Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/30/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 12, line 1, “comprising a processor and a memory” should read “comprising: a processor and a memory”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20250097870 A1 (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding claim 12, Xu teaches A terminal, comprising (Xu UE 401 in Fig. 4; [0099] FIG. 4
illustrates a method for the UE to obtain the epoch time and validity time duration of the neighbor RAN node according to some embodiments of the present disclosure.):
a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions capable of
being run on the processor, wherein the program or instructions, when executed by the processor, cause the terminal to perform (Xu [0214] FIG. 6 illustrates a block diagram of an exemplary apparatus 600 according to some embodiments of the present disclosure. As shown in FIG. 6, the apparatus 600 may include at least one processor 604 and at least one transceiver 602 coupled to the processor 604. The apparatus 600 may be a UE.
[0215] the apparatus 600 may further include an input device, a memory, and/or other components.
[0218] the apparatus 600 may further include at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium. For example, in some embodiments of the present disclosure, the non-transitory computer-readable medium may have stored thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the processor 604 to implement the method with respect to the UE as described above.):
obtaining a first message and a second message, wherein the first message comprises satellite assistance information of a serving cell (RAN node 1) and first time, the second message comprises satellite assistance information of a target cell (RAN node 2), and the first time indicates validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the serving cell (Xu [0072] The serving satellite ephemeris and common TA related parameters are signaled in the same SIB message and have the same epoch time. [0084] serving satellite (or HAPS) ephemeris and common TA are necessary at UE for uplink time synchronization. neighbor satellite (HAPS) ephemeris is also necessary at UE in propagation delay estimation, to assist measurement window (or gap) configuration and/or time-based cell reselection etc.
[0085] To calculate the current accurate and valid position of a neighbor satellite and thus determine the propagation delay between a UE and a neighbor satellite (or HAPS), the UE needs to know the epoch time and the validity time duration associated with neighbor satellite (or HAPS) ephemeris.
[0099] FIG. 4 illustrates a method for the UE to obtain the epoch time and validity time duration of the neighbor RAN node according to some embodiments of the present disclosure.
[0100] FIG. 4 illustrates a UE 401, a serving satellite 402A of the UE. a serving BS 403A, and a neighbor BS 403B. The coverage area A is covered by the serving satellite 402A, and the coverage area B is covered by the neighbor satellite 402B.
[0101] The serving BS 403A determines time information 4002 of the neighbor satellite 402B and transmits the same to the UE 401.
[0104] FIG. 5 illustrates a flow chart of an exemplary procedure of wireless communications according to some embodiments of the present disclosure.
[0105] FIG. 5 illustrates three components, a UE, RAN node 1, e.g., a satellite and RAN node 2, e.g., a terrestrial BS or a satellite acting as a BS or CN entity. RAN node 2 refers to a neighbor node of RAN node 1.
[0181] After determining the first time information associated with RAN node 2, in operation 504, RAN node 1 transmits the first time information to UE via SI broadcast, on-demand SI, dedicated signaling, or other messages.
[0170] RAN node 1 provides the first time information associated with RAN node 2 together with the third time information associated with RAN node 1.
[0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0166] RAN node 1 includes the third time information, which may include at least one of the following: [0167] 1) a third epoch time associated with the ephemeris or the common TA of RAN node 1; [0168] 2) a third validity time associated with the ephemeris or the common TA of RAN node 1;
Note: RAN node 1 is the serving cell, the third time information associated with RAN node 1 is the first message, the third epoch tine and the third validity time is the first time, the ephemeris of RAN node 1 is the satellite assistance information of the serving cell.
RAN node 2 is the target cell. the first time information associated RAN node 2 is the second message, the first epoch time and the first validity time is the second time, the ephemeris of RAN node 2 is the satellite assistance information of the target cell. ); and
starting second time, wherein the second time indicates validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the target cell (Xu [0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0019] a validity timer for the neighbor RAN node parameter values that is started the first time information is received; a length of the validity timer from reception time to the first validity time.),
wherein the terminal determines the second time based on Xu [0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
Note: the first epoch time and the first validity time is the second time).
Claims 1 and 19 recite similar limitations of claim 12 respectively, are thus rejected under similar
rational.
Regarding claim 2, Xu teaches The method according to claim 1.
Xu teaches wherein the terminal determining the second time based on
determining the second time by the terminal based on [0181] After determining the first time information associated with RAN node 2, in operation 504, RAN node 1 transmits the first time information to UE via SI broadcast, on-demand SI, dedicated signaling, or other messages.
[0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
[0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
Note: the first time information associated RAN node 2 is the second message, the first epoch time and the first validity time is the second time.); or
Claims 13 and 20 recite similar limitations of claim 2 respectively, are thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 3, Xu teaches The method according to claim 2.
Xu teaches wherein the determining the second time by the terminal based on some of
parameters of See Xu [0181-0184] cited above in rejection of claim 2.):
in a case that the second message comprises the second duration but does not comprise the second moment, using the first moment by the terminal as the second moment (Xu [0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2. If it is absent or set to default, the first epoch time is the same as the third epoch time associated with RAN node 1;
[0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2.
Note: the first epoch time is the second moment. the third epoch time is the first moment.
); or
using the first duration by the terminal as the second duration in a case that the second message comprises the second moment but does not comprise the second duration.
Regarding claim 4, Xu teaches The method according to claim 3.
Xu teaches wherein the determining the second moment in a case that the second message
comprises the second duration but does not comprise the second moment, and the second message comprises the second duration but does not comprise the second moment (Xu [0182-0184] cited above in rejection of claim 3.)
Xu teaches based on a type of the second message comprises: using a third moment by the terminal as the second moment in a case that the second message is a system message, wherein the third moment is end time of scheduling a system information (SI) window of the second message (Xu [0189] In some embodiments, the first epoch time may be represented by UTC time format, alternatively, the first epoch time may be represented by relative format, or maybe a relative time with reference time point, e.g., represented by frame, subframe and slot numbers, or milliseconds. When indicated in SIB other than SIB1, as shown in FIG. 2B, the epoch time may be the end of the SI window during which the SI message is transmitted.).
Claim 14 recites similar limitations of claim 4 (including claim 3), is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 5, Xu teaches The method according to claim 2,
Xu teaches wherein the determining the second time by the terminal based on parameters of
in a case that the second message does not comprise the second moment or the second duration, using the first moment by the terminal as the second moment (Xu [0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0183] 1) The first epoch time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2. If it is absent or set to default, the first epoch time is the same as the third epoch time associated with RAN node 1;
Note: the first epoch time is the second moment, the third epoch time is the first moment.) or determining the second moment based on a type of the second message,
and using the first duration by the terminal as the second duration (Xu [0182] The first time information associated with RAN node 2 may include at least one of the following: [0184] 2) The first validity time associated with the ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay of RAN node 2. If absent or set to default, the first validity time is the same as the third validity time associated with RAN node 1;
Note: the first validity time is the second duration, the third validity time is the first duration.).
Regarding claim 6, Xu teaches The method according to claim 5.
Xu teaches wherein the determining the second moment in a case that the second message
does not comprise the second moment or the second duration, and the second message does not comprise the second moment or the second duration (Xu [0182-0183] cited above in rejection of claim 5.),
Xu teaches based on a type of the second message comprises:
using a third moment by the terminal as the second moment in a case that the second message is a system message, wherein the third moment is end time of scheduling a system information (SI) window of the second message (Xu [0189] In some embodiments, the first epoch time may be represented by UTC time format, alternatively, the first epoch time may be represented by relative format, or maybe a relative time with reference time point, e.g., represented by frame, subframe and slot numbers, or milliseconds. When indicated in SIB other than SIB1, as shown in FIG. 2B, the epoch time may be the end of the SI window during which the SI message is transmitted.).
Claim 15 recites similar limitations of claim 6 (including claim 5), is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 7, Xu teaches The method according to claim 1.
Xu teaches wherein after the starting second time by the terminal, the method further
comprises: re-obtaining the second message by the terminal in a case that the second time expires (Xu [0208] In some embodiments, the UE may request for another time information associated with RAN node 2 after the first validity time, or after expiration of the first validity timer.); or
Claim 16 recites similar limitations of claim 7, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 8, Xu teaches The method according to claim 2.
Xu teaches wherein in a case that the second message comprises the second moment, the
second moment is indicated by a system frame number (SFN) and a subframe number or is indicated by absolute time (Xu [0189] In some embodiments, the first epoch time may be represented by UTC time format, alternatively, the first epoch time may be represented by relative format, or maybe a relative time with reference time point, e.g., represented by frame, subframe and slot numbers, or milliseconds.
Note: the first epoch time is the second moment.); and
in a case that the second message comprises the second duration, a unit of the second duration comprises any one of the following: second, millisecond, microsecond, minute, frame, subframe, symbol, or slot (Xu [0190] In some embodiments, the first validity time may be in the form of an absolute time, e.g. represented by UTC time format. Before the first validity time expires, the associated ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay value is considered as valid. Alternatively, the first validity time may be in the form of a relative time duration with a reference time point, e.g. represented by frame, subframe and slot numbers, or milliseconds, during which the associated ephemeris, common TA or feeder link propagation delay value are considered as valid.
Note: the first validity time is the second duration).
Claim 17 recites similar limitations of claim 8, is thus rejected under similar rational.
Regarding claim 9, Xu teaches The method according to claim 1.
Xu teaches wherein the first message and the second message meet: the first message and the
second message are system messages (Xu [0181] After determining the first time information associated with RAN node 2, in operation 504, RAN node 1 transmits the first time information to UE via SI broadcast, on-demand SI, dedicated signaling, or other messages.
[0170] RAN node 1 provides the first time information associated with RAN node 2 together with the third time information associated with RAN node 1.).
Regarding claim 10, Xu teaches The method according to claim 1.
Xu teaches wherein the first message and the second message are a same message (Xu [0181] After determining the first time information associated with RAN node 2, in operation 504, RAN node 1 transmits the first time information to UE via SI broadcast, on-demand SI, dedicated signaling, or other messages.
[0170] RAN node 1 provides the first time information associated with RAN node 2 together
with the third time information associated with RAN node 1.), or the first
message and the second message are different messages.
Regarding claim 18, Xu teaches The terminal according to claim 12.
Xu teaches wherein the first message and the second message meet: the first message and the second message are system messages (Xu [0181] After determining the first time information associated with RAN node 2, in operation 504, RAN node 1 transmits the first time information to UE via SI broadcast, on-demand SI, dedicated signaling, or other messages.
[0170] RAN node 1 provides the first time information associated with RAN node 2 together with the third time information associated with RAN node 1.); or,
wherein the first message and the second message are a same message, or the first message and the second message are different messages; or,
wherein the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the serving cell indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information of the serving cell in a case that satellite assistance information of a new serving cell is not obtained; and
the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the target cell indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information of the target cell in a case that satellite assistance information of a new target cell is not obtained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20230037533 A1 (hereinafter Huang) (priority document: us-provisional-application US 63272019 20211026 hereinafter prov2019).
Regarding claim 11, Xu teaches The method according to claim 1.
Although Xu teaches the serving cell, the validity duration of the satellite assistance information
of the serving cell, the target cell, the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the target cell (See Xu [0072], [0085], [0099-0101], [0104-0105], [0166-0168], [0170], [0181-0184] cited above in rejection of claim 1.), Xu does not explicitly teach the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new serving cell is not obtained; the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new target cell is not obtained.
Huang in the same or similar field of endeavor teaches the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new serving cell is not obtained (Huang [0167] The duration is configured by the network and it indicates the maximum time duration in which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris without having acquired new satellite ephemeris (prov2019 page 22).);
the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new target cell is not obtained (Huang [0167] The duration is configured by the network and it indicates the maximum time duration in which the UE can apply the satellite ephemeris without having acquired new satellite ephemeris (prov2019 page 22).);
By modifying Xu’s teachings of the serving cell, the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the serving cell, the target cell, the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the target cell with Huang’s teachings of
the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new serving cell is not obtained; the validity duration indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information in a case that satellite assistance information of a new target cell is not obtained, the modification results in
wherein the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the serving cell indicates
maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information of the serving cell in a case that satellite assistance information of a new serving cell is not obtained; and the validity duration of the satellite assistance information of the target cell indicates maximum time for the terminal to apply assistance information of the target cell in a case that satellite assistance information of a new target cell is not obtained.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Xu with Huang’s above teachings. The motivation is reducing signaling overhead (Huang [0005] (prov2019 page 28)).
Conclusion
/D.Z.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2418
/Moo Jeong/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2418