DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 25 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(1)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Feaver USPA 2011/0223494 A1.
Regarding claims 25 and 30, Feaver discloses a carbon aerogel (paragraph 45), comprising: a pyrolyzed or pyrolyzed and etched co-polymeric composition (paragraph 45): having from 5% by weight to about 6% by weight of nitrogen (paragraph 114: less than 10% Nitrogen includes 5-6%); and having a nanostructured form with micropores (paragraph 180), wherein at least 60%, or more, of a surface area measured by the N.sub.2 sorption porosimetry method at 77 K is assigned to micropores (paragraph 180: 80% micropores).
In the alternative, if Feaver is not deemed to disclose 5-6% Nitrogen and at least 60%, or more, micropores, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the amount of Nitrogen and % micropores are considered to be general conditions that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide an optimal aerogel, and since Feaver discloses ranges that overlap with the claimed ranges. MPEP 2144.05.
Claims 32, 34, 36, 38, 40 and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feaver USPA 2011/0223494 A1.
Feaver is relied upon as above.
Regarding claims 32, 34, 36, 38 and 40, Feaver does not disclose the various absorption capacities or specific pore volume. Nevertheless, since Feaver discloses optimizing porosity and pore volume (paragraphs 10 and 180), which in turn optimizes absorption capacities, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the absorption capacities and specific pore volume are considered to be a general conditions that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal performance. MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 41, Feaver does not disclose polyamides (paragraph 209) but does not disclose polyimide and polyurea. Nevertheless, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to utilize polyimide and polyurea, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Claims 29, 31, 33, 35, 37 and 39 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feaver USPA 2011/0223494 A1 in view of Leventis USPA 2012/0134909 A1.
Feaver is relied upon as above.
Regarding claims 29, 31, 33, 35, 37 and 39, Feaver does not disclose that the co-polymeric composition is etched. Leventis discloses a similar invention where etching is used to increase the number of micropores (see Leventis paragraph 86). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Feaver so that the aerogel is etched, as taught by Leventis, for the purpose of increasing the microporosity.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-28 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art fails to disclose or make obvious the carbon aerogel of dependent claim 26 where the nitrogen is in a form of pyridinic nitrogen, pyridonic nitrogen, quaternary nitrogen, and pyridine oxide.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776