DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 9, 10 and 13 of U.S. Patent No.12,130,436. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding Claim 1, US Patent ‘436 teaches an optical system comprising:
a curved optical stack that for a substantially normally incident light having a wavelength in a range from about 400 nm to about 700 nm, is configured to reflect at least 70% of the incident light having a first polarization state, and absorb at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having an orthogonal second polarization state (Column 6, Lines 1-13); and
first and second displays disposed on opposite sides of the curved optical stack and configured to emit respective first and second images configured to be viewed by a same viewer after being respectively reflected and transmitted by the optical stack (Column 5, Lines 55-67).
Regarding Claim 2, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the curved optical stack comprises a reflective polarizer facing the first display and an absorbing polarizer facing the second display (Column 5, Lines 63-65).
Regarding Claim 3, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the reflective polarizer reflects at least 70% of the incident light the first polarization state and transmits at least 70% of the incident light having the second polarization state (Column 6, Lines 4-8).
Regarding Claim 4, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the absorbing polarizer absorbs at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having the first polarization state and transmits at least 70% of the incident light having the second polarization state (Column 6, Lines 9-16).
Regarding Claim 5, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the first and second images are both polarized (Column 5, Lines 51-67).
Regarding Claim 6, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the second display is a real-world object in a real-world scene (Column 6, Lines 17-18).
Regarding Claim 7, US Patent ‘436 teaches the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
US Patent ‘436 further teaches the second display is an electronic display configured to emit polarized light (Column 6, Lines 28-29).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Larson et al (US 2006/0007055; hereinafter referred to as Larson) in view of Tei (US 2015/0362728).
Regarding Claim 1, Larson discloses an optical system (Figure 2; Head-Up Display 30) comprising:
a curved optical stack (Figure 2; Multilayer Combiner 36; Paragraph [0018]; wherein the multilayer combiner 36 is described as being curved); and
first and second displays (Figure 2; Display Source 32 and Object 18) disposed on opposite sides of the curved optical stack (see Figure 2; wherein the object 18 and the display source 32 are disposed on opposite sides of the multilayer combiner 36) and configured to emit respective first and second images configured to be viewed by a same viewer (Figure 2; Observer 20) after being respectively reflected and transmitted by the optical stack (see Figure 2 and Paragraph [0018]).
Larson does not expressly disclose that the curved optical stack for a substantially normally incident light having a wavelength in a range fm about 400 nm to about 700 nm, is configured to reflect at least 70% of the incident light having a first polarization state, and absorb at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having an orthogonal second polarization state.
Tei discloses an optical system (Figure 1; Polarization Laminate 1) comprising:
an optical stack (Figure 1; Absorption Polarization Layer 2 and Diffusion Layer 3); wherein
the optical stack (Figure 1; Absorption Polarization Layer 2 and Diffusion Layer 3) for a substantially normally incident light having a wavelength in a range from about 400 nm to about 700 nm, is configured to reflect at least 70% of the incident light having a first polarization state (see Paragraphs [0087]-[0088]; wherein it is disclosed that the diffusion polarization layer may have a total light reflectance (a back scattering rate) of a linearly polarized light in the above-mentioned direction of not less than 50%, for example, not less than 60% (e.g., about 60 to 95%), preferably about 65 to 90%, and more preferably about 70 to 85% (particularly about 75 to 85%)), and absorb at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having an orthogonal second polarization state (see Paragraphs [0111]-[0112]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to modify the curved optical stack of Larson such that the curved optical stack for a substantially normally incident light having a wavelength in a range from about 400 nm to about 700 nm, is configured to reflect at least 70% of the incident light having a first polarization state, and absorb at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having an orthogonal second polarization state, as taught by Tei, because doing so would improve the view of the other side of the screen (see Tei Paragraphs [0087] and [0111]-[0112]).
Regarding Claim 2, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tei further discloses the curved optical stack (Figure 1; Absorption Polarization Layer 2 and Diffusion Layer 3) comprises a reflective polarizer (Figure 1; Diffusion Layer 3) facing the first display (Figure 1; Projector 4) and an absorbing polarizer (Figure 1; Absorption Polarization Layer 2) facing the second display (see Figure 1). object
Regarding Claim 3, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Tei further discloses the reflective polarizer (Figure 1; Diffusion Layer 3) reflects at least 70% of the incident light the first polarization state and transmits at least 70% of the incident light having the second polarization state (see Paragraphs [0087]-[0088]).
Regarding Claim 4, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 2 as detailed above.
Tei further discloses the absorbing polarizer (Figure 1; Absorption Polarization Layer 2) absorbs at least 50% and at most 85% of the incident light having the first polarization state and transmits at least 70% of the incident light having the second polarization state (see Paragraphs [0111]-[0112]).
Regarding Claim 5, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Tei further discloses the first and second images are both polarized (see Figure 1 and Paragraph [0156]).
Regarding Claim 6, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Larson further discloses the second display (Figure 2; Object 18) is a real-world object in a real-world scene (see Paragraph [0014]).
Regarding Claim 7, Larson as modified by Tei discloses the limitations of claim 1 as detailed above.
Larson further discloses the second display (Figure 2; Display Source 32) is an electronic display configured to emit polarized light (see Paragraph [0017]).
Inquiry
/CHRISTOPHER A LAMB II/Examiner, Art Unit 2882