DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 6, 9-10, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuki et al. (US 20240306015 A1, hereinafter Yuki).
Claim 1: Yuki teaches An apparatus for configuring a beam failure detection reference signal (Abstract, Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig. 4, Fig. 1, element base station), the apparatus comprising:
a memory that stores a plurality of instructions (Fig. 9, Fig.11, element 1002, 1003, [0364], The memory 1002 can store executable programs, program codes, software modules, and the like for implementing the radio communication method);
and processor circuitry coupled to the memory and configured to execute the instructions to (Fig. 9, Fig.11, element 1001, [0363], one of the storage 1003 into the memory 1002 , the control section may be implemented by control programs that are stored in the memory 1002 and that operate on the processor 1001):
configure a first reference signal for beam failure detection by using radio resource control signaling (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig.4, Fig. 5, [0223], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC. Each BFD-RS set may include one or more BFD-RSs, [0191], a BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by an RRC information element);
and configure or update the first reference signal by using media access control control element signaling (Fig. 2, Fig. 3,Fig. 4, [0286], the automatic BFD-RS update being based on a TCI state update for a CORESET via a MAC CE, [0233], When TCI state #A for CORESET #1 for cell #1 is updated to TCI state #C by the MAC CE, a BFD-RS corresponding to TCI state #A for that CORESET #1 is automatically updated to BFD-RS #c being an RS associated with updated TCI state #C, [0235], When TCI state #A for CORESET #1 for cell #1 is updated to TCI state #B by the MAC CE, a BFD-RS corresponding to TCI state #A for that CORESET #1 is automatically updated to BFD-RS #b being an RS associated with TCI state #B, [0236- 0238], disclose per-TRP BFD-RS SET#1 configuration updated by MAC CE.).
Claim 2: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first reference signal is a second reference signal for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0223], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs, Each BFD-RS set may include one or more BFD-RSs, a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to the TRP may be associated QCLed with the plurality of respective CORESETs. ).
Claim 4: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: configure a third reference signal for failure detection by using the radio resource control signaling ([0353], The one or more second reference signals may include a third reference signal in the one or more TCI states, [0196], a plurality of TCI states are configured/notified for one CORESET by an RRC information element, [0223-0224], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC, Two BFD-RSs may be associated with two respective TCI states for one CORESET.).
Claim 6: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: configure or indicate or associate information on a transmission configuration indication state received via a physical downlink control channel for the first reference signal or the second reference signal by using the radio resource control signaling ([0223-0224], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC, Two BFD-RSs may be associated with two respective TCI states for one CORESET, [0196], a plurality of TCI states are configured/notified for one CORESET by an RRC information element.).
Claim 9: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the medium access control control element signaling is: a first medium access control control element for configuring or updating the first reference signal (Fig. 2, 3, 4, [0287], the automatic BFD-RS updates being based on a TCI state update for a CORESET via a MAC CE, [0236- 0238], disclose per-TRP BFD-RS SET#1 configuration updated by MAC CE.).
Claim 10: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, wherein the first medium access control control element comprises at least one piece of the following information: information on a beam failure detection reference signal set; information on a reference signal of a beam failure detection reference signal set for beam failure detection; information on a serving cell; information on a serving cell list (Fig. 6A, 6B, 7, [0272-0273], This MAC CE notifies one or two BFD-RSs for the CORESET. The MAC CE includes a serving cell ID field, a CORESET ID field, a first BFD-RS ID, a second BFD-RS ID); and a field used to indicate whether the next octet is the same BFD-RS set information as the BFD-RS information of the current octet (alternative).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected according to Claim 1, Yuki further teaches configure reference signal(s) for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection by using radio resource control signaling (Fig. 4, Fig. 5, [0223], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC. Each BFD-RS set may include one or more BFD-RSs. When a plurality of CORESETs are configured for one TRP, a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to the TRP may be associated (QCLed) with the plurality of respective CORESETs); and configure reference signal(s) for failure detection by using the radio resource control signaling ([0191], a BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by an RRC information element, [0193], When the BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by the RRC information element, the BFR-RS/RLM-RS is not necessarily identical to the TCI state for the CORESET , [0101], The UE may receive configuration information for RLM via information element “RadioLinkMonitoringConfig” of RRC,[0103], The parameter related to the RLM-RS may include information indicating that the parameter corresponds to the purpose of RLM, an index corresponding to a resource of the RLM-RS. The information about the purpose may indicate beam failure, cell level Radio Link Failure RLF).
Claim 17: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 16, wherein, the radio resource control signaling includes a first indication field, the first indication field being used for indicating a purpose of the reference signal for failure detection, wherein if the radio resource control signaling configures reference signal(s) for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection, a value of the first indication field is configured as being of a radio link failure (
[0101], The UE may receive configuration information for RLM via information element “RadioLinkMonitoringConfig” of RRC, [0103], The parameter related to the RLM-RS may include information indicating that the parameter corresponds to the purpose of RLM, an index corresponding to a resource of the RLM-RS. The information about the purpose may indicate beam failure, cell level Radio Link Failure RLF).
Claim 18: Yuki teaches A communication system, comprising a network device (Fig. 1, element base station) and a terminal equipment (Fig. 1, element UE), wherein, the network device and/or the terminal equipment is/are configured to: configure a first reference signal for beam failure detection by using radio resource control signaling (Fig. 2, Fig. 3, Fig.4, Fig. 5, [0223], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC. Each BFD-RS set may include one or more BFD-RSs, [0191], a BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by an RRC information element) , and configure or update the first reference signal by using media access control control element signaling (Fig. 2, Fig. 3,Fig. 4, [0286], the automatic BFD-RS update being based on a TCI state update for a CORESET via a MAC CE, [0233], When TCI state #A for CORESET #1 for cell #1 is updated to TCI state #C by the MAC CE, a BFD-RS corresponding to TCI state #A for that CORESET #1 is automatically updated to BFD-RS #c being an RS associated with updated TCI state #C, [0235], When TCI state #A for CORESET #1 for cell #1 is updated to TCI state #B by the MAC CE, a BFD-RS corresponding to TCI state #A for that CORESET #1 is automatically updated to BFD-RS #b being an RS associated with TCI state #B, [0236- 0238], disclose per-TRP BFD-RS SET#1 configuration updated by MAC CE); or configure reference signal(s) for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection by using radio resource control signaling ([0223], The two BFD-RS sets may be associated with two respective TRPs. The two BFD-RS sets may be configured by RRC. Each BFD-RS set may include one or more BFD-RSs. When a plurality of CORESETs are configured for one TRP, a plurality of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set corresponding to the TRP may be associated (QCLed) with the plurality of respective CORESETs), and configure reference signal(s) for failure detection by using the radio resource control signaling ([0191], a BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by an RRC information element, [0193], When the BFR-RS/RLM-RS is configured by the RRC information element, the BFR-RS/RLM-RS is not necessarily identical to the TCI state for the CORESET , [0101], The UE may receive configuration information for RLM via information element “RadioLinkMonitoringConfig” of RRC, [0103], The parameter related to the RLM-RS may include information indicating that the parameter corresponds to the purpose of RLM, an index corresponding to a resource of the RLM-RS. The information about the purpose may indicate beam failure, cell level Radio Link Failure RLF).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 7-8, 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki et al. (US 20240306015 A1, hereinafter Yuki) in view of Liina et al. (US 20230413077 A1, hereinafter Liina).
Claim 5: Yuki does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 4, wherein, the radio resource control signaling includes a first indication field, the first indication field being used for indicating a purpose of the third reference signal, wherein if the radio resource control signaling configures reference signal(s) for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection, a value of the first indication field is configured as being of a radio link failure.
Liina, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the radio resource control signaling includes a first indication field, the first indication field being used for indicating a purpose of the third reference signal ([0117-0118], RRC configuration message including the first set of activated TCI states includes a third TCI state that indicates a third reference signal, the third TCI state is for a third CORSET belonging to the first CORESET group and the first set of activated TCI is configured for first physical cell ID PCI, Fig. 1, 2, [0106-0107], disclose UE perform beam failure detection via PCI associated TRP based on the set of reference signals. Wherein a beam failure with respect to the first PCI is interpreted as a purpose of the third reference signal), wherein if the radio resource control signaling configures reference signal(s) for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection, a value of the first indication field is configured as being of a radio link failure ([0030], determining whether a beam failure with respect to the first
Physical Cell Identifier PCI has occurred based on the first set of reference signals; and determining whether a beam failure with respect to the second PCI has occurred based on the second set of reference signals, [0057-0058], one implication is that resources to be monitored for BFD can be reference signals associated to more than one PCI, wherein different PCIs may be transmitted by different TRPs).
Yuki and Liina are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Yuki and the features of the first indication field being used for indicating a purpose of the third reference signal as taught by Liina, for the benefit for allowing UE to monitor reference signals associated to more than one PCI for beam Failure detection BFD (paragraph [0057]), also allowing UE to monitor reference signals associated to more than one serving cell within the serving cell for beam Failure detection BFD (paragraph [0058]).
Claim 7: Yuki does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 6, wherein, the information on a transmission configuration indication state includes a transmission configuration indication state identifier.
Liina, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the information on a transmission configuration indication state includes a transmission configuration indication state identifier ([0062-0063], disclose each Serving Cell is configured with TCI state IDs that can be associated with different PCIs).
The motivation for combining Yuki and Liina regarding to the claim 5 is also applied to claim 7.
Claim 8: Yuki does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first reference signal does not include a second reference signal for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection, and a lower layer determines the second reference signal via a transmission configuration indication state received via a physical downlink control channel, and determines that the second reference signal is associated with a control resource set pool.
Liina, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the first reference signal does not include a second reference signal for transmission reception point-specific beam failure detection, and a lower layer determines the second reference signal via a transmission configuration indication state received via a physical downlink control channel, and determines that the second reference signal is associated with a control resource set pool ([0009], If the UE is not provided q0 by failureDetectionResources, the UE determines the set q0 to include periodic CSI-RS resource configuration indexes with same values as the RS indexes in the RS sets indicated by TCI-State for respective Control Resource Sets CORESETs that the UE uses for monitoring PDCCH, if there are two RS indexes in a TCI state, the set q0 includes RS indexes with QCL-Type D configuration for the corresponding TCI
States. [0066-0067], If no SSB/CSI-RS are configured as beam detection reference
signals, the UE should assume that the reference signals used as QCL-type D sources for the TCI states used for the CORESETs should be used as beam detection reference
signals instead, these beam failure detection reference signals should then be grouped according to the CORESETPoolIndexes, beam failure detection reference signal groups can be defined for Multi-TRP features based on single-PDCCH scheduling when no SSB/CSI-RS are explicitly configured as beam detection reference signals).
Yuki and Liina are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Yuki and the features of determining the second reference signal via a transmission configuration indication state received via a physical downlink control channel as taught by Liina, for the benefit for allowing UE to group beam failure detection reference signal
for Multi-TRP features based on single-PDCCH scheduling when no SSB/CSI-RS are explicitly configured as beam detection reference signals (paragraph [0066-0067]).
Claim 12: Yuki does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: enable a medium access control entity of a terminal equipment to set a counter of a beam failure instance of a beam failure detection reference signal set of a serving cell to be 0 in a case where the medium access control control element signaling is associated with the beam failure detection reference signal set of the serving cell.
Liina, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches wherein the processor circuitry is further configured to: enable a medium access control entity of a terminal equipment to set a counter of a beam failure instance of a beam failure detection reference signal set of a serving cell to be 0 in a case where the medium access control control element signaling is associated with the beam failure detection reference signal set of the serving cell ([0021], table 4, disclose setting BFI_COUNTER to 0 based on beamFailureDetectionTimer, beamFailureInstanceMaxCount, OR Reference signals used for beam failure detection is reconfigured by upper layers associated with this Serving Cell).
Yuki and Liina are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Yuki and the features of setting BFI_counter to 0 to stop beamFailureRecoveryTimer based on beamFailureDetectionTimer, beamFailureInstanceMaxCount as taught by Liina, which is well known in the Field (paragraph [0021]).
Claim 13: The combination of Yuki and Liina teaches The apparatus according to claim 12, wherein, if the medium access control control element signaling can update or reconfigure any reference signal for beam failure detection in a beam failure detection reference signal set of a serving cell (Yuki, Fig. 2, 3, 4, 5, [0226], Two TCI states in the CORESET are updated by the MAC CE, and thus the UE updating a BFD-RS/RLM-RS explicitly or implicitly so that the BFD-RS/RLM-RS includes an RS in both of the two TCI states for the CORESET ), the processor circuitry enables the MAC entity to set the counter of the beam failure instance of the beam failure detection reference signal set to be 0 (Liina, [0021], table 4, disclose setting BFI_COUNTER to 0 if the Serving Cell is SCell, and a PDCCH addressed to C-RNTI indicating uplink grant for a new transmission is received Truncated BFR MAC CE which contains beam failure recovery information of this Serving Cell, [0068-0069], the mapping of BFD RS to per TRP follows the TCI state mapping a UE has received by MAC CE, when the MAC CE indicates certain TCI states to be mapped to certain TRPs for PDSCH reception, the UE uses these same reference signals as BFD resources, MAC CE may change the resource to be monitored per TRP for BFD).
The motivation for combining Yuki and Liina regarding to the claim 12 is also applied to claim 13.
Claim 14: The combination of Yuki and Liina teaches The apparatus according to claim 12, Liina further teaches wherein, if a higher layer reconfigures beamFailureDetectionTimer, beamFailureInstanceMaxCount (alternative) or any reference signal for beam failure detection of a beam failure detection reference signal set of a serving cell, or the medium access control control element signaling updates or reconfigures any reference signal for beam failure detection in the beam failure detection reference signal set of the serving cell, the processor circuitry enables the MAC entity to set the counter of the beam failure instance of the beam failure detection reference signal set to be 0 ([0021], table 4, disclose setting BFI_COUNTER to 0 based on eamFailureDetectionTimer, beamFailureInstanceMaxCount, or any of reference signals used for beam failure detection is reconfigured by upper layers associated with this Serving Cell).
The motivation for combining Yuki and Liina regarding to the claim 12 is also applied to claim14.
Claim 15: The combination of Yuki and Liina teaches The apparatus according to claim 12, Liina further teaches wherein, if a higher layer reconfigures beamFailureDetectionTimer (alternative) or beamFailureInstanceMaxCount of a beam failure detection reference signal set of a serving cell (alternative), or any reference signal of the beam failure detection reference signal set of the serving cell is reconfigured or updated, the processor circuitry enables the MAC entity to set the counter of the beam failure instance of the beam failure detection reference signal set to be 0 ([0021], table 4, disclose setting BFI_COUNTER to 0 based on beamFailureDetectionTimer, beamFailureInstanceMaxCount, OR Reference signals used for beam failure detection is reconfigured by upper layers associated with this Serving Cell).
The motivation for combining Yuki and Liina regarding to the claim 12 is also applied to claim 15.
Claims 3, 11, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuki et al. (US 20240306015 A1, hereinafter Yuki) in view of Zhu et al. (US 20220360314 A1, hereinafter Zhu).
Claim 11: Yuki does not explicitly teach the apparatus according to claim 10, wherein, a value of the field being 1 indicates that the next octet is the same set of BFD-RS information as the BFD-RS information of the current octet.
Zhu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches a value of the field being 1 indicates that the next octet is the same set of BFD-RS information as the BFD-RS information of the current octet ([0353], If a bit position in the second MAC CE command/bitmap configuring/indicating the entity ID is set to “1”, the corresponding BFD RS in the BFD RS beam set associated with the indicated entity ID could be replaced/updated by a RS index, which is activated/selected by the first MAC CE activation command that indicating the entity ID, or from the list/set/pool of QCL source RS indexes).
Yuki and Zhu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Yuki and the features of using a value of the field to indicate that the next octet is the same set of BFD-RS information as the BFD-RS information of the current octet as taught by Zhu, for the benefit for reducing BFD-RS configuration overhead, by using entity ID associated with one or more BFD RSs (paragraph [0386-388]).
Claim 3: Yuki teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the radio resource control signaling includes a first beam failure detection reference signal set and a second beam failure detection reference signal set, wherein when the first beam failure detection reference signal set exists, the second beam failure detection reference signal set compulsorily exists (Fig. 6A, 6B, [0250-0251], [0258], disclose T field indicate whether a second BFD-RS field is present, whether second BFD-RS is present or not can be configurable);
the first beam failure detection reference signal set and the second beam failure detection reference signal set respectively include a group identifier, the group identifier compulsorily existing, and a value of the group identifier being 1 or 2 (Fig. 6A, 6B, 7, [0256, 0261], The MAC CE includes, for each TRP, one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field, a field with a TRP-ID/new ID/CORESET pool index associated with a TRP, wherein TRP-ID is reading as group ID, and it is configurable);
the first beam failure detection reference signal set and the second beam failure detection reference signal set respectively include a group of the second reference signals, the second reference signal including second reference signal identifier and detection resource (Fig. 6A, 6B, 7, [0261], The MAC CE includes, for each TRP, one or two BFD-RS fields, one serving cell ID field, and one BWP ID field, a field with a TRP-ID/new ID/CORESET pool index associated with a TRP, [0250], The MAC CE includes a T field, a serving cell ID field, a BWP ID field, a first BFD-RS ID BFD-RS ID1 Field, a second BFD-RS ID BFD-RS ID2 field, [0259], Each BFD-RS field may be accompanied by a flag for identifying whether a CSI-RS resource ID or an SSB ID is indicated).
However, Yuki does not explicitly teach the first beam failure detection reference signal set and the second beam failure detection reference signal set respectively include a group of released second reference signal identifiers.
Zhu, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the first beam failure detection reference signal set and the second beam failure detection reference signal set respectively include a group of released second reference signal identifiers ([0147-151], one or more BFD RSs in the BFD RS beam set q0 could be associated with an entity ID, one or more MAC CE activation/subselection commands to activate or select one or more RS indexes from the list/set/pool of at least N_tot_rs QCL source RS indexes as one or more BFD RSs associated with one or more entity IDs for the set q0, the entity ID could correspond a physical cell identifier PCI. Wherein entity ID is serving the similar as “a group of released second reference signal identifiers”).
Yuki and Zhu are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of wireless communication. Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the system of Yuki and the features of including a group of released second reference signal identifiers as taught by Zhu, for the benefit for allowing to activate/select one or more BFD RSs associated with the same entity ID (paragraph [0153-0155]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. The closest prior art reference is Zhou et al. (US 20220103232 A1, hereinafter Zhou), which describes a system for transmission reception point TRP-specific beam failure detection BFD reference signal RS determination.
/Y.Z./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472