DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lesley (EP 0982216 A12).
Regarding claim 1, Lesley discloses a holding device (note the device in fig. 1 and the abstract) for an electromagnetic rail brake of a rail vehicle (note the brake is electro-magnetically actuated, the brake pad being attracted to the rail when an electric current is passed through an electromagnet therein), the holding device comprising:
a holding element (11, 13, 18, 19, 24) including a spring (22, 23) configured to support the holding device at a chassis (2) of the rail vehicle;
a movable actuation bolt (1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 25, 26) connected with the holding element and couplable with the electromagnetic rail brake; and
a hydraulic unit (13-17 in fig. 1 and 31-33 in fig. 3) connected with the holding element and the actuation bolt,
wherein the hydraulic unit is configured to move the actuation bolt between an idle position in which the electromagnetic rail brake is inactive during operations of the rail vehicle and an active position in which the electromagnetic rail brake is active during operation of the rail vehicle in response to hydraulic fluid flowing into the hydraulic unit or hydraulic fluid flowing out of the hydraulic unit (note Fig. 3, a hydraulic accumulator 31 is attached by pipes 32 to the apertures 15, wherein, a quick release coupling 33 is provided in one of the pipes 32 in order that additional hydraulic fluid can be fed into the space 30 to adjust the space X between the track 29 and the brake pad 4, wherein, the accumulator 31 is preferably provided with a bleed valve to allow hydraulic fluid to be removed from the space 30 when it is necessary to raise the position of the piston rod 24).
Re-claim 2, Lesley discloses the spring (22,23) of the holing element is configured as a coil spring.
Re-claim 3, Lesley discloses the hydraulic unit (13-17 in fig. 1) is arranged in an interior of the coil spring (22-23).
Re-claim 4, Lesley discloses an annular buffer (27) element arranged about the actuation bolt, wherein the annular buffer element is arranged so that a part of the chassis is clamped or clampable between the annular buffer element and the spring.
Re-claim 5, Lesley discloses a support unit (23) configured to impart a force upon the actuation bolt so that the actuation bolt is moved from the idle position into the active position, wherein the support unit is arranged at an end of the actuation bolt arranged opposite to the hydraulic unit and/or at a support element configured to attach the support unit.
Re-claim 6, Lesley discloses the actuation bolt (1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 25, 26) is configured in plural partial elements supported or supportable moveable and/or pivotable relative to each other.
Re-claim 7, Lesley discloses a first partial element of the actuation bolt (1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 25, 26) is axially movable by the hydraulic unit and a second partial element of the actuation bolt pivotably connected with the first partial element is couplable with the electromagnetic rail brake (note the brake is electro-magnetically actuated, the brake pad being attracted to the rail when an electric current is passed through an electromagnet therein).
Regarding claim 8, Lesley discloses an electromagnetic rail brake unit, comprising:
the holding device according to claim 1; and
an electromagnetic rail brake (note the brake is electro-magnetically actuated, the brake pad being attracted to the rail when an electric current is passed through an electromagnet therein) attached at the actuation bolt (1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 25, 26).
Regarding claim 9, Lesley discloses a rail vehicle, comprising:
a chassis (2); and
the electromagnetic rail brake unit according to claim 7,
wherein the actuation bolt (1, 3, 4, 9, 10, 25, 26) is run through an opening of a portion of the chassis of the rail vehicle, and/or
wherein the electromagnetic rail brake (note the brake is electro-magnetically actuated, the brake pad being attracted to the rail when an electric current is passed through an electromagnet therein) is arranged on a side of a portion of the chassis (2) arranged opposite to the hydraulic unit (13-17 in fig. 1 and 31-33 in fig. 3) wherein the holding device is attached at the portion of the chassis.
Re-claim 10, Lesley discloses a method for operating the holding device according to claim 1, the method comprising: introducing a hydraulic fluid into the hydraulic unit and/or draining the hydraulic fluid from the hydraulic unit to move the electromagnetic rail brake between the idle position and the active position (note Fig. 3, a hydraulic accumulator 31 is attached by pipes 32 to the apertures 15, wherein, a quick release coupling 33 is provided in one of the pipes 32 in order that additional hydraulic fluid can be fed into the space 30 to adjust the space X between the track 29 and the brake pad 4, wherein, the accumulator 31 is preferably provided with a bleed valve to allow hydraulic fluid to be removed from the space 30 when it is necessary to raise the position of the piston rod 24).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lesley (EP 0982216 A12) in view of Henry (AU 2013286427 B2).
Regarding claims 11-12, Lesley fails to disclose a computer program product including program code configured to control and/or execute the step of the method according to claim 10 when executing the computer program on a computer as recited in the claim. However, Hanry discloses a method for controlling a magnetic rail brake device of a rail vehicle via an electronic control unit (1 in fig. 1) including a control device (10), wherein, the control routines implemented in a memory of the control device (10) are designed in such a way that the switch (12) arranged in the electrical connection (4) between the source of electrical energy (2) and the solenoid (6) of the magnetic rail brake (8) is actuated in such a way that, upon a magnetic rail brake activation signal, the electrical connection (4) between the source of electrical energy (2) and the solenoid (6) of the magnetic rail brake (8), once established, is disconnected and re-established in a fixed sequence of cycles. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time before the effective filing date of the present application was made to use a control unit as taught by Hanry to control the brake system of Lesley in order to provide an efficient and reliable braking operation.
Conclusion
/MAHBUBUR RASHID/Examiner, Art Unit 3616
/Robert A. Siconolfi/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3616