DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 9/30/24. Claims 1-28 are pending. Claims 1-28 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/10/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered. Cited US references have been considered, however cited NPL references were not provided, and therefore have not been considered.
Claim Objections
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: The claim recites “…together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly.” This language is cumbersome and appears to be a run on sentence.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
CONCLUSION.--The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the Applicant regards as his invention.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which Applicant regards as the invention. The claims make reference to “the particular operations includes…” which is discussed in claim 18. These claims recite “the patient support assembly of claim 1,” however, as best understood these claims appear to be referring back to claim 18. For purposes of examination, claims 19-20 have been interpreted as depending from claim 18. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). The claim recites the limitation "the docking assembly." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim because there is no prior recitation of “a docking assembly” either in this claim, or in prior claims from which this claim depends. Appropriate correction is required.
In view of the above rejections the respective claims are rejected as best understood on prior art as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-17, 23-26, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”).
Claim 1. A patient support assembly (Hight, Figs. 1 and 6) for connection with a tube connector (Hight, Fig. 42, #220) of at least one patient top (Hight, Fig. 1, #14) for supporting a patient's body (Hight, Fig. 6) above the floor, the patient support assembly comprising: at least one support tower (Hight, Fig. 6, #’s 32) for supporting the at least one patient top above the floor for selective rotation about a rotation axis (Hight, Fig. 1, #22), a connection assembly (Hight, Fig. 42)secured with the at least one support tower for selectively connecting with the tube connector of the at least one patient top, and a user interface adapted to display a 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Hight discloses a user interface in at least Fig. 4 and discloses in paragraph [0203] dynamic information on the GUI that may be used by a surgeon even with the patient is covered with surgical drapes and the bed is not directly visible, but Hight does not specifically disclose a 3-D depiction of the patient support assembly; Madonna teaches a user interface in which the contents of a room are represented in a 3-D depiction, and discusses in paragraph [0035] that this depiction can include beds, and motor-actuated devices; Hight discloses a button-centric user interface, and Madonna also discusses the shortcomings of such user interfaces in paragraphs [0007]-[0010]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bed of Hight with the user interface of Madonna, since doing so would have simply been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable and obvious results, and would overcome the shortcomings identified by Madonna; furthermore, the use of the interface of Madonna with the apparatus of Hight would have simply been applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results; this rationale for combining, as well as the resulting combined apparatus also applies to the below discussion of dependent claims).
Claim 6. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction includes representation of the user interface (Hight paragraph [0203] indicates that the user interface dynamically display lift and rotation angle statuses, and Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches that the display may be a “photo-realistic depiction” that is “dynamically updated,” which reads on Applicant’s 3-dimensional depiction”)
Claim 7. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly corresponding with an actual arrangement of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] and Madonna paragraph [0035]).
Claim 8. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly to have an angle of Trendelenburg inclination corresponding with an actual angle of Trendelenburg inclination of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 9. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly to have an angle of tilt corresponding with an actual angle of tilt of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 10. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly to have a Hight of the at least one end support corresponding with an actual Hight of the at least one end support of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 11. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly to have an amount of extension of a slide plate of the connection assembly corresponding with an actual amount of extension of the slide plate of the connection assembly of the patient support assembly (Applicant’s slide plate, as best understood, appears to be disclosed at #40 in Applicant’s Fig. 3; Hight discusses an equivalent plate #650 which slides along a base #652, as discussed in paragraphs [0222]-[0224] and seen in Figs. 13, 18, and 19; regarding a real-time 3-dimensional depiction, see Madonna paragraph [0035]).
Claim 12. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes representation of the arrangement of the patient support assembly to have an amount of extension of a slide plate of the connection assembly corresponding with an actual amount of extension of the slide plate of the connection assembly of the patient support assembly (Applicant’s slide plate, as best understood, appears to be disclosed at #40 in Applicant’s Fig. 3; Hight discusses an equivalent plate #650 which slides along a base #652, as discussed in paragraphs [0222]-[0224] and seen in Figs. 13, 18, and 19; regarding a real-time 3-dimensional depiction, see Madonna paragraph [0035]).
Claim 13. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is adapted to display an indication of a desired angle of Trendelenburg inclination together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 14. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is adapted to display an indication of a desired angle of tilt together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 15. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is adapted to display an indication of a desired Hight of the at least one end support together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 16. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is adapted to display an indication of a desired amount of extension of a slide plate of the connection assembly together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Applicant’s slide plate, as best understood, appears to be disclosed at #40 in Applicant’s Fig. 3; Hight discusses an equivalent plate #650 which slides along a base #652, as discussed in paragraphs [0222]-[0224] and seen in Figs. 13, 18, and 19; regarding a real-time 3-dimensional depiction, see Madonna paragraph [0035]).
Claim 17. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly includes at least one of: an angle of Trendelenburg inclination corresponding with an actual angle of Trendelenburg inclination, an angle of tilt corresponding with an actual angle of tilt, a Hight of the at least one end support corresponding with an actual Hight, and an amount of extension of a slide plate of the connection assembly corresponding with an actual amount of extension of the slide plate of the connection assembly of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Madonna paragraph [0035] teaches a 3-dimensional depiction).
Claim 23. The patient support assembly of claim 1, further comprising at least one detector adapted to detect as an input an indication of at least one of: an angle of Trendelenburg inclination, a Hight of the at least one end support, an amount of extension of a slide plate of the docking assembly, an angle of tilt, a disengagement of a lock mechanism of the connection assembly to permit flip rotation the at least one patient support top about the rotation axis, a type of support top of the at least one support top, a presence of the tube connector in a receiver of the docking assembly, a presence of a lateral extension connected with the connection assembly, and a correct securement of the lateral extension with the connection assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses).
Claim 24. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is configured to display a menu of preset positions for selection by the user to adjust the patient support assembly to corresponding predetermined configurations responsive to the execution by the user of the selected one of the preset positions (Hight discloses the use of “GUI interfaces such as LCD screens with menus” in paragraph [0202]).
Claim 25. The patient support assembly of claim 24, wherein the menu of preset positions for selection by the user include at least one of a preset operating position, a preset imaging position, and another preset imaging position (the apparatus of Hight is capable of being used for a surgical operation or for an imaging operation; moreover, any position of the apparatus of Hight can be considered to be an operating position, or an imaging position, or some other designation).
Claim 26. The patient support assembly of claim 24, wherein the user interface is adapted to display an indication of the configuration of the patient support assembly corresponding to an active one of the number of preset positions together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Madonna provides the capability of a real-time 3-D depiction of the apparatus; see discussion in rejection of claim 1, above).
Claim 28. The patient support assembly of claim 1, further comprising a control system in communication with at least one sensor for communicating the actual arrangement of the patient support assembly (Hight paragraph [0314] discusses a control system in conjunction with angle and height sensors).
Claims 2 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) and US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”), in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0223821 to Collins, Jr. et al. (“Collins”).
Claim 2. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is operable to indicate that an acceptable clearance Hight of the at least one patient top above the floor has been reached to permit selective rotation of the at least one patient top about the rotation axis (Hight does not discuss monitoring “an acceptable clearance Hight”, however, such functionality is well known in the prior art as taught by Collins in at least paragraphs [0006], [0009], and [0093] which describe an alarm condition for “the Hight of an upper frame of the bed relative to a base frame;” and describes “associated alarm condition thresholds”; thus Collins teaches measuring a Hight of a bed to be within a certain threshold that then allows for a therapy, such as rotation, to occur; and additionally states “other alarm conditions on the surface therapy template may be based on siderail position (e.g., a siderail is lowered during rotation therapy) or bed frame position (e.g., the head section is raised during a therapy)”; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the bed of Hight with the threshold and alarm function of Collins in order to ensure that rotation therapy does not occur when the bed Hight is at an inappropriate level for bed rotation).
Claim 18. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the user interface is configured to display a warning indicating that the arrangement of the patient support assembly is incompatible with particular operations (Collins teaches the claimed warning indication system; see at least paragraphs [0006], [0009], and [0093], and discussion above with respect to claim 2).
Claim 19. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the particular operations includes rotation of the at least one patient support top about the rotation axis and the user interface is configured to display the warning responsive to the arrangement of the patient support assembly including at least of one of: an angle of Trendelenburg inclination other than zero, a Hight of the at least one end support below a threshold Hight, an angle of tilt other than zero, a disengagement of a lock mechanism of the connection assembly to permit flip rotation the at least one patient support top about the rotation axis assembly (Hight paragraph [0203] discusses Hight and lift and rotation angle statuses; Collins teaches the claimed warning indication system; see at least paragraphs [0006], [0009], and [0093], and discussion above with respect to claim 2).
Claims 3-5, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) and US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”), in view of US Patent Application Publication 2013/03470165 to Dong et al. (“Dong”).
Claim 3. The patient support assembly of claim 1, further comprising a controller adapted to detect the type of the at least one patient support top connected with the connection assembly (Hight does not disclose detecting a type of a patient support top; however this functionality is taught in the prior art of Dong, in at least Fig. 16 and discussed in paragraphs [0114]-[0120]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hight with the connection detecting capability of Dong for the purpose discussed by Dong in paragraphs [0032]-[0033] that being to prevent and mitigate collisions between the bed and other objects).
Claim 4. The patient support assembly of claim 3, wherein the user interface is configured to display the type of the at least one patient support top connected with the connection assembly (Dong paragraph [0076] discusses, for example, a headrest; Madonna teaches a dynamic image that is based on the actual physical condition of the apparatus as discussed in Madonna paragraphs [0035]-[0038]; therefore, in the proposed combination of Hight with Madonna and Dong, it is inherent that the user interface displays the specific configuration of the bed surface)
Claim 5. The patient support assembly of claim 4, wherein the type of the at least one patient support top connected with the connection assembly is selected from a group comprising: a supine top, a lateral top, and a prone top (the apparatus of Hight is capable of various support positions; see at least Hight Figs. 5-6)
Claim 21. The patient support assembly of claim 1, further comprising a detector adapted to detect as an input an indication of a type of support top of the at least one support top (Hight does not disclose detecting a type of a patient support top; however this functionality is taught in the prior art of Dong, in at least Fig. 16 and discussed in paragraphs [0114]-[0120]; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the apparatus of Hight with the connection detecting capability of Dong for the purpose discussed by Dong in paragraphs [0032]-[0033] that being to prevent and mitigate collisions between the bed and other objects).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) and US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”), in view of US Patent Application Publication 2012/0223821 to Collins, Jr. et al. (“Collins”), and US Patent 10,835,438 to Jackson.
Claim 20. The patient support assembly of claim 1, wherein the particular operations include lateral leg drop of a leg section of the at least one patient support top and the user interface is configured to display the warning responsive to the arrangement of the patient support assembly including at least of one of: an angle of Trendelenburg inclination other than zero, a Hight of the at least one end support below a threshold Hight, an angle of tilt other than zero, disengagement of a lock mechanism of the connection assembly to permit flip rotation about the rotation axis (Hight does not disclose a “lateral leg drop of a leg section”; however Jackson Fig. 5 teaches an orthopedic table with this capability; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide this capability to the apparatus of Hight in order to allow for a leg drop position to facilitate specific surgical procedures; regarding a warning, Collins teaches these features; see discussion with respect to claim 2, above).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) and US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”), and US Patent Application Publication 2013/03470165 to Dong et al. (“Dong”), in view of US Patent Application Publication 2014/0310876 to Roussy, Jr. et al. (“Roussy”).
Claim 22. The patient support assembly of claim 21, wherein the detector includes at least one reed switch (Dong does not disclose the use of a reed switch, however Dong discloses the use of an electrical current sensor, which is disclosed to be a hall effect sensor, and Roussy teaches that hall effect sensors and reed switches are art recognized equivalents in at least paragraphs [0034]-[0035]; therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a reed switch to determine connection and detection of a component, as is taught by Dong).
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication 2013/0269710 to Hight et al. (“Hight”) and US Patent Application Publication 2014/0181704 to Madonna et al. (“Madonna”), in view of US Patent 9,582,838 to Henderson et al. (“Henderson”).
Claim 27. The patient support assembly of claim 26, wherein the indication of the configuration of the patient support assembly corresponding to the active one of the preset positions is a transparent overlay of at least a portion of the patient support assembly in the active one of the preset positions together with the depiction of 3-dimensional depiction of the patient support assembly (Hight and Madonna do not disclose the use of a transparent overlay, however such features are known in the art of GUI’s at least as taught by Henderson in at least the Abstract and in Fig. 2 at 46a; it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to provide the GUI of Hight and/or Madonna with transparent overlays since doing so would have simply been combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable and obvious results, and furthermore since there does not appear to be any criticality to the choice, aside from aesthetic purposes).
Conclusion
/MYLES A THROOP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679