DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui JP 2006-77950 in view of Nakayama JP 2016-191474.
Re clm 1, Matsui discloses a deep groove ball bearing ([0014]) comprising: an outer ring (2) having an outer ring raceway (2a), the outer ring raceway defines an outer ring raceway radius, two edges of the outer ring raceway in an axial direction defining an outer ring raceway limiting angle relative to a center of an arc of the outer ring raceway, an inner ring (3) having an inner ring raceway (3a), the inner ring raceway defines an inner ring raceway radius (R, Fig. 2), two edges of the inner ring raceway in the axial direction defining an inner ring raceway limiting angle relative to a center of an arc of the inner ring raceway, a range of the inner ring raceway limiting angle being 72°~99° (53% ratio and 18.5% H gives an angle of 98.8° based on circle geometry of chords and trigonometry ; [0007]); a plurality of balls arranged between the outer ring and the inner ring; and a cage (5) for holding the balls, and wherein a ratio of the inner ring raceway radius to the diameter of the balls defines a second ratio, a range of the second ratio being 0.510~0.530 (.53 is 53%; [0007]).
Matsui is silent as to the geometry of the outer raceway and does not disclose the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle being 66°~97°; wherein a ratio of the outer ring raceway radius to a diameter of the balls defines a first ratio, a range of the first ratio being 0.525~0.570.
Nakayama teaches a ball bearing comprising the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle being 66°~97° (57% ratio and H that is 18% of the ball diameter gives an angle of 93.7° based on circle geometry of chords and trigonometry; lines 117-121 and 131-135); wherein a ratio of the outer ring raceway radius to a diameter of the balls defines a first ratio, a range of the first ratio being 0.525~0.570 (57%; lines 117-121) for the purpose of reducing noise and vibration (lines 88-96).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matsui and provide the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle being 66°~97°; wherein a ratio of the outer ring raceway radius to a diameter of the balls defines a first ratio, a range of the first ratio being 0.525~0.570 for the purpose of reducing noise and vibration.
Re clm 2, although Matsui and Nakayama both teach that the ratio of the radius of the raceway to the ball diameter and the limiting angle (another way to define the depth H based on cord geometry of a circle) as result effective variables ([0006]-[0007] of Matsui; lines 88-96 and 131-135 of Nakayama), Matsui in view of Nakayama does not disclose the range of the first ratio is 0.530~0.565, the range of the second ratio is 0.515~0.530, the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle is 69°~94°, and the range of the inner ring raceway limiting angle is 76°~96°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsui and Nakayama and provide the range of the first ratio is 0.530~0.565, the range of the second ratio is 0.515~0.530, the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle is 69°~94°, and the range of the inner ring raceway limiting angle is 76°~96°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Re clm 3, although Matsui and Nakayama both teach that the ratio of the radius of the raceway to the ball diameter and the limiting angle (another way to define the depth H based on cord geometry of a circle and trigonometry) are result effective variables ([0006]-[0007] of Matsui; lines 88-96 and 131-135 of Nakayama), Matsui in view of Nakayama does not disclose the range of the first ratio is 0.535~0.560, the range of the second ratio is 0.520~0.530, the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle is 72°~84°, and the range of the inner ring raceway limiting angle is 80°~92°.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Matsui and Nakayama and provide the range of the first ratio is 0.535~0.560, the range of the second ratio is 0.520~0.530, the range of the outer ring raceway limiting angle is 72°~84°, and the range of the inner ring raceway limiting angle is 80°~92°, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Re clm 4 and 11, both Matsui and Nakayama further disclose the deep groove ball bearing comprises lubricating grease ([0005] of Matsui; lines 156-157 of Nakayama).
Re clm 5 and 12, the improvement of Nakayama further discloses the viscosity of the lubricating grease is less than 40 mm2/s at 40°C (lines 156-157 of Nakayama).
Re clm 6 and 13, the improvement of Nakayama further discloses the viscosity of the lubricating grease is less than 30 mm2/s at 40°C (lines 156-157).
Claims 7-9 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui JP 2006-77950 in view of Nakayama JP 2016-191474 as applied to claim 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Kanazawa WO 2022/230730.
Matsui in view of Nakayama discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 7 and 14, Matsui is silent as to the material of the cage and does not disclose the cage is made of a polymer.
Kanazawa discloses a bearing comprising a cage (Fig. 4). Kanazawa teaches making cages out of polymers such as phenolic resin or nylon (lines 20-24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to substitute the unknown material of Matsui with that of a polymer as taught by Kanazawa, since it has been held that the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended purpose would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945). See MPEP § 2144.07.
Re clm 8 and 15, the improvement of Kanazawa further discloses the cage is a nylon plastic cage (line 22).
Re clm 9 and 16, the improvement of Kanazawa further discloses the cage comprises a material capable of absorbing lubricating oil or grease (phenolic resin; line 23).
Claims 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsui JP 2006-77950 in view of Nakayama JP 2016-191474 as applied to claim 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Daniel DE 102019114939.
Matsui in view of Nakayama discloses all the claimed subject matter as described above.
Re clm 10 and 17, Matsui does not disclose the cage is provided with an opening or pore for storing lubricating oil or grease.
Daniel teaches a bearing cage comprising pores for storing lubricant and passing the lubricant to the pockets ([0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Matsui and provide the cage is provided with an opening or pore for storing lubricating oil or grease for the purpose of storing lubricant and passing the lubricant to the pockets.
Conclusion
/ALAN B WAITS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3617