DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed Jul. 6, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-16 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the Drawings and Claims have overcome each and every prior objection and 112 rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed Apr. 23, 2026.
Response to Arguments
Drawings:
Applicant amended drawings and appears to have added element “70” when intended to add element “7” to Fig. 2. This overcomes the prior drawing objections, however, new drawing objections are set forth below in light of the amendments.
Claim Objections:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous claim objections and the objections have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 112:
Applicant amended claims and addressed all previous 35 USC 112 rejections and the rejections have been withdrawn.
35 USC § 103:
Applicant's arguments filed Jul. 6, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pg. 13 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Wong’s electrode 16 is formed on connection strap 14 and the connection strap is not separate from the electrode strap. Wong teaches that the electrodes are disposable and therefore are not formed on the connection strap as they can be removed to be disposed. Even further, Wong also teaches a neoprene snap for contacting the skin as cited below, “In some embodiments, the electrodes (not shown) are removably recessed into pressed and perforated neoprene 3508 using a snap socket 3508 to create a comfortable seal between the band and skin, as drawn in FIG. 35” (Wong ¶[0263]). See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C); It has been held that making parts separable involves routine skill in the art. As Wong discloses an electrode strap and a connection strap, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to separate the parts to be two separate straps.
On pg. 14 of Applicant’s response, applicant argues that Wingeier’s electrode is external to the device with a middle support between two layers that form the electrode rather than the sheets being within the limiting member. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Wingeier discloses that the arrangement of the electrode can be in any orientation depending on the needs of the wearer. As cited below, Wingeier’s invention retains one or more components (layers) of the electrode and adds or detaches the electrode to the system and are fitted within the ring. It would have been obvious to arrange the elements in this way because there is a finite number of ways to combine the components described by Wingeier.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). Further, when used in combination with the teachings of Wong and Axelgaard, the electrodes would not be directly on the skin per Wong’s teachings. The electrodes (not shown) are removably recessed into pressed and perforated neoprene 3508 using a snap socket 3508 to create a comfortable seal between the band and skin, as drawn in FIG. 35 (Wong ¶[0263]). The electrodes has a backing made of a neoprene foam, which provides a stiffer, non-sticky surface to enable easier removal from the backing liner during installation (Wong ¶[0272]). Therefore, there is a layer between the skin and the electrodes.
Priority
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: element 7 limiting groove does not appear in Fig. 3 as indicated in the spec ¶[0057]. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: element 70 in Fig. 2 does not appear in the spec. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
In addition to Replacement Sheets containing the corrected drawing figure(s), applicant is required to submit a marked-up copy of each Replacement Sheet including annotations indicating the changes made to the previous version. The marked-up copy must be clearly labeled as “Annotated Sheets” and must be presented in the amendment or remarks section that explains the change(s) to the drawings. See 37 CFR 1.121(d)(1). Failure to timely submit the proposed drawing and marked-up copy will result in the abandonment of the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove” and claims 2-3, which depend from claim 1, recite the limitations “the/each limiting member is arranged to be an annular structure”. Claim 11 recites the limitation “the annular structure forms an exposed limiting groove”.
As-filed specification does not provide any combination in which the annular structure and the limiting groove occur in the same embodiment and even discloses that these are two separate embodiments in ¶[0050]-¶[0058].
Applicant’s amendments, filed Jul. 6, 2026, assets that no new matter has been added. However, the specification as-filed does not provide a written description or set forth the metes and bounds of the amended limitations above. The specification does not provide blazemarks nor direction for the instant methods encompassing the above-mentioned "limitations" as they are currently recited. The instant claims now recite limitations which were not clearly disclosed in the specification as-filed, and now change the scope of the instant disclosure as-filed. Such limitations recited in the present claims, which did not appear in the specification, as-filed, introduce new concepts (See MPEP 2163.06). Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the response to this Office action. Alternatively, applicant is invited to provide sufficient written support for the “limitations” indicated above.
Claims 4-7 and 12-13 depend from rejected claims 2, 3, and 11, and are therefore rejected for the same reasons as above.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 2, the limitation of “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises one limiting member, the limiting member is arranged to be an annular structure…” is unclear when read with the claim 1 limitation of “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove”. For purposes of examination, this claim 2 limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one limiting member further comprises an annular structure…”.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation of “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises a plurality of limiting members, each of the limiting members is arranged to be an annular structure…” is unclear when read with the claim 1 limitation of “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove”. It is unclear whether there is one limiting groove or a plurality of or limiting grooves, and whether or not each of the limiting members is an annular structure or in combination with a limiting groove. For the purposes of examination, the claim 3 limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one limiting member comprises a plurality of exposed limiting grooves, each of the exposed limiting grooves further comprises an annular structure…”.
Regarding claim 8, the limitations of “the at least one limiting member comprises a plurality of limiting members… each of the limiting members comprises a limiting groove…” is unclear when read with the claim 1 limitation of “wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove”. For the purposes of examination, the claim 8 limitation will be interpreted as “the at least one limiting member is a plurality of limiting members… each of the limiting members comprises a limiting groove”.
Claims 4-7 and 9-10 depend from claims 2, 3, and 8 and are rejected for the same reasons as indicated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong et al. (US 20170157398 A1, published Jun. 8, 2017, hereinafter referred to as “Wong”) in view of Axelgaard et al. (US 6263226 B1, published Jul. 17, 2001, hereinafter referred to as “Axelgaard”), and in even further view of Wingeier et al (US 20180256887 A1, published Sept. 13, 2018, hereinafter referred to as “Wingeier”).
Regarding claim 1, Wong teaches a wrist-worn medical device (Fig.’s 1A-1E “the device 10 is designed to be worn on the wrist or arm” in ¶[0171]), comprising: an electrode strap (“In some embodiments, the electrodes (not shown) are removably recessed into pressed and perforated neoprene 3508 using a snap socket 3508 to create a comfortable seal between the band and skin, as drawn in FIG. 35.” ¶[0263]), and a connection strap, wherein the connection strap is further electrically connected to a host, the conductive sheets are electrically connected to the host (Fig.’s 1A-1E “Electrical contacts in a band 14 and/or housing 12 transmit the stimulation waveform to the disposable electrodes 16” ¶[0171]), and the host and the conductive components are respectively arranged on both sides of the connection strap along its thickness direction (Fig’s 1D and 36B).
Wong does not disclose a connection strap separated from the electrode strap, being provided with conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets; conductive sheets; and wherein the limiting member comprises at least one limiting member, and the conductive sheets are located inside the at least one limiting member; wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove; when the connection strap is aligned with an abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are fitted into the limiting groove and abutted against the conductive sheets.
With respect to the limitation of the connection strap separated from the electrode strap, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the straps since it has been held that making separable involves routine skill in the art. Further, the electrodes on Wong are already disposable and therefore separate from the connection strap, and electrodes are frequently on separate “straps” such as in standard ECG leads. See MPEP 2144.04(V)(C): In re Dulberg, 289 F.2d 522, 523, 129 USPQ 348, 349 (CCPA 1961) (The claimed structure, a lipstick holder with a removable cap, was fully met by the prior art except that in the prior art the cap is "press fitted" and therefore not manually removable. The court held that "if it were considered desirable for any reason to obtain access to the end of [the prior art’s] holder to which the cap is applied, it would be obvious to make the cap removable for that purpose.").
Axelgaard’s invention relates to a combination electrode for use in medical applications, e.g., medical applications requiring monitoring, stimulation or iontophoresis, having an electrical current conductor including a connector in addition to a skin-interfacing film wherein this film may have adhesive, plastic and hydrophilic properties such as may reside in an electrically conductive, polymeric composition (Col. 1, ln. 8-15). The multilayer 15 in Fig. 1 includes first layer means 17, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively low peel strength, for removably contacting the patient's skin (not shown) and second layer means 19, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively high peel strength, for contacting said conductive member 11, the first and second layers 17, 19 being laminated. In general, the first and second layer means 17, 19 may comprise a curable liquid and the layers are laminated by curing. It should be appreciated that the present invention is described herein, for the sake of clarity, as comprising two layers 17, 19, however, not limited thereto. In fact, any number of layers may be utilized in order to not only tailor the adhesive properties of exposed surfaces but to control integral strength of the multilayer means 15 as well as other significant properties such as current density provided by the electrode 10 (Col 6 ln. 63- Col. 7 ln. 13). The layers 17, 19 may be sheets or films of an electrically conductive organic polymer plasticized with a polyhydric alcohol, preferably glycerol (Conductive sheets) (Col 7, ln. 51-53). The conductive member 11 is utilized in combination with conductive gels 17, 19 and a third sponge layer 62 disposed therebetween. The sponge layer may be any suitable open or closed cell material capable of absorbing the conductive gels or water in order to impart electrical conductivity thereto. The sponge layer 62 provides for introducing additional characteristics to the electrode 60 such as, for example, flexibility or stiffness as well as providing a source of physiologically active ions (Col. 11 ln. 12-20). In FIG. 10, the foam 62 may be saturated with the second gel layer 17 (Conductive sponge abutted against conductive sheet) (Col 11, ln. 33-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets as taught by Axelgaard in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong in order to control the integral strength of the multilayer means as well and provide flexibility to the device.
Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein the limiting member comprises at least one limiting member, and the conductive sheets are located inside the at least one limiting member; wherein the at least one limiting member comprises an exposed limiting groove; when the connection strap is aligned with an abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are fitted into the limiting groove and abutted against the conductive sheets.
Wingeier’s invention relates to the biosignals field, and more specifically to a new and useful electrode system for electrical stimulation (¶[0002]). The electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C, which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112, conform to the head of a user (e.g., by increasing the thickness of the electrode 112) and/or attach to the head of a user, or perform any other suitable function (¶[0078]). The support layer 118 to be easily stacked/layered with (e.g., in a recess of an adjacent layer of the electrode 112 (limiting groove)), laminated between, adhered to, embedded, molded, or otherwise arranged with one or more other layers/components of the electrode 112 (¶[0079]). The support structure 118 can include a ring (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (limiting member/limiting groove that can hold the components of the sponges and sheets) (¶[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to including a limiting member as a limiting groove to hold the components of the sponges and sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn device of Wong and Axelgaard in order to hold multiple layers of the electrode together.
Regarding claims 2 and 3, although Wong discloses a plurality of electrodes (element 16 in Fig. 1D ¶[0172]), Wong does not disclose wherein the at least one limiting member comprises one limiting member or at least one limiting member comprises a plurality of limiting members, each is arranged to be an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap close to the electrode strap, and the conductive sheets are arranged inside the limiting member; when the connection strap is fitted with the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are located inside the annular structure of the limiting member in a one-to-one correspondence, and a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets; and during displacement of the conductive sheets inside the limiting member, the conductive sheets and the conductive sponges are always in an abutment state.
Axelgaard discloses in Fig. 6 the electrode to be slidably disposed against the patient's skin. In this embodiment the conductive member is attached to a garment by yet another layer of adhesive. The adhesivity of each of the layers is controlled to enable different adhesion. That is, the first layer can be removed from the skin without separation of the conductive member and the garment and the conductive member can be removed from the garment without separating the second layer from the conductive member (Col. 4 ln. 27-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to ensure that during displacement of the conductive sheets inside the limiting member, the conductive sheets and the conductive sponges are always in an abutment state as taught by Axelgaard in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong in order to ensure the functionality of the electrode system.
Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein the limiting member is arranged to be an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap close to the electrode strap, and the conductive sheets are arranged inside the limiting member; one limiting member is configured; when the connection strap is fitted with the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are located inside the annular structure of the limiting member, and a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets.
Wingeier further teaches that the support structure 118 of Fig. 7C can include a ring (annular structure) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (¶[0080]). Electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C (a plurality of limiting member; each having an electrode assembly and therefore, would contain a corresponding conductive sponge in a one-to-one manner), which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112 (¶[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange the one or a plurality of limiting member in an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap close to the electrode strap, and the conductive sheets are arranged inside the limiting members; and when the connection strap is fitted with the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are located inside the annular structure of the limiting members, and a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong and Axelgaard. This is to establish and ensure the connection between components of the electrode. Further, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) discusses rearrangement of parts: “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)”. Therefore, this feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for rearrangement of parts since the location does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0041]). Further, shifting the location of the annular ring does not change the operation of the device and this arrangement is merely a design choice.
Regarding claim 4, Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein the limiting member is a limiting ring, the limiting ring is rectangular, a length direction of the limiting ring is consistent with the length direction of the electrode strap, and the limiting ring surrounds all the conductive sheets.
Wingeier teaches the support structure 118 of Fig. 7C can include a ring (limiting ring) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (¶[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make the limiting member a limiting ring that surrounds all of the conductive sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong and Axelgaard in order to hold the multiple layers of electrode together.
Wong, Axelgaard, and Wingeier do not disclose the limiting ring is rectangular, a length direction of the limiting ring is consistent with the length direction of the electrode strap.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) discusses changes in shape: “in re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)”. Therefore, making the limiting ring a rectangle with a length direction consistent with the length direction of the electrode strap would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing since it does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0043]). Further, changing the shape to a rectangle is merely a design choice.
Regarding claim 5, Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein each of the limiting members is a limiting ring, the limiting rings are square, and a plurality of the limiting rings corresponding to the conductive sheets are arranged.
Wingeier teaches the support structure 118 of Fig. 7C can include a ring (limiting ring) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (¶[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to make each of the limiting members a limiting ring that correspond to the conductive sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong and Axelgaard in order to hold each of the multiple layers of electrode together.
Wong, Axelgaard, and Wingeier do not disclose the limiting rings are square.
MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B) discusses changes in shape: “in re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966) (The court held that the configuration of the claimed disposable plastic nursing container was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed container was significant.)”. Therefore, making the limiting ring a square would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing since it does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0053]). Further, changing the shape to a square is merely a design choice.
Regarding claim 11, Wong teaches a wrist-worn medical device (Fig.’s 1A-1E “the device 10 is designed to be worn on the wrist or arm” in ¶[0171]), comprising: an electrode strap(“In some embodiments, the electrodes (not shown) are removably recessed into pressed and perforated neoprene 3508 using a snap socket 3508 to create a comfortable seal between the band and skin, as drawn in FIG. 35.” ¶[0263]); and a connection strap, being provided with the conductive sheets, wherein the connection strap is further electrically connected to a host, the conductive sheets are electrically connected to the host (Fig.’s 1A-1E “Electrical contacts in a band 14 and/or housing 12 transmit the stimulation waveform to the disposable electrodes 16” ¶[0171]), and the host and the conductive sheets are respectively arranged on both sides of the connection strap along its thickness direction (Fig’s 1D and 36B).
Wong does not disclose the connection strap separated from the electrode strap, being provided with conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets; and wherein the connection strap comprises at least one limiting member, and the conductive sheets are located inside the at least one limiting member; wherein the at least one limiting member is an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap, and the annular structure forms an exposed limiting groove; when the connection strap is aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are fitted into the limiting groove and abutted against the conductive sheets.
With respect to the limitation of the connection strap separated from the electrode strap, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the straps since it has been held that rearrangement of parts involves routine skill in the art. Further, the electrodes on Wong are already disposable and therefore separate from the connection strap, and electrodes are frequently on separate “straps” such as in standard ECG leads. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C): In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Axelgaard’s invention relates to a combination electrode for use in medical applications, e.g., medical applications requiring monitoring, stimulation or iontophoresis, having an electrical current conductor including a connector in addition to a skin-interfacing film wherein this film may have adhesive, plastic and hydrophilic properties such as may reside in an electrically conductive, polymeric composition (Col. 1, ln. 8-15). The multilayer 15 in Fig. 1 includes first layer means 17, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively low peel strength, for removably contacting the patient's skin (not shown) and second layer means 19, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively high peel strength, for contacting said conductive member 11, the first and second layers 17, 19 being laminated. In general, the first and second layer means 17, 19 may comprise a curable liquid and the layers are laminated by curing. It should be appreciated that the present invention is described herein, for the sake of clarity, as comprising two layers 17, 19, however, not limited thereto. In fact, any number of layers may be utilized in order to not only tailor the adhesive properties of exposed surfaces but to control integral strength of the multilayer means 15 as well as other significant properties such as current density provided by the electrode 10 (Col 6 ln. 63- Col. 7 ln. 13). The layers 17, 19 may be sheets or films of an electrically conductive organic polymer plasticized with a polyhydric alcohol, preferably glycerol (Conductive sheets) (Col 7, ln. 51-53). The conductive member 11 is utilized in combination with conductive gels 17, 19 and a third sponge layer 62 disposed therebetween. The sponge layer may be any suitable open or closed cell material capable of absorbing the conductive gels or water in order to impart electrical conductivity thereto. The sponge layer 62 provides for introducing additional characteristics to the electrode 60 such as, for example, flexibility or stiffness as well as providing a source of physiologically active ions (Col. 11 ln. 12-20). In FIG. 10, the foam 62 may be saturated with the second gel layer 17 (Conductive sponge abutted against conductive sheet) (Col 11, ln. 33-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets as taught by Axelgaard in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong in order to control the integral strength of the multilayer means as well and provide flexibility to the device.
Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein the connection strap comprises at least one limiting member, and the conductive sheets are located inside the at least one limiting member; wherein the at least one limiting member is an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap, and the annular structure forms an exposed limiting groove; when the connection strap is aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are fitted into the limiting groove and abutted against the conductive sheets.
Wingeier’s invention relates to the biosignals field, and more specifically to a new and useful electrode system for electrical stimulation (¶[0002]). The electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C, which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112, conform to the head of a user (e.g., by increasing the thickness of the electrode 112) and/or attach to the head of a user, or perform any other suitable function (¶[0078]). The support structure 118 can include a ring (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (limiting member that can hold the components of the sponges and sheets) (¶[0080]). Wingeier further teaches that the support structure 118 of Fig. 7C can include a ring (annular structure) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (¶[0080]). Electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C (a plurality of limiting member; each having an electrode assembly and therefore, would contain a corresponding conductive sponge in a one-to-one manner), which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112 (¶[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to including a limiting member to hold the components of the sponges and sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn device of Wong and Axelgaard in order to hold multiple layers of the electrode together.
It would also have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange the one or a plurality of limiting member in an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap close to the electrode strap, and the conductive sheets are arranged inside the limiting members; and when the connection strap is fitted with the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are located inside the annular structure of the limiting members, and a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong and Axelgaard. This is to establish and ensure the connection between components of the electrode. Further, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) discusses rearrangement of parts: “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)”. Therefore, this feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for rearrangement of parts since the location does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0041]). Further, shifting the location of the annular ring does not change the operation of the device and this arrangement is merely a design choice.
Regarding claim 14, Wong teaches a wrist-worn medical device (Fig.’s 1A-1E “the device 10 is designed to be worn on the wrist or arm” in ¶[0171]), comprising: an electrode strap (“In some embodiments, the electrodes (not shown) are removably recessed into pressed and perforated neoprene 3508 using a snap socket 3508 to create a comfortable seal between the band and skin, as drawn in FIG. 35.” ¶[0263]), and a connection strap, wherein the connection strap is further electrically connected to a host, the conductive sheets are electrically connected to the host (Fig.’s 1A-1E “Electrical contacts in a band 14 and/or housing 12 transmit the stimulation waveform to the disposable electrodes 16” ¶[0171]), and the host and the conductive components are respectively arranged on both sides of the connection strap along its thickness direction (Fig’s 1D and 36B).
Wong does not disclose a connection strap separated from the electrode strap, being provided with conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets; conductive sheets; wherein the connection strap comprises a plurality of limiting members, the conductive sheets are located inside the respective limiting members, each of the limiting members comprises an exposed limiting groove recessed in a middle of one of the conductive sheets; when the connection strap is aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponge is located inside the limiting groove of the corresponding conductive sheet.
With respect to the limitation of the connection strap separated from the electrode strap, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to separate the straps since it has been held that rearrangement of parts involves routine skill in the art. Further, the electrodes on Wong are already disposable and therefore separate from the connection strap, and electrodes are frequently on separate “straps” such as in standard ECG leads. See MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C): In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice).
Axelgaard’s invention relates to a combination electrode for use in medical applications, e.g., medical applications requiring monitoring, stimulation or iontophoresis, having an electrical current conductor including a connector in addition to a skin-interfacing film wherein this film may have adhesive, plastic and hydrophilic properties such as may reside in an electrically conductive, polymeric composition (Col. 1, ln. 8-15). The multilayer 15 in Fig. 1 includes first layer means 17, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively low peel strength, for removably contacting the patient's skin (not shown) and second layer means 19, comprising an electrically conductive gel having a relatively high peel strength, for contacting said conductive member 11, the first and second layers 17, 19 being laminated. In general, the first and second layer means 17, 19 may comprise a curable liquid and the layers are laminated by curing. It should be appreciated that the present invention is described herein, for the sake of clarity, as comprising two layers 17, 19, however, not limited thereto. In fact, any number of layers may be utilized in order to not only tailor the adhesive properties of exposed surfaces but to control integral strength of the multilayer means 15 as well as other significant properties such as current density provided by the electrode 10 (Col 6 ln. 63- Col. 7 ln. 13). The layers 17, 19 may be sheets or films of an electrically conductive organic polymer plasticized with a polyhydric alcohol, preferably glycerol (Conductive sheets) (Col 7, ln. 51-53). The conductive member 11 is utilized in combination with conductive gels 17, 19 and a third sponge layer 62 disposed therebetween. The sponge layer may be any suitable open or closed cell material capable of absorbing the conductive gels or water in order to impart electrical conductivity thereto. The sponge layer 62 provides for introducing additional characteristics to the electrode 60 such as, for example, flexibility or stiffness as well as providing a source of physiologically active ions (Col. 11 ln. 12-20). In FIG. 10, the foam 62 may be saturated with the second gel layer 17 (Conductive sponge abutted against conductive sheet) (Col 11, ln. 33-34).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide conductive sponges, wherein the conductive sponges are configured for abutting against and conducting with conductive sheets as taught by Axelgaard in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong in order to control the integral strength of the multilayer means as well and provide flexibility to the device.
Wong and Axelgaard do not disclose wherein the connection strap comprises a plurality of limiting members, the conductive sheets are located inside the respective limiting members, each of the limiting members comprises an exposed limiting groove recessed in a middle of one of the conductive sheets; when the connection strap is aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponge is located inside the limiting groove of the corresponding conductive sheet.
Wingeier’s invention relates to the biosignals field, and more specifically to a new and useful electrode system for electrical stimulation (¶[0002]). The electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C, which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112, conform to the head of a user (e.g., by increasing the thickness of the electrode 112) and/or attach to the head of a user, or perform any other suitable function (¶[0078]). The support layer 118 to be easily stacked/layered with (e.g., in a recess of an adjacent layer of the electrode 112 (limiting groove in middle of conductive sheet)), laminated between, adhered to, embedded, molded, or otherwise arranged with one or more other layers/components of the electrode 112 (¶[0079]). The support structure 118 can include a ring (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (limiting member/limiting groove that can hold the components of the sponges and sheets) (¶[0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to including conductive sheets located inside the respective limiting members, each of the limiting members comprises an exposed limiting groove recessed in a middle of one of the conductive sheets; when the connection strap is aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponge is located inside the limiting groove of the corresponding conductive sheet as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn device of Wong and Axelgaard in order to hold multiple layers of the electrode together. This is to establish and ensure the connection between components of the electrode. Further, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) discusses rearrangement of parts: “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)”. Therefore, this feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for rearrangement of parts since the location does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0041]). Further, shifting the location of the annular ring does not change the operation of the device and this arrangement is merely a design choice.
Claims 6, 13, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wong, Axelgaard, and Wingeier (hereinafter referred to as “modified Wong”), as applied to claims 4, 11, and 14 above, and in further view of Hurley (US 3868946 A, published Mar. 4, 1975, hereinafter referred to as “Hurley”).
Regarding claims 6, 13, and 16, modified Wong discloses the wrist-worn medical device of claim 4 and 11.
Wingeier teaches the claim 13 and 16 limitation of wherein a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets.
Wingeier further teaches that the support structure 118 of Fig. 7C can include a ring (annular structure) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.) (¶[0080]). Electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C (a plurality of limiting member; each having an electrode assembly and therefore, would contain a corresponding conductive sponge in a one-to-one manner), which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112 (¶[0078]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to arrange the one or a plurality of limiting member in an annular structure protruding on a surface of the connection strap close to the electrode strap, and the conductive sheets are arranged inside the limiting members; and when the connection strap is fitted with the electrode strap, the conductive sponges are located inside the annular structure of the limiting members, and a spacing is reserved between an inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sponges and between the inner circumference of the limiting member and the conductive sheets as taught by Wingeier in the wrist-worn medical device of Wong and Axelgaard. This is to establish and ensure the connection between components of the electrode. Further, MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C) discusses rearrangement of parts: “In re Japikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (Claims to a hydraulic power press which read on the prior art except with regard to the position of the starting switch were held unpatentable because shifting the position of the starting switch would not have modified the operation of the device.); In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975) (the particular placement of a contact in a conductivity measuring device was held to be an obvious matter of design choice)”. Therefore, this feature would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for rearrangement of parts since the location does not provide any critical function as per the instant disclosure (¶[0041]). Further, shifting the location of the annular ring does not change the operation of the device and this arrangement is merely a design choice.
Modified Wong does not disclose wherein a thickness of each of the conductive sponges is greater than the thickness of the limiting ring/groove.
Hurley’s invention relates to a medical electrode, and more particularly, to a medical electrode which is disposable and has advantageous features (Col. 1, ln. 4-6). Within the well there is placed a compressible sponge member 30 being saturated with a conducting electrolyte so as to provide a complete electrical path from the skin of the patient to the electrical conductor 24. As shown in FIG. 2, the sponge member 30 when stored prior to its utilization, is stored in a compressed fashion and the annular ring 22 serves as a barrier around the compressed sponge to prevent leakage of the liquid electrolyte. When the disposable electrode is to be used, the release paper 18 is removed from the bottom surface 16 and the sponge 30 expands as illustrated in FIG. 3, and when the adhesive bottom surface 16 is attached to the skin of the patient, the sponge 30 again compresses, thereby forming a complete electrical path from the skin of the patient to the electrical conductor 24 (Col. 3 ln. 1-16). The sponge member 30 in its non-compressed state has a thickness greater than and approximately twice that of the annular ring 22 (Col. 3 ln. 57- Col. 4 ln. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a thickness of each of the conductive sponges is greater than the thickness of the limiting ring as taught by Hurley in the wrist-worn device of modified Wong in order to allow compression of the sponge to create a complete electrical path from the sponge to the skin.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wong, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Gerpheide (US 5861875 A, published Jan. 19, 1999, hereinafter referred to as “Gerpheide”).
Regarding claim 7, modified Wong teaches the wrist-worn device of claim 4.
Modified Wong does not disclose wherein a length of each of the conductive sheets is greater than a width of one corresponding conductive sponge, the width of each of the conductive sheets is less than the length of each of the conductive sponges, the conductive sheets are arranged to be perpendicular to the conductive sponges, and the conductive sheets and the conductive sponges are overlapped in centers thereof and form a cross shape.
Gerpheide’s invention relates to methods and apparatus for data input. Referring to FIG. 3, virtual electrode 120 is comprised of a number of electrode strips 130 deployed over an area. An electrode strip is a sheet conductive region. The strips are separated by insulating spaces 140 but are electrically connected together by electrode synthesis circuit 150. The area over which the connected strips 130 are deployed, including the area between strips 140, is defined as the area of the virtual electrode (Col. 6, ln. 6-13). FIG. 4 shows a preferred embodiment of virtual electrode pad 20 with two "row" virtual electrodes 160 on the top side of the sheet and two "column" virtual electrodes 170 on the bottom side. In further preferred embodiments, each virtual electrode is rectangular in shape (Col. 6, ln. 21-25).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have the conductive sheets and conductive sponges that are rectangular shaped and overlap in a cross shape as taught by Gerpheide in the wrist-worn medical device of modified Wong as it is an art-recognized method of orienting conductive elements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wong, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Sakurada et al. (US 4237886 A, published Dec. 9, 1980, hereinafter referred to as “Sakurada”).
Regarding claim 8, modified Wong teaches the wrist-worn medical device of claim 1. Wingeier also discloses each of the limiting members comprises a limiting groove, and the limiting groove is recessed in a middle of one of the conductive sheets; and when the connection strap is just aligned with and abuts against the electrode strap, the conductive sponge is located inside the limiting groove of the corresponding conductive sheet (Fig. 7C “support structure 118 can include a ring (annular structure) (e.g., retaining ring holding multiple layers of the electrode 112 together, snap ring, etc.)” ¶[0080] and “Electrode 112 can include one or more support structures 118 (e.g., support layers) in Fig. 7C, which can function to add structural stability to the electrode 112, retain one or more components (e.g., layers) of the electrode 112, attach and/or detach an electrode 112 from the system 100, establish an electrical and/or mechanical connection between components of the electrode 112” ¶[0078] and “the support layer 118 to be easily stacked/layered with (e.g., in a recess of an adjacent layer of the electrode 112), laminated between, adhered to, embedded, molded, or otherwise arranged with one or more other layers/components of the electrode 112.” ¶[0079]).
Modified Wong does not disclose wherein an area of each of the conductive sheets is greater than an area of one corresponding conductive sponge; and a spacing is reserved between a peripheral wall of one conductive sponge and an inner side wall of the corresponding limiting groove.
Sakurada’s invention relates to electrodes to be used in contact with a living body such as the human body (Col. 1, ln. 8-9). In the electrode of FIG. 1, the stainless steel plate 4 has a larger surface area than the flanged end 6b of the lower electrode element 6. The plate 4 thereby is able to reduce the electrical resistance of the electrode and spread the electric current over a larger surface area to prevent concentrations thereof (Col. 4 ln. 14-20).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a conductive sheet with a larger surface area than the conductive sponge as taught by Sakurada in the device of modified Wong in order to reduce the electrical resistance of the electrode and spread the current over a larger surface area. Further, when the sponge and conductive sheets are subbed in for the components of Sakurada, there will be a space between the wall of the limiting structure and the sponge since the limiting structure contains the entire sheet.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wong and Sakurada, as applied to claim 8 above, and in further view of Hurley.
Regarding claim 9, modified Wong and Sakurada disclose the wrist-worn medical device of claim 8.
Modified Wong and Sakurada do not disclose wherein a thickness of each of the conductive sponges is greater than a depth of the limiting groove.
Hurley’s invention relates to a medical electrode, and more particularly, to a medical electrode which is disposable and has advantageous features (Col. 1, ln. 4-6). Within the well there is placed a compressible sponge member 30 being saturated with a conducting electrolyte so as to provide a complete electrical path from the skin of the patient to the electrical conductor 24. As shown in FIG. 2, the sponge member 30 when stored prior to its utilization, is stored in a compressed fashion and the annular ring 22 serves as a barrier around the compressed sponge to prevent leakage of the liquid electrolyte. When the disposable electrode is to be used, the release paper 18 is removed from the bottom surface 16 and the sponge 30 expands as illustrated in FIG. 3, and when the adhesive bottom surface 16 is attached to the skin of the patient, the sponge 30 again compresses, thereby forming a complete electrical path from the skin of the patient to the electrical conductor 24 (Col. 3 ln. 1-16). The sponge member 30 in its non-compressed state has a thickness greater than and approximately twice that of the annular ring 22 (Col. 3 ln. 57- Col. 4 ln. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a thickness of each of the conductive sponges is greater than the depth of the limiting groove as taught by Hurley in the wrist-worn device of modified Wong and Sakurada in order to allow compression of the sponge to create a complete electrical path from the sponge to the skin.
Claims 10, 12, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over modified Wong, as applied to claims 1, 11, and 14 above, and in further view of Richardson (iphonejd.com, published Oct. 14, 2019, hereinafter referred to as “Richardson”).
Regarding claims 10, 12, and 15, modified Wong teaches the wrist-worn medical device of claims 1, 11, and 15. Although Wong discloses various methods of securing the wrist watch, modified Wong does not disclose wherein a ribbon is arranged at a tail end of the connection strap, a hook-and-loop fastener sub-patch is arranged on the ribbon, and a hook-and-loop fastener mother patch is arranged on an outer surface of a middle section of the connection strap; and one end of the connection strap is fixedly connected to one side of the host, and a through hole for the other end of the connection strap to pass through is formed on the other side of the host.
Richardson teaches the Apple Sport Loop band for the Apple Watch opens and closes with a hook-and-loop system. Underneath one of the ends of the band are five small pads with hooks on them (hook-and-loop sub-patch arranges on the ribbon) which attach to the loops on the band (hook-and-loop fastened mother patch on the outer surface of the connection strap). The hook-and-loop system adds a feature to this band that I also love with Apple’s Milanese Loop band: the band adjusts to any size. By using hook-and-loop or magnets, the Sport Loop and the Milanese Loop can be adjusted to the perfect size. Further, the annotated figure below shows that one end of the strap is fixedly connected to one side of the host and the other side of the host has a through hole for the connection strap to pass through.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to have a ribbon arranged at a tail end of the connection strap, a hook-and-loop fastener sub-patch arranged on the ribbon, and a hook-and-loop fastener mother patch arranged on an outer surface of a middle section of the connection strap; and one end of the connection strap fixedly connected to one side of the host, and a through hole for the other end of the connection strap to pass through formed on the other side of the host as taught by Richardson in the wrist-worn medical device of modified Wong in order to provide an adjustable secure attachment method for wearing the device.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/E.N.C./Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3792
/ALLEN PORTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796