DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bovenshulte et al. (US 8,613,024 B2, hereinafter refers Bovenshulte) in view of Locke (US 2008/0028023 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Bovenshulte discloses a method for recommending content to a client device, the method comprising:
receiving, by one or more processors, a request from a client device, wherein the request includes one or more previous ratings corresponding to one or more content items (Fig. 10 and Fig. 13, el. 1305, col. 21, lines 1-18, the historical rating is received and extrapolate to determine more predicted rating );
generating, by the one or more processors, a recommendation including one or more recommended items, wherein the recommendation is based on the one or more previous ratings received in the request (Fig. 14, el. 1415, the programming recommendations are provided based on the rating);
transmitting, by the one or more processors, the recommendation to the client device (Fig. 14, el. 1415, col. 21, lines 14-35);
Bovenshulte does not explicitly disclose deleting, by the one or more processors, the one or more ratings received in the request;
Locke teaches deleting, by the one or more processors, the one or more ratings received in the request (para. 64, to delete previous rating);
It would be obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention to modify Bovenshulte to include Locke in order for a system to predict a more accurate data in provide the rating of a program.
Regarding claim 2, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses wherein generating the recommendation is further based on a predicted rating vector, wherein the predicted rating vector includes one or more predicted ratings for each of the one or more recommended items (Bovenshulte, Fig. 14, el. 1415, Fig. 4, el. 420).
Regarding claim 3, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses updating, by the one or more processors, the predicted ratings vector based on the one or more previous ratings corresponding to the one or more content items (Bovenshulte Fig. 13, col. 21, lines 1-14).
Regarding claim 4, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses wherein generating the recommendation further comprises: estimating, by the one or more processors, a weight vector in a factor model for identifying the one or more recommended items; utilizing, by the one or more processors, the estimated weight vector to determine the predicted rating vector (Bovenshulte Fig. 12, el. 1205-1210, col. 20, lines 43-61);
and selecting, by the one or more processors, a subset of the one or more recommended items based on the predicted rating vector (Bovenshulte Fig. 14, el. 1415).
Regarding claim 5, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses outputting, by the one or more processors, at least one recommended item of the one or more recommended items with a high predicted rating on a user interface of the client device (Fig. 14, el. 1415, Fig. 4, el. 420).
Regarding claim 6, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses wherein the recommendation includes a recommended item for each of the one or more content items (Fig. 14, el. 1415, Fig. 4, el. 420).
Regarding claim 7, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses wherein the one or more ratings corresponding to one or more content items are represented in a ratings vector, wherein a nonzero value in the ratings vector represents a user engagement with one of the one or more content items beyond a minimum threshold for engagement (Fig. 12, el. 1205, col. 20, lines 43-50).
Regarding claim 8, Bovenshulte in view of Locke discloses wherein the recommendation includes a scaled weight corresponding to each of the one or more recommended items, wherein the scaled weight corresponds to a relationship between the one or more recommended items and the corresponding one or more content items (Fig. 4, el. 400, the scale weight for this program is at 4 stars rating).
Regarding claim 9, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 10, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 11, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 12, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
Regarding claim 13, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 5.
Regarding claim 14, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 6.
Regarding claim 15, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 7.
Regarding claim 16, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 8.
Regarding claim 17, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 18, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 2.
Regarding claim 19, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 3.
Regarding claim 20, the instant claim is analyzed with respect to claim 4.
Conclusion
/CAI Y CHEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2425