DETAILED ACTION
This non-final Office action is responsive to the application filed September 30th, 2024. Claims 1-11 are presented for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 09/30/24 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation beginning “constructing” recites “each workflow module” which lacks antecedent basis;
the limitation beginning “constructing” recites “each node configuration” which lacks antecedent basis;
the limitation beginning “combining” recites “each workflow module” which lacks antecedent basis; and
the limitation beginning "sending" recites "the operation development end" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "an operation development end".
Dependent claims 2-9 are objected due to their dependency of independent claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation beginning "performing" recites "the workflow structure" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "a workflow structure"; and
the limitation beginning “constructing” recites “each workflow module” and “each node configuration” which lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation beginning "loading" recites "the operation content" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "operation content"; and
the limitation beginning “loading” recites “each workflow module” which lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitation beginning “loading” recites “each workflow module” which lacks antecedent basis. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation beginning "semantically" recites "the framework name" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "a framework name";
the limitation beginning "semantically" recites "each workflow module" which lacks antecedent basis; and
the limitation beginning "semantically" recites "the name" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "a name".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 6 is objected to because of the following informalities:
the limitation beginning "performing" recites "the at least one operation functional services" which lacks antecedent basis and should recite "the operation functional services";
The limitation beginning “saving” recites “the verification” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “verification”; and
The limitation beginning “saving” recites “the target execution workflow” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “a target execution workflow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 10 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities:
The limitation beginning “acquiring” recites “the operation development end” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “an operation development end”;
The limitation beginning “acquiring” recites “each workflow module” which lacks antecedent basis;
The limitation beginning “acquiring” recites “each node configuration content” which lacks antecedent basis;
The limitation beginning “receiving an execution workflow framework” recites “the operation content” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “operation content”;
The limitation beginning “receiving at least one operation functional service” recites “the verification” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “verification”; and
The limitation beginning “receiving at least one operation functional service” recites “the target execution workflow” which lacks antecedent basis and should recite “a target execution workflow”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: workflow module in claims 1-5 and 10-11.
When looking to the specification, the hardware structure associated with the “workflow module” is being interpreted as “computing unit,” please see at least Fig. 5 and [0077] of the instant specification. The corresponding algorithm of the “workflow module” can be found in at least Fig. 5 and corresponding paragraphs [0077]. This is to be the structure and algorithm required for the claim, or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter;
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so, it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Step 1: Independent claims 1 (method), 10 (device), and 11 (non-transitory machine-readable medium) and dependent claims 2-9, respectively, fall within at least one of the four statutory categories of 35 U.S.C. 101: (i) process; (ii) machine; (iii) manufacture; or (iv) composition of matter. Claim 1 is directed to a method (i.e. process), claim 10 is directed to a device (i.e. machine), and claim 11 is directed to a non-transitory machine-readable medium (i.e. manufacture).
Step 2A Prong 1: The independent claims recite generating an operation workflow, the method comprising: acquiring a workflow configuration content; constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content; combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework; and sending the execution workflow framework to the operation development end (Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity & Mental Process), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05). [Examiner notes the underlined limitations above recite the abstract idea].
Independent claims 10 and 11 additionally recite acquiring a workflow configuration content; constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content; combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework; and sending the execution workflow framework to the operation development end; or receiving an execution workflow framework sent by a platform development end; loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services; and sending the operation functional service to an operation manipulating end; or receiving at least one operation functional services sent by an operation development end; performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow; and saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow; or acquiring a workflow configuration content; constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content; combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework; and loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services; and performing functional services combination, based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow; and saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow (Certain Method of Organizing Human Activity & Mental Process), which are considered to be abstract ideas (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05). [Examiner notes the underlined limitations above recite the abstract idea].
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Certain Methods of Organizing Human Activity because the claimed limitations are generating an operation workflow comprising: combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework; performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow; performing functional services combination, based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow, which is managing personal behavior, relationships, and interactions. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are generating an operation workflow, which recite the abstract idea of Organizing Human Activity.
The steps/functions disclosed above and in the independent claims recite the abstract idea of Mental Process because the claimed limitations are generating an operation workflow comprising: constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content; combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework; performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow; performing functional services combination, based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow, which are observations, judgments, and evaluations of the human mind. The Applicant’s claimed limitations are generating an operation workflow, which recite the abstract idea of Mental Process.
In addition, dependent claims 2 and 5-9 further narrow the abstract idea and recite further defining the constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content; semantically mapping the framework name of each workflow module with the name of each operation module in the operation content; assigning a workflow number to the target execution workflow; and performing functional services combination based on operation requirements. These processes are similar to the abstract idea noted in the independent claims because they further the limitations of the independent claims which recite a certain method of organizing human activity which include managing personal behavior, relationships, and interactions as well as mental processes. Accordingly, these claim elements do not serve to confer subject matter eligibility to the claims since they recite abstract ideas. Dependent claims 3-4 will be discussed in Prong 2 analysis below.
Step 2A Prong 2: In this application, the above “acquiring a workflow configuration content; sending the execution workflow framework to the operation development end; receiving an execution workflow framework sent by a platform development end; loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services; sending the operation functional service to an operation manipulating end; receiving at least one operation functional services sent by an operation development end; saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity and merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception. Also, the claimed “workflow module; A device for generating an operation workflow, comprising: memory; and at least one processor; A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon a program code for operation workflow generation, wherein when the program code is executed by at least one processor, the code guides the execution operation of the at least one processor” would not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because the claimed structure merely adds the words to apply it with the judicial exception and mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
In addition, dependent claims 2 and 5-9 further narrow the abstract idea and dependent claims 3, 4, and 6 additionally recite “loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services”, “loading the operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content through a preset design pattern”, and “saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow” which do not account for additional elements that integrate the judicial exception (e.g. abstract idea) into a practical application because receiving/storing data and displaying data merely add insignificant extra-solution activity (See PEG 2019 and MPEP 2106.05).
The claimed “workflow module; A device for generating an operation workflow, comprising: memory; and at least one processor; A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon a program code for operation workflow generation, wherein when the program code is executed by at least one processor, the code guides the execution operation of the at least one processor” are recited so generically (no details whatsoever are provided other than that they are general purpose computing components and regular office supplies) that they represent no more than mere instructions to apply the judicial exception on a computer. These limitations can also be viewed as nothing more than an attempt to generally link the use of the judicial exception to the technological environment of a computer. Even when viewed in combination, the additional elements in the claims do no more than use the computer components as a tool. There is no change to the computers and other technology that is recited in the claim, and thus the claims do not improve computer functionality or other technology (See PEG 2019).
Step 2B: When analyzing the additional element(s) and/or combination of elements in the claim(s) other than the abstract idea per se the claim limitations amount(s) to no more than: a general link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment and merely amounts to the application or instructions to apply the abstract idea on a computer (See MPEP 2106.05 and PEG 2019). Further, method claims 1-9; device claim 10; and non-transitory computer-readable medium claim 11 recite “workflow module; A device for generating an operation workflow, comprising: memory; and at least one processor; A non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon a program code for operation workflow generation, wherein when the program code is executed by at least one processor, the code guides the execution operation of the at least one processor”; however, these elements merely facilitate the claimed functions at a high level of generality and they perform conventional functions and are considered to be general purpose computer components which is supported by Applicant’s specification in Paragraphs 0075-81 and Figure 5. The Applicant’s claimed additional elements are mere instructions to implement the abstract idea on a general purpose computer and generally link of the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. Also, the above “acquiring a workflow configuration content; sending the execution workflow framework to the operation development end; receiving an execution workflow framework sent by a platform development end; loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services; sending the operation functional service to an operation manipulating end; receiving at least one operation functional services sent by an operation development end; saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow” steps/functions of the independent claims would not account for significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art. When viewed as a whole, these additional claim element(s) do not provide meaningful limitation(s) to transform the abstract idea into a patent eligible application of the abstract idea such that the claim(s) amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
In addition, claims 2 and 5-9 further narrow the abstract idea identified in the independent claims. The Examiner notes that the dependent claims merely further define the data being analyzed and how the data is being analyzed. Similarly, claims 3, 4, and 6 additionally recite “loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services”, “loading the operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content through a preset design pattern”, and “saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow” which do not account for additional elements that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea because receiving data and displaying/presenting data (See MPEP 2106.05) have been identified as well-known, routine, and conventional steps/functions to one of ordinary skill in the art. The additional limitations of the independent and dependent claim(s) when considered individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The examiner has considered the dependent claims in a full analysis including the additional limitations individually and in combination as analyzed in the independent claim(s). Therefore, the claim(s) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka (U.S 2007/0288520 A1) in view of Werner (U.S 10,891,569 B1).
Claims 1, 10, and 11
Regarding Claim 1, Hatanaka discloses the following:
A method for generating an operation workflow, the method comprising [see at least Paragraph 0003 for reference to present invention relates to systems that use workflow logic at a Radio Frequency Identification (RFID) edge server wherein the workflows can be used to obtain RFID data and do operations at a site]
acquiring a workflow configuration content [see at least Paragraph 0011 for reference to metadata indicating configurable elements; Paragraph 0012 for reference to different types of workflow modules using different metadata that can indicate the different configurable elements; Paragraph 0028 for reference to the workflow module exposing a configuration parameter that the user sets to the name of the other WM instance]
constructing each workflow module based on each configuration content in the workflow configuration content [see at least Paragraph 0024 for reference to WM class can have an associated descriptor ("plugin meta') that defines the names and types of its configuration parameters, and that WM instances can be created, redefined, and destroyed through a config API; Paragraph 0028 for reference to WM interaction can allow customers to assemble several WM instances into a larger workflow, and thereby also gives a degree of workflow customization beyond merely changing configuration parameters; Paragraph 0030 for reference to a workflow system can provide the building blocks for rapid creation and deployment of workflow applications; Paragraph 0346 for reference to a Workflow Manager module providing service for configuring workflow parameters]
combining each workflow module, based on a workflow description in the workflow configuration content, to obtain an execution workflow framework [see at least Paragraph 0016 for reference to the workflow module being combined with other workflow modules to create a workflow; Paragraph 0020 for reference to workflow modules 202, 204, 206, and 208 can be combined to form a workflow; Paragraphs 0034-35 for reference to the workflow framework including a set of libraries, deployment modules, and services for workflows; Paragraph 0042 for reference to the plugin framework instantiates configured modules and provides a naming service to each module so the modules can interact with each other; Figure 1 and related text regarding items 102 ‘workflow module’, item 103 ‘workflow modules’, and item 105 ‘workflow’]
sending the execution workflow framework to the operation development end [see at least Paragraph 0310 for reference to a Workflow Software Development Kit (SDK) providing the building blocks for rapid creation and deployment of workflow applications; Paragraph 0321 for reference to SDK architecture can consist of a workflow framework, Java library components, and workflow deployment modules; Figure 4B and related text regarding the Software Development Kit (SDK)]
While Hatanaka discloses the limitations above, it does not disclose constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content.
However, Werner discloses the following:
A method for generating an operation workflow, the method comprising [see at least Col 2 lines 31-33 for reference to methods for implementing dynamic task discovery for workflow tasks; Figure 7 and related text regarding methods and techniques for setting or modifying configuration data for discoverable workflow task versions]
constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content [see at least Col 7 lines 65-67 and Col 8 lines 1-4 for reference to the workflow engine service providing different workflow engine to clients being implemented by multiple computing nodes; Col 8 lines 12-20 for reference to the workflow engine service implementing various different components or modules to provide workflow engines to clients by implementing a workflow generation/registration module to create (e.g., provide various information to generate one or more workflows); Col 9 lines 25-46 for reference to the workflow generation request utilizing configuration information; Figure 2 and related text regarding item 212 ‘workflow generation/registration module’; Figure 4 and related text regarding item 410 ‘workflow generation request’ and item 416 ‘other workflow configuration information’]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the workflow logic of Hatanaka to include the module configuration based on node configuration content of Werner. Doing so would provide workflow management services for a broad number of application services or products may lead toward greater cost savings and/or more efficient use of development resources for application providers, as stated by Werner (Col 1 lines 35-40).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, the claims recite limitations already addressed by the rejection of claim 1. Regarding claim 10, Hatanaka teaches a device for generating an operation workflow comprising a memory and at least one processor [Paragraph 0994 & 995]. Regarding claim 11, Hatanaka teaches a non-transitory machine-readable medium having stored thereon a program code for operation workflow generation, wherein when the program code is executed by at least one processor, the code guides the execution operation of the at least one processor [Paragraph 0995]. Therefore, claims 10 and 11 are rejected as being unpatentable over the combination of Hatanaka and Werner.
Claim 3
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, Hatanaka does not disclose loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services.
However, Werner discloses the following:
loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content, to obtain operation functional services [see at least Col 9 lines 59-63 for reference to workflow generation confirmation including individual task templates for each workflow task in the generated workflow (e.g., included executable code modules or source code for tasks in the workflow); Col 14 lines 11-14 for reference to the dynamically determined task version may be a code module which may be loaded or invoked to perform the version of the task]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the workflow logic of Hatanaka to include the operation code loading of Werner. Doing so would provide workflow management services for a broad number of application services or products may lead toward greater cost savings and/or more efficient use of development resources for application providers, as stated by Werner (Col 1 lines 35-40).
Claim 4
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, Hatanaka does not disclose wherein said loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content comprises: loading the operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content through a preset design pattern.
Regarding Claim 4, Werner discloses the following:
wherein said loading an operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework, based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content comprises: loading the operation code for each workflow module in the execution workflow framework based on the execution workflow framework and the operation content through a preset design pattern [see at least Col 9 lines 59-63 for reference to workflow generation confirmation including individual task templates for each workflow task in the generated workflow (e.g., included executable code modules or source code for tasks in the workflow); Col 13 lines 48-61 for reference to dynamic task configurations exposing a code module or executable configured to perform a version of a specific task then the dynamic determination of the task may be performed according to some lookup or other technique accessing the dynamic task configuration locally; Col 14 lines 11-14 for reference to the dynamically determined task version may be a code module which may be loaded or invoked to perform the version of the task]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the workflow logic of Hatanaka to include the operation code loading of Werner. Doing so would provide workflow management services for a broad number of application services or products may lead toward greater cost savings and/or more efficient use of development resources for application providers, as stated by Werner (Col 1 lines 35-40).
Claim 5
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 5, Hatanaka discloses the following:
semantically mapping the framework name of each workflow module with the name of each operation module in the operation content [see at least Paragraph 0046 for reference to class maintains the mapping between work flow module names and their corresponding Module objects; Paragraph 0233 for reference to Device Name can map to module instance name because there would be one module instance per data display (LED) physical device]
Claim 6
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 6, Hatanaka discloses the following:
performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow [see at least Paragraph 0395-0400 for reference to a standard tag and verify workflow supporting the following features; Figure 3F and related text regarding a workflow naming service interface that defines the services a Workflow Naming Service can provide; Figure 4B and related text regarding ‘Tag and Verify Workflow’ and ‘Label Reader’]
saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification to obtain the target execution workflow [see at least Paragraph 0425 for reference to the registering module within the workflow engine; Figure 4B and related text regarding the ‘Workflow Engine’ containing ‘Registry’]
Claim 7
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 7, Hatanaka discloses the following:
after said saving the operation workflow that has passed the verification, the said method further comprises: assigning a workflow number to the target execution workflow [see at least Paragraph 0395-0400 for reference to a standard tag and verify workflow supporting the following features; Figure 3F and related text regarding a workflow naming service interface that defines the services a Workflow Naming Service can provide; Figure 4B and related text regarding ‘Tag and Verify Workflow’ and ‘Label Reader’]
Claim 8
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 8, Hatanaka discloses the following:
wherein said performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services comprises: selecting a required operation functional service, based on the operation requirements, from at least one operation functional services through a visualization view tool, to perform functional service combination [see at least Paragraph 0934 for reference to the Visual Editor defining workflows; Paragraph 0945 for reference to All Workflow modules can implement the Module interface—these are the hooks the Workflow infrastructure uses to configure the module and inform the module of changes; Figure 3E and related text regarding a workflow module interface which can implement the Module interface can be the hooks the Workflow infrastructure uses to configure the module and inform the module of changes]
Claim 9
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, regarding Claim 9, Hatanaka discloses the following:
wherein, after performing functional services combination based on operation requirements and the at least one operation functional services, to obtain an operation workflow, the method further comprises: verifying the operation workflow [see at least Paragraph 0395-0400 for reference to a standard tag and verify workflow supporting the following features; Figure 3F and related text regarding a workflow naming service interface that defines the services a Workflow Naming Service can provide; Figure 4B and related text regarding ‘Tag and Verify Workflow’ and ‘Label Reader’]
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hatanaka (U.S 2007/0288520 A1) in view of Werner (U.S 10,891,569 B1), as applied in claim 1, in view of Sun (U.S 2007/0094211 A1).
Claim 2
While the combination of Hatanaka and Werner disclose the limitations above, they do not disclose wherein said constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content comprises: performing a legality check on the workflow configuration content to determine that the workflow structure corresponding to the workflow configuration content is a directed acyclic graph; and constructing each workflow module according to each node configuration content in the workflow structure, and performing a legality check on each workflow module.
Regarding Claim 2, Sun discloses the following:
wherein said constructing each workflow module based on each node configuration content in the workflow configuration content comprises: performing a legality check on the workflow configuration content to determine that the workflow structure corresponding to the workflow configuration content is a directed acyclic graph [see at least Paragraph 0045 for reference to a workflow is mapped to a PetriNet, certain proper ties dealing with the correctness of workflows, such as deadlocks, liveliness, and bounded-ness, can be verified using graph analysis; Paragraph 0071 for reference to the workflows considered are acyclic graphs; Paragraph 0076 for reference to an extended DAG structure: Hierarchical Dependence Graph (HDG), which represents a workflow 120, for example JDF, through exploring the process and resource dependences; Paragraph 0079 for reference to a directed acyclic graph being directed to a graph were no path starts and ends at the same vertex]
constructing each workflow module according to each node configuration content in the workflow structure, and performing a legality check on each workflow module [see at least Paragraph 0052 for reference to the inference engine generates all the possible workflows by checking valid connections between various services; Paragraph 0053 for reference to inference engine initially generates a permutation of valid paths by matching valid service and user requirements, and then generates all the combinations of all the valid paths which would generate possible workflow structures]
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the workflow module construction of Hatanaka to include the legality check of the workflow configuration using directed acyclic graphs of Sun. Doing so provides a formal way of modeling and evaluating workflows, which obviates the current intuitive, trial-and-error approach, as stated by Sun (Paragraph 0043).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Almeida, Joao Rafael, Ricardo F. Ribeiro, and José Luis Oliveira. "A Modular Workflow Management Framework." HEALTHINF. 2018.
DOCUMENT ID
INVENTOR(S)
TITLE
US 6,546,364 B1
Smirnov et al.
Method And Apparatus For Creating Adaptive Workflows
US 2003/0023472 A1
Lee et al.
Resource Object Access Method For Workflow Computing Environment, Involves Generating Collection Object Having Metadata Element For Each Resource Object Of Specified Type Based On Information Received From Application Engine
/KRISTIN E GAVIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3624