DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 4, 5, 12, 13, and 16-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR 101469548).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2: Lee teaches a manufacturing method comprising:
a substrate loading operation of loading a substrate into a liquid treating chamber (pg. 2, ninth full paragraphs);
a liquid treating operation of supplying a treatment solution to the substrate rotating in the liquid treating chamber through a nozzle (pg. 2, tenth full paragraph);
a substrate unloading operation of unloading the substrate from the liquid treating chamber (inherently disclosed as the steps are directed to cleaning and drying the substrate, see abstract); and
a pressure control operation of changing a pressure of a space above the substrate to be lowered at least one time in a period between the substrate loading operation and the substrate unloading operation (pg. 4, first and second full paragraphs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101469548, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 3: Lee teaches the elements of Claim 2 as discussed above. Though Lee does not expressly disclose a control releasing operation of increasing the pressure of the space above the substrate that was lowered in the pressure control operation, Lee does teach that by controlling the air introduced into the chamber by the regulating portion, the chamber pressure can be raised and lowered in order to keep the chamber clean and help remove remaining substances such as stains, particles, and the like from the wafer (pg. 4, fifth full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by increasing the pressure of the space above the substrate that was lowered in the pressure control operation in order to assist in particle removal, as suggested by Lee.
Regarding Claim 6: Lee further teaches the pressure control operation includes disposing a blocking plate (element 32) in the space above the substrate to block downflow supplied to the space above the substrate to cause the pressure to be lowered (pg. 3, fifth full paragraph).
Regarding Claim 7: Lee teaches the elements of Claim 6 as discussed above. Though he doesn’t expressly disclose the control releasing operation is performed after the pressure control operation and before the substrate unloading operation, Lee teaches that the chamber pressure can be raised and lowered in order to keep the chamber clean and help remove remaining substances such as stains, particles, and the like from the wafer (pg. 4, fifth full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method by performing the pressure control before unloading the substrate in order to remove particles before subsequent processing.
Regarding Claims 8: Lee teaches the elements of Claim 6 as discussed above. Lee does not expressly disclose the control releasing operation is performed after the pressure control operation and after the substrate unloading operation. However, Lee teaches that pressure regulation portion reduced the pressure only during the time of drying (see pg. 5, claims). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by performing the increasing pressure after the substrate unloading operation in order to prepare the chamber for subsequent substrates and processing.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101469548, machine translation referenced herein) and further in view of Yukitsugu (JP 2020009800, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 9: Lee teaches the elements of Claim 8 as discussed above. Lee does not expressly disclose the blocking plate is disposed at a height equal to or higher than an entrance opening such that at least a portion of the downflow collides with the blocking plate and is directed toward the entrance opening for the substate provided in the liquid treating chamber. Yukitsugu teaches a blocking plate (element 51) that is disposed over a substrate beneath a fan filter unit in a processing chamber, and teaches that the blocking plate is movable to a position to prevent contamination of the upper substrate surface (pg. 10). Since the blocking plate blocks the downflow air from the FFU, it is reasonably expected that the airflow is redirected toward the entrance opening. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee with a blocking plate disposed at a height equal or higher than an entrance opening in order to prevent contamination on the substrate as suggested by Yukitsugu.
Claims 10, 11, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR 101469548, machine translation referenced herein) and further in view Kawasaki et al. (KR 102013011005, machine translation referenced herein).
Regarding Claim 10: Lee teaches a substrate processing method comprising:
a liquid treating operation of supplying an organic solvent to a substrate rotating in a liquid treating chamber pg. 2, tenth full paragraph);
wherein a pressure control operation of reducing a pressure in a space above the substrate loaded into the liquid treating chamber at least one time during a period between loading of the substrate into the liquid treating chamber and unloading of the substrate from the liquid treating chamber (pg. 4, first and second full paragraphs).
Lee does not expressly disclose a transfer operation of transferring the substrate on which the organic solvent is residual from the liquid treating chamber to a drying chamber; and a drying operation of supplying a supercritical fluid from the drying chamber to the substrate, and removing the organic solvent residual on the substrate. However, Kawasaki teaches a substrate processing method comprising these steps to enhance the drying of the substrate (pg. 4, fifth full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by transferring the substrate to a supercritical drying chamber in order to dully dry the substrate as suggested by Kawasaki.
Regarding Claim 11: Lee and Kawasaki teach the elements of Claim 10 as discussed above. Though Lee does not expressly disclose a control releasing operation of increasing the pressure of the space above the substrate that was lowered in the pressure control operation, Lee does teach that by controlling the air introduced into the chamber by the regulating portion, the chamber pressure can be raised and lowered in order to keep the chamber clean and help remove remaining substances such as stains, particles, and the like from the wafer (pg. 4, fifth full paragraph). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Lee by increasing the pressure of the space above the substrate that was lowered in the pressure control operation in order to assist in particle removal, as suggested by Lee.
Regarding Claim 14: Lee further teaches the control releasing operation is performed before the substrate is unloaded and the pressure control operation includes disposing a blocking plate (element 32) in the space above the substrate to block downflow supplied to the space above the substrate to cause the pressure to be lowered (pg. 3, fifth full paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15: Lee further teaches the organic solvent is isopropyl alcohol (pg. 2).
Conclusion
/NATASHA N CAMPBELL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1714