Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 13, 19, and 20 recite the limitation “wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set and/or a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission.” However, it is unclear whether only the second random access occasion resource set is configured for random access signal repetition transmission or if the first random access occasion resource set is also configured for random access signal repetition transmission. Therefore, the abovementioned limitation fails to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, claims 1, 13, 19, and 20 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. For examination purposes, it has been construed that the second random access occasion resource set has been configured for random access signal repetition transmission.
Claims 2-12 and 14-18 depend from claims 1 and 13, respectively. Therefore, they incorporate all of the limitations of claims 1 and 13 respectively. Accordingly, claims 2-12 and 14-18 are indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wei et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0330348 A1) in view of Park (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0085104 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wei teaches “[a] random access resource configuration method, comprising: receiving, by a terminal, first configuration information from a network-side device, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set and/or a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission” (see ¶¶ [0004], [0005], [0007], [0081]-[0083], and [0087]; user equipment (UE) (i.e., terminal) receiving, from a base station (i.e., network-side device), one or more random access channel (RACH) configurations (i.e., first configuration information from a network-side device) where the RACH configurations may allocate resources for the UE to transmit RACH transmissions (i.e., configuring a first random access occasion resource set); thus, the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set; furthermore, based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations; the UE may sequentially map the SSBs to these sets of resources corresponding to RACH occasions; using one or more random access occasions (e.g., a first subset of random access occasions) associated with the SSBs for the association period, the UE may transmit a random access sequence, including one or more repetitions, to gain access to the wireless network (i.e., a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission); thus, receiving first configuration information from a network-side device, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set and/or a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission);
Wei further teaches “determining, by the terminal, an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0007], and [0138]; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources (i.e., the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set) for RACH opportunities (e.g., assigning resources for corresponding RACH preambles); based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a first set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations. the UE may map one or more indices of the set of SSBs to one or more random access occasions of the first set of random access occasions within the association period; thus, determining an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set);
Wei also teaches “determining, by the terminal, N random access occasion resources based on the association relationship of the random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set to perform N random access signal repetition transmissions” (see ¶ [0007]; based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a first set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations (i.e., N random access occasion resources); the UE may map one or more indices of the set of SSBs to one or more random access occasions of the first set of random access occasions within the association period; the UE may sequentially map the SSBs to these sets of resources corresponding to RACH occasions; using one or more random access occasions (e.g., a first subset of random access occasions) associated with the SSBs for the association period, the UE may transmit a random access sequence, including one or more repetitions (i.e., N random access signal repetition transmissions), to gain access to the wireless network; thus, determining N random access occasion resources based on the association relationship of the random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set to perform N random access signal repetition transmissions);
Wei further teaches “wherein the first random access occasion resource set comprises at least one of the following random access occasion resources: a random access occasion resource” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0007], and [0138]; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources (i.e., a random access occasion resource) for RACH opportunities; thus, the first random access occasion resource set comprises at least one of the following random access occasion resources: random access occasion resource);
Wei also teaches “the second random access occasion resource set comprises dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission; wherein N is a positive integer” (see ¶¶ [0079] and [0080]; UE may transmit repetitions for RACH transmissions (i.e., more than 1 random access signal repetitions, thus, N is a positive integer), reference signals, uplink control channel transmissions, uplink shared channel transmissions, or any combination thereof; UE may be configured with dedicated random access preamble formats, and the dedicated random access preambles may be indicated in a SIB1 (i.e., dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission); thus, the second random access occasion resource set comprises dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission; wherein N is a positive integer).
Wei does not explicitly disclose “for 4-step random access; . . . for 2-step random access; and . . . for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of claimed invention. For example, Park teaches random access occasion resource “for 4-step random access; . . . for 2-step random access; and . . . for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission”
(see ¶¶ [0108], [0109], [0120], and [0121]; RACH configuration includes information for 4-step RACH; and RACH configuration includes information for 2-step RACH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to have a random access occasion resource set that comprises at least one of a random access occasion resource for a 4-step random access, a random access occasion resource for 2-step random access, and a random access occasion resource for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the determining an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set comprises determining at least one of the following association relationships: an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set; an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set; and an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and the second random access occasion resource set” (see ¶¶ [0090]-[0092], FIG. 2 of Wei; different time-frequency resources are associated with different SSBs; different time-frequency resources associated with the same SSB occur at a configuration period; thus, there is an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set; time-frequency resources are associated with different SSBs can also overlap; thus, there is an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and the second random access occasion resource set).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 2, and further teaches “wherein the determining an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and the second random access occasion resource set comprises: determining X first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and Y second random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set according to a first condition; and determining an association relationship between the X first random access occasion resources and the Y second random access occasion resources; wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the first random access occasion resource corresponds to a first synchronization signal block, and the second random access occasion resource corresponds to a second synchronization signal block; and the first random access occasion resource and the second random access occasion resource correspond to a same random access signal repetition count; wherein X and Y are positive integers” (see ¶¶ [0089]-[0092] of Wei; sets of time/frequency resources associated with different SSBs; thus, a set of time/frequency resources associated with one SSB (i.e., determining X first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set), and another set of time/frequency resources associated with another SSB (i.e., Y second random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set); the different sets of resources are associated with different SSBs, thus X first random access occasion resources and the Y second random access occasion resources are according to a first condition, wherein the first condition comprises at least one of the following: the first random access occasion resource corresponds to a first synchronization signal block, and the second random access occasion resource corresponds to a second synchronization signal block; furthermore, the number of time-frequency resources associated with different SSBs are greater than 1, thus wherein X and Y are positive integers; and time-frequency resources are associated with different SSBs can also overlap (i.e., determining an association relationship between random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and the second random access occasion resource set)).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the receiving, by a terminal, first configuration information from a network-side device comprises at least one of the following: receiving, by the terminal, a first message from the network-side device, wherein the first message is used for configuring the first random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission for the terminal; and receiving, by the terminal, a second message from the network-side device, wherein the second message is used for configuring the second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission for the terminal” (see ¶¶ [0004], [0005], [0007], [0081]-[0083], and [0087] of Wei; user equipment (UE) (i.e., terminal) receiving, from a base station (i.e., network-side device), one or more random access channel (RACH) configurations (i.e., first configuration information from a network-side device) where the RACH configurations may allocate resources for the UE to transmit RACH transmissions (i.e., configuring a first random access occasion resource set); also, receiving configuration information from network-side device teaches receiving a first message from the network-side device).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 4 and further teaches “wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set, wherein the first preamble resource set comprises first preamble resources for random access signal repetition transmission; a repetition count corresponding to the first random access occasion resource; and first identification information corresponding to the first random access occasion resource” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0079], [0080], and [0084] of Wei; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources for RACH opportunities (e.g., assigning resources for corresponding RACH preambles) (i.e., a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set); some UEs may transmit repetitions for RACH transmissions and these UEs may be configured with dedicated random access preamble formats; since the UE receives RACH configuration with a set of preambles, where the preambles are dedicated random access preambles, and the UE transmits repetitions for RACH transmissions using the dedicated random access preambles, the UE is receiving a message (i.e., first message) that comprises at least a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set, wherein the first preamble resource set comprises first preamble resources for random access signal repetition transmission).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 5 and further teaches “wherein the first identification information is used to indicate the repetition count corresponding to the first random access occasion resource” (see ¶¶ [0242] and [0243]; ROs provided through a PRACH configuration (i.e., first identification information corresponding to the first random access occasion resource); when the start RO is determined, the UE may determine a PRACH repetition transmission using the number of ROs (here, including the start RO) corresponding to the number of repetition transmissions in the time domain (i.e., wherein the first identification information is used to indicate the repetition count corresponding to the first random access occasion resource)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to have identification information corresponding to the first random access occasion resource and indicate repetition count using that information. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 5, and further teaches “wherein the first preamble resource set corresponding to the first random access occasion resources is determined based on at least one of the following: the number of first preamble resources in the first preamble resource set; a starting index of the first preamble resources in the first preamble resource set; and the total number of first preamble resources corresponding to the first random access occasion resource set” (see ¶¶ [0080] and [0084]; UE may be configured with dedicated random access preamble formats, and the dedicated random access preambles may be indicated in a SIB1; an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources (e.g., assigning resources for corresponding RACH preambles) may be defined or configured; a mapping given by the RACH configuration may configure sets of resource within one RACH occasion with multiple preamble indices (e.g., in increasing order); thus, a starting index of the first preamble resources in the first preamble resource set).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 4, and further teaches “wherein the second message comprises at least one of the following: time domain information of second random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set; frequency domain information of the second random access occasion resources; information about an association between the second random access occasion resources and synchronization signal blocks; a second preamble resource set corresponding to the second random access occasion resources, wherein the second preamble resource set comprises second preamble resources for random access signal repetition transmission; a repetition count corresponding to the second random access occasion resource; and second identification information corresponding to the second random access occasion resource; wherein the frequency domain information of the second random access occasion resource comprises at least one of the following: a frequency domain starting position; and a frequency domain multiplexing quantity” (see ¶¶ [0082], [0133], and [0137], and FIG. 2 of Wei; UE, from base station, receives one or more random access configurations (i.e., a second random access configuration; thus, a second message from the network-side device); the second random access configuration may indicate a second configuration period, which can be for example, period of 10ms, 20ms, 40ms, 80ms, or 160ms, and a resource configuration, where the resource configuration may be a time-domain resource configuration; thus, the second message comprises time domain information of second random access occasion resources in the second random access occasion resource set).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the determining, by the terminal, N random access occasion resources based on the association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set to perform N random access signal repetition transmissions comprises: determining, by the terminal, a repetition count based on signal quality of a third synchronization signal block” (see ¶¶ [0197], [0206], [0207] and [0209] of Park; UE receives configuration for random access procedures, where the configuration indicates time/frequency resources for the random access procedure and an SSB-to-RO mapping configuration; UE may measure an SSB/CSI-RS signal (i.e., based on signal quality of a third synchronization signal block) and UE may determine a repetition level (RP level) based on a channel measurement value and a threshold value related thereto (e.g., an SSB/CSI-RS RSRP threshold value for selecting a repetition level); repetition level indicates repetition count; thus, determining, by the terminal, a repetition count based on signal quality of a third synchronization signal block);
the combination of Wei and Park further teaches “determining N random access occasion resources based on the third synchronization signal block, the repetition count, and the association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set” (see ¶¶ [0209] and [0210] of Park; UE may measure an SSB/CSI-RS signal (i.e., based on the third synchronization signal block), UE may determine the number of repetition transmissions based on the determined repetition level (i.e., repetition count, which is indicated by repetition level) and may select a RO and/or a preamble (i.e., preamble group and index) corresponding to the number of repetition transmissions, and a PO and/or a PUSCH resource configuration (e.g., DMRS resource (port and/or sequence) index) associated therewith; therefore, N random access occasion resources are determined based on the association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set, and the third synchronization signal block, and the repetition count); and
the combination of Wei and Park further teaches “performing N random access signal repetition transmissions by using the N random access occasion resources” (see ¶ [0211]; UE may perform an MsgA repetition transmission based on the selected resource; thus, performing N random access signal repetition transmissions by using the N random access occasion resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to determine a repetition count based on signal quality of SSB, one or more random access resources based on the SSB, the repetition count, and association between the resources. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the random access signal repetition transmission is completed in one or more time units, wherein the time unit is an association cycle, an association period or an association pattern period from 4-step random access related synchronization signal block to random access occasion” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions, and the period may be based on an association period; thus, wherein the random access signal repetition transmission is completed in one or more time units, wherein the time unit is an association cycle, an association period or an association pattern period from 4-step random access related synchronization signal block to random access occasion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to complete the random access transmission in a time unit associated with an association period. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 10 and further teaches “wherein division of consecutive physical random access channel association periods for the random access signal repetition transmission is based on a physical random access channel association period starting from radio frame 0” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a separate start offset and/or period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions 1, 2, 4, and 8 (or repetition level indexes 0, 1, 2, and 3); the start offset may be set based on SFN=0; the period may be set based on a T_RO unit, a RACH slot unit, a PRACH configuration period unit, or an association period (AP) unit; also as shown in FIG. 23, consecutive physical random access channel association periods are divided and the division is based on SFN=0 (i.e., starting from radio frame 0); thus, division of consecutive physical random access channel association periods for the random access signal repetition transmission is based on a physical random access channel association period starting from radio frame 0). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to divide association periods based on a radio frame starting from zero. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 1 and further teaches “wherein a time span for the random access signal repetition transmission does not exceed a preset upper time limit, wherein the upper time limit is a physical random access channel association cycle, a physical random access channel association period, or a physical random access channel association pattern period” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions 1, 2, 4, and 8 (or repetition level indexes 0, 1, 2, and 3); the period may be set based on a T_RO unit, a RACH slot unit, a PRACH configuration period unit, or an association period (AP) unit; if a period value is not set for the UE, the UE may apply the number of PRACH repetitions as a period value; the repetition transmissions occur within the association period (AP) unit, configuration period unit, etc., thus, a time span for the random access signal repetition transmission does not exceed a preset upper time limit, wherein the upper time limit is a physical random access channel association cycle, a physical random access channel association period, or a physical random access channel association pattern period).
Regarding claim 13, Wei teaches “[a] random access resource configuration method, comprising: transmitting, by a network-side device, first configuration information to a terminal, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set and/or a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission” (see ¶¶ [0004], [0005], [0007], [0081]-[0083], and [0087]; a base station (i.e., network-side device) transmitting to UE one or more random access channel (RACH) configurations (i.e., first configuration information to a terminal) where the RACH configurations may allocate resources for the UE to transmit RACH transmissions (i.e., configuring a first random access occasion resource set); thus, the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set; furthermore, based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations; the UE may sequentially map the SSBs to these sets of resources corresponding to RACH occasions; using one or more random access occasions (e.g., a first subset of random access occasions) associated with the SSBs for the association period, the UE may transmit a random access sequence, including one or more repetitions, to gain access to the wireless network (i.e., a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission); thus, receiving first configuration information from a network-side device, wherein the first configuration information is used for configuring a first random access occasion resource set and/or a second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission);
Wei further teaches “determining, by the network-side device, an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0007], and [0138]; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources (i.e., the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set) for RACH opportunities (e.g., assigning resources for corresponding RACH preambles); based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a first set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations. the UE may map one or more indices of the set of SSBs to one or more random access occasions of the first set of random access occasions within the association period; thus, determining an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set); and
Wei further teaches “receiving, by the network-side device, N random access signal repetition transmissions from the terminal on N random access occasion resources; wherein the N random access occasion resources are determined based on an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set” (see ¶ [0007]; based on the RACH configurations, the UE may determine a first set of random access occasions from the random access opportunities indicated in the RACH configurations (i.e., N random access occasion resources); the UE may map one or more indices of the set of SSBs to one or more random access occasions of the first set of random access occasions within the association period; the UE may sequentially map the SSBs to these sets of resources corresponding to RACH occasions; using one or more random access occasions (e.g., a first subset of random access occasions) associated with the SSBs for the association period, the UE may transmit a random access sequence, including one or more repetitions (i.e., N random access signal repetition transmissions), to gain access to the wireless network; thus, receiving, by the network-side device, N random access signal repetition transmissions from the terminal on N random access occasion resources; wherein the N random access occasion resources are determined based on an association relationship of random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set and/or the second random access occasion resource set);
Wei further teaches “wherein the first random access occasion resource set comprises at least one of the following random access occasion resources: a random access occasion resource” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0007], and [0138]; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources (i.e., a random access occasion resource) for RACH opportunities; thus, the first random access occasion resource set comprises at least one of the following random access occasion resources: random access occasion resource);
Wei also teaches “the second random access occasion resource set comprises dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission; wherein N is a positive integer” (see ¶¶ [0079] and [0080]; UE may transmit repetitions for RACH transmissions (i.e., more than 1 random access signal repetitions, thus, N is a positive integer), reference signals, uplink control channel transmissions, uplink shared channel transmissions, or any combination thereof; UE may be configured with dedicated random access preamble formats, and the dedicated random access preambles may be indicated in a SIB1 (i.e., dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission); thus, the second random access occasion resource set comprises dedicated random access occasion resources for random access signal repetition transmission; wherein N is a positive integer).
Wei does not explicitly disclose “for 4-step random access; . . . for 2-step random access; and . . . for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of claimed invention. For example, Park teaches random access occasion resource “for 4-step random access; . . . for 2-step random access; and . . . for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission”
(see ¶¶ [0108], [0109], [0120], and [0121]; RACH configuration includes information for 4-step RACH; and RACH configuration includes information for 2-step RACH).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to have a random access occasion resource set that comprises at least one of a random access occasion resource for a 4-step random access, a random access occasion resource for 2-step random access, and a random access occasion resource for 4-step random access for message 3 repetition transmission. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 13, and further teaches “wherein the transmitting, by a network-side device, first configuration information to a terminal comprises at least one of the following: transmitting, by the network-side device, a first message to the terminal, wherein the first message is used for configuring the first random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission for the terminal; and transmitting, by the network-side device, a second message to the terminal, wherein the second message is used for configuring the second random access occasion resource set for random access signal repetition transmission for the terminal” (see ¶¶ [0004], [0005], [0007], [0081]-[0083], and [0087] of Wei; user equipment (UE) receiving, from a base station (i.e., transmitting by a network-side device), one or more random access channel (RACH) configurations (i.e., first configuration information from a network-side device) where the RACH configurations may allocate resources for the UE to transmit RACH transmissions (i.e., configuring a first random access occasion resource set); also, receiving configuration information from network-side device teaches transmitting, by the network-side device, a first message from the network-side device).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 14, and further teaches “wherein the first message comprises at least one of the following: a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set, wherein the first preamble resource set comprises first preamble resources for random access signal repetition transmission; a repetition count corresponding to the first random access occasion resource; and first identification information corresponding to the first random access occasion resource” (see ¶¶ [0006], [0079], [0080], and [0084] of Wei; each of the RACH configurations may configure an association between one or more SSBs in a set of SSBs (e.g., an SSB burst set) and corresponding sets or subsets of RACH resources for RACH opportunities (e.g., assigning resources for corresponding RACH preambles) (i.e., a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set); some UEs may transmit repetitions for RACH transmissions and these UEs may be configured with dedicated random access preamble formats; since the UE receives RACH configuration with a set of preambles, where the preambles are dedicated random access preambles, and the UE transmits repetitions for RACH transmissions using the dedicated random access preambles, the UE is receiving a message (i.e., first message) that comprises at least a first preamble resource set corresponding to first random access occasion resources in the first random access occasion resource set, wherein the first preamble resource set comprises first preamble resources for random access signal repetition transmission).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 13, and further teaches “wherein the random access signal repetition transmission is completed in one or more time units, wherein the time unit is an association cycle, an association period or an association pattern period from 4-step random access related synchronization signal block to random access occasion” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions, and the period may be based on an association period; thus, wherein the random access signal repetition transmission is completed in one or more time units, wherein the time unit is an association cycle, an association period or an association pattern period from 4-step random access related synchronization signal block to random access occasion). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to complete the random access transmission in a time unit associated with an association period. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “wherein division of consecutive physical random access channel association periods for the random access signal repetition transmission is based on a physical random access channel association period starting from radio frame 0” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a separate start offset and/or period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions 1, 2, 4, and 8 (or repetition level indexes 0, 1, 2, and 3); the start offset may be set based on SFN=0; the period may be set based on a T_RO unit, a RACH slot unit, a PRACH configuration period unit, or an association period (AP) unit; also as shown in FIG. 23, consecutive physical random access channel association periods are divided and the division is based on SFN=0 (i.e., starting from radio frame 0); thus, division of consecutive physical random access channel association periods for the random access signal repetition transmission is based on a physical random access channel association period starting from radio frame 0). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Wei to incorporate teachings of Park to divide association periods based on a radio frame starting from zero. The motivation to do so would have been to improve random access method and repetition transmission (see ¶¶ [0004]-[0006] of Park).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Wei and Park teaches the method of claim 16, and further teaches “wherein a time span for the random access signal repetition transmission does not exceed a preset upper time limit, wherein the upper time limit is a physical random access channel association cycle, a physical random access channel association period, or a physical random access channel association pattern period” (see ¶ [0269] and FIG. 23 of Park; a period may be set for each of the number of repetition transmissions 1, 2, 4, and 8 (or repetition level indexes 0, 1, 2, and 3); the period may be set based on a T_RO unit, a RACH slot unit, a PRACH configuration period unit, or an association period (AP) unit; if a period value is not set for the UE, the UE may apply the number of PRACH repetitions as a period value; the repetition transmissions occur within the association period (AP) unit, configuration period unit, etc., thus, a time span for the random access signal repetition transmission does not exceed a preset upper time limit, wherein the upper time limit is a physical random access channel association cycle, a physical random access channel association period, or a physical random access channel association pattern period).
Regarding claim 19, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 19 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 20, it is an apparatus claim corresponding to claim 13 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 13. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
He (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0403689 A1) teaches determining a random access occasion set and an association relationship between the resources and an SSB.
Zhou (WO2023071843A1) teaches time/frequency domain resources for random access occasion and mapping relationship between RO resources and SSB and preamble for repeated transmissions.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475