DETAILED ACTION
Office Action Summary
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siann et al (US 2011/0134243 A1) in view of Lopez Hernandez et al (US 10,785,511 B1).
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-6, and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siann et al (US 2011/0134243 A1) in view of Lopez Hernandez et al (US 10,785,511 B1).
Regarding claim(s) 1 and 9, Siann teaches an image processing device, comprising:
a memory (Figure 1; Figure 2; and Paragraph [0068]);
an image generator, generating first data based on input image data and storing the first data to the memory (Figure 1; Figure 2; and Paragraph [0082]: “the sound detection module 122 and the image capturing module 120 can continuously capture and store an on-going window of surveillance data of the immediately previous seconds, minutes or hours”);
a motion detection circuit, detecting whether there is a presence of a motion detection event in the input image data (Figure 1: “Infrared Detection Module 124” and “Ultrasonic Detection Module 126”; Figure 2: “Trigger Detection Modules”; Paragraph [0084]: “The infrared detection module 124 […] and provide a trigger output that indicates motion has been detected”; and Paragraph [0085]: “The ultrasonic detection module 126 […] and provide a trigger output that indicates motion has been detected”);
wherein, before the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Figure 1; Figure 2; and Paragraph [0082]: “the sound detection module 122 and the image capturing module 120 can continuously capture and store an on-going window of surveillance data of the immediately previous seconds, minutes or hours”)
Siann fails to teach wherein,
However, Lopez Hernandez teaches wherein, before the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event, the image generator stores the first data in a first period (Figure 6”; Col. 3, Lines 44-50: “In various examples described herein, an electronic device including a camera, such as an indoor monitoring system, may be effective to capture video representing a physical environment. The device may continually store a small amount of the captured video (e.g., 2 seconds, 1.5 seconds, 4 seconds, or any suitable time period of video) in a retrospect buffer”; Col. 7, Lines 9-12: “If no motion is detected at action 172 […] camera 101 may continue to capture video of the scene 190 and store the video data in the retrospect buffer”; and Col. 16, Lines 24-27: “If no motion is detected the camera may continue to capture the first video data at the first frame rate and may store the first video data in the retrospect buffer”), and after the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event, the image generator stores the first data in a second period, wherein the first period is longer than the second period (Figure 6; and Col. 16, Lines 28-39: “If, at action 606, motion is detected in the first video data stored in the retrospect buffer, the process of FIG. 6 may continue from action 606 to action 608, “Record second video data at a second frame rate and store in latency buffer.” At action 608, second video data may be recorded at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate […] at action 608, the frame rate of captured video data may be increased from 15 fps to 20 fps. The second video data recorded at the second frame rate may be stored in a latency buffer”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to modify the motion-triggered surveillance system of Siann with the frame-rate and buffer management techniques taught by Lopez Hernandez in order to improve event capture quality while conserving storage and processing resources during periods in which no motion is detected. Siann teaches detecting motion and transitioning from a slow capture mode to a fast capture mode while storing surveillance data before and after a triggering event, whereas Lopez Hernandez teaches storing video data in memory buffers before and after motion detection and increasing the frame rate after motion is detected. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate Lopez Hernandez's motion responsive frame-rate adjustment and buffer storage techniques into Siann in order to retain pre-event information, capture additional detail during motion events, and optimize memory utilization and system power consumption while maintaining effective surveillance performance. This motivation for the combination of Siann and Lopez Hernandez is supported by KSR exemplary rationale (G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention. MPEP 2141 (III).
Regarding claim(s) 2 and 10, Siann as modified by Lopez Hernandez teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, where Lopez Hernandez teaches further comprising:
a controller, configured to configure a first parameter (Figure 6; and Col. 16, Lines 5-11: “may begin at action 602, “Record first video data at a first frame rate.” At action 602, first video data may be recorded by camera 101 at a first frame rate. In some examples, the first frame rate may be relatively low (e.g., 15 frames-per-second, 20 frames-per-second, etc.) compared to a default frame rate for streaming video frame system 100”) and a second parameter (Figure 6; and Col. 16, Lines 30-37: “[…] continue from action 606 to action 608, “Record second video data at a second frame rate and store in latency buffer.” At action 608, second video data may be recorded at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate […] at action 608, the frame rate of captured video data may be increased from 15 fps to 20 fps”);
wherein the first parameter is for setting the first period, and the second parameter is for setting a maximum number of frames of the first data before the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Figure 6; Col. 16, Lines 5-11; Col. 16, Lines 30-37; and Col. 3, Lines 44-50: “In various examples described herein, an electronic device including a camera, such as an indoor monitoring system, may be effective to capture video representing a physical environment. The device may continually store a small amount of the captured video (e.g., 2 seconds, 1.5 seconds, 4 seconds, or any suitable time period of video) in a retrospect buffer”, Examiner’s Note: Lopez teaches maintaining pre-motion video data in a retrospect buffer having a predefined storage duration ("2 seconds, 1.5 seconds, 4 seconds, or any suitable time period of video"), which corresponds to a maximum amount of pre-motion image data and therefore a maximum number of frames stored prior to motion detection).
Regarding claim(s) 4, Siann as modified by Lopez Hernandez teaches the image processing device according to claim 2, where Siann teaches wherein if the first period is greater than or equal to a predetermined value (Paragraph [0226]: “If at any time the motion detection algorithm determines that there is no motion in the field of view (based on a certain threshold level of probability and criteria), then the camera can enter a slow capture mode and a period of slower capture rate can be initiated”; and Paragraph [0228]: “during the slow capture mode the camera captures one frame every 5 seconds (0.2 lbs) and consumes 1.5 mJ per frame […]”), the controller operates in a power-saving mode before the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Paragraph [0164]: “Energy Saving Technique 3: Cycle the image capture module (hardware or software) based on the most efficient use of the module vs. latency, start-up/shut down time, frame rate and storage capacity needs”; Paragraph [0165]: “[…] This allows the sensor and associated circuitry to power down for significant periods between frame exposures. The image capture engine/processing sections of the camera can also power up and down on a periodic basis independent of other sections of the camera […]”; Paragraph [0226]: “If at any time the motion detection algorithm determines that there is no motion in the field of view […] then the camera can enter a slow capture mode and a period of slower capture rate can be initiated”; and Paragraph [0227]: “during a slow capture mode, the motion detection algorithm can be used to initiate a fast capture mode if motion has been detected.”).
Regarding claim(s) 5, Siann as modified by Lopez Hernandez teaches the image processing device according to claim 2, where Lopez Hernandez teaches wherein if the number of frames included in the first data is equal to the maximum number of frames before the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Figure 6; Col. 16, Lines 5-11: “may begin at action 602, “Record first video data at a first frame rate.” At action 602, first video data may be recorded by camera 101 at a first frame rate. In some examples, the first frame rate may be relatively low (e.g., 15 frames-per-second, 20 frames-per-second, etc.) compared to a default frame rate for streaming video frame system 100”; Col. 16, Lines 30-37: “[…] continue from action 606 to action 608, “Record second video data at a second frame rate and store in latency buffer.” At action 608, second video data may be recorded at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate […] at action 608, the frame rate of captured video data may be increased from 15 fps to 20 fps”; and Col. 3, Lines 44-50: “In various examples described herein, an electronic device including a camera, such as an indoor monitoring system, may be effective to capture video representing a physical environment. The device may continually store a small amount of the captured video (e.g., 2 seconds, 1.5 seconds, 4 seconds, or any suitable time period of video) in a retrospect buffer”), the memory transmits the first data to a host device (Figure 2; and Col. 8, Lines 16-19: “establishing a connection between system 100 and remote computing device(s) 180, system 100 may begin sending video data through channel 204 to remote computing device(s) 180”).
Regarding claim(s) 6, Siann as modified by Lopez Hernandez teaches the image processing device according to claim 1, where Lopez Hernandez teaches further comprising:
a controller, configured to configure a third parameter (Figure 6; Claim 14: “controlling the camera to capture the first video data at a first frame rate; and controlling the camera to capture the third video data at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate”; Claim 15: “controlling the camera to capture the second video data at a third frame rate, wherein the third frame rate is higher than the first frame rate and lower than the second frame rate”; and Col. 16, Lines 30-37: “[…] continue from action 606 to action 608, “Record second video data at a second frame rate and store in latency buffer.” At action 608, second video data may be recorded at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate […] at action 608, the frame rate of captured video data may be increased from 15 fps to 20 fps”) and a fourth parameter (Figure 6; Col. 3, Lines 44-50: “In various examples described herein, an electronic device including a camera, such as an indoor monitoring system, may be effective to capture video representing a physical environment. The device may continually store a small amount of the captured video (e.g., 2 seconds, 1.5 seconds, 4 seconds, or any suitable time period of video) in a retrospect buffer”; Col. 16, Lines 17-20: “the retrospect buffer may be sized so as to hold a small portion of video data (e.g., ˜60 frames of video data, ˜30 frames of video data, <120 frames of video data, etc.)”; Col. 16, Lines 37-39: “The second video data recorded at the second frame rate may be stored in a latency buffer”; and Col. 10, Lines 39-42: “recording video data for the retrospect buffer and/or latency buffer at reduced frame rates may allow the size of the retrospect buffer and/or latency buffer to be minimized”);
wherein the third parameter is for setting the second period, and the fourth parameter is for setting a maximum number of frames of the first data after the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Figure 6; Col. 3, Lines 44-50; Col. 16, Lines 17-20; Col. 16, Lines 37-39; and Col. 10, Lines 39-42).
Regarding claim(s) 8, Siann as modified by Lopez Hernandez teaches the image processing device according to claim 6, where Lopez Hernandez teaches wherein if the number of frames included in the first data is equal to the maximum number of frames after the motion detection circuit detects the presence of the motion detection event (Col. 16, Lines 17-20: “the retrospect buffer may be sized so as to hold a small portion of video data (e.g., ˜60 frames of video data, ˜30 frames of video data, <120 frames of video data, etc.)”; Col. 16, Lines 30-37: “[…] continue from action 606 to action 608, “Record second video data at a second frame rate and store in latency buffer.” At action 608, second video data may be recorded at a second frame rate higher than the first frame rate […] at action 608, the frame rate of captured video data may be increased from 15 fps to 20 fps”; and Col. 10, Lines 39-42: “recording video data for the retrospect buffer and/or latency buffer at reduced frame rates may allow the size of the retrospect buffer and/or latency buffer to be minimized”), the memory transmits the first data to a host device (Figure 2; and Col. 8, Lines 16-19: “establishing a connection between system 100 and remote computing device(s) 180, system 100 may begin sending video data through channel 204 to remote computing device(s) 180”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim(s) 3 and 7 is/are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Relevant Prior Art Directed to State of Art
Wei (US 10,686,968 B1) are relevant prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Wei discloses a motion detection circuit, comprising: an extracting circuit, coupled to an image sensor, the image sensor receiving light to output an image signal, the extracting circuit generating a first representative data according to a first image in the image signal, and generating a second representative data according to a second image in the image signal; a buffering circuit, coupled to the extracting circuit; and a comparing circuit, coupled to the extracting circuit and the buffering circuit, the comparing circuit generating a comparing signal as a motion detection result; wherein when the extracting circuit generates the first representative data, the buffering circuit stores the first representative data; wherein when the extracting circuit generates the second representative data, the buffering circuits stores the second representative data and outputs the first representative data to the comparing circuit, and the comparing circuit generates the comparing signal as the motion detection result according to the first and the second representative data; wherein when the motion detection circuit is in an active state, a clock-generating circuit outputs a low-frequency clock to the motion detection circuit; wherein when the motion detection circuit is in a power-off state, the clock-generating circuit stops outputting the low-frequency clock.
Dittmann (US 10,133,247 B2) are relevant prior art not applied in the rejection(s) above. Dittmann discloses a motion detection device for motion controlled switching of a peripheral device having a switching characteristic, the motion detection device comprising: a motion detector configured to provide detection signals in response to detected motions; a memory configured to store durations between the provided detection signals; a signal generator configured to output a switching signal to the peripheral device for switching the peripheral device from a first operation mode to a second operation mode for an activation period; and a controller configured to control the signal generator, wherein the controller is configured to determine the activation period based on at least: (a) a selection of the durations between the detection signals stored in the memory, (b) the switching characteristic of the peripheral device, and (c) a plurality of different predetermined maximum times of inactivity of a person being in a detection field of the motion detector, wherein each of the predetermined maximum times of inactivity is associated with a different respective time of day, wherein the controller is further configured to overwrite the stored durations based on a movement measurement period; a timer configured to determine durations between two subsequent detection signals provided by the motion detector during a predetermined time period; and a filter configured to: receive the determined durations from the timer for the two subsequent detection signals; and output during the predetermined time period only those determined durations that are longer than a first predetermined maximum time of inactivity from the plurality of different predetermined maximum times of inactivity of a person being in a detection field of the motion detector; wherein the memory is further configured to receive the filtered durations from the filter and to store only the filtered durations for the two subsequent detection signals.
Conclusion
/JONGBONG NAH/Examiner, Art Unit 2674
/ONEAL R MISTRY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2674