DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 09/30/2024 and 06/16/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 112
Claim 1- 20 contains or depend on a claim with the trademark/trade name 3GPP. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe specification compliant with any current and future 3GPP standard and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Content of 3GPP will change in future making the scope of the trademark to be indefinite.
Dependent claims that don't recite 3GPP are rejected under the same rational as the independent claim for their failure to cure the deficiencies of the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 8, 11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yao et al. ( EP 4132035 A1), Yao hereinafter. The PDF copy of Yao is attached.
Regarding claim 1, Yao teaches a wireless communication method, comprising: acquiring, by a network device, target information, wherein the target information is information related to a connection between a first terminal and a second terminal; (paragraph [0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.)
wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are connected via a first interface, and the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol. ([0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... Bluetooth and WIFI are not 3GPP specification ).
Regarding claim 2, Yao teaches claim 1.
Yao further teaches wherein the target information comprises identification information of the second terminal; ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.)
wherein the identification information of the second terminal comprises a C-RNTI of the second terminal. ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.)
Regarding claim 3, Yao teaches claim 1.
Yao further teaches wherein acquiring, by the network device, the target information, comprises: receiving, by the network device, first information transmitted by the first terminal, wherein the first information is information related to the connection between the first terminal and the second terminal; wherein the target information is determined according to the first information. ([0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.)
Regarding claim 7, Yao teaches a wireless communication method, applied to a first terminal, wherein the first terminal and a second terminal are connected via a first interface, the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol, and the method comprises: (paragraph [0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... Bluetooth and WIFI are not 3GPP specification )
transmitting, by the first terminal, first information to a network device, wherein the first information is information related to a connection between the first terminal and the second terminal. ([0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.)
Regarding claim 8, Yao teaches claim 7.
Yao further teaches wherein the first information comprises identification information of the second terminal; ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.)
wherein the identification information of the second terminal comprises a C-RNTI of the second terminal ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.).
Regarding claim 11, Yao teaches a wireless communication method, applied to a second terminal, wherein the second terminal and a first terminal are connected via a first interface, the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol, and the method comprises: (paragraph [0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... )
transmitting, by the second terminal, second information to a network device, wherein the second information is information related to a connection between the first terminal and the second terminal. ([0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.)
Regarding claim 13, Yao teaches a network device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the network device to perform: (paragraph 0134 and fig. 16 discloses processor and computer program stored in the memory .)
acquiring target information, wherein the target information is information related to a connection between a first terminal and a second terminal; ([0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.)
wherein the first terminal and the second terminal are connected via a first interface, and the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol. ([0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... Bluetooth and WIFI are not 3GPP specification )
Regarding claim 14, Yao teaches claim 13.
Yao further teaches wherein the target information comprises identification information of the second terminal; ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.)
wherein the identification information of the second terminal comprises a C-RNTI of the second terminal. ([0241] ... The second identifier is an identifier of the second terminal device, for example, a local ID allocated to the second terminal device, or a C-RNTI allocated to the second terminal device. The second identifier may be allocated by the first terminal device to the second terminal device.)
Regarding claim 15, Yao teaches claim 13.
Yao further teaches wherein the network device performs: receiving first information transmitted by the first terminal, wherein the first information is information related to the connection between the first terminal and the second terminal; ([0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.)
wherein the target information is determined according to the first information. ([0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.).
Regarding claim 19, Yao teaches claim 7.
Yao further teaches a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is a first terminal, wherein the first terminal and a second terminal are connected via a first interface, the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol, and the first terminal comprises a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the first terminal to perform the method according to claim 7 (paragraph 0134 discloses processor and computer program stored in the memory paragraph [0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... [0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.)
Regarding claim 20, Yao teaches claim 11.
Yao further teaches a terminal device, wherein the terminal device is a second terminal, wherein second terminal and a first terminal are connected via a first interface, the first interface is not an interface defined by a 3rd generation partnership project (3GPP) protocol, and the second terminal comprises a processor and a memory, wherein the memory is configured to store a computer program, and the processor is configured to invoke and execute the computer program stored in the memory, to cause the second terminal to perform the method according to claim 11 (paragraph 0134 discloses processor and computer program stored in the memory paragraph [0180] ... If data transmission needs to be performed between the smart glasses and the smartphone, a communication connection may be established between the smart glasses and the smartphone. For example, a short-range communication connection, for example, a Bluetooth connection or a wireless fidelity (wireless fidelity, Wi-Fi) connection may be established between the smartphone and the smart glasses. ... [0235]The second connection establishment request message may be used to request to establish an RRC connection to the access network device. The first radio bearer may be a preconfigured radio bearer, and is used to transmit relay information corresponding to the second terminal device. It may be understood that, if the first terminal device receives control information from the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer, the first terminal device needs to forward the control information to the access network device. If the first terminal device receives, from the access network device, the control information that needs to be forwarded to the second terminal device, the first terminal device may forward the control information to the second terminal device by using the first radio bearer.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 4, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al, (EP 4132035 A1), Yao hereinafter, in view of Mallick et al. (U.S. PGPub 2019/0159018), Mallick hereinafter.
Regarding claim 4, Yao teaches claim 3.
Yao further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted by the first terminal based on an indication of the network device; ([0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.)
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation).
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) (paragraph [0361] 5. When ProSe Function A detects that the UEs are in proximity, it informs UE A that UE B is in proximity and (optionally) provides UE A with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE B. ProSe Function A also informs ProSe Function B, which in turn informs UE B of the detected proximity and (optionally) provides UE B with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Regarding claim 9, Yao teaches claim 7.
Yao further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted by the first terminal based on an indication of the network device; ([0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.)
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation).
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) (paragraph [0361] 5. When ProSe Function A detects that the UEs are in proximity, it informs UE A that UE B is in proximity and (optionally) provides UE A with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE B. ProSe Function A also informs ProSe Function B, which in turn informs UE B of the detected proximity and (optionally) provides UE B with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE A.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Regarding claim 16, Yao teaches claim 15.
Yao further teaches wherein the first information is transmitted by the first terminal based on an indication of the network device; (paragraph [0107] According to a fifth aspect, a fifth communications method is provided. The method includes: receiving a fourth message from a first terminal device; and obtaining first resource information from the fourth message, where the first resource information is used to indicate a first resource allocated by an access network device to a second terminal device, and the first resource is used by the second terminal device to send data to the first terminal device by using a sidelink connection.)
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation).
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the first information is carried by terminal assistance information (UEAssistanceInformation) (paragraph[0361] 5. When ProSe Function A detects that the UEs are in proximity, it informs UE A that UE B is in proximity and (optionally) provides UE A with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE B. ProSe Function A also informs ProSe Function B, which in turn informs UE B of the detected proximity and (optionally) provides UE B with assistance information for WLAN direct discovery and communication with UE A.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Claims 5 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al, (EP 4132035 A1), Yao hereinafter, in view of Xing et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0199550), Xing hereinafter.
Regarding claim 5, Yao teaches claim 1.
Yao further teaches
further comprising: transmitting, by the network device, third information to the first terminal, wherein the third information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0100] ... receiving a resource request message from the second terminal device, where the resource request message is used to request to allocate a resource that is used to send data on the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; sending a second request message to the access network device, where the second request message includes the resource request message; receiving an RRC release message from the access network device, where the RRC release message is used to release an RRC connection between the access network device and the first terminal device, the RRC release message further includes second resource information, the second resource information is used to indicate a second resource allocated to the second terminal device, and the second resource is used by the second terminal device to send data by using the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; and sending a third message to the second terminal device, where the third message includes the second resource information.)
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal (paragraph [0176] For example, the first terminal device initiates a relay service request, and the first terminal device sends a first message to an AMF or an SMF of the first terminal device, where the first message indicates that the first terminal device requests to access the network through the second terminal device. The first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the first terminal device and the identifier of the second terminal device, or the first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the second terminal device. The AMF or the SMF of the first terminal device may be considered as the network device in step 901.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Regarding claim 10, Yao teaches claim 7.
Yao further teaches further comprising: receiving, by the first terminal, third information transmitted by the network device, wherein the third information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0100] ... receiving a resource request message from the second terminal device, where the resource request message is used to request to allocate a resource that is used to send data on the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; sending a second request message to the access network device, where the second request message includes the resource request message; receiving an RRC release message from the access network device, where the RRC release message is used to release an RRC connection between the access network device and the first terminal device, the RRC release message further includes second resource information, the second resource information is used to indicate a second resource allocated to the second terminal device, and the second resource is used by the second terminal device to send data by using the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; and sending a third message to the second terminal device, where the third message includes the second resource information.)
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal (paragraph [0176] For example, the first terminal device initiates a relay service request, and the first terminal device sends a first message to an AMF or an SMF of the first terminal device, where the first message indicates that the first terminal device requests to access the network through the second terminal device. The first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the first terminal device and the identifier of the second terminal device, or the first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the second terminal device. The AMF or the SMF of the first terminal device may be considered as the network device in step 901.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Claims 6, 12, 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al, (EP 4132035 A1), Yao hereinafter, in view of Xing et al. (U.S. PGPub 2023/0199550), Xing
Regarding claim 6, Yao teaches claim 1.
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach further comprising transmitting, by the network device, fourth information to the second terminal, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device;
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses further comprising transmitting, by the network device, fourth information to the second terminal, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] In a specific implementation, remote UE and relay UE first perform a relay discovery procedure. For example, when the first terminal device establishes a connection to the access network device, and communication quality of a Uu interface between the first terminal device and the access network device cannot meet a communication requirement, or the first terminal device is in a non-connected (connection management-idle (CM-IDLE)) mode, or the first terminal device is out of network coverage, the first terminal device may initiate a relay connection to the second terminal device based on relay discovery information preconfigured on a network side or locally preconfigured relay discovery information, to complete relay discovery. The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like. The first terminal device may obtain an identifier of the second terminal device in the relay discovery procedure. The remote UE obtains relay identification information from a message exchanged with the relay UE.)
wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] … The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Yet Yao in view of Xing does not expressly teach wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection.
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection (paragraph [0277] The remote UE can decide when to start monitoring for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The Remote UE can transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message while in RRC_IDLE or in RRC_CONNECTED depending on the configuration of resources for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The eNB may configure a threshold to control transmission of ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message from the Remote UE. If the threshold is configured, the Remote UE is allowed to transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message only if the Uu link quality at the Remote UE is below the configured threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Regarding claim 12, Yao teaches claim 11.
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach further comprising: receiving, by the second terminal, fourth information transmitted by the network device, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses further comprising: receiving, by the second terminal, fourth information transmitted by the network device, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] In a specific implementation, remote UE and relay UE first perform a relay discovery procedure. For example, when the first terminal device establishes a connection to the access network device, and communication quality of a Uu interface between the first terminal device and the access network device cannot meet a communication requirement, or the first terminal device is in a non-connected (connection management-idle (CM-IDLE)) mode, or the first terminal device is out of network coverage, the first terminal device may initiate a relay connection to the second terminal device based on relay discovery information preconfigured on a network side or locally preconfigured relay discovery information, to complete relay discovery. The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like. The first terminal device may obtain an identifier of the second terminal device in the relay discovery procedure. The remote UE obtains relay identification information from a message exchanged with the relay UE.)
wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] … The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like … ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Yet, Yao in view of Xing does not expressly teach wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection.
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection (paragraph [0277] The remote UE can decide when to start monitoring for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The Remote UE can transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message while in RRC_IDLE or in RRC_CONNECTED depending on the configuration of resources for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The eNB may configure a threshold to control transmission of ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message from the Remote UE. If the threshold is configured, the Remote UE is allowed to transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message only if the Uu link quality at the Remote UE is below the configured threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Regarding claim 17, Yao in view of Xing and further in view of Mallick teaches claim 6.
Yao further teaches wherein the network device further performs: transmitting third information to the first terminal, wherein the third information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0100] ... receiving a resource request message from the second terminal device, where the resource request message is used to request to allocate a resource that is used to send data on the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; sending a second request message to the access network device, where the second request message includes the resource request message; receiving an RRC release message from the access network device, where the RRC release message is used to release an RRC connection between the access network device and the first terminal device, the RRC release message further includes second resource information, the second resource information is used to indicate a second resource allocated to the second terminal device, and the second resource is used by the second terminal device to send data by using the sidelink connection after the first terminal device is disconnected from the access network device; and sending a third message to the second terminal device, where the third message includes the second resource information.).
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses wherein the third information comprises identification information of the second terminal ([0176] For example, the first terminal device initiates a relay service request, and the first terminal device sends a first message to an AMF or an SMF of the first terminal device, where the first message indicates that the first terminal device requests to access the network through the second terminal device. The first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the first terminal device and the identifier of the second terminal device, or the first message sent by the first terminal device includes the identifier of the second terminal device. The AMF or the SMF of the first terminal device may be considered as the network device in step 901.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Regarding claim 18, Yao teaches claim 6.
Yet, Yao does not expressly teach wherein the network device further performs:
transmitting fourth information to the second terminal, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device.
However, in the analogous art, Xing explicitly discloses wherein the network device further performs: transmitting fourth information to the second terminal, wherein the fourth information is used to establish, modify, release or resume a relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] In a specific implementation, remote UE and relay UE first perform a relay discovery procedure. For example, when the first terminal device establishes a connection to the access network device, and communication quality of a Uu interface between the first terminal device and the access network device cannot meet a communication requirement, or the first terminal device is in a non-connected (connection management-idle (CM-IDLE)) mode, or the first terminal device is out of network coverage, the first terminal device may initiate a relay connection to the second terminal device based on relay discovery information preconfigured on a network side or locally preconfigured relay discovery information, to complete relay discovery. The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like. The first terminal device may obtain an identifier of the second terminal device in the relay discovery procedure. The remote UE obtains relay identification information from a message exchanged with the relay UE.)
wherein the fourth information comprises second configuration information, which is used to configure a transmission performed via the relay connection between the first terminal and the network device; ([0174] … The relay discovery information is used for establishment of the relay connection (where for example, a direct connection between the first terminal device and the second terminal device may be a PC5 connection), and includes authorization information for connecting to the network through a relay, policy information for discovering a relay node, spectrum information for relay communication, and the like … )
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Xing's identifier of second terminal device and relay connection to the second terminal device based on pre-configuration from network side to achieve easier addressing of connected terminals.
Yet, Yao in view of Xing does not expressly teach wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection.
However, in the analogous art, Mallick explicitly discloses wherein the second configuration information is used to configure a target Uu radio link control (RLC) channel, wherein the transmission corresponding to the target Uu RLC channel is performed via the relay connection ([0277] The remote UE can decide when to start monitoring for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The Remote UE can transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message while in RRC_IDLE or in RRC_CONNECTED depending on the configuration of resources for ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery. The eNB may configure a threshold to control transmission of ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message from the Remote UE. If the threshold is configured, the Remote UE is allowed to transmit ProSe UE-to-Network Relay discovery solicitation message only if the Uu link quality at the Remote UE is below the configured threshold.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Yao’s Communication method and apparatus to include Mallick's UE assistance information and Uu configuration to achieve higher user convenience.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. This includes:
U.S. PGPUB 2022/0330056 which describes communication method and apparatus
U.S. PGPUB 2026/0032752 which describes communication method and communication apparatus
/A.L.O./Examiner, Art Unit 2472
/NICHOLAS A JENSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2472