12-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2020/0098335 to Chen et al. (Chen).
As to claims 1, 16 and 17, Chen discloses a method comprising:
at an electronic device in communication with a platform (Fig. 1; Para. 0019, a head-mounted device such as a pair of virtual reality glasses is used in providing a user with display content such as virtual reality content):
while outputting light in an interior of the platform, using one or more light sources, detecting a change to ambient light within the interior of the platform (Para. 0029, ambient light from apertures or filters);
in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform (Fig. 1; Para. 0035, 0043, 0051, ambient light sensor, 22):
in accordance with a determination that the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform is caused by a first change in a light source in an environment external to the interior of the platform, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a first manner (Para. 0029, 0040, 0051-0052, 0054, Control circuitry 42 (e.g., tone mapping circuitry 14 of FIG. 1) may also determine tone mapping parameters for display 40 based on ambient light conditions 34. For example, if ambient light sensor conditions 34 indicate bright ambient light, tone mapping circuitry 14 may begin with bright-adapted curve 32 so that the images appear sufficiently bright to the user. Tone mapping circuitry 14 may gradually shift to tone mapping parameters that are optimized for a dark adaptation state as the user adapts to the dark viewing conditions of device 10.); and
in accordance with a determination that the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform is caused by a second change in a light source within the interior of the platform, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a second manner different from the first manner (Para. 0029, 0040, 0051-0052, 0054, Control circuitry 42 (e.g., tone mapping circuitry 14 of FIG. 1) may also determine tone mapping parameters for display 40 based on ambient light conditions 34. For example, if ambient light sensor conditions 34 indicate bright ambient light, tone mapping circuitry 14 may begin with bright-adapted curve 32 so that the images appear sufficiently bright to the user. Tone mapping circuitry 14 may gradually shift to tone mapping parameters that are optimized for a dark adaptation state as the user adapts to the dark viewing conditions of device 10.).
As to claim 16, Chen additionally discloses an electronic device comprising: one or more processors (Para. 0021, control circuitry, 42); memory (Para. 0021, memory); and one or more programs (Para. 0021, 0056, program), wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (Para. 0021).
As to claim 17, Chen additionally discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing one or more programs (Para. 0021, 0056, storage such as hard-disk storage, volatile and non-volatile memory, electrically programmable storage for forming a solid-state drive, and other memory), the one or more programs comprising instructions (Para. 0021, 0056, program), which when executed by one or more processors of an electronic device(Para. 0021, control circuitry, 42).
As to claim 3, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising, in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform:
in accordance with a determination that current time criteria corresponds to an expected change in the light source in the environment external to the interior of the platform, adjusting the output of the light in the interior of the platform in a third manner different from the second manner (Para. 0025, 0033, adjusting a brightness range at certain periods of time to boost the perceived brightness or darkness at another time, adjusting brightness for some portions of an image to boost the perceived brightness or darkness of other portions of an image, selecting appropriate tone mapping parameters based on the adaptation state of the user, and/or taking other actions based on the estimated adaptation state of the user).
As to claim 9, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in the first manner includes adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in the first manner to correspond to the environment external to the interior of the platform (Para. 0029, 0040, 0051-0052, 0054, Control circuitry 42 (e.g., tone mapping circuitry 14 of FIG. 1) may also determine tone mapping parameters for display 40 based on ambient light conditions 34. For example, if ambient light sensor conditions 34 indicate bright ambient light, tone mapping circuitry 14 may begin with bright-adapted curve 32 so that the images appear sufficiently bright to the user. Tone mapping circuitry 14 may gradually shift to tone mapping parameters that are optimized for a dark adaptation state as the user adapts to the dark viewing conditions of device 10.).
As to claim 12, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the output of light in an interior of the platform includes adjusting light generated by the platform (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, light emitting devices, 62; Para. 0033, adjusting brightness of lighting system 60 for a subset of light-emitting devices 62 near one portion of an image on display 40 to boost the perceived brightness or darkness of other portions of an image on display 40).
As to claim 13, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the output of light in an interior of the platform in the first manner includes adjusting light generated by one or more second electronic devices (Para. 0029, 0040, 0051-0052, 0054, Control circuitry 42 (e.g., tone mapping circuitry 14 of FIG. 1) may also determine tone mapping parameters for display 40 based on ambient light conditions 34. For example, if ambient light sensor conditions 34 indicate bright ambient light, tone mapping circuitry 14 may begin with bright-adapted curve 32 so that the images appear sufficiently bright to the user. Tone mapping circuitry 14 may gradually shift to tone mapping parameters that are optimized for a dark adaptation state as the user adapts to the dark viewing conditions of device 10; Para. 0029, ambient light from apertures or filters).
As to claim 14, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in the first manner includes adjusting light leaving an interior of the platform (Fig. 1; Para. 0027, light emitting devices, 62; Para. 0033, adjusting brightness of lighting system 60 for a subset of light-emitting devices 62 near one portion of an image on display 40 to boost the perceived brightness or darkness of other portions of an image on display 40).
As to claim 15, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, wherein adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in the first manner includes adjusting light entering an interior of the platform (Para. 0029, ambient light from apertures or filters).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of U.S. Publication No. 2021/0104207 to Imai.
As to claim 5, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising, in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform: in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is located within a first threshold distance from the one or more light sources, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner; and in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is located further than the first threshold distance from the one or more light sources, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner.
Imai teaches in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is located within a first threshold distance from the one or more light sources, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner (Fig. 11; Para. 0285-0287, goal color decision unit 113 adjusts a goal luminance of a display 201 based on the change tendency of the light source distance; short distance decreases goal luminance); and
in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is located further than the first threshold distance from the one or more light sources, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner (Fig. 11; Para. 0285-0287, goal color decision unit 113 adjusts a goal luminance of a display 201 based on the change tendency of the light source distance; long distance increases goal luminance).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include the illumination change of Imai because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the method of Chen as modified by the illumination change of Imai can yield a predictable result of maintaining visibility and reducing glare. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the method of Chen the ability to use the illumination change of Imai since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 6 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of U.S. Publication No. 2020/0186744 to Wozniak et al (Wozniak).
As to claim 6, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose wherein the electronic device is in communication with a display component and one or more input devices, the method further comprising: displaying, via the display component, a user interface element selectable to adjust the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner, different from the first manner.
Wozniak teaches displaying, via the display component, a user interface element selectable to adjust the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner, different from the first manner (Fig. 7, 8; Para. 0048-0049, graphical user interface 700 further includes a request 706 for a user to play the sample videos 702, 704 and select a preferred brightness level).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include the user interface of Wozniak because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the method of Chen as modified by the illumination change of Imai can yield a predictable result of having high contrast that preserves detail in darker frames. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the method of Chen the ability to use the illumination change of Imai since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 7, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform: in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is a first user, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner; and in accordance with a determination that the user within the interior of the platform is a second user, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner.
Wozniak teaches in accordance with a determination that a user within the interior of the platform is a first user, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner (Para. 0029, 0047, user characteristics and/or behavior may be observed to infer user preferences, and such thresholds (i.e. brightness) may be adjusted based on the inferred user preferences); and
in accordance with a determination that the user within the interior of the platform is a second user, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner (Para. 0029, 0047, user characteristics and/or behavior may be observed to infer user preferences, and such thresholds (i.e. brightness) may be adjusted based on the inferred user preferences).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include the user interface of Wozniak because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the method of Chen as modified by the illumination change of Imai can yield a predictable result of having high contrast that preserves detail in darker frames. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the method of Chen the ability to use the illumination change of Imai since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Claim(s) 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen in view of U.S. Publication No. 2022/0230216 to Buibas et al (Buibas).
As to claim 8, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform: in accordance with a determination that a time of day at the electronic device is a first time of day, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner; and in accordance with a determination that the time of day at the electronic device is a second time of day, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner.
Buibas teaches in accordance with a determination that a time of day at the electronic device is a first time of day, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner (Para. 0239, lighting conditions may change at different times of day, one or more embodiments may generate different luminance maps for different times or time periods; daytime operation); and
in accordance with a determination that the time of day at the electronic device is a second time of day, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner (Para. 0239, lighting conditions may change at different times of day, one or more embodiments may generate different luminance maps for different times or time periods; nighttime operation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include the time of day determination of Buibas because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the method of Chen as modified by the time of day determination of Buibas can yield a predictable result of correcting for the effect of lighting variations on color across the store. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the method of Chen the ability to use time of day determination of Buibas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
As to claim 10, Chen discloses the method of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose further comprising in response to detecting the change to the ambient light within the interior of the platform: in accordance with a determination that an architecture of the platform is operating in a first mode, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner; and in accordance with a determination that the architecture of the platform is operating in a second mode, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner.
Buibas teaches in accordance with a determination that an architecture of the platform is operating in a first mode, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a third manner (Para. 0241, sub-map calibration to specific areas of images, allowing for differences in architecture, such as windows, calibration data may also be based on area); and
in accordance with a determination that the architecture of the platform is operating in a second mode, adjusting the output of light in the interior of the platform in a fourth manner, different from the third manner (Para. 0241, sub-map calibration to specific areas of images, allowing for differences in architecture, such as windows or other design feature or furniture, calibration data may also be based on area).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Chen to include the time of day determination of Buibas because such a modification is the result of combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. More specifically, the method of Chen as modified by the time of day determination of Buibas can yield a predictable result of correcting for the effect of lighting variations on color across the store. Thus, a person of ordinary skill would have appreciated including in the method of Chen the ability to use time of day determination of Buibas since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 4, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/LISA S LANDIS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2626