DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 13-14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 2013/0122180 A1) in view of Gallagher et al. (Species variation in the effects of dewatering treatment on macroalgae, Journal of Applied Phycology).
With respect to Claims 1 and 13, Brooks et al. teaches a composition comprising algae that has been blended into a free-flowing powder and can be incorporated into greater food products, [0009] wherein the compositions comprising the algal matter can be designed with a variety of intentions, such as a food high is carbohydrates [0369] or a food high in protein. [0472] Brooks et al. teaches an embodiment of a composition comprising 35.72% algal powder, with 16.98% fiber, 19.86% protein, 2.71% fat, 59.05% carbohydrates, and 1.39% ash. [Table 52] Another composition comprises 9.5% algal powder, with 7.79% fiber, 19.27% protein, 4.9% fat, 3.64% carbohydrates, and 2.5% ash with 62% water content. [Table 49] The carbohydrate and ash percentage are calculated by the remainder as taught by Brooks et al. [0177]
Additionally, despite Brooks et al. not teaching an explicit range of moisture content that falls between the range recited in claim 1, the teaching of a composition whose moisture content, the moisture content of the composition taught in Table 52 can be calculated from the moisture content of the algal flakes and the corn syrup. Corn syrup is known in the field to have a moisture content between 20-24% and the moisture content of the algal flakes is 10% or less. [0010] The composition would comprise between 13.9-16% moisture content.
A range created by the two embodiments teaches 19.86-19.27% protein, 2.71-4.9% fat, 3.64-59.05% carbohydrates, 13.9-62% moisture, and 1.39-2.5% ash. The protein and ash fall within the range recited in claims 1 and 13, and the ranges of carbohydrates and fats overlap with the ranges recited. Additionally, the moisture content of the algae powder overlaps with the range recited. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
The teaching of Brooks et al. reads on a composition characterized in that the feed comprises algae of marine origin that has a moisture value in the range of 5-20%, blending, and nutritionally characterizing the algae and an agri-food additive, wherein the composition contains 18-24% protein, 2-4% fat, 50-70% carbohydrates, 5-20% moisture content and 1-8% ash, but is silent to subjecting the algae to a process of inspecting, washing, and drying for 2-4 days.
Gallagher et al. teaches variations in dewatering in species of algae in order to determine the optimum dewatering treatment based on algae species. [Abstract] Gallagher et al. teaches that seaweed can be dried in an oven for 6-7 days, [Pg. 2307, Col. 1, Par. 1] air dried for 24 h, [Table 1] or subjected to a variety of other drying methods with varying benefits and drawbacks. [Dewatering Algae] Additionally, Gallagher et al. teaches the algae used is clean macroalgae blade material. [Pg. 2307, Col. 1, Par. 3] The range taught by Gallagher et al. for drying seaweed is from 1-7 days, which overlaps with the range recited in claim 1. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
Brooks et al. and Gallagher et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are concerned with algae compositions. Where Brooks et al. teaches a method of processing algae and incorporating into food compositions, Gallagher et al. teaches a method of selecting and drying algae. One would have been motivated to combine the references in order to determine the best method of dewatering and the best method of selecting and processing the algae material.
The recitation of “for feeding Tenebrio Molitor larvae” is considered a recitation of intended use, and MPEP 2111.02 II states, “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Therefore, the recitation of “for feeding Tenebrio Molitor larvae” is not considered further limiting the claim.
Additionally, the limitations of “has been subjected to a process of inspection, washing to eliminate traces of sand” and “a nutritional characterization of each batch of prepared algae” is considered a product by process limitation. MPEP 2113 I, states, “[E]ven though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production”. The process limitations listed above do not patentably change the product itself, and therefore do not distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. Regardless, the teaching of Gallagher et al. that states the use of clean macroalgae material reads on the limitation of washing the algae, and the act of selecting clean algae reads on inspection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have modified the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. to render obvious claims 1 and 13.
With respect to Claim 2, 4, 14, and 16, Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claims 1 and 13, as described above. Additionally, Brooks et al. teaches a food composition comprising the algal biomass and 1-20 other ingredients, including barley, [0318] an agri-food additive. Brooks et al. teaches that the composition can comprise at least 10% algal biomass, [0312] leaving the remainder as 90% or less agri-food additive. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. in order to devise the invention recited in claim 1 and 13, wherein the food composition comprises 10-20% algae and 80-90% agri-food additive, thereby rendering claims 2, 4, 14, and 16 obvious.
Claims 3, 6-10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 2013/0122180 A1) in view of Gallagher et al. (Species variation in the effects of dewatering treatment on macroalgae, Journal of Applied Phycology), in further view of Bjarnadottir et al. (Palamaria palmata as an alternative protein source: enzymatic protein extraction, amino acid composition, and nitrogen-to-protein conversion factor, Journal of Applied Phycology).
With respect to Claim 3 and 15, Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claims 1 and 13, as described above, but is silent to the use of Palmaria palmata.
Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a study of the Palmaria palmata algae as a protein source in food compositions due to its high protein. [Abstract] Additionally, Bjarnadottir et al. teaches the use of Palmaria palmata and that it has a high protein content, making it a good source of high-quality protein. [Abstract]
Brooks et al., Bjarnadottir et al., and Gallagher et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are concerned with algae compositions. Where Brooks et al. teaches a method of processing algae and incorporating into food compositions. Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a method of selecting and washing algae and Gallagher et al. teaches a method of selecting and drying algae. One would have been motivated to combine the references in order to determine the best method of dewatering and the best method of selecting and processing the algae material.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. to devise the invention recited in claim 1 and 13, wherein the algae is Palmaria palmata, thereby rendering claims 3 and 15 obvious.
With respect to Claim 6, Brooks et al. teaches a method for preparing a composition comprising algae that has been blended into a free-flowing powder and can be incorporated into greater food products, [0009] wherein the compositions comprising the algal matter can be designed with a variety of intentions, such as a food high is carbohydrates [0369] or a food high in protein. [0472] Brooks et al. teaches an embodiment of a composition comprising 35.72% algal powder, with 16.98% fiber, 19.86% protein, 2.71% fat, 59.05% carbohydrates, and 1.39% ash. [Table 52] Another composition comprises 9.5% algal powder, with 7.79% fiber, 19.27% protein, 4.9% fat, 3.64% carbohydrates, and 2.5% ash with 62% water content. [Table 49] The carbohydrate and ash percentage are calculated by the remainder as taught by Brooks et al. [0177]
Additionally, despite Brooks et al. not teaching an explicit range of moisture content that falls between the range recited in claim 1, the teaching of a composition whose moisture content, the moisture content of the composition taught in Table 52 can be calculated from the moisture content of the algal flakes and the corn syrup. Corn syrup is known in the field to have a moisture content between 20-24% and the moisture content of the algal flakes is 10% or less. [0010] The composition would comprise between 13.9-16% moisture content.
A range created by the two embodiments teaches 19.86-19.27% protein, 2.71-4.9% fat, 3.64-59.05% carbohydrates, 13.9-62% moisture, and 1.39-2.5% ash. The protein and ash fall within the range recited in claims 1 and 13, and the ranges of carbohydrates and fats overlap with the ranges recited. Additionally, the moisture content of the algae powder overlaps with the range recited. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
The teaching of Brooks et al. reads on a procedure for obtaining a composition characterized in that the procedure comprises receiving algae drying, grinding, mixing with an agri-food additive, in order to obtain a composition that contains 18-24% protein, 2-4% fat, 50-70% carbohydrates, 5-20% moisture content and 1-8% ash, but is silent to separating rock remains and plastic materials, washing with freshwater, and drying for 2-4 days.
Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a study of the Palmaria palmata algae as a protein source in food compositions due to its high protein. [Abstract] Additionally, Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a method of selecting and inspecting the seaweed samples, then washing, with freshwater, the seaweed before use to remove surface contaminants, including flora, fauna, and surface salt. [Materials, Par. 1] Though Bjarnadottir et al. does not explicitly mention separating out rock and plastic, MPEP 2144.01 states, “[I]n considering the disclosure of a reference, it is proper to take into account not only specific teachings of the reference but also the inferences which one skilled in the art would reasonably be expected to draw therefrom”. In the disclosure of Bjarnadottir et al. it would have been obvious to remove all inedible material that would be common in material sourced from the ocean, such as rocks, plastic, sand, etc. Therefore, Bjarnadottir et al. reads on separating rock remains and plastic materials from the algae and washing with fresh water.
Gallagher et al. teaches variations in dewatering in species of algae in order to determine the optimum dewatering treatment based on algae species. [Abstract] Gallagher et al. teaches that seaweed can be dried in an oven for 6-7 days, [Pg. 2307, Col. 1, Par. 1] air dried for 24 h, [Table 1] or subjected to a variety of other drying methods with varying benefits and drawbacks. [Dewatering Algae] The range taught by Gallagher et al. for drying seaweed is from 1-7 days, which overlaps with the range recited in claim 6. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
Brooks et al., Bjarnadottir et al., and Gallagher et al. exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are concerned with algae compositions. Where Brooks et al. teaches a method of processing algae and incorporating into food compositions. Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a method of selecting and washing algae and Gallagher et al. teaches a method of selecting and drying algae. One would have been motivated to combine the references in order to determine the best method of dewatering and the best method of selecting and processing the algae material.
The recitations of “for feeding Tenebrio Molitor larvae” and “to eliminate traces of sand, small crustaceans, and other unwanted elements, in addition to reducing salinity” are considered a recitation of intended use, and MPEP 2111.02 II states, “If the body of a claim fully and intrinsically sets forth all of the limitations of the claimed invention, and the preamble merely states, for example, the purpose or intended use of the invention, rather than any distinct definition of any of the claimed invention’s limitations, then the preamble is not considered a limitation and is of no significance to claim construction”. Therefore, the recitations of “for feeding Tenebrio Molitor larvae” and “to eliminate traces of sand, small crustaceans, and other unwanted elements, in addition to reducing salinity” are not considered further limiting the claim.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. to have devised procedure for obtaining a composition for feeding Tenebrio Molitor larvae characterized in that the procedure comprises receiving algae and separating rock and plastic, washing with freshwater to eliminate traces of sand, small crustaceans, and other unwanted elements and reduce salinity, drying for 2-4 days, grinding, and mixing the algae with an agri-food additive, to produce a composition comprising 18-24% protein, 2-4% fat, 50-70% carbohydrates, 5-20% moisture, and 1-8% ash, thereby rendering claim 6 obvious.
With respect to Claim 7, Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 6, as described above. Additionally, Brooks et al. teaches that the material can be dried in a stream of hot air in order to remove moisture from the algal biomass, [0264] and Gallagher et al. teaches the use of oven-drying. [Dewatering algae]
Though neither reference explicitly teaches placing the algae on trays, using trays in an oven is a practice so ubiquitous in the field of endeavor, that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use a tray to dry the algae material. The instant set of claims do not recite a limitation that distinguishes the tray of the instant invention from any other generic tray, nor does the specification disclose criticality to the form of the tray.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. to devise the invention recited in claim 6, wherein the algae is dried by placing on a tray and forcing hot air over the algae, thereby rendering claim 7 obvious.
With respect to Claim 8, Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 6, as described above. Additionally, Brooks et al. teaches the moisture content of the algal flakes is 10% or less. [0010] MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the ffective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. in order to devise the invention recited in claim 6, wherein the algae is dried to a moisture content of 5-20%.
With respect to Claim 9, Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 6, as described above. Additionally, Brooks et al. teaches a food composition comprising the algal biomass and 1-20 other ingredients, including barley, [0318] an agri-food additive. Brooks et al. teaches that the composition can comprise at least 10% algal biomass, [0312] leaving the remainder as 90% or less agri-food additive. MPEP 2144.05 I states, “In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. in order to devise the invention recited in claim 1 and 13, wherein the food composition comprises 10-20% algae and 80-90% agri-food additive, thereby rendering claims 9 and 11 obvious.
With respect to Claim 10, Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 6, as described above. Additionally, Bjarnadottir et al. teaches the use of Palmaria palmata and that it has a high protein content, making it a good source of high-quality protein. [Abstract] Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. to devise the invention recited in claim 1 and 13, wherein the algae is Palmaria palmata, thereby rendering claim 10 obvious.
Claims 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 2013/0122180 A1) in view of Gallagher et al. (Species variation in the effects of dewatering treatment on macroalgae, Journal of Applied Phycology), as applied to claim 1, further in view of Unger (US 9,642,344 B2).
Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 1, as described above. Both references are silent to placing the composition in a feed distribution network configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays containing Tenebrio Molitor larvae.
Unger teaches a system for breeding and harvesting Tenebrio Molitor larvae for consumption. [Col. 1, Ln. 33-36] Additionally, Unger et al. teaches the larvae-growth chambers are on trays that are designed to hold both the larvae and the feed. [Col. 28, Ln. 27-28] The invention taught by Unger reads on placing the composition in a feed distribution network that is configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays that contain Tenebrio Molitor larvae.
Brooks et al., Gallagher et al., and Unger exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are concerned with producing feed for human or animal consumption. Where Brooks et al. teaches a method of processing algae and incorporating into food compositions, Gallagher et al. teaches a method of selecting and drying algae, and Unger teaches a system for distributing feed to Tenebrio Molitor larvae. Additionally, Unger teaches that the invention is beneficial due to the ability to automatically separate the desired products from the waste. [Col. 1, Ln 49-53]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Gallagher et al. to devise the invention recited in claims 1, further in view of Unger in order to devise a method for placing the composition in a feed distribution network that is configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays that contain Tenebrio Molitor larvae, thereby rendering claim 5 obvious.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brooks et al. (US 2013/0122180 A1) in view of Bjarnadottir et al. (Palamaria palmata as an alternative protein source: enzymatic protein extraction, amino acid composition, and nitrogen-to-protein conversion factor, Journal of Applied Phycology) and Gallagher et al. (Species variation in the effects of dewatering treatment on macroalgae, Journal of Applied Phycology), as applied to claim 6, further in view of Unger (US 9,642,344 B2).
With respect to Claim 12, Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. teaches the invention recited in claim 6, as described above. All references are silent to placing the composition in a feed distribution network configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays containing Tenebrio Molitor larvae.
Unger teaches a system for breeding and harvesting Tenebrio Molitor larvae for consumption. [Col. 1, Ln. 33-36] Additionally, Unger et al. teaches the larvae-growth chambers are on trays that are designed to hold both the larvae and the feed. [Col. 28, Ln. 27-28] The invention taught by Unger reads on placing the composition in a feed distribution network that is configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays that contain Tenebrio Molitor larvae.
Brooks et al., Bjarnadottir et al., Gallagher et al., and Unger exist within the same field of endeavor in that they are concerned with producing feed for human or animal consumption. Where Brooks et al. teaches a method of processing algae and incorporating into food compositions. Bjarnadottir et al. teaches a method of selecting and washing algae and Gallagher et al. teaches a method of selecting and drying algae, and Unger teaches a system for distributing feed to Tenebrio Molitor larvae. Additionally, Unger teaches that the invention is beneficial due to the ability to automatically separate the desired products from the waste. [Col. 1, Ln 49-53]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the instant invention, to have used the teaching of Brooks et al. in view of Bjarnadottir et al. and Gallagher et al. to devise the invention recited in claims 1 and 6 respectively, further in view of Unger in order to devise a method for placing the composition in a feed distribution network that is configured to distribute the composition as feed to a plurality of trays that contain Tenebrio Molitor larvae, thereby rendering claims 5 and 12 obvious.
Conclusion
/J.C.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1791 /Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793