DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Claims 1 is directed to abstract ideas (organizing human activity in logistics documentation; mental process verification; data capture and transmission) and fails to integrate them into a practical application. The recited elements, individually and in combination, do not add “significantly more.”
Step 1: Statutory category determination.
The claim is drawn to a “method,” i.e., a process under 35 U.S.C. § 101. Step 1 satisfied.
Step 2A, Prong 1: Identify judicial exception(s) with citations to PEG groupings; quote offending clauses.
The claim “recites” abstract ideas under the 2019 PEG:
Certain methods of organizing human activity (commercial/legal interactions; managing logistics/recordkeeping):
Offending clauses:
“inputting … load parameters including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter;”
“communicating to a host transportation database … load parameters … over a range of geographic positions and time intervals” — tracking and documenting shipment logistics and conditions for transportation operations.
Mental processes (observations/evaluations that can be performed in the human mind):
Offending clause:
“after said storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver” — the verification is a human recognition/evaluation step; the method relies on a human mental determination as a gating condition.
Data gathering and transmission/presentation (insignificant extra-solution activity):
Offending clauses:
“using said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area …”
“using said smartphone to collect an image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock …”
“said smartphone communicating to a host transportation database …” — collecting information and sending it to a generic server/database.
The claim does not recite a specific mathematical formula or data structure beyond general “load parameters,” but its core is data entry, image capture, and data communication in a logistics workflow, which falls within the abstract idea groupings above.
Step 2A, Prong 2: Analyze integration into a practical application; discuss any claimed technological improvement; address whether extra-solution activity or field-of-use limitations are present.
The claim does not integrate the abstract ideas into a practical application:
No improvement to the functioning of a computer, smartphone, or network is recited (MPEP 2106.05(a)). The claim is result-oriented (collect images/parameters; send to database) without any specific imaging pipeline, compression/metadata scheme, communications protocol, or device-level mechanism that improves the operation of the smartphone or host system.
No use of a particular machine in a meaningful way beyond generic components (a “smartphone” and a “host transportation database/server”) (MPEP 2106.05(b)). The smartphone is used for conventional data entry, image capture, and communication; the server/database is generic storage.
No transformation of an article to a different state or thing (MPEP 2106.05©). The steps modify information state only; they do not control trailer hardware or actuate a physical system.
The logistics field and shipment tracking context are field-of-use limitations that do not meaningfully restrict the abstract data documentation/transmission (MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The recited steps are insignificant extra-solution activity (data gathering and output) (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
Accordingly, the claim remains “directed to” the abstract ideas identified in Prong 1.
Step 2B: Assess whether additional elements are significantly more; discuss WURC with evidentiary considerations.
The additional elements, taken individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to “significantly more” than the abstract ideas:
Using a smartphone to input parameters, capture images, and communicate to a backend database for logistics tracking is well-understood, routine, and conventional (WURC) functionality. See:
In re TLI Commc’ns LLC, 823 F.3d 607 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (classifying and storing images on a server using a phone is abstract and implemented with generic components);
Electric Power Group, LLC v. Alstom, 830 F.3d 1350 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (collecting, analyzing, and displaying/transmitting information is abstract);
Affinity Labs of Texas v. Amazon, 838 F.3d 1266 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (targeted content delivery with generic mobile device/server architecture ineligible);
ChargePoint, Inc. v. SemaConnect, Inc., 920 F.3d 759 (Fed. Cir. 2019) (networking generic devices to implement an abstract concept ineligible).
The claim lacks recitation of any non-conventional hardware arrangement, protocol, or algorithm (e.g., secure attestation of lock status, specialized geotagging metadata embedding, tamper-evident logging, constrained-bandwidth synchronization) that could supply an inventive concept.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 12,125,322. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are generally broader than those of the patent. Thus, any invention meeting the limitations of the patent claims would necessarily meet those of the instant application as well. Further, all the claimed limitations recited in the present application are broader version and transparently found in the patent No. 12,125,322
Instant application
US Patent
1. A method of transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the method comprising steps of: inputting into said smartphone load parameters including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter; using said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after said storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver; using said smartphone to collect an image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure said load contained within said storage area; and said smartphone communicating to a host transportation database said load parameters indicative of the geographic position and condition of said load over a range of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from its loading event through until its unloading event.
1. A method of transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the method comprising steps of: inputting into said smartphone a plurality of load parameters, including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter; using said smartphone to collect an image of a storage area of said trailer after cleanliness of said storage area has been verified by said driver; using said smartphone to collect said image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure a load contained within said storage area; and said smartphone communicating to a host transportation database said plurality of load parameters demonstrating a geographic position and condition of said load over a range of a plurality of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from a loading event through an unloading event; and said smartphone further comprising of a clock feature which facilitates additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer; wherein said clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts, and unlock attempts by specific users.
8. A system for transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the system comprising of a trailer monitoring device, configured to a microprocessor with near field communication capabilities, capable of executing an instruction to: receive load parameters, including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter from said smartphone operated by said driver of said vehicle corresponding with said trailer; using a camera associated with said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver; using said smartphone to collect and transmit an image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure a load contained within said storage area; and communicating, to a host transportation database, said load parameters indicative of the geographic position and condition of said load over a range of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from its loading event through until its unloading event with said smartphone.
6. A system for transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the system comprising of a trailer monitoring device, configured to a microprocessor with near-field communication capabilities, capable of executing an instruction to: receive plurality of load parameters, including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter from said smartphone operated by said driver of said vehicle corresponding with said trailer; using a camera associated with said smartphone to collect an image of a storage area of said trailer after cleanliness of said storage area has been verified by said driver; using said smartphone to collect and transmit said image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure a load contained within said storage area; communicating, to host transportation database, said plurality of load parameters demonstrating a geographic position and condition of said load over a range of a plurality of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from a loading event through an unloading event with said smartphone; and said smartphone further comprising of a clock feature which is used to facilitate additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer; wherein said clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts and unlock attempts by specific users.
15. A system for transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the system comprising of a trailer monitoring device, configured to a microprocessor with near field communication capabilities, capable of executing an instruction to: receive load parameters, including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter from said smartphone operated by said driver of said vehicle corresponding with said trailer through a secure application interface; using a camera associated with said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver and compliance has been confirmed by personnel from a load host and a host transportation database; referencing a compliance monitoring system to ensure said storage area has met compliance standards according to a host and said driver; using said smartphone to collect and transmit an image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure a load contained within said storage area; storing data pertaining to lock and unlock activity of said lock associated with said trailer to a secure, external application server; and communicating, to a host transportation database, said load parameters indicative of the geographic position and condition of said load over a range of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from its loading event through until its unloading event with said smartphone; wherein a clock feature which facilitates additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer; and wherein the clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts and unlock attempts by specific users to said secure, external application server.
11. A system for transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the system comprising of a trailer monitoring device, configured to a microprocessor with near-field communication capabilities, capable of executing an instruction to: receive plurality of load parameters, including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter from said smartphone operated by said driver of said vehicle corresponding with said trailer through a secure application interface; using a camera associated with said smartphone to collect an image of a storage area of said trailer after cleanliness of said storage area has been verified by said driver and compliance has been confirmed by personnel from a load host and a host transportation database; referencing a compliance monitoring system to ensure said storage area has met compliance standards according to a host and said driver; using said smartphone to collect and transmit said image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure a load contained within said storage area; storing data pertaining to lock and unlock activity of said lock associated with said trailer to a secure, external application server; and communicating, to said host transportation database, said plurality of load parameters demonstrating a geographic position and condition of said load over a range of a plurality of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from a loading event through an unloading event with said smartphone; wherein a clock feature which facilitates additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer; and wherein the clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts and unlock attempts by specific users to said secure, external application server.
In regards to claim 1, the instant application is a broader version of claim 1 of the US patent and all the claim limitations are covered by claim 1 of the US Patent.
In regards to claim 8, the instant application is a broader version of claim 6 of the US patent and all the claim limitations are covered by claim 6 of the US Patent.
In regards to claim 15, the instant application is a broader version of claim 11 of the US patent and all the claim limitations are covered by claim 11 of the US Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carvajal (US 2016/0019497) in view of Reid (US 2015/0012445).
Per claim 1, Carvajal teaches a method of transmitting data from a vehicle corresponding with an associated trailer via a smartphone operated by a driver of said vehicle, the method comprising steps of (0039-0041, 0082-0083, 0090-0097 teaches transmitting data associated with a vehicle and an associated trailer using mobile devices communicating with the trailer control unit and vehicle control unit. Carvajal further teaches the TCU can interact with smart phones to set origin/destination, cargo parameters and other configuration data and the VCU/TCU exchange tracking data with remote servers over wide area networks):
inputting into said smartphone load parameters including a geographic loading point, a geographic unloading point, and a load identification parameter (0168 teaches the TCU takes values containing information about origin, destination, contacts both on the origin and destination place as well as special instructions for cargo transportation and handling);
[using said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after said storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver];
using said smartphone to collect an image of an exterior of said trailer and a lock associated with said trailer which functions to secure said load contained within said storage area (0118-0119 and 0138-0141 teaches the camera subsystem is used to take pictures and video inside or outside the trailer to view condition of the trailer, cargo, doors and locks for surveillance, traffic conditions and verification of the trailer being properly secured); and
said smartphone communicating to a host transportation database said load parameters indicative of the geographic position and condition of said load over a range of geographic positions and time intervals commencing from its loading event through until its unloading event (0045-0047, 0111-0113 and 0130-0133 teaches continuous monitoring and logging of geographic location and transportation state (i.e. loading, transport, storage, retail) of each trailer via TCU/VCU, including GPS and inertial sensors. 0089-0097 teaches communicating that information (position, events, status) over wired/wireless networks, including tracking service 500, transport and storage services, and general information control service 516, which record trailer movements and conditions over time).
Carvajal as mentioned above in 0118-0119 teaches camera with optical sensor is used to take pictures/videos of inside and outside of the trailer for maintaining chain of custody and monitoring conditions of goods and doors/locks. 0082-0083 teaches mobile phone interacting with TCU such that mobile phone can view and/or configure TCU functions, including camera functions. But, Carvajal does not explicitly teach using said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after said storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver.
In an analogous art, Reid teaches a system/method of automated inspection of trucks and trailers using mobile phone camera (abstract). Reid further teaches using said smartphone to collect an image of said trailer storage area after said storage area cleanliness has been verified by said driver (0006 teaches computer that provides a user with an option of taking a photo for each maintenance item selected as unsatisfactory and associating the photo with the maintenance item. 0042 teaches if any item on the list fails inspection, the user is provided with the opportunity to take a picture of the item that failed inspection. Also see Fig. 21 and paragraph 0069). Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for Carvajal to use the inspection method of Reid. The rationale would be to treat the cleanliness/condition of the trailer storage area as one of the inspection items and to use the same mobile camera to document the condition and to verify and make sure the trailer is staying clean.
Per claim 2 and 9, Carvajal in view of Reid teaches wherein said smartphone further comprising of a clock feature which facilitates additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer (Carvajal in 0039 teaches keeping tracking of all the records. 0042-0043 teaches keeping logs and record information in real time. 0119 teaches sensor and door opening and locking are all monitored thereby providing audit logging of trailer events. Reid in paragraph 0042, 0064-0065 and 0069-0071 teaches mobile application uses timer/clock to generate time stamped entries for inspection events and stores those for auditing). Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement, on the same smart phone in Carvajal, a clock/time stamping feature as taught by Reid so the lock related events recorded in Carvajal’s logs are additionally time stamped and available for audit, thereby facilitating additional auditing functions for the lock. This is a predictable use of Reid’s known time-stamped auditing in the closely related context of trailer/vehicle operations to enhance Carvajal’s existing event logs and chain of custody monitoring and would have been motivated by the desire for improved accountability and compliance. See KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 417 (2007).
Per claim 3 and 10, Carvajal in view of Reid teaches wherein said clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts and unlock attempts by specific users (Carvajal in paragraph 0042 teaches keep an event log of each trailer along with information about trailer status including alarms, opening doors, among other events. 00119 teaches lock subsystem can enable monitoring and control door and locks opening and closing. Reid further in paragraph 0042, 0064-0065 and 0069-0071 teaches each step of the inspection process is market with a time stamp and those records are tied to the specific driver/user account for auditing and compliance). Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply Reid’s explicit time stamping event in Carvajal existing log to associate those time stamped events with specific driver identity already tracked by the VCU. This is a straightforward enhancement of Carvajal’s event log using Reid’s time stamp to improve auditing, accountability and monitoring of all the transportation event of items.
Per claim 4 and 11, Carvajal teaches comprising of said host transportation database receiving load data from a near field communication device associated with said trailer via said smartphone (in rejection of claim 1, Carvajal already teaches communication between host transportation database and the trailer and mobile phone. 0090 teaches that communication can be any known communication including NFC networks).
Per claim 5 and 12, Carvajal teaches wherein a route itinerary is provided to said driver pertaining to said load contained and associated within said trailer (0008, 0051-0057 teaches computing device can compute routes or partial routes to move a cargo load or a portion of a cargo load from its point of origin to a final destination and the transportation network defines routes as links between LM service areas and relay stations. 0098 teaches service 502 can maintain route information which is updated in real time, so trucks and trailers do not have delays while traveling. 0143, 0145 teaches the VCU provides a driver display for presenting such operational information and the smart phone can display maps with real time location and navigation information. Also see paragraph 0081-0083 that teaches path traveled and approximate path towards destination).
Per claim 6 and 13, Carvajal in view of Reid teaches wherein said load parameters are monitored by a compliance monitoring system on an application interface on said smartphone operated by said driver (0039 teaches a smart phone can set up the TCU to define settings like: origin, destination, cargo weight, cargo density or weight/volume ratio, delivery priority, hazmat…shipper and recipient contact information, etc.. 0081-0083 teaches these parameters define the load and its handling. Carvajal further teaches remote device/smart phone can access the TCU and display information such as origin, contact information, destination, cargo handling instruction, type of services and estimated delivery time. 0044-0046 and 0095 teaches the system monitors the chain of custody and maintains tracking data and equipment in real time along all locations. Reid’s paragraph 0039, 0043-0047, 0056-0069 that teaches compliance monitoring system in the form of a mobile, such as vehicle inspection software program that provides an inspection checklist, allows the driver to mark conditions as satisfactory/unsatisfactory and submit results via mobile application interface on driver’s device). Therefore, before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the mobile smart phone interface in Carvajal so that, in addition to configuring and viewing load parameters, it operates as a compliance-oriented monitoring interface similar to Reid. Doing simply applies Reid’s known compliance monitoring to the load parameter data already collected and monitored in Carvajal, yielding a predictable improvement in regulatory and contractual compliance for transportation operations. KSR, 550 U.S. at 417.
Per claim 7 and 14, Carvajal in view of Reid teaches comprising of trailer asset monitoring system for said load, and wherein said image collected is utilized by said trailer asset monitoring system to evaluate conditions of said storage area (Carvajal in paragraph0118-0119 teaches camera to capture images of interior and exterior of the trailer to keep track of the goods which is used for collecting images as part of an asset monitoring system. Reid in paragraph 0069-0071 teaches when an inspection item is found to need repair, the driver can take a picture of the defect, and the image and notes are attached to the inspection information and sent to administrative personnel who use the images to evaluate the condition and prioritize actions. Given Carvajal’s camera and Reid’s teaching of using captured images for condition evaluation, then before the effective filling date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Carvajal’s trailer monitoring services so that images captured are processed and reviewed by the same monitoring system to evaluate the condition of storage area in the manner taught by Reid. The is simply using Reid’s known image-based evaluation on the images that Carvajal already captures for asset monitoring, to predictably improve the ability to assess trailer/storage conditions for safety and compliance.
Per claim 8, see rejection of claim 1 as claim 8 is a system of claim 1. Claim 8 further teaches a microprocessor with near field communication capabilities (see Fig. 5-6 of Carvajal that teaches processing and communicated with tags/sensors using NFC networks, also see paragraph 0090).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15-19 are objected as allowable if it overcomes the double patenting rejection.
Reason(s) For Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: In regards to independent claim 15, Carvajal in view of Reid above similar to rejection of claim 1 teaches all of claim 15 limitations. But, neither, Carvajal, Reid, nor any other prior art of record as whole teaches compliance has been confirmed by personnel from a load host and a host transportation database; referencing a compliance monitoring system to ensure said storage area has met compliance standards according to a host and said driver; storing data pertaining to lock and unlock activity of said lock associated with said trailer to a secure, external application server; wherein a clock feature which facilitates additional auditing functions for said lock associated with said trailer; and wherein the clock feature enables identification of dates and times of successful and unsuccessful unlocking attempts and unlock attempts by specific users to said secure, external application server.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kloostra et al (US 2009/0125425) abstract/Fig. 1
/OMEED ALIZADA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2686