Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 8-12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gollakota (US 20150311944 A1) hereafter Gollakota.
Regarding Claim 1:
Gollakota discloses:
A wireless communication method,([¶0021] [¶0014] Examples described herein include ambient backscatter transceivers that utilize radio frequency (RF) signals to communicate with each other and associated systems and methods. ) comprising: transmitting, by a first communication device, a first back scattering signal to a second communication device; ([¶0021]The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may receive the backscattered ambient RF signal from the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1).) wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information harvesting and processing, ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. [¶0025] the power harvester 210 may be the sole power source for the ambient backscatter transceiver 200.) and the second communication device operates in a full-duplex mode in an operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0010] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient RF transceiver according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [¶0018] Thus, the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may indicate either a ‘0’ or a ‘1’ bit by switching the state of the antenna between the reflecting and non-reflecting states. The ambient RF signal that is reflected by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may create an additional path (e.g., a backscattered ambient RF signal) from ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) to the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2). The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may decode data encoded in the backscattered ambient RF signal by sensing the reflected power level changes in the backscattered ambient RF signal by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1). [¶0020] Switching the state of the antenna of the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may include adjusting an impedance of the antenna. Generally, when a wave encounters a boundary between two media that have different impedances/densities, the wave gets reflected back. The amount of reflection is typically determined by the difference in the impedance values of the antenna. By modulating the electrical impedance at the antenna, the amount of incident RF energy that is scattered is modulated, thus enabling information to be transmitted. For example, in the reflecting state, the antenna may have low impedance (e.g., a short circuit) to a reference node and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a first signal amplitude. In the non-reflecting state, the antenna may have high impedance (e.g., an open circuit) to the reference node, and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a second signal amplitude. The first amplitude may be greater than the second amplitude. In some embodiments, the second amplitude has a nominal or near zero amplitude. The antenna may be designed for a frequency of a targeted ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 2:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
further comprising: receiving, by the first communication device, a first carrier signal transmitted by the second communication device; wherein the first back scattering signal is generated by modulating the first carrier signal.([¶0025] In operation, the ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may transmit data by modulating a backscatter transmission of an ambient RF signal. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may also receive data by decoding modulation of a backscattered ambient RF signal. As previously described, backscattering transmission is achieved by changing the impedance of the antenna 204 via the transmitter 270 in the presence of an ambient RF signal. The microcontroller 230 may control the transmitter 270 to modulate the impedance of the antenna 204 and cause a change in the amount of energy of the ambient RF signal reflected by the antenna 204. For example, the microcontroller 230 may receive data from the sensors 240 or the input devices 260 (e.g., respond to a communication received from another ambient backscatter transceiver))
Regarding Claim 3:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
further comprising: receiving, by the first communication device, a first power supply signal transmitted by the second communication device, wherein an operating frequency band of the first power supply signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. The amount of power that the power harvester 210 is able to harvest from the ambient RF signal may be based on the range and broadcast power of the ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 4:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
further comprising: receiving, by the first communication device, a second carrier signal transmitted by the second communication device; and transmitting, by the first communication device, a second back scattering signal to the second communication device, wherein the second back scattering signal is generated by modulating the second carrier signal, and an operating frequency band of the second back scattering signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0025] In operation, the ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may transmit data by modulating a backscatter transmission of an ambient RF signal. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may also receive data by decoding modulation of a backscattered ambient RF signal. As previously described, backscattering transmission is achieved by changing the impedance of the antenna 204 via the transmitter 270 in the presence of an ambient RF signal. The microcontroller 230 may control the transmitter 270 to modulate the impedance of the antenna 204 and cause a change in the amount of energy of the ambient RF signal reflected by the antenna 204. For example, the microcontroller 230 may receive data from the sensors 240 or the input devices 260 (e.g., respond to a communication received from another ambient backscatter transceiver), and may modulate the transmitter 270 to encode the received data by modulating a backscatter of the ambient RF signal to produce the backscattered ambient RF signal that may be received by another ambient backscatter transceiver. Further, the receiver 220 may demodulate a received backscattered ambient RF signal from another ambient backscatter transceiver to provide output bits, and provide the output bits to the microcontroller 230. The microcontroller 230 may decode the output bits to retrieve data. In some embodiments, the microcontroller 230 may control the output devices 250 based on the decoded data. In some embodiments, the power harvester 210 may be the sole power source for the ambient backscatter transceiver 200. The power harvester 210 may harvest power from the ambient RF signal and provide the harvested power to power the microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250.)
Regarding Claim 8:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the first communication device comprises a back scattering transmitter, wherein the first back scattering signal is transmitted by the back scattering transmitter. ([¶0023] . Based on the input data, the microcontroller 230 may control the transmitter 270 to modulate a backscatter of the ambient RF signal via the antenna 204 to transmit the data. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may be used to implement the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1.)
Regarding Claim 9:
Gollakota discloses:
A first communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a processor and a memory, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first communication device to perform: ([¶0045] The network stack design for ambient backscatter communication may be integrated with the properties of the circuits and the previously described with reference to FIGS. 1-3. In the following example, described ambient backscatter transceivers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1, and described transmitters may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1 and/or the microcontroller 230 and/or transmitter 270 of FIG. 2. Additionally, described microcontrollers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1 and/or the microcontroller 230 of FIG. 2, and described receivers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1, the receiver 220 of FIG. 2, and/or the receiver 300 of FIG. 3. The physical layer for ambient backscatter communication generally determines modulation and coding schemes used to encode and transmit data via the backscattered ambient RF signal, which may be used to detect packets and bit boundaries.) transmitting a first back scattering signal to a second communication device; ([¶0021]The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may receive the backscattered ambient RF signal from the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1).) wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information harvesting and processing, ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. [¶0025] the power harvester 210 may be the sole power source for the ambient backscatter transceiver 200.) and the second communication device operates in a full-duplex mode in an operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0010] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient RF transceiver according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [¶0018] Thus, the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may indicate either a ‘0’ or a ‘1’ bit by switching the state of the antenna between the reflecting and non-reflecting states. The ambient RF signal that is reflected by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may create an additional path (e.g., a backscattered ambient RF signal) from ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) to the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2). The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may decode data encoded in the backscattered ambient RF signal by sensing the reflected power level changes in the backscattered ambient RF signal by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1). [¶0020] Switching the state of the antenna of the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may include adjusting an impedance of the antenna. Generally, when a wave encounters a boundary between two media that have different impedances/densities, the wave gets reflected back. The amount of reflection is typically determined by the difference in the impedance values of the antenna. By modulating the electrical impedance at the antenna, the amount of incident RF energy that is scattered is modulated, thus enabling information to be transmitted. For example, in the reflecting state, the antenna may have low impedance (e.g., a short circuit) to a reference node and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a first signal amplitude. In the non-reflecting state, the antenna may have high impedance (e.g., an open circuit) to the reference node, and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a second signal amplitude. The first amplitude may be greater than the second amplitude. In some embodiments, the second amplitude has a nominal or near zero amplitude. The antenna may be designed for a frequency of a targeted ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 10:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the first communication device further performs: receiving a first carrier signal transmitted by the second communication device; wherein the first back scattering signal is generated by modulating the first carrier signal. ([¶0025] In operation, the ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may transmit data by modulating a backscatter transmission of an ambient RF signal. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may also receive data by decoding modulation of a backscattered ambient RF signal. As previously described, backscattering transmission is achieved by changing the impedance of the antenna 204 via the transmitter 270 in the presence of an ambient RF signal. The microcontroller 230 may control the transmitter 270 to modulate the impedance of the antenna 204 and cause a change in the amount of energy of the ambient RF signal reflected by the antenna 204. For example, the microcontroller 230 may receive data from the sensors 240 or the input devices 260 (e.g., respond to a communication received from another ambient backscatter transceiver))
Regarding Claim 11:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the first communication device further performs: receiving a first power supply signal transmitted by the second communication device, wherein an operating frequency band of the first power supply signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. The amount of power that the power harvester 210 is able to harvest from the ambient RF signal may be based on the range and broadcast power of the ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 12:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the first communication device further performs: receiving a second carrier signal transmitted by the second communication device; and transmitting a second back scattering signal to the second communication device, wherein the second back scattering signal is generated by modulating the second carrier signal, and an operating frequency band of the second back scattering signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. The amount of power that the power harvester 210 is able to harvest from the ambient RF signal may be based on the range and broadcast power of the ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 16:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the first communication device comprises a back scattering transmitter, wherein the first back scattering signal is transmitted by the back scattering transmitter. ([¶0023] . Based on the input data, the microcontroller 230 may control the transmitter 270 to modulate a backscatter of the ambient RF signal via the antenna 204 to transmit the data. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may be used to implement the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1.)
Regarding Claim 17:
Gollakota discloses:
A second communication device, comprising: a transceiver, a processor and a memory, wherein the transceiver is configured to transmit and receive a signal, the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the second communication device to perform:([¶0045] The network stack design for ambient backscatter communication may be integrated with the properties of the circuits and the previously described with reference to FIGS. 1-3. In the following example, described ambient backscatter transceivers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1, and described transmitters may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1 and/or the microcontroller 230 and/or transmitter 270 of FIG. 2. Additionally, described microcontrollers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1 and/or the microcontroller 230 of FIG. 2, and described receivers may be implemented using the ambient backscatter transceivers 120(1-2) of FIG. 1, the receiver 220 of FIG. 2, and/or the receiver 300 of FIG. 3. The physical layer for ambient backscatter communication generally determines modulation and coding schemes used to encode and transmit data via the backscattered ambient RF signal, which may be used to detect packets and bit boundaries.) receiving a first back scattering signal transmitted by a first communication device; ([¶0021]The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may receive the backscattered ambient RF signal from the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1).)wherein the first communication device obtains power through power harvesting for communication, information harvesting and processing, ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. [¶0025] the power harvester 210 may be the sole power source for the ambient backscatter transceiver 200.)and the second communication device operates in a full-duplex mode in an operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0010] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient RF transceiver according to an embodiment of the disclosure; [¶0018] Thus, the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may indicate either a ‘0’ or a ‘1’ bit by switching the state of the antenna between the reflecting and non-reflecting states. The ambient RF signal that is reflected by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may create an additional path (e.g., a backscattered ambient RF signal) from ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) to the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2). The ambient backscatter transceiver 120(2) may decode data encoded in the backscattered ambient RF signal by sensing the reflected power level changes in the backscattered ambient RF signal by the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1). [¶0020] Switching the state of the antenna of the ambient backscatter transceiver 120(1) may include adjusting an impedance of the antenna. Generally, when a wave encounters a boundary between two media that have different impedances/densities, the wave gets reflected back. The amount of reflection is typically determined by the difference in the impedance values of the antenna. By modulating the electrical impedance at the antenna, the amount of incident RF energy that is scattered is modulated, thus enabling information to be transmitted. For example, in the reflecting state, the antenna may have low impedance (e.g., a short circuit) to a reference node and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a first signal amplitude. In the non-reflecting state, the antenna may have high impedance (e.g., an open circuit) to the reference node, and may reflect the ambient RF signal to provide a backscattered ambient RF signal that has a second signal amplitude. The first amplitude may be greater than the second amplitude. In some embodiments, the second amplitude has a nominal or near zero amplitude. The antenna may be designed for a frequency of a targeted ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 18:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the second communication device further performs: transmitting a first power supply signal to the first communication device, wherein an operating frequency band of the first power supply signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. The amount of power that the power harvester 210 is able to harvest from the ambient RF signal may be based on the range and broadcast power of the ambient RF signal.)
Regarding Claim 19:
Gollakota discloses the limitations of parent claims.
Gollakota discloses:
wherein the second communication device further performs: transmitting a second carrier signal to the first communication device; and receiving a second back scattering signal transmitted by the first communication device, wherein the second back scattering signal is generated by modulating the second carrier signal, and an operating frequency band of the second back scattering signal is different from the operating frequency band of the first back scattering signal. ([¶0023] FIG. 2 is a block diagram of an ambient backscatter transceiver 200 in accordance with embodiments of the present disclosure. The ambient backscatter transceiver 200 may include, for example, an antenna 204 coupled to a power harvester 210, a receiver 220, and a transmitter 270. The power harvester 210 may be configured to generate power from an ambient RF signal received via the antenna 204, and provide the power to a microcontroller 230, sensors 240, and output devices 250. The amount of power that the power harvester 210 is able to harvest from the ambient RF signal may be based on the range and broadcast power of the ambient RF signal.)
Allowable Subject Matter
5-7, 13-15, 20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding Claims 5 and 13:
Carrier signals used for back scatter modulation are transmitted via carrier aggregation
Regarding Claims 6 and 14:
Use of a harmonic signal of the power supply
Regarding Claims 7 and 15:
Dependence on claims 6 and 14 respectively
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20250063599 A1 References backscatter communications, half duplex backscattered communications and signals transmitted via carrier aggregation, however it is not explicitly stated that the signals carried via carrier aggregation are used for backscatter modulation.
US 20230291535 A1 Discloses in band full duplex backscatter communications as claimed in independent claims, however cited prior art US 20150311944 A1 describes the same methods without explicitly stating that they are full duplex and contains additional elements relevant to dependent claims that are absent in US 20230291535 A1.
“Large-Scale Wireless-Powered Networks With Backscatter Communications—A Comprehensive Survey” discloses different methods of backscatter communications and reads on the independent claims, and discloses power signal transmission separate from carrier signals however does not disclose a difference of frequencies.
/HUGH MARK ASHLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/ASAD M NAWAZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2463