DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
Claims 1 and 11, of instant application provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 8, of copending Application No. 19/092,159 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other as being explained below.
Instant Application 18/901,192.
Co-pending Application 19/092,159.
Claim 1. A method comprising steps of: receiving an original target domain and a lookalike domain;
converting the original target domain and the lookalike domain into pixelated images; calculating a similarity based on the pixelated images of the original target domain and the lookalike domain;
and
providing a similarity score based on the similarity.
11. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform steps of: receiving an original target domain and a lookalike domain; converting the original target domain and the lookalike domain into pixelated images; calculating a similarity based on the pixelated images of the original target domain and the lookalike domain; and providing a similarity score based on the similarity.
Claim 1. A method comprising steps of: receiving an original target domain and a lookalike domain; converting the original target domain and the lookalike domain into pixelated images; calculating a similarity via a trained Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) based on the pixelated images of the original target domain and the lookalike domain; and providing a similarity score based on the similarity.
8. A non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform steps of: receiving an original target domain and a lookalike domain; converting the original target domain and the lookalike domain into pixelated images; calculating a similarity via a trained Convolutional Neural Network (CNN) based on the pixelated images of the original target domain and the lookalike domain; and providing a similarity score based on the similarity.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 6, 9-11, 13, 16, and 19-20, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bartik (US PGPUB 2019/0068638 A1).
As per claim 1, Bartik discloses a method comprising steps of:
receiving an original target domain and a lookalike domain (Bartik, paragraphs 24-26, discloses legitimate domain landing page URL and suspicious URL);
converting the original target domain and the lookalike domain into pixelated images (Bartik, paragraphs 28 and 44);
calculating a similarity based on the pixelated images of the original target domain and the lookalike domain (Bartik, paragraphs 28-30, and 34, discloses The comparison may apply a keypoint extraction algorithm (e.g., KAZE or scale-invariant feature transform SIFT) to match the two screenshots. If the two screenshots contain a large number of matching keypoints, then the screenshots are considered similar and the suspicious URL receives a low phishing score. Alternatively, if the two screenshots contain a low number of matching keypoints, then the screenshots are not considered to be similar and the suspicious URL receives a high phishing score. A high similarity between the screenshots may relate to a benign URL (i.e., domain landing page URL) and a low similarity between the screenshots may relate to a suspicious URL); and
providing a similarity score based on the similarity (Bartik, paragraph 29-30, and 47-48, discloses similarity score).
As per claim 3, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein calculating the similarity is based on a similarity of a location of the pixels of the target domain and lookalike domain pixelated images (Bartik, paragraph 44).
As per claim 6, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the steps comprise: displaying a notification to a customer based on the score (Bartik, paragraphs 25-26).
As per claim 9, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: generating a list of one or more lookalike domains based on similarity (Bartik, paragraph 26).
As per claim 10, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the steps further comprise: utilizing the lookalike domain for performing one or more functions (Bartik, paragraphs 26 and 40).
As per claim 11, Bartik discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors (Bartik, paragraph 12) to perform steps of:
For rest of claim limitations please see the analysis of claim 1.
As per claim 13, please see the analysis of claim 3.
As per claim 16, please see the analysis of claim 6.
As per claim 19, please see the analysis of claim 9.
As per claim 20, please see the analysis of claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartik (US PGPUB 2019/0068638 A1) and further in view of Mao (CN 113596016 A, hereinafter Mao, an English translation of the CN is being attached herewith and utilized for citation).
As per claim 2, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the Bartik does not explicitly disclose images are converted to a same size and to black and white (0,1) values.
Mao discloses images are converted to a same size and to black and white (0,1) values (Mao, page 11, discloses binary code obtained by pixel value conversion of each pixel point of the black-and-white image with the same size)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bartik teachings by implementing image processing technique, as taught by Mao.
The motivation would be to provide an improved system for malicious domain name detection (page 1), as taught by Mao.
As per claim 12, please see the analysis of claim 2.
Claim(s) 5, and 15, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartik (US PGPUB 2019/0068638 A1) and further in view of Natarajan (US PGPUB 2015/0319182 A1).
As per claim 5, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the similarity score is any of a real phishing score generated by a context similarity score, and a graphical similarity score (Bartik, paragraphs 25, 35 and 44).
Bartik does not explicitly disclose score is generated by a Zulu system.
Natarajan discloses score is generated by a Zulu system (Natarajan, paragraphs 84 and 88).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bartik teachings by implementing risk analyzer to the system, as taught by Matarajan.
The motivation would be to provide an improved technique to detect malware (paragraph 84), as taught by Matarajan.
As per claim 15, please see the analysis of claim 5.
Claim(s) 4, 7-8, 14, and 17-18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bartik (US PGPUB 2019/0068638 A1) and further in view of Lev (US PGPUB 2006/0120607 A1).
As per claim 4, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the steps comprise: Although Bartik discloses pixel difference between the original target domain and the lookalike domain, however Bartik does not explicitly disclose calculating a percentage difference based on a quantity of different pixels between the original target domain and the lookalike domain.
Lev discloses calculating a percentage difference based on a quantity of different pixels between the original target domain and the lookalike domain (Lev, paragraphs 58, 87 and 99).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bartik teachings by implementing an image recognition technique to the system, as taught by Lev.
The motivation would be to provide an improved system for user authentication, access control, expedited processes, security, or location identification (paragraph 4), as taught by Lev.
As per claim 7, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the Bartik does not explicitly disclose calculating includes utilizing a sliding window logic adapted determine a best lookalike permutation.
Lev discloses calculating includes utilizing a sliding window logic adapted determine a best lookalike permutation (Lev, paragraph 58).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Bartik teachings by implementing an image recognition technique to the system, as taught by Lev.
The motivation would be to provide an improved system for user authentication, access control, expedited processes, security, or location identification (paragraph 4), as taught by Lev.
As per claim 8, Bartik further discloses the method of claim 7, wherein the sliding window logic is configured to add a one-word gap between letters of either the target domain or the lookalike domain (Lev, paragraph 58, discloses sliding window).
As per claim 14, please see the analysis of claim 4.
As per claim 17, please see the analysis of claim 7.
As per claim 18, please see the analysis of claim 8.
Conclusion
/SYED HAIDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2633