DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the correspondence filed 09/30/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 8, 10 & 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US20200252042A1) in further view of Zhang (WO2009066200A2).
Regarding claim 1, Mori teaches a high frequency circuit that simultaneously transmits a first band and a second band ([0148]-[0152], [0160]-[0165], expressly identifies multiplexer 10 as including low-pass filter 11 and high-pass filter 12, whose passbands correspond to different frequency-band groups; further teaches simultaneous operation using a band selected from each group; multiple multiplexers), comprising:
a second multiplexer including a third filter whose pass band includes the first band and a fourth filter whose pass band includes the second band ([0148]-[0152], [0160]-[0165], expressly identifies multiplexer 10 as including low-pass filter 11 and high-pass filter 12, whose passbands correspond to different frequency-band groups; further teaches simultaneous operation using a band selected from each group); and
a first multiplexer including a first filter whose pass band includes the first band and a second filter whose pass band includes the second band ([0148]-[0152], [0160]-[0165], expressly identifies multiplexer 10 as including low-pass filter 11 and high-pass filter 12, whose passbands correspond to different frequency-band groups; further teaches simultaneous operation using a band selected from each group);
a first power amplifier circuit and a second power amplifier circuit ([0029]-[0030], [0265], a transmission amplifier circuit such as a power amplifier is arranged instead of a reception amplifier circuit; first and second amplifier
However, Mori does not fully teach but Zhang teaches a switch circuit including a first antenna terminal, a second antenna terminal, a first terminal, a second terminal, a third terminal, and a fourth terminal (pg. 7 lines 1-5, two switches may collectively constitute the claimed switch circuit; the first module may further include a first switch for interfacing the first and second transmit filters with the first antenna; also the second module may further include a second switch for interfacing the third and fourth transmit filters with the second antenna; pg. 15 lines 3-7, pg. 16 lines 4-8 respectively, expressly teaches Dual-band PA circuits 522and 562 correspond to the first and second PA circuits; “The RF front-end 504 further includes an antenna 545, an antenna switch 539, and a dual band power amplifier 522; further states the RF front end 508 of Module B further includes an antenna 585, an antenna switch 579 and a dual band power amplifier 562);
configured to switch connection between the first antenna terminal and the first terminal and connection between the first antenna terminal and the second terminal (pg. 15 lines 8-15, the switch 539 selectively connects the EGSM band signals and the DCS band signals to the antenna 545; further explains that switch 539 connects the EGSM transmit path through filter 528 and the DCS transmit path through filter 538 to antenna 545), to switch connection between the second antenna terminal and the third terminal and connection between the second antenna terminal and the fourth terminal (pg. 16 lines 9-16, the switch 579 selectively connects the EGSM band signals and the DCS band signals to the antenna 585 for communication over the wireless network” the associate paths include filters 568 and 578), not to connect the first antenna terminal to the third terminal and the fourth terminal (pg. 7 lines 1-5 first switch and first antenna to module A, a first switch for interfacing the first and second transmit filters with the first antenna, having at least one independent antenna for each module); , and not to connect the second antenna terminal to the first terminal and the second terminal (pg. 7 lines 1-5, second switch and the second antenna with module B, a second switch for interfacing the third and fourth transmit filters with the second antenna),
wherein an output end of the first power amplifier circuit is connected to an input end of the first filter and an input end of the second filter (pg. 15 lines 3-7, dual band power amplifier 522 includes a first amplifier 523 for amplifying RGSM transmit signals and a second amplifier 524 for amplifying DCS transmit signals; it further states that the amplifier signals pass through one of the EGSM transmit filter 528 or the DCS transmit filter 538, depending on the band), an output end of the first filter is connected to the first terminal (pg. 17 lines 3-18, the switch 539 connects to the appropriate transmit filter 528 or 538 and provides the transmit signals to the antenna 545 for transmission), an output end of the second filter is connected to the second terminal (pg. 17 lines 3-18, the switch 539 connects to the appropriate transmit filter 528 or 538 and provides the transmit signals to the antenna 545 for transmission), an output end of the second power amplifier circuit is connected to an input end of the third filter and an input end of the fourth filter, an output end of the third filter is connected to the third terminal, and an output end of the fourth filter is connected to the fourth terminal ((pg. 17 lines 3-18, that switch 579 connects the DCS transmit path through a DCS power amplifier transmit filter 578 to antenna 585)).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 2, Mori teaches the high frequency circuit further comprising:
an input end of the first low-noise amplifier and an input end of the second low-noise amplifier are connected to the fifth terminal ([0153]-[0156], [0186]-[0190], band-specific low noise amplifiers are connected downstream of common switching/filtering structures).
wherein the switch circuit further includes a fifth terminal, that switches connection and disconnection between the first antenna terminal and the fifth terminal, and that switches connection and disconnection between the second antenna terminal and the fifth terminal ([0069]-[0075], teaches that antenna switch module 508 selectively couples signals to antennas 124/126 and that signals received by either antenna are provided through the antenna switch module to LNA module), and
However, Mori does not fully teach but Zhang teaches a first low-noise amplifier configured to amplify a high frequency signal of the first band; and a second low-noise amplifier configured to amplify a high frequency signal of the second band (pg. 11 lines 10-19, states that receive filters 227, 237 are situated between the antenna 245 and low noise amplifiers…corresponding to each of the EGSM and DCS band signal paths respectively; similarly provides receive filters 267/277 or 567/577 for the respective band paths of Module B),
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 3, Mori teaches the high frequency circuit wherein one end of the fifth switch is connected to the fifth terminal, and another end of the fifth switch is connected to the first antenna terminal, and one end of the sixth switch is connected to the fifth terminal, and another end of the sixth switch is connected to the second antenna terminal ([0074], [0188]-[0191], identifiers LTE bands 40 and 41, bands used in time-division systems).
each of the first band and the second band is a time division duplex band ([0074], [0188]-[0191], identifiers LTE bands 40 and 41, bands used in time-division systems),
However, Mori does not fully teach but Zhang teaches the switch circuit further includes a first switch, a second switch, a third switch, a fourth switch, a fifth switch, and a sixth switch, one end of the first switch is connected to the first terminal (pg. 16 lines 7-14, states that when switch 539 may be a SP4T switch, and selectively connects the EGSM band signals and the DCS band signals to the antenna 545; two SP4T switches provide selectable branches), and another end of the first switch is connected to the first antenna terminal, one end of the second switch is connected to the second terminal, and another end of the second switch is connected to the first antenna terminal, one end of the third switch is connected to the third terminal (pg. 16 lines 7-14, states that when switch 539 may be a SP4T switch, and selectively connects the EGSM band signals and the DCS band signals to the antenna 545; two SP4T switches provide selectable branches), and another end of the third switch is connected to the second antenna terminal, one end of the fourth switch is connected to the fourth terminal, and another end of the fourth switch is connected to the second antenna terminal (pg. 16 lines 7-14, states that when switch 539 may be a SP4T switch, and selectively connects the EGSM band signals and the DCS band signals to the antenna 545; two SP4T switches provide selectable branches).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 8, Mori teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first band is Band B40 for 4G-LTE or Band n40 for 5G-NR, and the second band is Band B41 for 4G-LTE or Band n41 for 5G-NR ([0074], [0188]-[0191], identifiers LTE bands 40 and 41, bands used in time-division systems).
Regarding claim 10, Mori teaches a communication device comprising: a signal processing circuit that processes a high frequency signal ([0032], [0143]-[0145], expressly discloses an RF signal processing circuit for processing a radio frequency signal received by an antenna element; detailed embodiment also provides RFIC 4 for processing received and transmitted RF signals); and a high frequency circuit according to claim 1 that transmits the high frequency signal between the signal processing circuit and an antenna ([0032], expressly states that the RF front-end circuit transmits the RF signal between the antenna element and the RF signal processing circuit).
Regarding claim 19, Mori teaches the communication device wherein the first band is Band B40 for 4G-LTE or Band n40 for 5G-NR, and the second band is Band B41 for 4G-LTE or Band n41 for 5G-NR ([0032], [0143]-[0145], [0188]-[0191]), expressly discloses LTE bands 40 and 41).
Claim(s) 4-6, & 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US20200252042A1) in view of Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Khesbak et al (US20170093340A1).
Regarding claim 4 (and high frequency circuit claim 11), Mori teaches the high frequency circuit further comprising: a substrate that includes a first main surface and a second main surface facing each other ([0015]-[0017], discloses a multilayer substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface facing back-to-back, with circuit elements arranged relative to those surfaces); and
However, Mori and Zhang do not fully teach but Khesbak teaches a control circuit that controls the first power amplifier circuit and the second power amplifier circuit ([0053], [0089], [0095], discloses control component 18 controlling power amplifiers and, more specifically PA bias-control die 81 generating first and second enable and bias signals for first and second PA dies 82a and 82b),
wherein at least a part of the first power amplifier circuit is included in a first semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) ([0089], [0092], MCM 80 includes first PA die 82a and first PA die 82a includes first PA 92a), at least a part of the second power amplifier circuit is included in a second semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], MCM 80 includes second PA die 82a and second PA die 82b includes second PA 92b), the control circuit is included in a third semiconductor IC ([0089], [0095], the PA bias-control circuit is implemented in bias-control die 81, separate from PA dies 82a and 82b), the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC are disposed on the first main surface ([0089], [0092], [0095], same surface MCM arrangement, places both PA dies in MCM 80), the third semiconductor IC is disposed on the first semiconductor IC and on the second semiconductor IC across the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM), and the high frequency circuit further comprises a bonding wire having one end connected to a ground electrode of the third semiconductor IC and another end connected to a ground electrode of the substrate between the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC ([0090], [0093]-[0094], discloses MCM ground pin GND and grounding of PA dies 82a/82b, also mentions that bond wires may form inductive components of impedance-matching networks).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 12, Mori teaches the high frequency circuit further comprising: a substrate that includes a first main surface and a second main surface facing each other ([0015]-[0017], discloses a multilayer substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface facing back-to-back, with circuit elements arranged relative to those surfaces); and
However, Mori and Zhang do not fully teach but Khesbak teaches a control circuit that controls the first power amplifier circuit and the second power amplifier circuit ([0089], [0092], MCM 80 includes second PA die 82a and second PA die 82b includes second PA 92b),
wherein at least a part of the first power amplifier circuit is included in a first semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) ([0089], [0095], the PA bias-control circuit is implemented in bias-control die 81, separate from PA dies 82a and 82b), at least a part of the second power amplifier circuit is included in a second semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM), the control circuit is included in a third semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM),, the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC are disposed on the first main surface, the third semiconductor IC is disposed on the first semiconductor IC and on the second semiconductor IC across the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM),, and the high frequency circuit further comprises a bonding wire having one end connected to a ground electrode of the third semiconductor IC and another end connected to a ground electrode of the substrate between the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC ([0090], [0093]-[0094], discloses MCM ground pin GND and grounding of PA dies 82a/82b, also mentions that bond wires may form inductive components of impedance-matching networks).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 5 (and the high frequency circuit method claim 13), Mori teaches The high frequency circuit according to claim 2, further comprising:
a substrate that includes a first main surface and a second main surface facing each other ([0015]-[0017], discloses a multilayer substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface facing back-to-back, with circuit elements arranged relative to those surfaces); and
However, Mori and Zhang do not fully teach but Khesbak teaches and a control circuit that controls the first power amplifier circuit and the second power amplifier circuit ([0053], [0089], [0095], discloses control component 18 controlling power amplifiers and, more specifically PA bias-control die 81 generating first and second enable and bias signals for first and second PA dies 82a and 82b),
wherein at least a part of the first power amplifier circuit is included in a first semiconductor integrated circuit (IC) ([0089], [0095], the PA bias-control circuit is implemented in bias-control die 81, separate from PA dies 82a and 82b), at least a part of the second power amplifier circuit is included in a second semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM), the control circuit is included in a third semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM), the first low-noise amplifier and the second low-noise amplifier are included in a fourth semiconductor IC ([0089], [0092], [0095], identifies bias-control die 81 and two PA dies 82a/82b within the same MCM), the first semiconductor IC, the second semiconductor IC and the fourth semiconductor IC are disposed on the first main surface, and the fourth semiconductor IC is disposed between the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC when the first main surface is viewed in plan view ([0090], [0093]-[0094], discloses MCM ground pin GND and grounding of PA dies 82a/82b, also mentions that bond wires may form inductive components of impedance-matching networks).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 6, Mori teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the third semiconductor IC is disposed on the first semiconductor IC and on the second semiconductor IC across the first semiconductor IC and the second semiconductor IC ([0015]-[0017], discloses a multilayer substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface facing back-to-back, with circuit elements arranged relative to those surfaces), and the high frequency circuit further comprises a bonding wire having one end connected to a ground electrode of the third semiconductor IC and another end connected to a ground electrode of the fourth semiconductor IC ([0015]-[0017], discloses a multilayer substrate having a first main surface and a second main surface facing back-to-back, with circuit elements arranged relative to those surfaces).
Claims 7, & 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US20200252042A1) in further view of Zhang (WO2009066200A2) as applied to claim 1, in further view of Datta et al (US20160118944A1).
Regarding claim 7 (and high frequency circuit claim 14, and high frequency circuit claim 15), Mori, and Zhang do not fully teach but Datta teaches the high frequency circuit
wherein the first power amplifier circuit includes: a first carrier amplifier and a first peak amplifier ([0025]-[0027], a Doherty PA 100 having a carrier amplification path 110 containing carrier amplification stages 114 and a peaking amplification path 130 containing peaking amplification stages 134), an output end of the first carrier amplifier and an output end of the first peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the first filter and an input end of the second filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d), and the second power amplifier circuit includes: a second carrier amplifier and a second peak amplifier ([0048], [0050]-[0053], teaches that its Doherty configuration be implemented in a front-end module and also discloses multiple Pas 60a-60d in the wireless device), an output end of the second carrier amplifier and an output end of the second peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the third filter and an input end of the fourth filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d; teaches multiple Pas outputs routed through respective diplexers).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Datta teaches a wideband Doherty power amplifier having carrier and peaking amplification paths whose outputs are combined into a common RF output that may be implemented in a front-end module and routed through a diplexer for transmission. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Claims 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US20200252042A1) in view of Zhang (WO2009066200A2) as applied to claim 4, in further view of Khesbak et al (US20170093340A1) in further view of Datta.
Regarding claim 16, Sriritanna, Mori, Zhang, and Khesbak do not full teach but Dutta teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first power amplifier circuit includes: a first carrier amplifier and a first peak amplifier ([0025]-[0027], a Doherty PA 100 having a carrier amplification path 110 containing carrier amplification stages 114 and a peaking amplification path 130 containing peaking amplification stages 134), an output end of the first carrier amplifier and an output end of the first peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the first filter and an input end of the second filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d), and the second power amplifier circuit includes: a second carrier amplifier and a second peak amplifier, an output end of the second carrier amplifier and an output end of the second peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the third filter and an input end of the fourth filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d; teaches multiple Pas outputs routed through respective diplexers).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. Lastly, Datta teaches a wideband Doherty power amplifier having carrier and peaking amplification paths whose outputs are combined into a common RF output that may be implemented in a front-end module and routed through a diplexer for transmission. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 17, Mori, Zhang, and Khesbak do not full teach but Datta teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first power amplifier circuit includes: a first carrier amplifier and a first peak amplifier ([0025]-[0027], a Doherty PA 100 having a carrier amplification path 110 containing carrier amplification stages 114 and a peaking amplification path 130 containing peaking amplification stages 134), an output end of the first carrier amplifier and an output end of the first peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the first filter and an input end of the second filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d), and the second power amplifier circuit includes: a second carrier amplifier and a second peak amplifier, an output end of the second carrier amplifier and an output end of the second peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the third filter and an input end of the fourth filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d; teaches multiple Pas outputs routed through respective diplexers).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. Lastly, Datta teaches a wideband Doherty power amplifier having carrier and peaking amplification paths whose outputs are combined into a common RF output that may be implemented in a front-end module and routed through a diplexer for transmission. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 18, Mori, Zhang, and Khesbak do not full teach but Datta teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first power amplifier circuit includes: a first carrier amplifier and a first peak amplifier ([0025]-[0027], a Doherty PA 100 having a carrier amplification path 110 containing carrier amplification stages 114 and a peaking amplification path 130 containing peaking amplification stages 134), an output end of the first carrier amplifier and an output end of the first peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the first filter and an input end of the second filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d), and the second power amplifier circuit includes: a second carrier amplifier and a second peak amplifier, an output end of the second carrier amplifier and an output end of the second peak amplifier being connected to an input end of the third filter and an input end of the fourth filter ([0048], [0051]-[0053] teaches a common combined Doherty output and further teaches that PA outputs are matched and routed to respective diplexers 612a-612d; teaches multiple Pas outputs routed through respective diplexers).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Khesbak teaches a multi-chip RF module having separate first and second PA dies controlled by a common bias-control die that supplies respective enable and bias signals to both amplifiers. Lastly, Datta teaches a wideband Doherty power amplifier having carrier and peaking amplification paths whose outputs are combined into a common RF output that may be implemented in a front-end module and routed through a diplexer for transmission. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Claims 9 & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mori et al (US20200252042A1) in view of Zhang (WO2009066200A2) as applied to claim 1, in further view Loh et al (US20220069850A1).
Regarding claim 9, Mori, and Zhang fail to teach but Loh teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first band is Band B77 for 4G-LTE or Band n77 for 5G-NR, and the second band is Band B79 for 4G-LTE or Band n79 for 5G-NR ([0008]-[0009], [0140]-[0143], [0154]-[0156], teaches that the first frequency band is n77 and the second frequency band is n79; identifies Bx as Band n77, approximately 3.3-4.2 GHz, and By as Band n79 approximately 4.4-5.0 GHz, and teaches a broadband RF front-end module selectively operable in either band).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Loh teaches a mobile RF front-end system having power-amplifier, filter, switch, and antenna circuitry selectively operable over a first 5G-NR band n77 and a second 5G-NR band n79. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Regarding claim 20, Mori, and Zhang fail to teach but Loh teaches the high frequency circuit wherein the first band is Band B77 for 4G-LTE or Band n77 for 5G-NR, and the second band is Band B79 for 4G-LTE or Band n79 for 5G-NR ([0016]-[0020], [0043]-[0045], discloses a mobile device having a transceiver coupled to an RF front-end system selectively operable in first and second frequency bands and then identifies those bands as n77 and n79; additionally teaches a mobile-device front end having a PA, antenna switch, and first and second BPF paths, with the first abnd being n77 and the second band being n79).
It would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Mori’s multi-band RF front-end circuit in view of Zhang by providing two corresponding multi-band transmission branches, each having a power-amplifier circuit, a multiplexer or diplexer passing the first and second bands, a dedicated switch, and a respective antenna terminal. Mori teaches simultaneous operation of different frequency bands using a frequency-selective multiplexer. Furthermore, Zhang teaches two independent dual-band modules in which respective dual-band power amplifiers feed first- and second-band transmit filters, dedicated switches connects those filters only to their corresponding antennas, and the independent antenna branches reduce jamming, desensing, and inter-module interference. Lastly, Loh teaches a mobile RF front-end system having power-amplifier, filter, switch, and antenna circuitry selectively operable over a first 5G-NR band n77 and a second 5G-NR band n79. A skilled artisan therefore would have had reason to combine Mori’s multi-band architecture the obtain the benefits of simultaneous multi-band operation, improved isolation, reduces intermodulation and noise interference, and reliable use of separate antenna paths.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al (US20100287594A1) discloses a system for implementing mobile television in wireless terminal.
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419