DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (US20200177254) in view of Hosseini et al. (20180324797 herein after Hoss).
Regarding claims 1, 11, Lee teaches A wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising a processor and memory, wherein the processor and memory ([0044] “The processor 118 of the WTRU 102 may be coupled to, and may receive user input data from, the speaker/microphone 124, the keypad 126, or the display/touchpad 128 (e.g., a liquid crystal display (LCD) display unit or organic light-emitting diode (OLED) display unit). The processor 118 may also output user data to the speaker/microphone 124, the keypad 126, or the display/touchpad 128. In addition, the processor 118 may access information from, and store data in, any type of suitable memory, such as the non-removable memory 130 or the removable memory 132”) are configured to:
receive a channel state information (CSI) configuration, wherein the CSI configuration comprises: an indication of a first set of one or more quantities to report, an indication of a first time window for determining quantities, and a set of CSI reference instances ([0217] “The WTRU may then receive 1104 an aperiodic CSI reporting request and reporting timing in a DCI at a slot n, [0163-164] “The y value may be linked to, correspond to or be associated with one or more CSI reporting settings, e.g., depending on the reporting requirements. For example, a set of y values may comprise y={a1, a2} and CSI reporting settings 1 and 2 may use y=a1 while CSI reporting setting 3 uses y=a2. When the WTRU receives a DCI with an aperiodic CSI request for a CSI reporting setting, the WTRU may use the y value corresponding to the CSI reporting setting”, [00164] “A y value may be configured for one or more CSI reporting settings. The y value may be a part (component or indicator of) of a CSI reporting setting or a parameter of a CSI reporting setting”, [0190-191] “Table 7 … In a CSI reporting set, one or more y values may be used and each y value may be associated with one or more CSI reporting types or one or more CSI configurations … if multiple CSI-RS resources are configured and a WTRU is indicated to report a CRI, for example, a preferred or a selected CSI-RS resource among multiple CSI-RS resources, and associated CSIs (e.g., CQI, PMI and/or RI), a WTRU may report the CRI at the first CSI reporting instance (e.g., y=0), (Examiner’s Note: the y value in a periodic report is associated with a specific CSI reporting type and CSI configuration, for example when y =0 uses a first reporting instance ==set of CSI reference instance, when y=0, CRI for Ks CSI-RS resources == a first set of one or more quantities to report, report timing ==a first time window, ;
determine that a CSI timing violation has occurred ([0217] “The WTRU may determine 1110 whether the requested CSI is found in the set of supported CSI configurations… If, on the other hand, the requested CSI is not a member of the supported set”, [0122] “If a CSI processing time is less than a threshold (e.g., T1), at least one of the following WTRU behaviors may be used”);
determine a CSI report ([0217] “the WTRU should send … a subset of the requested CSI at a slot n+k. The WTRU may completely drop a CSI transmission or transmit only the subset which is in accordance with what does exist in the set”);
and send the CSI report ([0217] “the WTRU should send … a subset of the requested CSI at a slot n+k. The WTRU may completely drop a CSI transmission or transmit only the subset which is in accordance with what does exist in the set”).
Lee does not teach using a second set of one or more quantities or a second time window for determining quantities.
Hoss teaches using a second set of one or more quantities or a second time window for determining quantities ([0085] “At 520, UE 115-b may generate CSI/sCSI report(s) based at least in part on the reference resource(s). In some examples, the second traffic type may utilize multiple sTTI lengths (e.g., the second TTI length and a third TTI length that is shorter than the first TTI length and different than the second TTI length). In such examples, generating the sCSI report may include determining a CQI associated with the second TTI length based on the reference resource. Generating the sCSI report may further include determining a second CQI associated with the third TTI length based on the reference resource.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 2, 12, Lee teaches wherein the CSI configuration indicates a time instance for when CSI reporting is triggered ([0092] “CSI processing time parameters based on aperiodic CSI-RS and CSI reporting according to an embodiment 400. A CSI processing time may be a time window during which a WTRU may measure, calculate, or determine at least one CSI to report. As used herein, the term CSI processing time may be interchangeable with CSI measurement time; CSI measurement window; available processing time for at least one CSI measurement; a (time) gap between CSI reporting trigger time and CSI reporting time”) and a time instance for the beginning of an uplink CSI report transmission ([0100] “The parameters may include a time location, for example, a time delta from a start time or a reference time of the associated CSI-RS transmitted (x or m+x) from which a WTRU may estimate, measure, or determine CSI reporting values or parameters. The parameters may include a time location, for example, a time delta from a start or reference time of when the CSI reporting may be transmitted (y or m+y)”, (Examiner’s Note: uplink == reporting, ([0219] “Upon receipt, a WTRU may calculate 1304 a time gap between a last symbol of the PDCCH for which the aperiodic CSI request was received and a first uplink symbol of a corresponding aperiodic CSI reporting transmission. The WTRU may determine 1306 a threshold, the threshold representing a length of time for which a CSI calculation may be processed and CSI determined”))
Regarding claim 3, 13, Lee teaches wherein the processor and memory are further configured to determine that a CSI timing violation has occurred based on the time instance for when CSI reporting is triggered or the time instance for the beginning of an uplink CSI report transmission ([0122] “If a CSI processing time is less than a threshold (e.g., T1), at least one of the following WTRU behaviors may be used”, [0092] “CSI processing time may be a time window during which a WTRU may measure, calculate, or determine at least one CSI to report. As used herein, the term CSI processing time may be interchangeable with CSI measurement time; CSI measurement window; available processing time for at least one CSI measurement; a (time) gap between CSI reporting trigger time and CSI reporting time”), [0219] “Upon receipt, a WTRU may calculate 1304 a time gap between a last symbol of the PDCCH for which the aperiodic CSI request was received and a first uplink symbol of a corresponding aperiodic CSI reporting transmission. The WTRU may determine 1306 a threshold, the threshold representing a length of time for which a CSI calculation may be processed and CSI determined”).
Regarding claim 4, 14, Lee teaches wherein the processor and memory are configured ([0124] “As noted above, if a CSI processing time is less than the threshold (e.g., T1), a WTRU may report only the first part of the CSI and drop the second part of the CSI”, [0219] “Upon receipt, a WTRU may calculate 1304 a time gap between a last symbol of the PDCCH for which the aperiodic CSI request was received and a first uplink symbol of a corresponding aperiodic CSI reporting transmission. The WTRU may determine 1306 a threshold, the threshold representing a length of time for which a CSI calculation may be processed and CSI determined”) .
Lee does not teach to determine to use the second set of one or more quantities or the second time window for determining quantities.
Hoss teaches to determine to use the second set of one or more quantities or the second time window for determining quantities ([0085] “At 520, UE 115-b may generate CSI/sCSI report(s) based at least in part on the reference resource(s). In some examples, the second traffic type may utilize multiple sTTI lengths (e.g., the second TTI length and a third TTI length that is shorter than the first TTI length and different than the second TTI length). In such examples, generating the sCSI report may include determining a CQI associated with the second TTI length based on the reference resource. Generating the sCSI report may further include determining a second CQI associated with the third TTI length based on the reference resource.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 5, 15, Lee does not teach wherein the first and the second time windows for determining a set of one or more quantities each comprise a plurality of sub-windows, wherein each sub-window is associated with a time-duration.
Hoss teaches wherein the first and the second time windows ([0082] “a configuration for communication via a first traffic type utilizing a first TTI length (e.g., 1 ms TTI) and a second traffic type utilizing a second TTI length that is shorter than the first TTI length”) for determining a set of one or more quantities each comprise a plurality of sub-windows, wherein each sub-window is associated with a time-duration ([0070] “In such cases, the UE 115 may determine an sTTI reference resource 335 for taking CSI measurements for aperiodic CSI request 330. The sTTI reference resource 335 may correspond to an sTTI duration or a portion of the sTTI duration for the related service (e.g., where a 1-symbol sTTI can be used for ULL or URLLC). The sTTI reference resource 335 may be determined based on the triggering TTI 305, as well as a configuration for sTTI CSI reporting for an aperiodic trigger received via 1 ms LTE DCI. For example, sTTI reference resource 335-a may be configured within subframe n 305 (e.g., sTTI reference resource 335-a may be configured as the Mth sTTI within subframe n)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 6, 16, Lee does not teach wherein the second time window comprises fewer sub-windows than the first time window.
Hoss teaches wherein the second time window comprises fewer sub-windows than the first time window ([0054] “A UE 115 may establish a configuration for communication via a first traffic type (such as LTE) utilizing a first TTI length (e.g., a 1 ms TTI, or a subframe) and a second traffic type (such as ULL, URLLC, and the like) utilizing a second TTI length that is shorter than the first TTI length (e.g., a shortened TTI or sTTI). In some cases, each of the first traffic type or the second traffic type may be configured for supporting one or multiple different TTI lengths. The UE 115 may identify triggers for CSI reports associated with either the first traffic type or the second traffic type. The triggers for CSI reports may be separate (e.g., conveyed in control channels associated with the different traffic types) cross-type scheduled (e.g., a trigger for one traffic type may be received in a TTI or control channel associated with a different traffic type), or joint (e.g., triggers for multiple traffic types received in a TTI or control channel associated with one traffic type). ”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 7, 17 Lee does not teach wherein the time-duration of the sub-windows comprised in the second time window is shorter in time than the time-duration of the sub-windows comprised in the first time window.
Hoss teaches wherein the time-duration of the sub-windows comprised in the second time window is shorter in time than the time-duration of the sub-windows comprised in the first time window ([0082] “ For example, some LTE services may correspond to a TTI length of 1 ms. These types of services may correspond to a first traffic type. Alternatively, ULL services and URLLC may correspond to a second traffic, and such services may correspond to a second TTI length that is shorter than 1 ms (e.g., sTTI). In some cases, one traffic type may even support multiple TTI lengths (e.g., ULL or URLLC may support sTTIs of multiple lengths such as 2 symbol sTTIs, 3 symbol sTTIs, and/or slot-based sTTIs). In some examples, UE 115-b may signal a CSI processing capability, indicating to base station 105-b one or more supported configurations including a first number of supported CSI processes for the first traffic type (e.g., CSI processes) and a second number of supported CSI processes for the second traffic type (e.g., sCSI processes). The first traffic type may be configured for operation according to a first TM and the second traffic type may be configured for operation according to a second TM that is different from the first TM”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 8, 18, Lee does not teach wherein the second time window is shorter in time than the first time window.
Hoss teaches wherein the second time window is shorter in time than the first time window ([0054] “A UE 115 may establish a configuration for communication via a first traffic type (such as LTE) utilizing a first TTI length (e.g., a 1 ms TTI, or a subframe) and a second traffic type (such as ULL, URLLC, and the like) utilizing a second TTI length that is shorter than the first TTI length (e.g., a shortened TTI or sTTI)”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 9, 19, Lee does not teach wherein the second time window begins earlier or later in time than the first time window.
Hoss teaches wherein the second time window begins earlier or later in time than the first time window ([0072] “an sCSI report may puncture the PUSCH associated with CSI report 340. Puncturing may allow the UE 115 to transmit the sCSI report for a given sTTI reference resource even if the PUSCH encoding process has begun or finished. In such cases, the UE 115 may locate sTTI reference resource 335 closer to reporting subframe n+4. For example sTTI reference resource 335-b may be located in subframe n+3, [0088] “In some examples, UE 115-b may transmit the CSI report using PUSCH (e.g., in cases where a legacy or 1 ms DCI is used to trigger CSI reports for both 1 ms TTIs and sTTIs), which may, in some cases, be punctured by the generated CSI report (e.g., periodic or aperiodic) for the second traffic type”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Hoss. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to improve the efficiency of CSI reporting.
Regarding claim 10, 20, Lee teaches wherein the second set of one or more quantities comprises a subset of the first set of one or more quantities ([0193] “CSI reporting subset determination may be provided where there are limited UL resources available and may include a procedure used to select a subset of CSI reporting settings for aperiodic CSI reporting when an allocated resource is not enough”, [0122] “a WTRU may report a part (or portion of) a CSI report which may be triggered”).
Conclusion
/K.T.F./Examiner, Art Unit 2411
/DERRICK W FERRIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2411