DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/11/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (ACS Sustainable Chem. Eng. 2019, 7, 17227−17236).
Considering claims 1-3 and 5, Wang discloses a nanomaterial, comprising: a non-noble metal substrate (CoNi alloy nanoparticle) and noble metal atoms (Ru) on a surface of the non-noble metal substrate, wherein the noble metal atoms are simultaneously coordinated with a halogen and oxygen (RuOHxCly) (Abstrsact).
Considering claim 6, Wang discloses the nanomaterial further comprises a conductive carrier (nitrogen-doped graphene), and the non-noble metal substrate is on the conductive carrier (Abstract).
Claim(s) 1-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Testova et al. (Catalysis Communications 67 ‘2015’ 95–97).
Considering claims 1-5, Testova discloses a nanomaterial, comprising: a non-noble metal substrate (TiO2) and noble metal atoms (Ru) on a surface of the non-noble metal substrate, wherein the noble metal atoms are simultaneously coordinated with a halogen and oxygen (K4[Ru2OCl10]) (Page 95).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Testova et al. as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Ghielmi et al. (US 20230374679 A1).
Considering claim 7, Testova does not disclose the non-noble metal substrate is doped with a reducing metal ion.
However, Ghielmi discloses noble-metal-containing catalyst is preferably supported on inorganic or ceramic supports, especially on titanium oxide, niobium oxide, antimony-doped niobium oxide, tin oxide, antimony-doped tin oxide [0038].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a doped oxide such as antimony-doped niobium oxide or antimony-doped tin oxide in the nanomaterial of Testova, because Ghielmi teaches a support for a noble-metal-containing catalyst is titanium oxide, niobium oxide, antimony-doped niobium oxide, tin oxide, antimony-doped tin oxide. Therefore, it would be obvious to substitute a functionally equivalent support material for another with reasonable expectation of success (see MPEP 2144.06).
Conclusion
/WOJCIECH HASKE/Examiner, Art Unit 1794