Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/900,792 filed on September 30, 2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim priority for foreign applications CN202410285557.8, filed on 03/12/2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method of controlling a vehicle (i.e., a process), claim 8 is directed to apparatus, and claim 16 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable. Therefore, claims 1, 8 and 16 are within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claims 1, 8 and 16 include limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and claim 1 will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites:
A path planning method for a trailer vehicle, the trailer vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer, and the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector, the method comprising:
- obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor,
- second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
- a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road,
- a curvature of the center line of the target road, and
- a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor;
- constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and
- obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “obtaining...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. ACcordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, there are not additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea.
Thus the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are
sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7, 9-15, 17-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application [provide concise explanation]. Therefore, dependent claims [***] are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of [independent claim].
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 16, are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI ( CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 A).
Regarding claim 1, WEI discloses a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, the trailer vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer, and the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector, the method comprising: (see at least [0001, 0006]; " This disclosure relates to the field of artificial intelligence technology, and more particularly to the field of autonomous driving, specifically to a vehicle path planning method, apparatus, electronic device, and vehicle… Obtain description information of the target vehicle with a trailer; ") Wei describes a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, comprising a target vehicle which could be a tractor, and a trailer.
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road, (see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [125, 238]; " The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the reference point is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the reference point, the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point… The determination submodule is used to determine the planning result of the path points on the path to be planned based on the value of the specified state variable. Optionally, the specified state quantity includes: The lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the curvature of the path point.") Wei described a projection equation being used to calculate a projection distance from the target point to the center line of the target road.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 3, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation aCCording to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:,
whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCCording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: (see at lleast [0106]; "Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; "Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 4, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses The method aCCording to claim 1, wherein said obtaining the target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and the vehicle path constraint condition comprises: performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 5, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
Regarding claim 6, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
constructing the first projection distance equation based on the first distance, the first position information, the second angle, and the curvature. (See at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
Regarding claim 8, WEI teaches A path planning apparatus for a trailer vehicle, the trailer vehicle comprising a tractor and a trailer, and the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector, the apparatus comprising: (see at least [0001, 0006]; " This disclosure relates to the field of artificial intelligence technology, and more particularly to the field of autonomous driving, specifically to a vehicle path planning method, apparatus, electronic device, and vehicle… Obtain description information of the target vehicle with a trailer; ") Wei describes a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, comprising a target vehicle which could be a tractor, and a trailer.
a memory having a program instruction stored thereon; and a processor configured to, when executing the program instruction, perform operations of: (see at least [0052]; "The memory stores instructions that can be executed by the at least one processor to enable the at least one processor to perform any of the vehicle routing methods described above.")
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road,
(see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected
as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 10, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation according to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:, whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCcording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; " Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 11, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 12, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
Regarding claim 13, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; and (see at least [0027]; "The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
constructing the first projection distance equation based on the first distance, the first position information, the second angle, and the curvature. (See at least [0027]; " The equation relating the derivative of the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line is an equation constructed using the velocity function of the target vehicle, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point.")
Regarding claim 15, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose A trailer vehicle, comprising a tractor, a trailer and the path planning apparatus aCcording to claim 8, the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector.
However, Wang teaches A trailer vehicle, comprising a tractor, a trailer and the path planning apparatus aCcording to claim 8, the trailer being connected to the tractor through a connector. (see at least [0004]; "The tractor and trailer are connected by physical structural components, and the trailer is driven by the tractor.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of WANG which teaches connecting the trailer to the tractor to a connector in order to communicate data and travel together.
Regarding claim 16, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, having a computer program stored thereon, the computer program, when executed by a processor, implements a path planning method for a trailer vehicle, the method comprising: (see at least [claim 13]; "A non-transitory computer readable storage medium stored with computer instructions, wherein the computer instructions are used for causing the computer to perform the vehicle path planning method aCcording to any one of claims 1-10.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
a first distance from the rear axle center of the tractor to a center line of a target road, (see at least [162, 0079]; " the center point of the target vehicle's rear axle is selected as the path point of the planned path….lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line,… the reference line is the lane center line of the road to which the planned path belongs") Wei describes a first distance from the rear axle center to a center line of the target road.
a curvature of the center line of the target road, and (see at least [0013, 0168]; "the curvature of the path point…The reference point is the position point on the reference line closest to the path point. ") Wei describes a curvature of the center line of the target road.
a target difference between a heading angle of the trailer and a heading angle of the tractor; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle") Wei describes a measurement of the difference between the heading angle of the trailer and the heading angle of the tractor.
constructing a first projection distance equation and a second projection distance equation, separately, based on at least three of the first position information corresponding to a first target point of the plurality of first points, the first distance, the curvature, the second position information corresponding to a second target point of the plurality of second points, and the target difference, (see at least [0030]; "The equation relating the derivative of the mounting angle is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the path point, the mounting angle, the first distance, and the second distance; wherein the first distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the trailer to the hinge point, and the second distance is the distance from the center of the rear axle of the target vehicle to the hinge point;) Wei describes constructing a first and second projection, or prediction, distance equation based on first position information, second information and curvature.
the projection distance equations being used to calculate a projection distance from the first target point and/or the second target point to the center line of the target road; and (see at least [125, 238]; " The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the reference point is: an equation constructed using the velocity function, the curvature of the reference point, the lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the heading angle of the reference point… The determination submodule is used to determine the planning result of the path points on the path to be planned based on the value of the specified state variable. Optionally, the specified state quantity includes: The lateral distance deviation between the path point and the reference line, the heading angle of the path point, and the curvature of the path point.") Wei described a projection equation being used to calculate a projection distance from the target point to the center line of the target road.
obtaining a target path planning result based on the first projection distance equation, the second projection distance equation, and a vehicle path constraint condition. (see at least [0022, 0030]; "By using the discretized state-space equations and output equations, the specified constraints, and the objective function, a quadratic programming problem is constructed to obtain the path prediction model") Wei describes obtaining a target path planning result, or model, based on the equations and path constrain conditions.
Wei does not explicitly disclose obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor,
However, Wang teaches obtaining first position information from a plurality of first points on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; " The third submodule is used to obtain the second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the tractor, ") Wang describes obtaining a first position information from a first point on the tractor to a rear axle center of the tractor.
second position information from a plurality of second points on the trailer to the rear axle center of the tractor, (see at least [0026]; "The second estimated coordinates of the rear axle center of the trailer based on the second target coordinates,) Wang describes second position information from a second point on the trailer to the rear axle venter of the tractor.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate teachings of WANG which teaches obtaining a first position information based on a plurality of points on the tractor to a rear acle in order to gauge where the entirety of the tractor is located for planning purposes.
Regarding claim 18, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses constructing the second projection distance equation aCcording to the following equation when the curvature is greater than 0:, whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines, or constructing the second projection distance equation aCcording to the following equation when the curvature is smaller than 0: whereis a second projection distance,is the third distance,is the first distance,is the curvature,is the fourth angle,is the second angle,is the target difference, andis obtained by processing the fifth angle based on Law of Cosines. (see at lleast [0106]; " Where d<sub>rk</sub> is the value of the lateral distance deviation between path point k and the reference line, θ<sub>rk</sub> is the heading angle of the reference point corresponding to path point k, (x<sub>rk</sub>,y<sub>rk</sub>) are the coordinates of the reference point corresponding to path point k, and (x<sub>k</sub>,y<sub>k</sub>) are the coordinates of path point k.")
Regarding claim 19, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses performing linear processing on the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation to obtain a target projection distance equation; and (see at least [0113]; " S201: Determine the linearized model corresponding to the kinematic model of the targetsystem;")
obtaining the target path planning result based on a target projection distance and the vehicle path constraint condition.(see at least [0114] ; "After obtaining the kinematic model of the target system, its corresponding linearization model can be determined, and the path prediction model can be obtained through subsequent steps.")
Regarding claim 20, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses whereandare the target projection distance equations,is the first distance,is a second angle determined based on the heading angle of the tractor and the heading angle of the center line of the target road,is the target difference,,(see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
andare coefficients obtained by Taylor expansion of the first projection distance equation and the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0028]; "The equation relating the derivative of the heading angle of the path point is an equation constructed using the velocity function and the curvature of the path point.")
Claims 2, 9, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI ( CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 A) in further view of KONRAD (EP 1081020 A2).
Regarding claim 2, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
Regarding claim 9, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
Regarding claim 17, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 16 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI discloses determining a third distance between the rear axle center and the target second point and a fourth angle based on the second position information, the fourth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting the second target point with the rear axle center and a heading direction of the trailer; (see at least [0092]; "
For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
determining a second angle based on the heading angle of the tractor and a heading angle of the center line of the target road; (see at least [0026]; "the attachment angle is the difference between the target vehicle's heading angle and the trailer's heading angle")
determining a fifth angle based on the fourth angle, the second angle, and the target difference, the fifth angle being an angle determined based on a line connecting a circle center of the center line of the target road with the rear axle center and a line connecting the rear axle center with the second target point; and
(see at least [0092]; "For example, the parameter values of the multiple parameters required for the waypoint can be: the lateral distance deviation between the waypoint and the reference line, the waypoint heading angle, the waypoint curvature, the difference between the trailer heading angle and the trailer heading angle when the trailer rear axle center travels along the planned path, the reference point heading angle and the reference point curvature, etc.")
Wei does not explicitly disclose processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation.
However, Konrad teaches processing the first distance, the third distance, the fifth angle, and the curvature based on Law of Cosines to construct the second projection distance equation. (see at least [0022]; "Using the projections x' and y' of the distances x and y, respectively, onto the drawbar D, we obtain: (2) x' = xcos γ 2 (2') y' = ycos"
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of KONRAD which teaches using the law of cosines the construct the second projection distance to utilize effective trigonometry in determining an aCcurate trajectory of the trailer.
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over WEI ( CN 115743176 A) in view of WANG (CN 115303291 AEP 1081020 A2) in further view of LI (CN 115861972 A).
Regarding claim 7, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 1 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size
However, Li teaches extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size. (see at least [00420]; "Obstacle point cloud information acquired by radar is used to extract the motion trajectory, contour features, and position and pose information of each obstacle.
By using the kinematic model of the trailer, the trailer vehicle in the obstacle is extracted, and the outer contour of the trailer for collision detection is obtained based on the extracted trailer vehicle features. Then, the collision contour of the vehicle is generated for each trajectory point of the vehicle. Finally, the intersection verification between the trailer contour and the contour of each trajectory point of the vehicle is performed to determine whether the vehicle and the trailer collide and the position of the vehicle at the time of collision.
It can effectively identify trailer vehicles among obstacles detected by autonomous vehicles; and by processing the outer contours of trailers and tractors to obtain the collision outline of trailers, it improves the collision detection effect in the blind spot of large trailer vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of LI which teaches extracting points of the tractor and trailer based on their outer contour aCcording to a size on order to aCcurately calculate and predict where it would be traveling along a road.
Regarding claim 14, WEI and WANG, in combination, disclose limitations of claim 8 as discussed above, furthermore, WEI does not explicitly disclose extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size
However, Li teaches extracting the plurality of first points from an edge contour of the tractor aCcording to a size of the tractor based on a target step size, and said obtaining the plurality of second points on the trailer comprises: extracting the plurality of second points from the edge contour of the trailer aCcording to a size of the trailer based on a target step size. (see at least [00420]; "Obstacle point cloud information acquired by radar is used to extract the motion trajectory, contour features, and position and pose information of each obstacle.
By using the kinematic model of the trailer, the trailer vehicle in the obstacle is extracted, and the outer contour of the trailer for collision detection is obtained based on the extracted trailer vehicle features. Then, the collision contour of the vehicle is generated for each trajectory point of the vehicle. Finally, the intersection verification between the trailer contour and the contour of each trajectory point of the vehicle is performed to determine whether the vehicle and the trailer collide and the position of the vehicle at the time of collision.
It can effectively identify trailer vehicles among obstacles detected by autonomous vehicles; and by processing the outer contours of trailers and tractors to obtain the collision outline of trailers, it improves the collision detection effect in the blind spot of large trailer vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified WEI to incorporate the teachings of LI which teaches extracting points of the tractor and trailer based on their outer contour according to a size on order to accurately calculate and predict where it would be traveling along a road.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664