DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-17 are pending.
Claims 9-13, and 15-16 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species II encompassing claims 1-8, 14 and 17 in the reply filed on 08/07/2026 is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 09/30/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and have been considered. An initialed copy of the Form 1449 is enclosed herewith.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. Examiner suggests that title maybe changed to provide more description regarding the instant invention. Therefore, a new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “workflow construction unit”, “workflow execution unit”, “chat service” and “print service” in claims 1-8, and 14.
A review of the specification, according to PG-Pub, shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre- AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
Workflow construction unit - workflow platform 130 such as PC provides a workflow construction unit, paragraphs 37, 100, 346.
Workflow execution unit - workflow control unit 435 of workflow platform such as PC controls the execution and stoppage of workflows saved in the workflow management unit 434. This execution of the workflow is an example of the workflow execution unit, paragraphs 37, 71, 77.
Chat service – personal computer, paragraphs 37-38
Print service - personal computer, paragraphs 37-38
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobashi, US 2022/0027109 in view of Lam et al., US 2017/0315789.
Regarding claim 1, Kobashi discloses workflow system (system including n information processing apparatus 101, an image forming apparatus 102, and a post-processing apparatus 103, paragraph 31) configured to execute a workflow (workflow is executed in the information processing apparatus, paragraph 33), the workflow system comprising:
a workflow platform (workflow setting application) that is a service configured to enable a user to construct a workflow (the workflow management screen of the workflow setting application includes a new workflow creation button 501 and when the UI unit 302 detects that a user presses the new workflow creation button 501, the UI unit 302 notifies the workflow editing unit 303 that a new workflow creation command is to be issued, paragraph 35);
a chat service (UI unit 302) that is a service configured to accept input from a user and perform notifications (UI unit 302 builds a graphical user interface (GUI) that accepts various input operations performed by a user and issues an notifications and instructions to workflow editing unit 303 for executing creation, editing, and registration of the workflow, for example, when the UI unit 302 detects that a user presses the new workflow creation button 501 then the UI unit 302 notifies the workflow editing unit that a new workflow creation command is to be issued, paragraphs 33, 35);
wherein the workflow platform comprises at least one processor or circuit (workflow setting application comprises WF editing unit 303, see fig. 2B, paragraph 33) configured to function as: a workflow construction unit (workflow editing unit 303) configured to construct a workflow in cooperation with the chat service (workflow editing unit 303 executes creation, editing, and registration of the workflow in cooperation with UI 302 such as when the UI unit 302 detects that a user presses the new workflow creation button 501 then the UI unit 302 notifies the workflow editing unit that a new workflow creation command is to be issued, paragraphs 33, 35, 46);
and a workflow execution unit (workflow control unit 304) configured to execute a workflow constructed by the workflow construction unit (workflow control unit 304 accesses the workflow control data 307 including the workflow process control table, which is control data used in creating a workflow, and executes various controls in editing the workflow of the product (cover, etc.) which was created by the editing unit 303, paragraphs 33, 36, 43);
wherein the workflow construction unit is configured to be capable of constructing a workflow using input accepted by the chat service (workflow editing unit 303 executes creation of the workflow in cooperation with UI 302 such as when the UI unit 302 detects that a user presses the new workflow creation button 501 then the UI unit 302 notifies the workflow editing unit that a new workflow creation command is to be issued and in response, the workflow editing unit 303 displays a new workflow creation screen on the display 207 via the UI unit 302, and upon user input such as detection of OK button via UI 302, the workflow editing unit 303 creates new workflow based on user input as shown in fig. 7b that illustrates a state where a workflow is newly created on the new workflow creation screen. At a point of time when the new workflow is just created, the icons (the cover 706, the body 707, the front page 708, the wraparound band 709) representing the respective parts are displayed, paragraphs 33-38).
Kobashi fails to explicitly disclose workflow system comprising: a chat service that is a service configured to perform notifications to a user.
However, Lam teaches a chat service that is a service configured to accept input from a user and perform notifications to a user (workflow designer 106 includes UI generator 110 which transmits workflow GUI information 140 to browser 136 to be displayed as workflow designer GUI 116 in display screen 108 in browser window 114. Workflow designer GUI 116 may be interacted with by the developer to select and configure workflow steps into a workflow. For example, the developer may insert and sequence a plurality of workflow steps in workflow designer GUI 116 for development/creation of workflows such as a developer developing a workflow may select push notification workflow step for inclusion. Push notification workflow step 2002 includes logic (e.g., with input and output parameters values defined by workflow definition information and an API defined by interface definition information in the form of two files, or other form) that executes a push notification to a defined user and waits for a response from the user to the push notification, paragraph 55, 57).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Regarding claim 14, Combination of Kobashi with Lam further teaches wherein the workflow construction unit is configured to construct a workflow in response to input to the chat service (Kobashi, workflow editing unit 303 executes creation, editing, and registration of the workflow in cooperation with UI 302 such as when the UI unit 302 detects that a user presses the new workflow creation button 501 then the UI unit 302 notifies the workflow editing unit that a new workflow creation command is to be issued, and in response, the workflow editing unit 303 displays a new workflow creation screen on the display 207 via the UI unit 302, and upon user input such as detection of OK button via UI 302, the workflow editing unit 303 creates new workflow based on user input as shown in fig. 7b that illustrates a state where a workflow is newly created on the new workflow creation screen. At a point of time when the new workflow is just created, the icons (the cover 706, the body 707, the front page 708, the wraparound band 709) representing the respective parts are displayed, paragraphs 33-38, 46); and wherein the workflow execution unit is configured to execute the workflow constructed by the workflow construction unit in response to input to the chat service (Kobashi, workflow control unit 304 accesses the workflow control data 307 including the workflow process control table, which is control data used in creating a workflow, and executes various controls in editing the workflow of the product (cover, etc.) which was created by the editing unit 303, paragraphs 33, 36, 43).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Regarding claim 17, it is a method version of claim 1, which recites similar features as claim 1 and thus is rejected on the same rationale.
Claims 2-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobashi, US 2022/0027109 in view of Lam et al., US 2017/0315789 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Kamath et al., US 2013/0117063.
Regarding claim 2, Combination of Kobashi with Lam further teaches a print service that is a service configured to manage an image processing apparatus (Kobashi, a print job management application 308 is a program module which is installed in the information processing apparatus 101 and which operates on the information processing apparatus 101. The print job management application receives an order for print production from a user via an order system, acquires, from the workflow DB, workflow information registered by the workflow setting application, and generates a print job corresponding to the order. The print job management application transmits the generated print job to the predetermined image forming apparatus 102 and the post-processing apparatus 103. Note that the print job management application and the workflow setting application may be integrated in one application, paragraph 33), wherein the workflow construction unit is configured to construct a workflow in cooperation with the print service and is configured to be capable of constructing a workflow using image data by the image processing apparatus in the print service (Kobashi, process performed by the print job management application 308 of information processing apparatus 101 to transmit a print job to the image forming apparatus 102 and the post-processing apparatus 103 according to the set workflow, wherein, a print job is generated based on the acquired workflow information. The print job management application 308 processes the document data acquired as the order information based on the acquired workflow information to generate a job ticket describing an instruction given to the image forming apparatus 102 and post-processing apparatus 103, paragraphs 67-70).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Kobashi with Lam fails to explicitly teach a service that is a service configured to manage an image processing apparatus comprising an image scanning function and to receive image data scanned by the image processing apparatus, wherein to construct a workflow in cooperation with the service and is configured to be capable of constructing a workflow using image data scanned by the image processing apparatus in the service.
However, Kamath teaches a print service that is a service configured to manage an image processing apparatus comprising an image scanning function and to receive image data scanned by the image processing apparatus, wherein to construct a workflow in cooperation with the print service and is configured to be capable of constructing a workflow using image data scanned by the image processing apparatus in the print service (user creates a workflow of visualizations of gadgets to perform a series of functions on a document. A user is able to drag-n-drop gadgets from the gadget side 310 to the workflow side 320 to create the "Project Scan-n-Print" workflow, paragraphs 24-25, 32, 46).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable with Kamath because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with creating, defining and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi and Lam to incorporate the teachings of Kamath for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations to be able to create and execute workflows that include a sequence of functional elements which are arranged into the sequence and saved as a workflow operation that is executed by one or more electronic devices as taught by Kamath at paragraph 10.
Regarding claim 3, Combination of Kobashi with Lam and Kamath further teaches a function to request the print service to add a profile related to scanning by the image processing apparatus (Kamath, user is able to drag-n-drop gadgets from the gadget side functions to create a workflow, wherein user can add scan gadget/profile to create the "Project Scan-n-Print" workflow, paragraphs 24-25, 32).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable with Kamath because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with creating, defining and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi and Lam to incorporate the teachings of Kamath for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations to be able to create and execute workflows that include a sequence of functional elements which are arranged into the sequence and saved as a workflow operation that is executed by one or more electronic devices as taught by Kamath at paragraph 10.
Regarding claim 4, Combination of Kobashi with Lam and Kamath further teaches a function to start a workflow by a scanning operation of the image processing apparatus (Kamath, when user creates the "Project Scan-n-Print" workflow, that workflow will start with a function of scanning operation first followed by the printing operation function, hence the title "Project Scan-n-Print", for example, in step 1, corresponding software of the scan gadget 235 is called and executed to perform a scan operation on a selected document and in step 3, the corresponding software of the print gadget 230 sends the document to a designated printer, paragraphs 24-25).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable with Kamath because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with creating, defining and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi and Lam to incorporate the teachings of Kamath for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations to be able to create and execute workflows that include a sequence of functional elements which are arranged into the sequence and saved as a workflow operation that is executed by one or more electronic devices as taught by Kamath at paragraph 10.
Regarding claim 5, Combination of Kobashi with Lam and Kamath further teaches a function to acquire from the print service image data scanned by the image processing apparatus (Kamath, in created "Project Scan-n-Print" workflow, corresponding software of the scan gadget 235 is called and executed to perform a scan operation on a selected document and the scanned data is obtained by the corresponding software of the print gadget 230 sends the document to a designated printer to perform printing as next step of the created workflow, paragraphs 24-25).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable with Kamath because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with creating, defining and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi and Lam to incorporate the teachings of Kamath for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations to be able to create and execute workflows that include a sequence of functional elements which are arranged into the sequence and saved as a workflow operation that is executed by one or more electronic devices as taught by Kamath at paragraph 10.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kobashi, US 2022/0027109 in view of Lam et al., US 2017/0315789 as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Milton et al., US 2022/0138198.
Regarding claim 6, Combination of Kobashi with Lam further teaches a function to acquire a list of parameters defined for operation of functions provided by the print service (Lam, the developer may insert and sequence a plurality of workflow parameters in workflow designer GUI 116 for development/creation of workflows, for example, step configuration UI generator 310 may generate a UI that enables the developer to type, navigate to, use a pull-down menu, or otherwise enter input data into a text input box or other data input element (e.g., input parameter) of a workflow step. The developer may configure an output of a prior step to be input data for a workflow step. Step configuration UI generator 310 may enable data or other objects to be copied and pasted, dragged and dropped, or otherwise entered copied from elsewhere into data input boxes of a workflow step, paragraph 66-68).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Kobashi with Lam fails to explicitly teach a list of rules defined for operation of functions provided in workflow.
However, Milton teaches a list of rules defined for operation of functions provided in workflow (in terms of a rule used in a workflow to make a match decision between an input and a candidate from the candidate list, multiple rule files can be defined. The name of the rule file can be specified in the workflow. Different workflows can use different rule files for evaluation, paragraph 74).
Kobashi, Lam and Kamath are combinable with Milton because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with optimizing and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi, Lam and Kamath to incorporate the teachings of Milton for the benefit of generating efficient workflows that are optimized to match input based on the generated match score for each candidate based on workflow rules as taught by Milton at paragraphs 10, 74.
Regarding claim 7, Combination of Kobashi with Lam further teaches a function to accept, via the chat service, selection of a parameter defined for operation of functions provided by the print service (Lam, the developer may insert and sequence a plurality of workflow parameters in workflow designer GUI 116 for development/creation of workflows, for example, step configuration UI generator 310 may generate a UI that enables the developer to type, navigate to, use a pull-down menu, or otherwise enter input data into a text input box or other data input element (e.g., input parameter) of a workflow step. The developer may configure an output of a prior step to be input data for a workflow step. Step configuration UI generator 310 may enable data or other objects to be copied and pasted, dragged and dropped, or otherwise entered copied from elsewhere into data input boxes of a workflow step, paragraph 66-68, 135).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Kobashi with Lam fails to explicitly teach a selection of a rule defined for operation of functions provided by workflow.
However, Milton teaches a selection of a rule defined for operation of functions provided by workflow (in terms of a rule used in a workflow to make a match decision between an input and a candidate from the candidate list, multiple rule files can be defined. The name of the rule file can be specified in the workflow. Different workflows can use different rule files for evaluation, paragraph 74).
Kobashi, Lam and Kamath are combinable with Milton because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with optimizing and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi, Lam and Kamath to incorporate the teachings of Milton for the benefit of generating efficient workflows that are optimized to match input based on the generated match score for each candidate based on workflow rules as taught by Milton at paragraphs 10, 74.
Regarding claim 8, Combination of Kobashi with Lam further teaches a function to modify processing of the workflow according to the parameter selected and accepted via the chat service (Lam, the developer may insert and sequence a plurality of workflow parameters in workflow designer GUI 116 for development/creation of workflows, for example, step configuration UI generator 310 may generate a UI that enables the developer to type, navigate to, use a pull-down menu, or otherwise enter input data into a text input box or other data input element (e.g., input parameter) of a workflow step. The developer may configure an output of a prior step to be input data for a workflow step. Step configuration UI generator 310 may enable data or other objects to be copied and pasted, dragged and dropped, or otherwise entered copied from elsewhere into data input boxes of a workflow step, paragraph 66-68, 135).
Kobashi and Lam are combinable because they both are in the same field of endeavor dealing with workflow systems for creation of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi to incorporate the teachings of Lam for the benefit of providing efficient workflow operations aiding in push notification workflow step that allows to wait for a response before enabling the workflow to continue as taught by Lam at paragraphs 6-7.
Kobashi with Lam fails to explicitly teach processing of the workflow according to the rule selected and accepted.
However, Milton teaches processing of the workflow according to the rule selected and accepted (in terms of a rule used in a workflow to make a match decision between an input and a candidate from the candidate list, multiple rule files can be defined. The name of the rule file can be specified in the workflow. Different workflows can use different rule files for evaluation, paragraph 74).
Kobashi, Lam and Kamath are combinable with Milton because they all are in the same field of endeavor dealing with optimizing and execution of workflows.
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Kobashi, Lam and Kamath to incorporate the teachings of Milton for the benefit of generating efficient workflows that are optimized to match input based on the generated match score for each candidate based on workflow rules as taught by Milton at paragraphs 10, 74.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Tajima, US 2020/0195793.
Suese, US 2011/0188877.
Rosanuru et al., US 2020/0128053.
Okayama, US 2023/0251807
/PAWAN DHINGRA/Examiner, Art Unit 2683
/ABDERRAHIM MEROUAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2683