DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in The Republic of Korea on 24 October 2026. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the Korean application as required by 37 CFR 1.55. An interim copy of the application has been filed and is noted by the examiner; however, a certified copy is still required to uphold the claim for foreign priority.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 10, 11, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the specific value" in the 16th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 1 states the limitation “a specific value” in the nineth line, however this refers to the contents of the preamble index field and not the presence of contention free random access information as the limitation is directed towards.
Claims 10 and 11 recites the limitation "the specific value" in the second line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 1 states the limitation a specific value, however this refers to the contents of the preamble index field and not the supplementary uplink field as the limitation is directed towards in claims 10 and 11.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the specific value" in the 18th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 13 states the limitation “a specific value” in the 12th line, however this refers to the contents of the preamble index field and not the presence of contention free random access information as the limitation is directed towards.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the specific value" in the 15th line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Independent claim 13 states the limitation “a specific value” in the eighth line, however this refers to the contents of the preamble index field and not the presence of contention free random access information as the limitation is directed towards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rastegardoost (US 20230284282 A1) hereafter Rastegardoost.
Regarding Claim 1:
Rastegardoost discloses:
A method ([¶0451] disclosed methods) performed by a terminal, the method comprising: receiving from a base station a layer 1 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0283] a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure.) performing with the base station a first random access based on the layer 1 downlink message related to random access; and performing with the base station a second random access based on the layer 2 downlink message related to random access, wherein, in case that a preamble index field is not equal to a specific value,([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.) the layer 1 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; a supplementary uplink related field; a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel block (SSB) field; and a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask field, ([¶0342] In an example, a DCI format for downlink scheduling may be for random access procedure initiated by a PDCCH order. For example, the CRC bits of the DCI format for downlink scheduling may be scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (e.g., C-RNTI), and the frequency domain resource assignment field may be a first value (e.g., all ones), indicating that the DCI format is for random access procedure. The information in the DCI format may then comprise at least one of: identifier for DCI format; frequency domain resource assignments; random access preamble index; UL/SUL indicator; SS/PBCH index; PRACH mask index; and/or reserved bits. [¶0321] a total number of random access preambles (e.g., totalNumberOfRA-Preambles), one or more PRACH configuration index (e.g., prach-ConfigurationIndex), a number of PRACH occasions that may be multiplexed in frequency domain (FDMed) in a time instance (e.g., msg1-FDM), an offset of a lowest PRACH occasion in frequency domain with respect to a first resource block (e.g., msg1-FrequencyStart), a power ramping step for PRACH (e.g., powerRampingStep), a target power level at the network receiver side (preambleReceivedTargetPower), a maximum number of random access preamble transmission that may be performed (e.g., preambleTransMax), a window length for a random access response (i.e., RAR, e.g., Msg2) (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow), a number of SSBs per random access channel (RACH) occasion and a number of contention-based preambles per SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB). For example, the total number of random access preambles may be a multiple of the number of SSBs per RACH occasion. For example, the window length for RAR may be in number of slots. For example, a dedicated random access configuration message (e.g., RACH-ConfigDedicated) may comprise, among other parameters, one or more RACH occasions for contention-free random access (e.g., occasions), and one or more PRACH mask index for random access resource selection (e.g., ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex).) and wherein, in case that a field configured to indicate presence of contention free random access information is not equal to the specific value,([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.) the layer 2 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; the SSB field; the PRACH mask field; and the supplementary uplink related field. ([¶0328] In response to a PRACH transmission, a wireless device may receive one or more random access responses (RARs) (e.g., Msg2). The one or more random access responses may be scrambled by a particular radio network temporary identifier (e.g., RA-RNTI). The wireless device may monitor a search space set (e.g., the Type1-PDCCH common search space) for a first downlink control information (e.g., DCI format 1_0). The first downlink control information may comprise the one or more RARs. For example, a base station may transmit the one or more RARs in a form of DCI format 1_0 for a random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order, MAC layer, and/or RRC layer. For example, the DCI format 1_0 may comprise at least one of the following fields: one or more random access preamble index, SS/PBCH index, PRACH mask index, UL/SUL indicator, frequency and time domain resource assignments, modulation and/or coding schemes.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein: the first random access is performed in a first cell; the first cell is determined based on which cell the layer 1 downlink message related to random access is received; the second random access is performed in a second cell; and the second cell is determined based on a field configured to indicate a target configuration. ([¶0351] In RRC_CONNECTED state, the network may control wireless device mobility. For example, the network may decide when the wireless device connects to which cell(s) (e.g., E-UTRA cell(s), and/or NR cell(s), and/or inter-RAT cell(s)). Cell level mobility may require explicit RRC signaling to be triggered, e.g., handover. For network controlled mobility in cell level in RRC_CONNECTED, the PCell may be changed using an RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. The SCell(s) may be changed using the RRC Connection Reconfiguration message. For inter-BS handover, as shown in FIG. 16, the signaling procedure may comprise at least one of the following: Handover Request; Handover Request Acknowledgement; Handover Command; Random Access and Handover Complete. A source base station (BS) may initiate handover and send, to a target BS, a Handover Request over a network interface (e.g., Xn and/or X2). The target BS may perform an admission control and provide an RRC configuration as part of the Handover Acknowledgement. The source BS may provide the RRC configuration to the wireless device in the Handover Command. The handover command message may comprise cell ID and all information required to access the target cell. The wireless device may access the target cell and may not need to read the system information of the target cell. For example, the information required for contention-based and contention-free random access can be included in the Handover Command message. The access information to the target cell may comprise beam specific information, if any. The wireless device may move the RRC connection to the target BS via initiating a random access procedure. The wireless device may reply the Handover Complete message to the target BS. The wireless deice may also send user data if a grant is available.)
Regarding Claim 3:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the SSB field indicates: SSB resource of the first cell in case that the SSB field is comprised in the layer 1 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0328 For example, a base station may transmit the one or more RARs in a form of DCI format 1_0 for a random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order, MAC layer, and/or RRC layer. For example, the DCI format 1_0 may comprise at least one of the following fields: one or more random access preamble index, SS/PBCH index, PRACH mask index, UL/SUL indicator, frequency and time domain resource assignments, modulation and/or coding schemes.
and SSB resource of the second cell in case that the SSB field is comprised in the layer 2 downlink message related to random access.([¶0318] A MAC entity of the wireless device may select one or more random access resources for a random access procedure initiated. The MAC entity may select a first downlink reference signal. For example, the MAC entity may select the first downlink reference signal (e.g., a first SS/PBCH block (SSB), or a first channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS)) with the first reference signal received power (RSRP) above a first reference signal received power threshold. For example, the first reference signal received power threshold may be defined per a type of reference signal (e.g., rsrp-ThresholdSSB may for a SSB, and rsrp-ThresholdCSI-RS for a CSI-RS). The first reference signal received power threshold may be broadcast, semi-statically configured, and/or predefined. For example, the MAC entity may select the first downlink reference signal for contention-free random access procedure, for example for beam failure recovery, or system information request. For example, the MAC entity may select the first downlink reference signal for contention-based random access procedure.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the layer 1 downlink message related to random access does not comprise the SSB field, the PRACH mask field, and the supplementary uplink related field in case that the preamble index field is equal to the specific value. ([¶0346] In an example, a random access procedure may be initiated by a PDCCH order. The PDCCH order may comprise a random access preamble index. The wireless device may set the preamble index to the random access preamble index signaled by the PDCCH order. The wireless device may select an SSB signaled by the PDCCH order.)
Regarding Claim 5:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the layer 2 downlink message related to random access does not comprise the SSB field, the PRACH mask field, and the supplementary uplink related field in case that the field configured to indicate the presence of contention free random access information is equal to the specific value. ([¶0347] In an example, a contention-free random access procedure may be initiated, wherein a wireless device receives one or more messages comprising parameters of contention-free random access resources. The contention-free random access resources may be associated with one or more reference signals (CSI-RS and/or SSB), wherein at least one reference signal of the one or more reference signals may have RSRP above a threshold. The wireless device may select a reference signal (CSI-RS and/or SSB) amongst the at least one reference signals with RSRP above the threshold. The wireless device may set a preamble index to a random access preamble index corresponding to the reference signal (CSI-RS and/or SSB). [¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance. [¶0369] After the wireless device has successfully accessed the target cell, the wireless device may complete the RRC handover procedure by sending an RRC connection reconfiguration complete message (C-RNTI) to the target BS to confirm the handover and to indicate that the handover procedure is completed for the wireless device. The wireless device may transmit a MAC uplink Buffer Status Report (BSR) Control Element (CE) along with the uplink RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message or may transmit a MAC uplink BSR CE whenever possible to the target BS. The target BS may verify the C-RNTI sent in the RRC Connection Reconfiguration Complete message. The target BS may now begin sending data to the wireless device and receiving data from the wireless device.)
Regarding Claim 6:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the layer 2 downlink message related to random access further comprises a baseline information and a transmission configuration indication (TCI) information. ([¶0350] A MAC entity of a wireless device may perform a random access preamble transmission procedure for each one of one or more random access preambles. The MAC entity may increment a preamble power ramping counter (PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER) by one. The MAC entity may select a delta preamble value (DELTA_PREAMBLE) for a power offset. The MAC entity may set a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) to preambleReceivedTargetPower+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER−1)×PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP, wherein the parameters of preamble transmission power are configured as described above. The wireless device may determine a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with a first PRACH occasion in which the random access preamble is transmitted. The RA-RNTI associated with the first PRACH occasion in which the random access preamble is transmitted is computed as: RA-RNTI=1+s_id+14×t_id+14×80×f_id+14×80×8×ul_carrier_id, where s_id is an index of a first OFDM symbol of the first PRACH occasion (0≤s_id<14), t_id is an index of a first slot of the first PRACH occasion in a system frame (0≤t_id<80), f_id is an index of the first PRACH occasion in the frequency domain (0≤f_id<8), and ul_carrier_id is an UL carrier used for Random Access Preamble transmission (0 for NUL carrier, and 1 for SUL carrier). The MAC entity may instruct the physical layer to transmit the random access preamble via the first PRACH occasion, corresponding RA-RNTI, preamble index (PREAMBLE_INDEX), and PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER. Once a random access preamble is transmitted, a MAC entity may start a random access response window (ra-ResponseWindow) configured by RRC at a first PDCCH occasion. The MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH for random access response(s) (RAR) identified by the corresponding RA-RNTI, for example, while the random access response window is running. The MAC entity may receive a downlink assignment (the RAR message) on the PDCCH for the RA-RNTI and may successfully decode the received TB. The random access response (RAR message) may comprise a MAC subPDU with a random access preamble identifier corresponding to the preamble index (PREAMBLE_INDEX), and may consider the RAR reception successful. The RAR message may comprise a timing advance command. The MAC entity may process the timing advance command and may consider the random access procedure successfully completed, for example, for a contention-free random access procedure. For a contention-based random access procedure, the RAR message may comprise an UL grant, and the MAC entity may proceed with transmission of Msg3 for contention resolution.)
Regarding Claim 7:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the baseline information comprises: a target configuration field; a timing advance command field; and the field configured to indicate the presence of contention free random access information. ([¶0350] A MAC entity of a wireless device may perform a random access preamble transmission procedure for each one of one or more random access preambles. The MAC entity may increment a preamble power ramping counter (PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER) by one. The MAC entity may select a delta preamble value (DELTA_PREAMBLE) for a power offset. The MAC entity may set a preamble received target power (PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER) to preambleReceivedTargetPower+DELTA_PREAMBLE+(PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_COUNTER−1)×PREAMBLE_POWER_RAMPING_STEP, wherein the parameters of preamble transmission power are configured as described above. The wireless device may determine a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI) associated with a first PRACH occasion in which the random access preamble is transmitted. The RA-RNTI associated with the first PRACH occasion in which the random access preamble is transmitted is computed as: RA-RNTI=1+s_id+14×t_id+14×80×f_id+14×80×8×ul_carrier_id, where s_id is an index of a first OFDM symbol of the first PRACH occasion (0≤s_id<14), t_id is an index of a first slot of the first PRACH occasion in a system frame (0≤t_id<80), f_id is an index of the first PRACH occasion in the frequency domain (0≤f_id<8), and ul_carrier_id is an UL carrier used for Random Access Preamble transmission (0 for NUL carrier, and 1 for SUL carrier). The MAC entity may instruct the physical layer to transmit the random access preamble via the first PRACH occasion, corresponding RA-RNTI, preamble index (PREAMBLE_INDEX), and PREAMBLE_RECEIVED_TARGET_POWER. Once a random access preamble is transmitted, a MAC entity may start a random access response window (ra-ResponseWindow) configured by RRC at a first PDCCH occasion. The MAC entity may monitor the PDCCH for random access response(s) (RAR) identified by the corresponding RA-RNTI, for example, while the random access response window is running. The MAC entity may receive a downlink assignment (the RAR message) on the PDCCH for the RA-RNTI and may successfully decode the received TB. The random access response (RAR message) may comprise a MAC subPDU with a random access preamble identifier corresponding to the preamble index (PREAMBLE_INDEX), and may consider the RAR reception successful. The RAR message may comprise a timing advance command. The MAC entity may process the timing advance command and may consider the random access procedure successfully completed, for example, for a contention-free random access procedure. For a contention-based random access procedure, the RAR message may comprise an UL grant, and the MAC entity may proceed with transmission of Msg3 for contention resolution.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the TCI information comprises a TCI field in case that a field for unified TCI state is a first value. ([¶0196] In an example, a base station may activate and/or deactivate and/or impact one or more processes (e.g., set values of one or more parameters of the one or more processes or start and/or stop one or more timers of the one or more processes) at the wireless device by employing one or more MAC commands. The one or more MAC commands may comprise one or more MAC control elements. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation and/or deactivation of PDCP packet duplication for one or more radio bearers. The base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise Channel State Information (CSI) transmission of on one or more cells. The base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating activation and/or deactivation of the CSI transmission on the one or more cells. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating starting and/or stopping one or more Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timers at the wireless device. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating one or more timing advance values for one or more Timing Advance Groups (TAGs).)
Regarding Claim 9:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the TCI information comprises the TCI field and an uplink TCI field in case that the field for unified TCI state is a second value. ([¶0196] In an example, a base station may activate and/or deactivate and/or impact one or more processes (e.g., set values of one or more parameters of the one or more processes or start and/or stop one or more timers of the one or more processes) at the wireless device by employing one or more MAC commands. The one or more MAC commands may comprise one or more MAC control elements. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation and/or deactivation of PDCP packet duplication for one or more radio bearers. The base station may transmit a MAC CE comprising one or more fields, the values of the fields indicating activation and/or deactivation of PDCP duplication for the one or more radio bearers. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise Channel State Information (CSI) transmission of on one or more cells. The base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating activation and/or deactivation of the CSI transmission on the one or more cells. In an example, the one or more processes may comprise activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit a MA CE indicating activation or deactivation of one or more secondary cells. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating starting and/or stopping one or more Discontinuous Reception (DRX) timers at the wireless device. In an example, the base station may transmit one or more MAC CEs indicating one or more timing advance values for one or more Timing Advance Groups (TAGs).)
Regarding Claim 10:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the terminal performs the first random access in supplementary uplink of the first cell in case that the supplementary uplink related field is not equal to the specific value. ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.[¶0372] The common RACH configuration for beams in the target cell may only be associated to the SSB(s). The network may have dedicated RACH configurations associated to the SSB(s) and/or have dedicated RACH configurations associated to CSI-RS(s) within a cell. The target BS may only include one of the following RACH configurations in the Handover Command to enable the wireless device to access the target cell: common RACH configuration; Common RACH configuration+Dedicated RACH configuration associated with SSB; Common RACH configuration+Dedicated RACH configuration associated with CSI-RS. The dedicated RACH configuration allocates RACH resource(s) together with a quality threshold to use them. When dedicated RACH resources are provided, they are prioritized by the wireless device and the wireless device may not switch to contention-based RACH resources as long as the quality threshold of those dedicated resources is met. The order to access the dedicated RACH resources may be up to wireless device implementation. )
Regarding Claim 11:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the terminal performs the second random access in normal uplink of the second cell in case that the supplementary uplink related field is equal to the specific value. ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance. [¶0372] The common RACH configuration for beams in the target cell may only be associated to the SSB(s). The network may have dedicated RACH configurations associated to the SSB(s) and/or have dedicated RACH configurations associated to CSI-RS(s) within a cell. The target BS may only include one of the following RACH configurations in the Handover Command to enable the wireless device to access the target cell: common RACH configuration; Common RACH configuration+Dedicated RACH configuration associated with SSB; Common RACH configuration+Dedicated RACH configuration associated with CSI-RS. The dedicated RACH configuration allocates RACH resource(s) together with a quality threshold to use them. When dedicated RACH resources are provided, they are prioritized by the wireless device and the wireless device may not switch to contention-based RACH resources as long as the quality threshold of those dedicated resources is met. The order to access the dedicated RACH resources may be up to wireless device implementation.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Rastegardoost discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Rastegardoost discloses:
wherein the terminal determines available random access channel occasions of the second cell based on the PRACH mask field in the layer 2 downlink message related to random access. ([¶0284] [0284] A UE may perform one or more Msg1 1220 transmissions by transmitting the selected random access preamble. For example, if a UE selects an SS block and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more SS blocks, the UE may determine an PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected SS block. For example, if a UE selects a CSI-RS and is configured with an association between one or more PRACH occasions and one or more CSI-RSs, the UE may determine a PRACH occasion from one or more PRACH occasions corresponding to a selected CSI-RS. A UE may transmit, to a base station, a selected random access preamble via a selected PRACH occasions. A UE may determine a transmit power for a transmission of a selected random access preamble at least based on an initial preamble power and a power-ramping factor. A UE may determine a RA-RNTI associated with a selected PRACH occasions in which a selected random access preamble is transmitted. For example, a UE may not determine a RA-RNTI for a beam failure recovery request. A UE may determine an RA-RNTI at least based on an index of a first OFDM symbol and an index of a first slot of a selected PRACH occasions, and/or an uplink carrier index for a transmission of Msg1 1220.)
Regarding Claim 13:
Rastegardoost discloses:
A terminal comprising: a transceiver, a memory, and a controller coupled to the transceiver and the memory, wherein the controller is configured to cause the terminal to: ([¶0210] The wireless device 110 may comprise at least one communication interface 310 (e.g. a wireless modem, an antenna, and/or the like), at least one processor 314, and at least one set of program code instructions 316 stored in non-transitory memory 315 and executable by the at least one processor 314. The wireless device 110 may further comprise at least one of at least one speaker/microphone 311, at least one keypad 312, at least one display/touchpad 313, at least one power source 317, at least one global positioning system (GPS) chipset 318, and other peripherals 319.) receive from a base station a layer 1 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0283] a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure.)perform with the base station a first random access based on the layer 1 downlink message related to random access; receive from the base station a layer 2 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.)and perform with the base station a second random access based on the layer 2 downlink message related to random access, wherein, in case that a preamble index field is not equal to a specific value, ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.) the layer 1 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; a supplementary uplink related field; a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel block (SSB) field; and a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask field, ([¶0342] In an example, a DCI format for downlink scheduling may be for random access procedure initiated by a PDCCH order. For example, the CRC bits of the DCI format for downlink scheduling may be scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (e.g., C-RNTI), and the frequency domain resource assignment field may be a first value (e.g., all ones), indicating that the DCI format is for random access procedure. The information in the DCI format may then comprise at least one of: identifier for DCI format; frequency domain resource assignments; random access preamble index; UL/SUL indicator; SS/PBCH index; PRACH mask index; and/or reserved bits. [¶0321] a total number of random access preambles (e.g., totalNumberOfRA-Preambles), one or more PRACH configuration index (e.g., prach-ConfigurationIndex), a number of PRACH occasions that may be multiplexed in frequency domain (FDMed) in a time instance (e.g., msg1-FDM), an offset of a lowest PRACH occasion in frequency domain with respect to a first resource block (e.g., msg1-FrequencyStart), a power ramping step for PRACH (e.g., powerRampingStep), a target power level at the network receiver side (preambleReceivedTargetPower), a maximum number of random access preamble transmission that may be performed (e.g., preambleTransMax), a window length for a random access response (i.e., RAR, e.g., Msg2) (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow), a number of SSBs per random access channel (RACH) occasion and a number of contention-based preambles per SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB). For example, the total number of random access preambles may be a multiple of the number of SSBs per RACH occasion. For example, the window length for RAR may be in number of slots. For example, a dedicated random access configuration message (e.g., RACH-ConfigDedicated) may comprise, among other parameters, one or more RACH occasions for contention-free random access (e.g., occasions), and one or more PRACH mask index for random access resource selection (e.g., ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex).) and wherein, in case that a field configured to indicate presence of contention free random access information is not equal to the specific value, ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.) the layer 2 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; the SSB field; the PRACH mask field; and the supplementary uplink related field. ([¶0328] In response to a PRACH transmission, a wireless device may receive one or more random access responses (RARs) (e.g., Msg2). The one or more random access responses may be scrambled by a particular radio network temporary identifier (e.g., RA-RNTI). The wireless device may monitor a search space set (e.g., the Type1-PDCCH common search space) for a first downlink control information (e.g., DCI format 1_0). The first downlink control information may comprise the one or more RARs. For example, a base station may transmit the one or more RARs in a form of DCI format 1_0 for a random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order, MAC layer, and/or RRC layer. For example, the DCI format 1_0 may comprise at least one of the following fields: one or more random access preamble index, SS/PBCH index, PRACH mask index, UL/SUL indicator, frequency and time domain resource assignments, modulation and/or coding schemes.)
Regarding Claim 14:
Rastegardoost discloses:
A method ([¶0451] disclosed methods) performed by a base station, the method comprising: transmitting to a terminal a layer 1 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0283] a UE may receive, from a base station, a random access preamble index via PDCCH or RRC for a contention free random access procedure.) performing with the terminal a first random access based on the layer 1 downlink message related to random access; ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.)transmitting to the terminal a layer 2 downlink message related to random access; and performing with terminal a second random access based on the layer 2 downlink message related to random access, wherein, in case that a preamble index field is not equal to a specific value, ([¶0368] After receiving the RRC connection reconfiguration message that may include the mobility control information, the wireless device may perform synchronization to the target BS and accesses the target cell via RACH on the primary cell. The wireless device Random access procedure may employ a contention-free procedure if a dedicated RACH preamble was indicated in the RRC connection reconfiguration message. The wireless device random access procedure may employ a contention-based procedure if no dedicated preamble was indicated. The wireless device may derive target BS specific keys and may configure the selected security algorithms to be used in the target cell. The target BS may respond with uplink allocation and timing advance.) the layer 1 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; a supplementary uplink related field; a synchronization signal physical broadcast channel block (SSB) field; and a physical random access channel (PRACH) mask field, ([¶0342] In an example, a DCI format for downlink scheduling may be for random access procedure initiated by a PDCCH order. For example, the CRC bits of the DCI format for downlink scheduling may be scrambled by a first radio network temporary identifier (e.g., C-RNTI), and the frequency domain resource assignment field may be a first value (e.g., all ones), indicating that the DCI format is for random access procedure. The information in the DCI format may then comprise at least one of: identifier for DCI format; frequency domain resource assignments; random access preamble index; UL/SUL indicator; SS/PBCH index; PRACH mask index; and/or reserved bits. [¶0321] a total number of random access preambles (e.g., totalNumberOfRA-Preambles), one or more PRACH configuration index (e.g., prach-ConfigurationIndex), a number of PRACH occasions that may be multiplexed in frequency domain (FDMed) in a time instance (e.g., msg1-FDM), an offset of a lowest PRACH occasion in frequency domain with respect to a first resource block (e.g., msg1-FrequencyStart), a power ramping step for PRACH (e.g., powerRampingStep), a target power level at the network receiver side (preambleReceivedTargetPower), a maximum number of random access preamble transmission that may be performed (e.g., preambleTransMax), a window length for a random access response (i.e., RAR, e.g., Msg2) (e.g., ra-ResponseWindow), a number of SSBs per random access channel (RACH) occasion and a number of contention-based preambles per SSB (e.g., ssb-perRACH-OccasionAndCB-PreamblesPerSSB). For example, the total number of random access preambles may be a multiple of the number of SSBs per RACH occasion. For example, the window length for RAR may be in number of slots. For example, a dedicated random access configuration message (e.g., RACH-ConfigDedicated) may comprise, among other parameters, one or more RACH occasions for contention-free random access (e.g., occasions), and one or more PRACH mask index for random access resource selection (e.g., ra-ssb-OccasionMaskIndex).) and wherein, in case that a field configured to indicate presence of contention free random access information is not equal to the specific value, the layer 2 downlink message related to random access comprises following fields in following order: the preamble index field; the SSB field; the PRACH mask field; and the supplementary uplink related field. ([¶0328] In response to a PRACH transmission, a wireless device may receive one or more random access responses (RARs) (e.g., Msg2). The one or more random access responses may be scrambled by a particular radio network temporary identifier (e.g., RA-RNTI). The wireless device may monitor a search space set (e.g., the Type1-PDCCH common search space) for a first downlink control information (e.g., DCI format 1_0). The first downlink control information may comprise the one or more RARs. For example, a base station may transmit the one or more RARs in a form of DCI format 1_0 for a random access procedure initiated by PDCCH order, MAC layer, and/or RRC layer. For example, the DCI format 1_0 may comprise at least one of the following fields: one or more random access preamble index, SS/PBCH index, PRACH mask index, UL/SUL indicator, frequency and time domain resource assignments, modulation and/or coding schemes.)
Conclusion
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463