DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 30 September 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 17 recites the limitation " the L3 encrypted tunnel" in Lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner believes this to be a typographical error and that it should be “the L2 encrypted tunnel”. For the purposes of examination, Examiner will treat claim 17 as such. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 17 (when corrected to correct the antecedent basis issue above) be found allowable, claim 20 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Double Patenting
Claims 1-6, 8-11, 13-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,186. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application represent a broadening and obvious variation of the claims of the ‘186 Patent.
As to claim 1, the ‘186 Patent discloses a method comprising (Claim 1: A method comprising):
receiving, from a first pod hosting a first container associated with a microservices application, traffic that is to be sent to a second pod (Claim 1: receiving, from a first pod hosting a first container associated with a microservices application, traffic that is to be sent to a second pod);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Claim 1: determining that Layer-7 (L7) data within the traffic is unencrypted); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second pod via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod (Claim 1: and based at least in part on the L7 data being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second pod via a Layer-3 (L3) encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiner note: While the ‘186 Patent discloses an L3 encrypted tunnel rather than an L2 encrypted tunnel, the choice of layer at which to create the encrypted tunnel is an obvious variation as there are a small number of layers in the OSI model at which to create an encrypted tunnel).
As to claim 2, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the first pod is running on a first node associated with an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications (Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein the first pod is running on a first node associated with an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications.).
As to claim 3, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the second pod is running on a second node associated with the orchestration system (Claim 3: The method of claim 2, wherein the second pod is running on a second node associated with the orchestration system).
As to claim 4, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the second pod is hosting a second container associated with at least one of the microservices application or another microservices application (Claim 4: The method of claim 1, wherein the second pod is hosting a second container associated with at least one of the microservices application or another microservices application.).
As to claim 5, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod (Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod).
As to claim 6, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first pod or the second pod (Claim 6: The method of claim 1, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first pod or the second pod. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 8, the ‘186 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein determining that the data within any of L3-L7 is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic (Claim 9: The method of claim 1, wherein determining that the L7 data within the traffic is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic.).
As to claim 9, the ‘186 Patent discloses a system comprising (Claim 10: A system comprising):
one or more processors (Claim 10: one or more processors); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (Claim 10: and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising):
receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system, the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application (Claim 10: receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system, the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Claim 10: determining that Layer-7 (L7) data within the traffic is unencrypted, wherein determining that the L7 data within the traffic is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host (Claim 10: and based at least in part on the L7 data being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-3 (L3) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 10, the ‘186 Patent discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the first container host is a first pod that is running on a first node of the orchestration system and the second container host is running on at least one of the first node or a second node associated with the orchestration system (Claim 11: The system of claim 10, wherein the first container host is a first pod that is running on a first node of the orchestration system and the second container host is running on at least one of the first node or a second node associated with the orchestration system.)
As to claim 11, the ‘186 Patent discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 12: The system of claim 10, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 13, the ‘186 Patent discloses the system of claim 9, wherein determining that the data within any of L3-L7 is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic (Claim 10: determining that Layer-7 (L7) data within the traffic is unencrypted, wherein determining that the L7 data within the traffic is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic).
As to claim 14, the ‘186 Patent discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising (Claim 15: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising):
receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system, the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application (Claim 15: receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system, the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Claim 15: determining that Layer-7 (L7) data within the traffic is unencrypted); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host (Claim 15: and based at least in part on the L7 data being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-3 (L3) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 15, the ‘186 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the first container host is a first container host that is running on a first node of the orchestration system (Claim 16: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the first container host is a first pod that is running on a first node of the orchestration system and the second container host is running on at least one of the first node or a second node associated with the orchestration system).
As to claim 16, the ‘186 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the second container host is running on at least one of the first node or a second node associated with the orchestration system (Claim 16: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the first container host is a first pod that is running on a first node of the orchestration system and the second container host is running on at least one of the first node or a second node associated with the orchestration system).
As to claim 17, the ‘186 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 17: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 15, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host. Examiner note: In light of the rejection of claim 17 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, see also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 19, the ‘186 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the operations are performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first container host (Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod).
As to claim 20, the ‘186 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 12: The system of claim 10, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 7, 12 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12,192,186 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286439 by Takahashi et al.
As to claims, 7, 12 and 18, the ‘186 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 1, 9 and 14 from which clams 7, 12 and 18 depend.
The ‘186 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is a Media Access Control Security (MACsec) tunnel.
Takahashi discloses wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is a Media Access Control Security (MACsec) tunnel (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25, MACsec tunnel used to transmit data between two nodes. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
The ‘186 Patent and Takahashi are analogous art because they are from the common area of network communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, the MACsec tunnel of Takahasi with the teachings of the ‘186 Patent. The rationale would have been to provide a physically isolated channel for message transmission (Takahashi: Page 1, Sec 3).
Claims 1, 5-6, 9, 11-14, 17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,824,845. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application represent a broadening and obvious variation of the claims of the ‘845 Patent.
As to claim 1, the ‘845 Patent discloses a method comprising (Claim 1: A method that is performed at least partially by a program running on a first node of a cloud-based network, the method comprising):
receiving, from a first pod hosting a first container associated with a microservices application, traffic that is to be sent to a second pod (Claim 1: receiving, from a first pod running on the first node, traffic that is to be sent to a second pod, the first pod hosting a container associated with a microservices application);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Claim 1: determining whether the traffic is encrypted or unencrypted and Claim 5: The method of claim 1, wherein determining whether the traffic is encrypted or unencrypted comprises determining whether the traffic is transport layer security (TLS) traffic or non-TLS traffic; Examiner Note: TLS traffic is at Layer 4 of the OSI model); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second pod via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod (Claim 1: sending the traffic to the second pod via an encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod based at least in part on determining that the traffic is unencrypted. And Claim 8: The method of claim 1, wherein sending the traffic to the second pod via the encrypted tunnel comprises sending the traffic to the second pod via a layer 3 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiner note: While the ‘186 Patent discloses an L3 encrypted tunnel rather than an L2 encrypted tunnel, the choice of layer at which to create the encrypted tunnel is an obvious variation as there are a small number of layers in the OSI model at which to create an encrypted tunnel).
As to claim 5, the ‘845 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod (Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein the program is an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program running in a kernel space of the first node).
As to claim 6, the ‘845 Patent discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first pod or the second pod (Claim 3: The method of claim 1, further comprising establishing, by an agent executing on the first node, the encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 9, the ‘845 Patent discloses a system comprising (Claim 10: A system comprising):
one or more processors (Claim 10: one or more processors); and
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising (Claim 10: and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the system to perform operations comprising):
receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system (Claim 10: receiving, from a first pod running on a first node of a cloud-based network, traffic that is to be sent to a second pod), the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application (Claim 17: The system of claim 10, wherein the first pod is hosting a container associated with a microservices application and the traffic is associated with the microservices application);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Claim 10: determining whether the traffic is encrypted or unencrypted and Claim 14: The system of claim 10, wherein determining whether the traffic is encrypted or unencrypted comprises determining whether the traffic is transport layer security (TLS) traffic or non-TLS traffic. Examiners Note: See Examiners note of claim 1); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host (Claim 10: sending the traffic to the second pod via an encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod based at least in part on determining that the traffic is unencrypted. And Claim 13: The system of claim 10, wherein the encrypted tunnel comprises a layer 3 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiners Note: See examiners note of claim 1).
As to claim 11, the ‘845 Patent discloses the system of claim 9, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 12: The system of claim 10, the operations further comprising establishing, by an agent executing on the first node, the encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 14, the ‘845 Patent discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising (Claim 18: One or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed by one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to perform operations comprising):
receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications, traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system, the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application (Claim 18: receiving, from an application hosted on a first pod that is running on a first node of a cloud-based network, first traffic that is to be sent to a second pod; and Claim 17: The system of claim 10, wherein the first pod is hosting a container associated with a microservices application and the traffic is associated with the microservices application);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Clam 18: determining that the first traffic is encrypted; and Claim 14: The system of claim 10, wherein determining whether the traffic is encrypted or unencrypted comprises determining whether the traffic is transport layer security (TLS) traffic or non-TLS traffic. Examiners Note: See Examiners note of claim 1);
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host (Claim 18: based at least in part on the second traffic being unencrypted, sending the second traffic to the at least one of the second pod or the third pod via the encrypted tunnel. And Claim 13: The system of claim 10, wherein the encrypted tunnel comprises a layer 3 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod. Examiners Note: See examiners note of claim 1).
As to claim 17, the ‘845 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the L3 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 19: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18, wherein the encrypted tunnel is established by an agent executing on at least the first node. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
As to claim 19, the ‘845 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the operations are performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first container host (Claim 2: The method of claim 1, wherein the program is an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program running in a kernel space of the first node).
As to claim 20, the ‘845 Patent discloses the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 14, wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first container host or the second container host (Claim 19: The one or more non-transitory computer-readable media of claim 18, wherein the encrypted tunnel is established by an agent executing on at least the first node. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
Claims 7, 12 and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11,824,845 in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286439 by Takahashi et al.
As to claims, 7, 12 and 18, the ‘845 Patent discloses all recited elements of claims 1, 9 and 14 from which clams 7, 12 and 18 depend.
The ‘845 Patent does not expressly disclose wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is a Media Access Control Security (MACsec) tunnel.
Takahashi discloses wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first container host and the second container host is a Media Access Control Security (MACsec) tunnel (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25, MACsec tunnel used to transmit data between two nodes. Examiner note: See also Examiners Note in the rejection of claim 1).
The ‘845 Patent and Takahashi are analogous art because they are from the common area of network communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, the MACsec tunnel of Takahasi with the teachings of the ‘186 Patent. The rationale would have been to provide a physically isolated channel for message transmission (Takahashi: Page 1, Sec 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-7, 9-12, 14-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314359 by Thyagayuru et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286439 by Takahashi et al.
As to claims 1 and 9, Thyagayuru discloses a method/system comprising:
receiving, from a first pod hosting a first container (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-21; “The solution enables applications, VMs, and Containers to be able transmit their data through VPN sessions without being double encrypted”) associated with a microservices application (Thyagaturu: Page 6, Sec 67, 69, microservice deployments), traffic that is to be sent to a second pod (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-26; data being transmitted between VM/containers);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-26; application notifies socket as to where the data is encrypted or not; data is at Layer-6 (tls)); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second pod via an encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod (Thyatagura: Fig 3, Page 2, Sec 25-26; unencrypted data sent through secure encrypted tunnel).
With respect to claim 9 only, Thyatagura discloses one or more processors (Thyatagura: Fig 8); and one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause the one or more processors to perform operations (Thyatagura: Fig 8).
Thyatagura does not expressly disclose a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel.
Takahashi discloses an encrypted Layer-2 (L2) tunnel between the first pod and the second pod (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25, MACsec tunnel used to transmit data between two nodes).
Thyatagura and Takahashi are analogous art because they are from the common area of encrypted tunnel communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the Layer-2 encrypted tunnel of Takahashi in the system of Thyatagura. The rationale would have been to enable secure transmission of data across secure storage sites (Takahashi: Page 1, Sec 3).
As to claim 14, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference discloses one or more non-transitory computer-readable media storing instructions that, when executed, cause one or more processors to perform operations comprising:
receiving, from a first container host of an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-21; “The solution enables applications, VMs, and Containers to be able transmit their data through VPN sessions without being double encrypted”), traffic that is to be sent to a second container host of the orchestration system (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-26; data being transmitted between VM/containers), the first container host and the second container host each hosting a container associated with a microservices application (Thyagaturu: Page 6, Sec 67, 69, microservice deployments);
determining that data within any of Layer-3 (L3) through Layer-7 (L7) of the traffic is unencrypted (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-26; application notifies socket as to where the data is encrypted or not; data is at Layer-6 (tls)); and
based at least in part on the data in any of L3-L7 being unencrypted, causing the traffic to be sent to the second container host via a Layer-2 (L2) encrypted tunnel (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25, MACsec tunnel used to transmit data between two nodes) between the first container host and the second container host (Thyatagura: Fig 3, Page 2, Sec 25-26; unencrypted data sent through secure encrypted tunnel).
As to claims 2, 10 and 15, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference further discloses wherein the first pod is running on a first node associated with an orchestration system for managing containerized microservices applications (Thyagaturu: Fig 2; Page 2, Sec 20-21; software layer containing VPN controller and hypervisors).
As to claims 3, 10 and 16, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference further discloses wherein the second pod is running on a second node associated with the orchestration system (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-26; data being transmitted between VM/containers).
As to claim 4, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference further discloses wherein the second pod is hosting a second container (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 20-21; “The solution enables applications, VMs, and Containers to be able transmit their data through VPN sessions without being double encrypted”) associated with at least one of the microservices application or another microservices application (Thyagaturu: Page 6, Sec 67, 69, microservice deployments).
As to claims 6, 11, 17 and 20, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference further discloses wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25,) between the first pod and the second pod is established by an agent executing on a same node as at least one of the first pod or the second pod (Thyagaturu: Page 2, Sec 22-23; TLS VPN agent).
As to claims 7, 12 and 18, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference further discloses wherein the L2 encrypted tunnel between the first pod and the second pod is a Media Access Control Security (MACsec) tunnel (Takahashi, Page 2, Sec 23-25, MACsec tunnel used to transmit data between two nodes).
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314359 by Thyagayuru et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286439 by Takahashi et al. further in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,623,372 to Wang et al.
As to claims 5 and 19, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference discloses all recited elements of claims 1 and 14 from which claims 5 and 19 depend.
The modified reference does not expressly disclose wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod.
Wang discloses wherein the method is performed at least partially by an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) program that is running on a same node as the first pod (Wang: Col 3, Lines 62-65; “Embodiments presented herein relate to systems and methods for load balancing processing of packets of IPSec tunnels using an extended Berkeley Packet Filter (eBPF) module of a destination tunnel endpoint.”).
The modified reference and Wang are analogous art because they are from the common area of encrypted tunnel communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the eBPF of Wang in the system of the modified reference. The rationale would have been to improve packet filtering (Wang: Col 3, Lines 7-10).
Claims 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0314359 by Thyagayuru et al. in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0286439 by Takahashi et al. further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0353243 by Moore.
As to claims 8 and 13, the modified Thyatagura/Takahashi reference discloses all recited elements of claims 1 and 9 from which claims 8 and 13 depend.
The modified reference does not expressly disclose wherein determining that the data within any of L3-L7 is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic.
Moore discloses wherein determining that the data within any of L3-L7 is unencrypted is based at least in part on inspecting a first packet of the traffic (Moore: Claim 1: “ inspecting packet header field values to determine, based on a destination address for each of the first plurality of packets indicating that the first plurality of packets originate within the protected network and are destined for the second network, that the first plurality of packets comprise one or more packet header field values that correspond to a first packet-filtering rule; responsive to determining that the first plurality of packets comprises one or more packet header field values that correspond to the first packet-filtering rule, inspecting application layer packet header field values to determine whether the first plurality of packets comprises an unencrypted TLS record protocol header indicating at least one TLS-version value defined by the first packet-filtering rule as being a security vulnerability”).
The modified reference and Moore are analogous art because they are from the common area of encrypted tunnel communication.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at or before the effective filing date of the instant application, to use the packet filtering of Moore in the system of the modified reference. The rationale would have been to determine if traffic was encrypted or not (Moore: Claim 1).
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0231923 by Bollay et al. discloses determining if an encrypted end-to-end session has been established
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0376530 by Erickson et al. discloses DTLS
Conclusion
MICHAEL S. MCNALLY
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2432
/Michael S McNally/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432