DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Regarding independent claims 1 and 11, the applicant claims “an adjustment mechanism”, however, the instant specification does not describe or disclose “an adjustment mechanism”.
Namely, the Examiner points out that Para. 0033 of the instant specification only describes “a torque adjustment mechanism” which is a “linear movement ring 23 and the spring washer 25 constituting the torque adjustment mechanism” and Para. 0019 of the instant specification discloses “a linear movement ring (third member)”, however, it is unclear to the Examiner how the “linear movement ring (third member)” can simultaneously be the claimed “third member” and be part of a separate “torque adjustment member” that are disclosed as two different elements that perform two different functions.
Therefore, the claimed “adjustment mechanism” was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claim 11, the applicant claims “the first member is rotatable…by a drive unit” in lines 9 and 12 and “the image pickup apparatus comprises a drive unit” in line 16, however, it is unclear to the Examiner as to whether or not the claimed “drive unit” in lines 9 and 12 is the same “drive unit” referred to and claimed in line 16 or if the claimed “drive unit” in lines 9 and 12 are different and distinct from the “drive unit” referred to and claimed in line 16. For purposes of expediting prosecution, the Examiner interprets that --the claimed “drive unit” in lines 9 and 12 is the same “drive unit” referred to in line 16--.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Konishi (JP 2015014722; already of record).
Regarding claim 1, Konishi discloses, an optical apparatus (Para. 0001, 0011 and Figs. 1-9) comprising:
a first member (4c) rotatable (Para. 0012) about an optical axis,
a second member (4b) rotatable (Para. 0012) about the optical axis,
a third member (4a) movable (Para. 0012) in an optical axis direction,
a first biasing member (8a, b) biasing the first member and configured to apply a rotational load to the first member (Para. 0014 and 0017-0018), and
an adjustment mechanism (6a, 6b, 9a, 9b, 20a, 71a, 71b, 72a, 72b) configured to adjust the rotational load,
wherein the first member is rotatable manually or by a drive unit (11, 30) detachable from the optical apparatus (Para. 0008 and 0016-0018),
wherein the optical apparatus includes an operation member that is operated in conjunction with attachment of the drive unit to the optical apparatus (Para. 0008 and 0016-0018), and
wherein the adjustment mechanism rotates the second member about the optical axis by operating the operation member, moves the third member in the optical axis direction by rotating, and changes the rotational load (Para. 0020-0022 and 0033).
Regarding claim 2, Konishi discloses, the second member includes projections that protrude in the optical axis direction and come into contact with the third member, and the third member has a slope portion inclined with respect to the optical axis direction (Para. 0016-0018), wherein the adjustment mechanism changes a biasing force of the first biasing member by rotating the second member by operating the operation member and moving the third member in the optical axis direction by the slope portion with which the projections come into contact (Para. 0016-0018).
Regarding claim 3, Konishi discloses, the operation member includes a swing shaft portion (12a, b), a first contact portion extending from the swing shaft portion (Para. 0014 and 0017), and a second contact portion positioned in a direction perpendicular to the first contact portion and abutting on the second member (Para. 0014 and 0017), wherein when the drive unit is attached on the optical apparatus, the first contact portion is pressed, the operation member rotates about the swing shaft portion, and the second contact portion rotates the second member (Para. 0014 and 0017).
Regarding claim 4, Konishi discloses, a second biasing member (8a, b) is attached to the second member, and a biasing force (100, 200) applied to the third member by the second biasing member is larger than a biasing force by the first biasing member (Para. 0024-0025 and see 100, 200).
Regarding claim 5, Konishi discloses, a biasing force (100, 200) of the first biasing member changes in accordance with a rotation angle when the second member is within a predetermined range of rotation angle, and the biasing force of the first biasing member does not change when the second member is outside the predetermined range of rotation angle (Para. 0024-0025 and see 100, 200).
Regarding claim 6, Konishi discloses, an opening portion (10a, 23a) for operating the operation member (60a) is provided in an outer peripheral portion of the optical apparatus, and when the drive unit is attached, an action portion provided in the drive unit passes through the opening portion and presses the operation member, and when the drive unit is detached, the second biasing member acts and the operation member closes the opening portion (Para. 0016-0018 and 0022).
Regarding claim 7, Konishi discloses, even when the drive unit is attached to the optical apparatus, a biasing force of the first biasing member acts on the first member (Para. 0020-0022 and see 100, 200).
Regarding claim 8, Konishi discloses, the first member is a zoom operation ring for moving an optical system having an optical axis in the optical apparatus, the second member is a rotary ring held rotatably about the optical axis, and the third member is a linear movement ring that moves linearly along the optical axis (Para. 0016 and 0033-0036).
Regarding claim 9, Konishi discloses, a friction member (9a, b, 71a, b, 72a, b) configured to apply the rotational load to the first member, and wherein the first biasing member is in contact with the friction member at a plurality of points (Para. 0014, 0017 and 0033-0034).
Regarding claim 10, Konishi discloses, an attaching portion for fixing the drive unit (Para. 0017 and see where 11, 30 are attached to the 4a, b, c).
Regarding claim 11, Konishi discloses, an image pickup apparatus (Para. 0001, 0011 and Figs. 1-9) comprising:
an optical apparatus (Para. 0001, 0011 and Figs. 1-9) comprising:
a first member (4c) rotatable (Para. 0012) about an optical axis,
a second member (4b) rotatable (Para. 0012) about the optical axis,
a third member (4a) movable (Para. 0012) in an optical axis direction,
a first biasing member (8a, b) biasing the first member and configured to apply a rotational load to the first member (Para. 0014 and 0017-0018), and
an adjustment mechanism (6a, 6b, 9a, 9b, 20a, 71a, 71b, 72a, 72b) configured to adjust the rotational load,
wherein the first member is rotatable manually or by a drive unit (11, 30) detachable from the optical apparatus (Para. 0008 and 0016-0018),
wherein the optical apparatus includes an operation member that is operated in conjunction with attachment of the drive unit to the optical apparatus (Para. 0008 and 0016-0018), and
wherein the adjustment mechanism rotates the second member about the optical axis by operating the operation member, moves the third member in the optical axis direction by rotating, and changes the rotational load (Para. 0020-0022 and 0033),
wherein the image pickup apparatus comprises the drive unit (11, 30) configured to rotationally drive the first member, and an image pickup element (Para. 0011 and see 100 of Fig. 1) configured to capture an image formed by the optical apparatus (Para. 0011 and see 100 of Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Takanashi (US 2006/0177206) discloses an optical apparatus a first member, a second member, a third member, a first biasing member an adjustment mechanism.
/DAWAYNE PINKNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 06/08/2026