DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/15/2024, 08/11/2025, 04/23/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CN202210470995.2 filed on 04/28/2022.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as failing to set forth the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 1, 6, 15 and 19-20 recite “a part of the first target resource”. Based on the language on the language of claim(s) 1, 6, 15 and 19-20 it is unclear to the Examiner what the “a part of the first target resource” correspond to . For example, is “a part of the first target resource” mean a part of a set of selected resources ? or “a part of the first target resource” mean associated to the first target resource ?
Dependent claims of claims 1, 6, 15 and 19-20 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 11-14, 17-18, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xue (US 20220061095 A1), hereinafter Xue.
Regarding claim 1,
Xue teaches a channel access processing method applied to sidelink, wherein the method is applied to a first terminal, and comprises: performing, by the first terminal, resource selection to determine a first target resource ([0047] first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT);
performing a Type 1 channel access procedure on at least a part of the first target resource to determine whether a channel is idle and a channel occupancy time (COT) [0047] first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT... A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT. ... [0088] ...UE 215 may communicate with another UE ... over a sidelink channel in a shared radio frequency band (e.g., in a shared spectrum or an unlicensed spectrum). As discussed above, LBT may be used when communicating over an unlicensed band, where a transmitting node may listen to the channel (by measuring signal energy in the channel and comparing the measurement to a threshold. When the channel is idle (e.g., with signal measurement(s) below the threshold), the transmitting node may transmit in the channel. However, if the channel is busy (e.g., with signal measurement(s) above the threshold), the transmitting node may refrain from accessing the channel. Thus, LBT can lead to channel access uncertainty);
transmitting, by the first terminal, first control information to a second terminal, wherein the first control information comprises information related to the COT determined by the first terminal, wherein the first control information comprises at least one of: remaining COT, an identifier (ID) of the first terminal, an ID of a terminal expected to receive shared COT information, or a channel access priority (FIGS. 12A and 12B and [0047] first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT types. Examples of LBT types may include a type 1 LBT and a type 2 LBT... A resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT. ... [0067] The second-stage SCI may include a −bit L1 destination identifier (ID), an 8-bit L1 source ID).
Regarding claim 2,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein the performing, by the first terminal, resource selection to determine a first target resource comprises: determining a time for triggering the resource selection; determining a resource selection window based on the time for triggering the resource selection; and determining the first target resource based on the resource selection window, wherein a first time interval T1 between a start time of the resource selection window and the time for triggering the resource selection is determined by a transmitting processing delay, a resource selection processing delay of the first terminal, and minimum duration of performing the Type 1 channel access procedure (Fig. 3B and [0043]The first UE may trigger a resource selection based on the projected LBT completion time instead of at the time when the MAC PDU is generated .... The first UE may define the sensing window relative to the resource selection trigger. … [0078] The PHY layer 304 may determine a start of the resource selection window 344 based on a T1 duration after the resource selection trigger 346 and may determine an end of the resource selection window 344 based on a T2 duration after the resource selection trigger 346. The T1 duration may have an upper bound limited by the parameter Tproc,1 (e.g., 0≤T1≤Tproc,1).)
Regarding claim 3,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 2,
Xue further teaches wherein the first time interval T1 comprises at least one of following: the first time interval T1 being greater than or equal to zero; the first time interval T1 being less than or equal to the transmitting processing delay; the first time interval T1 being greater than the minimum duration; or the first time interval T1 being greater than a sum of the minimum duration and the resource selection processing delay (fig.3B)
Regarding claim 4,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein the determined first target resource comprises at least one of the following: resources that are contiguous in time domain among available resources; resources that are contiguous in time domain with resources reserved by other terminals among available resources; resources that are within a same maximum channel occupancy time among available resources; or resources that are within a same maximum channel occupancy time with resources reserved by other terminals among available resources ([0043] The first UE may perform sensing (e.g., SCI decoding and signal measurements) in a sidelink resource pool within the shared radio frequency band during the sensing window. The first UE may record the sensing results. The first UE may identify a subset of resources (e.g., candidate resources) in the sidelink resource pool that are within the resource selection window based on the sensing results. The first UE may select at least a first resource from the subset of resources and transmit a sidelink transmission to a second UE using the selected first resource).
Regarding claim 5,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein the determined first target resource comprises: resources that meet a second condition and are non-contiguous in time domain among available resources, wherein the second condition is that a second time interval between two consecutive transmissions is greater than a first preset threshold value ([0077] FIG. 3B illustrates the sidelink resource pool 350 over a certain time period. In general, a sidelink resource pool may include time-frequency resources over consecutive slots (e.g., a continuous time period) and/or slots that are spaced apart in time (e.g., non-consecutive time periods)).
Regarding claim 11,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein after the Type 1 channel access procedure is performed, the method further comprises: determining an end time of the end of performing the Type 1 channel access procedure and a first time of a resource to be transmitted that is closest to the end time; and transmitting the resource to be transmitted based on the end time and the first time ([0046] In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT gaps. For instance, one or more of the candidate resources can include an overlap with an LBT gap associated with another UE, and thus the candidate resources may end early (e.g., a shortened duration) to allow for the LBT gap. In some aspects, the first UE may exclude any candidate resource that includes an overlap with an LBT gap of another UE. In some other aspects, the first UE may exclude a candidate resource that has an overlap with an LBT gap exceeding a certain number of symbols. ... [0162] FIGS. 11A and 11B are discussed in relation to each other to illustrate LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing with LBT gap considerations. For instance, resources in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., the sidelink resource pool 408) may leave gaps for sidelink UEs to perform LBTs. Thus, a sidelink resource may have an overlap with an LBT gap near the end of the sidelink resource, where the LBT gap may be used by a sidelink UE intending to use a next sidelink resource in time. In other words, the sidelink resource with an LBT overlap may end at an earlier time, and thus reducing an allowable transmission time. The reduced transmission time can impact performance, and thus a UE 215 may desire to avoid resources that include an overlap with an LBT gap of another UE or at least avoid resources with a large overlap with an LBT gap).
Regarding claim 12,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 11,
Xue further teaches wherein the transmitting the resource to be transmitted based on the end time and the first time comprises:
if the end time is the same as the first time or an interval between the end time and the first time is less than or equal to a second preset threshold value, directly transmitting the resource to be transmitted; or
if the end time is before the first time, determining a first target interval between the end time and the first time; and
determining, based on the first target interval, to send the resource to be transmitted ([0046] In some aspects, the first UE may filter the candidate resources identified from the resource selection window based on LBT gaps. For instance, one or more of the candidate resources can include an overlap with an LBT gap associated with another UE, and thus the candidate resources may end early (e.g., a shortened duration) to allow for the LBT gap. In some aspects, the first UE may exclude any candidate resource that includes an overlap with an LBT gap of another UE. In some other aspects, the first UE may exclude a candidate resource that has an overlap with an LBT gap exceeding a certain number of symbols. ...[0162] FIGS. 11A and 11B are discussed in relation to each other to illustrate LBT aware autonomous sidelink sensing with LBT gap considerations. For instance, resources in a sidelink resource pool (e.g., the sidelink resource pool 408) may leave gaps for sidelink UEs to perform LBTs. Thus, a sidelink resource may have an overlap with an LBT gap near the end of the sidelink resource, where the LBT gap may be used by a sidelink UE intending to use a next sidelink resource in time. In other words, the sidelink resource with an LBT overlap may end at an earlier time, and thus reducing an allowable transmission time. The reduced transmission time can impact performance, and thus a UE 215 may desire to avoid resources that include an overlap with an LBT gap of another UE or at least avoid resources with a large overlap with an LBT gap).
Regarding claim 13,
Claim 13 is rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 12, where it further limits unselected option.
Regarding claim 14,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein the transmitting, by the first terminal, the first control information to a second terminal comprises:
transmitting, by the first terminal, the first control information to the second terminal when a first condition is met, wherein the first condition meets at least one of following: that a remaining duration of the COT is greater than or equal to a pre-configured first threshold; that the first terminal has a service to be transmitted to the second terminal; that a higher-layer configuration or pre-configuration supports COT sharing; or that the first terminal supports COT sharing ([0047] resource can be available via a type 1 LBT or a type 2 LBT when the first UE detected a COT sharing indicator from another UE sharing a COT around the resource and there is no other reservation blocking a type 1 LBT. Thus, the first UE may win the medium via a type 1 LBT by itself or via a type 2 LBT by sharing the other UE's COT).
Regarding claim 17,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue further teaches wherein before the transmitting, by the first terminal, the first control information to a second terminal, the method further comprises: determining a maximum decoding processing delay ([0154] At block 920, the UE determines whether a time gap (e.g., the T4 duration) between the pair of resources (between R1 and R2) exceeds (satisfies) a projected LBT duration (e.g., the time to perform an LBT including an AIFS and a countdown based on a certain CW size). If the UE determines that the time gap exceeds (satisfies) the projected LBT duration, the UE proceeds to action 930 where the resource selection may terminate. After completing the resource selection, the UE may use the selected resources for transmissions, for example, as shown at action 530. If the UE determines that the time gap is below (fails to satisfy) the projected LBT duration, the UE returns to block 910 and randomly select another pair of resources from the candidate resources).
Regarding claim 18
Xue teaches the method according to claim 17,
Xue further teaches wherein the first terminal is capable of performing at least one of the following within the maximum decoding processing delay:
performing, by the first terminal, service transmission to the second terminal; or
transmitting, by the first terminal, second placeholder information to the second terminal, wherein duration of the second placeholder information is less than or equal to a fourth preset threshold value ([0154] At block 920, the UE determines whether a time gap (e.g., the T4 duration) between the pair of resources (between R1 and R2) exceeds (satisfies) a projected LBT duration (e.g., the time to perform an LBT including an AIFS and a countdown based on a certain CW size). If the UE determines that the time gap exceeds (satisfies) the projected LBT duration, the UE proceeds to action 930 where the resource selection may terminate. After completing the resource selection, the UE may use the selected resources for transmissions, for example, as shown at action 530. If the UE determines that the time gap is below (fails to satisfy) the projected LBT duration, the UE returns to block 910 and randomly select another pair of resources from the candidate resources).
Claim(s) 19 apparatus and claim 20 non-transitory computer readable medium are rejected under the same reasoning as claim(s) 1 method, where Xue teaches method, apparatus, and non-transitory computer readable medium (0007-0009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Deng (US 20250142595 A1), hereinafter Deng.
Regarding claim 6,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue does not explicitly teach wherein the performing a Type 1 channel access procedure on at least a part of the first target resource comprises: determining a first candidate time for starting the Type 1 channel access procedure, and/or a second candidate time for starting the Type 1 channel access procedure; determining, based on the first candidate time and/or the second candidate time, a listen before talk (LBT) start time for performing the Type 1 channel access procedure; and performing the Type 1 channel access procedure on the part of the first target resource based on the LBT start time.
Deng teaches wherein the performing a Type 1 channel access procedure on at least a part of the first target resource comprises: determining a first candidate time for starting the Type 1 channel access procedure, and/or a second candidate time for starting the Type 1 channel access procedure; determining, based on the first candidate time and/or the second candidate time, a listen before talk (LBT) start time for performing the Type 1 channel access procedure; and performing the Type 1 channel access procedure on the part of the first target resource based on the LBT start time ([0003] There may be approaches for sidelink unlicensed (SL U) channel access in Mode 2. For example, a wireless transmit receive unit (WTRU) may perform SL U channel access and resource selection for channel occupancy time (COT) sharing and COT initiation within a resource selection window (RSW). The WTRU may detect COT and share based on control information, such as remaining duration, the number of scheduled transmission(s) within the COT, frequency resource assignment, priority, cast type, WTRU source and/or destination ID, COT/resource reservation, channel congestion, etc. The WTRU may determine SL COT initiation based on LBT and SCI sensing information including COT/resource reservation, priority, cast type, WTRU source and/or destination ID, channel congestion, etc.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Deng to the teaching of Xue. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide for a more efficient and capable system for communicating in unlicensed spectrum (Deng [0002]).
Regarding claim 7-9,
Claims 7-9 are rejected under the same reasoning as Claim 6, where it further limits unselected option.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Agiwal (US 20200059969 A1), hereinafter Agiwal.
Regarding claim 10,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue does not explicitly teach wherein after the COT is determined, the method further comprises: determining a retransmission time of the first terminal; and if the retransmission time is within the range of the COT, performing a Type 2 channel access procedure for retransmission of at least the part of the first target resource; or if the retransmission time is outside the range of the COT, performing the Type 1 channel access procedure for retransmission of at least the part of the first target resource.
Agiwal teaches wherein after the COT is determined, the method further comprises:
determining a retransmission time of the first terminal; and
if the retransmission time is within the range of the COT, performing a Type 2 channel access procedure for retransmission of at least the part of the first target resource; or
if the retransmission time is outside the range of the COT, performing the Type 1 channel access procedure for retransmission of at least the part of the first target resource ([0218] In an embodiment, if the UL grant indicated in PDCCH for Msg3 retransmission is located within the gNB initiated COT and gap between DL transmission in COT and UL transmission based on indicated UL grant is less than 16 us, gNB can indicate LBT Category 1 in PDCCH. If the UL grant indicated in PDCCH for Msg3 retransmission is located within the gNB initiated COT and gap between DL transmission in COT and UL transmission based on indicated UL grant is greater than 16 us but less than 25 us, gNB can indicate Type 2 or LBT category 2 in PDCCH. If the UL grant indicated in PDCCH for Msg3 retransmission is located within the gNB initiated COT and is not followed by any DL transmission in the same COT, gNB can indicate Type 2 or LBT category 2 in PDCCH. If the UL grant indicated in PDCCH for msg3 retransmission is located outside the gNB initiated COT, gNB can indicate LBT Type 1 or LBT category 3/4 in PDCCH).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Agiwal to the teaching of Xue. The motivation for such an addition would be to provide improved and intelligent spectrum access and management ([0018] Agiwal).
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue in view of Ji (US 20240196433 A1), hereinafter Ji.
Regarding claim 15,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 1,
Xue does not explicitly teach wherein in a case that second control information transmitted by a second terminal to the first terminal is received during performing the Type 1 channel access procedure on at least the part of the first target resource, the method further comprises:
when a second condition is met, determining to end the Type 1 channel access procedure, and performing a Type 2 channel access procedure on the part of the first target resource based on the second control information, wherein the second control information comprises information related to a COT determined by the second terminal.
Ji teaches wherein in a case that second control information transmitted by a second terminal to the first terminal is received during performing the Type 1 channel access procedure on at least the part of the first target resource, the method further comprises:
when a second condition is met, determining to end the Type 1 channel access procedure, and performing a Type 2 channel access procedure on the part of the first target resource based on the second control information, wherein the second control information comprises information related to a COT determined by the second terminal ([0037]UE1's transmission pause (e.g., corresponding to (part of) the time gap T illustrated in FIG. 5) inside the shared COT period, the channel needs to be sensed to detect whether the channel is continuously idle or not and then accordingly select LBT type 1 or LBT type 2 to be used for later transmission after the pause...., if there is a transmission pause, where UE1 and/or its other peer responding UEs sharing the same COT stop transmitting in the unlicensed spectrum, UE2 may only apply type 2 LBT before its transmission taking place inside the shared COT if the channel is sensed as continuously idle in the transmission pause. In order to do that, UE2 may have to identify the transmission pause, where UE1 and/or its other peer responding UEs sharing the same COT stop transmitting in the unlicensed spectrum, and may have to sense the channel in the identified transmission pause).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ji to the teaching of Xue. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the functioning of communications networks ([0089] Ji).
Regarding claim 16,
Xue teaches the method according to claim 15,
Xue does not explicitly teach wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: that a service priority of the first terminal is lower than or equal to a service priority of the second terminal; that a channel access priority of the first terminal is lower than a channel access priority of the second terminal; or a remaining duration of the COT of the second terminal is greater than a third time threshold value.
Ji teaches wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following:
that a service priority of the first terminal is lower than or equal to a service priority of the second terminal;
that a channel access priority of the first terminal is lower than a channel access priority of the second terminal; or
a remaining duration of the COT of the second terminal is greater than a third time threshold value ([0037]UE1's transmission pause (e.g., corresponding to (part of) the time gap T illustrated in FIG. 5) inside the shared COT period, the channel needs to be sensed to detect whether the channel is continuously idle or not and then accordingly select LBT type 1 or LBT type 2 to be used for later transmission after the pause...., if there is a transmission pause, where UE1 and/or its other peer responding UEs sharing the same COT stop transmitting in the unlicensed spectrum, UE2 may only apply type 2 LBT before its transmission taking place inside the shared COT if the channel is sensed as continuously idle in the transmission pause. In order to do that, UE2 may have to identify the transmission pause, where UE1 and/or its other peer responding UEs sharing the same COT stop transmitting in the unlicensed spectrum, and may have to sense the channel in the identified transmission pause).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teaching of Ji to the teaching of Xue. The motivation for such an addition would be to improve the functioning of communications networks ([0089] Ji).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to VAN T NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-6178. The examiner can normally be reached 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM (EST). Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman A Abaza can be reached at (571) 270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/VAN TA NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2429
/AYMAN A ABAZA/SPE, Art Unit 2429