Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 9-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. (US 20210115929) in view of Kameno (JP 2004293579).
1. Nakazawa et al. teach:
A drive system (fig 30) comprising:
a shaft 605 including a measurement target portion (where the sensors 631 are located, fig 30);
a support portion/ drive support unit 640 (the drive support unit which is a bearingless motor drives and supports the shaft, abstract) configured to support the shaft contactlessly by an electromagnetic force (via stator 644);
a drive portion/drive support unit 640 (the drive support unit which is a bearingless motor drives and supports the shaft, abstract) configured to rotationally drive the shaft by an electromagnetic force;
a touchdown bearing 606 configured to, when the shaft is not supported by the support portion contactlessly, come into contact with the shaft and support the shaft such that the shaft is rotatable (hence the name touch-down bearing, MPEP 2112); and
a controller 690 configured to perform a starting process (since it energises the power source 635, para 0298) before the shaft is supported contactlessly by the support portion (it is noted that the shaft is not touching the bearings which indicates that the bearings touch the shaft when the drive system is at rest, which means the limitations “in the starting process…touchdown bearing” are implicitly taught, MPEP 2112); but does not explicitly teach that in the starting process, the controller detects a rotational angle of the shaft in a state in which the shaft is in contact with the touchdown bearing.
Kameno teaches that in the starting process, the controller detects a rotational angle of the shaft in a state in which the shaft is in contact with the touchdown bearing (excerpt below) to reduce the damage to the shaft during start and stop processes of the drive system.
As a result, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such that in the starting process, the controller detects a rotational angle of the shaft in a state in which the shaft is in contact with the touchdown bearing, as taught by Kameno so as to prolong the service life of the drive system.
2. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 1, comprising: a rotational-angle sensor/displacement angle sensor 631 configured to output a signal corresponding to a rotational angle of the measurement target portion (see fig 38 that shows how the gap sensor 631 is used to measure a rotation angle theta x), wherein in the starting process, the controller controls the drive portion to rotate the shaft in a state in which the shaft is in contact with the touchdown bearing (as stated above, this limitation is inherently disclosed by Nakazawa et al. because this is the function of a touch-down bearing; but for explicitly’s sake, Kameno teaches that the shaft is in contact with the touch-down b earing at start up), and the controller (of Nakazawa et al.) detects the rotational angle (theta x) of the shaft based on the signal output from the rotational-angle sensor (of Nakazawa et al.).
3. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 2, wherein the rotational-angle sensor is a gap sensor (of Nakazawa et al.) configured to output a signal corresponding to a distance to the measurement target portion (see fig 38 that shows how the gap sensor 631 is used to measure a rotation angle theta x), and the measurement target portion is configured such that a distance (both distances theta x and g1 of Nakazawa et al.) to the rotational-angle sensor (of Nakazawa et al.) changes in accordance with a change in the rotational angle of the shaft (of Nakazawa et al.).
4. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 3, wherein in the starting process, the controller controls the support portion such that the shaft is moved by the electromagnetic force and the measurement target portion approaches the rotational-angle sensor (see fig 38 that shows how the gap sensor 631 is used to measure a rotation angle theta x).
5. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 4, wherein in the starting process, the controller (of Nakazawa et al.) controls, while controlling the support portion such that a state in which the measurement target portion is close to the rotational-angle sensor is maintained (see fig 38 that shows how the gap sensor 631 is used to measure a rotation angle theta x), the drive portion to rotate the shaft.
6. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 3, wherein the rotational-angle sensor (of Nakazawa et al.) is disposed such that a distance between the rotational-angle sensor (of Nakazawa et al.) and the measurement target portion (of Nakazawa et al.) when the shaft is not supported contactlessly (as stated above, this limitation is inherently disclosed by Nakazawa et al. because this is the function of a touch-down bearing; but for explicitly’s sake, Kameno teaches that the shaft is in contact with the touch-down bearing at start up) by the support portion (of Nakazawa et al.) is less than or equal to a distance between the rotational-angle sensor and the measurement target portion when a position of the shaft supported contactlessly by the support portion is at a reference position (this is inherentlty disclose by fig 38, as the shaft is in a state that is close to being in contact with the touchdown bearing and the distance between the shaft and the sensor is less than when the shaft is not tilted, Nakazawa et al. fig 38).
7. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 3, comprising: a position sensor that is a gap sensor 631 (at one end of shaft, fig 38) configured to output a signal corresponding to a distance to the shaft, wherein a dynamic range of the rotational-angle sensor (at opposite end of shaft, Nakazawa et al. fig 38) is identical to a dynamic range of the position sensor (Nakazawa et al. fig 38).
9. Nakazawa et al. teach:
The drive system according to claim 1, comprising: a bearingless motor 640 including a support winding (as noted by the force F1, fig 34) and a drive winding (as noted by the torque T1, fig 34), wherein the support winding is a winding configured to generate, by being energized, an electromagnetic force for supporting the shaft contactlessly (as noted by the force F1, fig 34), the support winding functioning as the support portion, and the drive winding is a winding configured to generate, by being energized, an electromagnetic force for rotationally driving the shaft as noted by the torque T1, fig 34), the drive winding functioning as the drive portion.
10. Nakazawa et al. teach:
A turbo compressor comprising the drive system according to claim 1.
11. Nakazawa et al. teach:
A refrigeration device (para 0004) comprising the turbo compressor according to claim 10.
12. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 4, comprising: a position sensor (since the sensor of Nakazawa et al. is a gap sensor and is used to calculate a position/rotation angle of the shaft, MPEP 2112 and fig 38) that is a gap sensor 631 configured to output a signal corresponding to a distance to the shaft (the signal can be either an electromagnetic, sonic, or light), wherein a dynamic range of the rotational-angle sensor 631 (at the opposite end, fig 38 of Nakazawa et al.) is identical to a dynamic range of the position sensor (as noted by g1 and g2 while the shaft is being rotated).
13. Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno teach:
The drive system according to claim 5, comprising: a position sensor (since the sensor of Nakazawa et al. is a gap sensor and is used to calculate a position/rotation angle of the shaft, MPEP 2112 and fig 38) that is a gap sensor 631 configured to output a signal (the signal can be either an electromagnetic, sonic, or light) corresponding to a distance to the shaft (fig 38 of Nakazawa et al.), wherein a dynamic range of the rotational-angle sensor 631 (at the opposite end, fig 38 of Nakazawa et al.) is identical to a dynamic range of the position sensor (as noted by g1 and g2 while the shaft is being rotated).
14. Nakazawa et al. teach:
The drive system according to claim 6, comprising: a position sensor (since the sensor of Nakazawa et al. is a gap sensor and is used to calculate a position/rotation angle of the shaft, MPEP 2112 and fig 38) that is a gap sensor 631 (at the opposite end, fig 38 of Nakazawa et al.) configured to output a signal (the signal can be either an electromagnetic, sonic, or light) corresponding to a distance to the shaft, wherein a dynamic range of the rotational-angle sensor 631 (at the opposite end, fig 38 of Nakazawa et al.) is identical to a dynamic range of the position sensor (as noted by g1 and g2 while the shaft is being rotated).
Claim(s) 8 and 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakazawa et al. in view of Kameno and in further view of Giessler (EP 3564627).
8. Nakazawa et al. has been discussed above, re claim 3; but does not teach that the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft.
Giessler teaches that the measurement target portion (figs 1 & 2) is provided with a plurality of first step portions 3 arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft 1, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference (as note by distance d1 and distance d2, fig 2) of the shaft to easily determine the rotation angles of the shaft which produces better control of the shaft which improves the drive system’s reliablity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft, as taught by Giessler so as to improve the reliability of the drive system.
15. Nakazawa et al. has been discussed above, re claim 4; but does not teach that the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft.
Giessler teaches that the measurement target portion (figs 1 & 2) is provided with a plurality of first step portions 3 arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft 1, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference (as note by distance d1 and distance d2, fig 2) of the shaft to easily determine the rotation angles of the shaft which produces better control of the shaft which improves the drive system’s reliablity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft, as taught by Giessler so as to improve the reliability of the drive system.
16. Nakazawa et al. has been discussed above, re claim 5; but does not teach that the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft.
Giessler teaches that the measurement target portion (figs 1 & 2) is provided with a plurality of first step portions 3 arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft 1, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference (as note by distance d1 and distance d2, fig 2) of the shaft to easily determine the rotation angles of the shaft which produces better control of the shaft which improves the drive system’s reliablity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft, as taught by Giessler so as to improve the reliability of the drive system.
17. Nakazawa et al. has been discussed above, re claim 6; but does not teach that the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft.
Giessler teaches that the measurement target portion (figs 1 & 2) is provided with a plurality of first step portions 3 arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft 1, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference (as note by distance d1 and distance d2, fig 2) of the shaft to easily determine the rotation angles of the shaft which produces better control of the shaft which improves the drive system’s reliablity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft, as taught by Giessler so as to improve the reliability of the drive system.
18. Nakazawa et al. has been discussed above, re claim 7; but does not teach that the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft.
Giessler teaches that the measurement target portion (figs 1 & 2) is provided with a plurality of first step portions 3 arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft 1, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference (as note by distance d1 and distance d2, fig 2) of the shaft to easily determine the rotation angles of the shaft which produces better control of the shaft which improves the drive system’s reliablity.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the invention of Nakazawa et al. being effectively filed to modify it such the measurement target portion is provided with a plurality of first step portions arranged at predetermined intervals in a circumferential direction of the shaft, and one of the plurality of first step portions also serves as a second step portion for detecting the rotation reference of the shaft, as taught by Giessler so as to improve the reliability of the drive system.
Conclusion
/TERRANCE L KENERLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834