DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated
Shinya’460 (WO 2015064760).
With respect to claim 8, Shinya’460 teaches a print system (Fig.1) comprising a support program [regarding to the plug-in application 24 shown in Fig.5] implemented in an information processing device (Fig.1, item 16) and a printing device [regarding to the combination of the print server device 14 and output device 15 and 17 shown in Fig.1] connected with the information processing device,
wherein the support program is executable by a computer of the information processing device and compatible with the printing device, the support program supporting a general-purpose print program [regarding to the virtual printer driver (Fig.3, item 22) and the real printer driver (Fig.3, item 23)] incorporated in advance in an operating system of the information processing device [As shown in Fig.13, the functions including “JOB ACCUMULAITON SETTING”, “PROXY PRINT SETTING” AND “ACCOUNT SETTING” associated with plug-in application are being provided to be selected to be configured on a graphical user interface],
wherein the printing device having an accumulative printing function, in a case where the accumulative printing function is enabled, the printing device being configured to store a print job in a memory of the printing device without starting printing when receiving the print job [The print data retention unit retains print data. The print job information retention unit retains print job information. The print control unit receives a request for print job information from the output device or the like, and provides the print job information to the output device or the like (page 17). In addition, the print server provides the accumulated print data to the print data to the output device when the output device requests for it (Fig. 23)],
wherein, the support program is configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform (Fig.13 and Fig.12):
in a case where a process is required from the general-purpose print program and the accumulative printing is enabled, determining user identification information that can be handled by the printing device [as shown in Fig.23, output device 17 needs to verify the user authentication using the authentication server device before requesting the accumulated print data from the print server device 14 for printing]: and
in a case where execution of a process is required from the general-purpose print program in response to a print instruction which instructs the general-use printing program to cause the printing device to print an image and is output by an application program implemented in the information processing device and the accumulative printing is enabled, transmitting, to the printing device, the print job that the user identification information is assigned when the user identification information is determined in the determining [the job list associated with the authenticated user is being provided (Fig.23, steps S23 and S24, and page 30)],
wherein the printing device is configured to execute printing based on the print job on a condition that user identification information assigned to the print job matches user identification information received by the printing device (Fig.23, step S27).
With respect to claim 1, it is a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium claim and it is being rejected for the same manner as described in the rejected claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shinya’460 (WO 2015064760), and further in view of KUMIKO’788 (JP 2002014788).
With respect to claim 2, which further limits claim 1, Shinya’460 does not teach, wherein, the determining comprising: obtaining a login user name of a user logging in the information processing device from the operating system; determining the user identification information based on the obtained login user name in a case where a language selected on the operating system is not a language containing characters that the printing device cannot handle; and causing a user interface of the information processing device to display a user name input screen configured to receive input of a user name in a case where a language selected on the operating system is a language containing characters that the printing device cannot handle.
KUMIKO’788 teaches wherein, the determining comprising: obtaining a login user name of a user logging in the information processing device from the operating system [as shown in Fig.11a and Fig. 12b, the user’s name and password are being entered into the printer driver by a user. The said user is considered to login to the computer (Fig.1, item 2)];
determining the user identification information based on the obtained login user name in a case where a language selected on the operating system is not a language containing characters that the printing device cannot handle [the display capability information acquisition / transmission unit of the printer is requested in advance to transmit the display capability information (display size, display language type, etc.) of the display device and the display capability information is acquired. An acquisition step of accumulating the data in a storage area of the computer including the sex memory and the like is performed (page 12). The display capability matching / comparing unit reads the display capability information previously acquired by the display capability information acquiring unit from the storage area and compares the user’s name and the print job name input by the user or automatically, and displays them. A comparison step is performed to determine whether or not the capability is met (page 13)]; and
causing a user interface of the information processing device to display a user name input screen configured to receive input of a user name in a case where a language selected on the operating system is a language containing characters that the printing device cannot handle [The display capability matching / comparing unit reads the display capability information previously acquired by the display capability information acquiring unit from the storage area and compares the user name and the print job name input by the user or automatically, and displays them (page 13). The display capability information includes display language type of the display device (page 12)].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Shinya’460 according to the teaching of KUMIKO’788 to provide a user interface to enable the user to define the display language in the printer because this will allow the printer to be used more effectively.
Claim objection
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein, the determining comprising: in a case where the login user name of a user logging in the information processing device is obtained from the operating system and an additional information other than information indicating a user name is added to the obtained login user name, determining the user identification information based on the user name that the additional information is removed.” Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon an objected base claim 3 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein, information indicating a device name is added to the obtained login user name as the additional information.” Claim 3 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claim 4 is objected to as being dependent upon an objected base claim 3 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein, in the case where execution of a process is required from the general-purpose print program in response to the print instruction which instructs the general-use printing program to cause the printing device to print an image and is output by the application program implemented in the information processing device and the accumulative printing is enabled, the support program is configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform: the determining; and the transmitting of transmitting, to the printing device, a print job that the user identification determined in the determining is added.” Claim 4 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims
Claim 6 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein, in the case where execution of a process is required from the general-purpose print program in response to the print instruction which instructs the general-use printing program to cause the printing device to print an image and is output by the application program implemented in the information processing device and the accumulative printing is enabled, the support program is configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform: reading the user identification information from the memory when the user identification information is stored in the memory; and the transmitting of transmitting, to the printing device, the print job that the read user identification determined is added”. Claim 6 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 7 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim 1 because the prior art of record does not teach “wherein, in the case where execution of a process is required from the general-purpose print program in response to the print instruction which instructs the general-use printing program to cause the printing device to print an image and is output by the application program implemented in the information processing device and the accumulative printing is enabled, the support program is configured to, when executed by the computer, cause the information processing device to perform: reading the user identification information from the memory when the user identification information is stored in the memory; and the transmitting of transmitting, to the printing device, the print job that the read user identification determined is added.” Claim 7 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to HUO LONG CHEN whose telephone number is (571)270-3759. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F 9am - 5pm. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Tieu, Benny can be reached on (571) 272-7490. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/HUO LONG CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682