Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 37 and 49-51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913) in view of Peters et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0237819).
Regarding claim 37, Cardinell discloses a shelf (39 or 40, figure 1) comprising: a base member (any one of the shelves of rack 40 such as B, see EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) forming a support platform (B) to receive at least one object; wherein the base member has a first end region and a second opposite end region; and first and second hanging members (the side panels of rack 40) each comprising a panel to connect and suspend the base member to a closet shelf (22) with the base member (B) positioned beneath the closet shelf (22) and spaced apart therefrom (figure 4B); wherein the first hanging member (one of the side panel of rack 40) is connected to the first end region, and the second hanging member (the other side panel of rack 40) is connected to the second end region and further comprising a pair of attachment features (56 and 58, figure 3) to connect the hanging members to the closet shelf; wherein the base member (B) has a first width (figure 4A) that is less than a second width (width of 22, figure 4A) of the closet shelf (22) such that the base member (40) is sized to be offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22) and positioned between a closet rod (38) and an adjacent wall (24, figure 1, see figures 4A, 4B arrangement).
However, Cardinell does not disclose wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of attachment features supported by the respective panel and adapted to connect the respective hanging member to the closet shelf.
Peters discloses a shelf assembly (100, figures 1-4B) comprising: a base member (105, figure 2A) comprising a support platform (105) to receive at least one object; comprises a front flange (125, figure 2A) extending upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform (105), and a rear flange (120, figure 1) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform (105); wherein the front flange (125, figure 2A) and the support platform (105, figure 2A) define an obtuse angle therebetween, and wherein the rear flange (120, figure 1) and the support platform (105) are substantially perpendicular to one another; a first hanging member (110) comprising a panel extending upwardly from a first end region of the base member (105); and a second hanging member (115) comprising a panel extending upwardly from a second end region of the base member (105) opposite to the first end region; wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of attachment features (165 and 170) supported by the respective panel (110 and 170) and adapted to connect the respective hanging member to a support structure such as a closet rail (405, see paragraph [0027]). Such attachment feature has the well-known purposes of stabilizing the suspended unit on the closet rail.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the attachment features of Cardinell such that each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of attachment features supported by the respective panel and adapted to connect the respective hanging member to the closet shelf for supporting the shelf from the side panels of the hanging member as taught to be desirable by Peters for well-known purposes of stabilizing the suspended unit on the closet rail.
Regarding claim 46, Cardinell and Peters combined discloses the shelf of claim 37 wherein Cardinell discloses the at least one hanging member (54) further comprises a rear wall (R, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform, and a mounting flange (F, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) extending transversely to the rear wall (r, SEE MARKUP ABOVE, the mounting flange adapted to connect to a lower surface of the closet shelf (22, FIGURE 4a via 54).
Regarding claim 49, Cardinell and Peters combined discloses the shelf of claim 37 wherein Cardinell discloses the base member (B) further comprises a rear flange (R, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform (B, SEE MARKUP ABOVE).
Regarding claim 50, Cardinell and Peters combined discloses the shelf assembly wherein Cardinell discloses the shelf assembly comprising: a closet shelf (22, figure 1) to mount to a wall (24, figure 1); a closet rod (38) mounted to the closet shelf (22); and a shelf (40) according to claim 37, wherein the shelf (40) is removably supported by the closet shelf (22).
Regarding claim 51, Cardinell and Peters combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 50 wherein Cardinell discloses a front edge of the shelf (40) is offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22).
Claims 37, 41, 43, 50 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al (US 7798341 B2) in view of Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913)
With respect to claim 37, Richardson discloses a shelf comprising: a base member (21) forming a support platform to receive at least one object, wherein the base member has a first end region and a second opposite end region; and first and second hanging members (together 32 and 53 define hanging member on each side of shelf 21, figure 2), each comprising a panel (32 and 53 define a wire frame panel, figure 2) to connect and suspend the shelf base member (21) to a support structure (15) with the base member positioned beneath the support structure and spaced apart therefrom, wherein the first hanging member is connected to the first end region, and the second hanging member is connected to the second end region, and wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of attachment features (47, figure 5A) supported by the respective panel and adapted to connect the respective hanging member to the support structure.
However, Richardson does not disclose the specifics of the support structure as a closet shelf wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall.
Cardinell discloses a shelf (39 or 40, figure 1) comprising: a base member (any one of the shelves of rack 40 such as B, see EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) forming a support platform (B) to receive at least one object; and at least one hanging member (54, figure 4A) supported by the base member (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) and extending upwardly therefrom, the at least one hanging member (54) for use in connecting the shelf to a closet shelf (22) with the base member (B) positioned beneath the closet shelf (22) and spaced apart therefrom (figure 4B); wherein the base member (B) has a first width (figure 4A) that is less than a second width (width of 22, figure 4A) of the closet shelf (22) such that the base member (40) is sized to be offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22) and positioned between a closet rod (38) and an adjacent wall (24, figure 1, see figures 4A, 4B arrangement). Furthermore, Cardinell discloses “In operation, the attachment device 50 of the present invention is adapted for removable fastening or attachment to various portions of shelving 22, as is needed or required depending upon the shelving configuration or set-up. Specifically, and referring again to FIGS. 4(a)-(b) and 5(a)-(b), the attachment device 50 as shown therein is adapted for removable fastening to shelving either axially or transversely in relation to the wires 21 of the shelves 22 (e.g., ventilated shelves), with the storage unit opening remaining accessible (i.e., facing outward away from the shelving).” (see column 4, lines 32-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have connected the first and second hanging members of the shelf of Richardson to a rail member of the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall for storing objects beneath a closet shelf as taught to be desirable by Cardinell.
With respect to claim 41, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf of claim 37, wherein Richardson discloses each of the first and second hanging members (32 and 53) are connected to the support platform at a proximal end, and extend upwardly therefrom to a distal end wherein the distal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise the pair of attachment features (47, figure 5A) as a first pair of hooks (47, figure 5A and figure 2); and wherein the proximal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise a second pair of hooks (48, figure 5B and figure 2) to connect to the support platform (21).
With respect to claim 43, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf of claim 41, wherein Richardson discloses each of the base member (21,figure 2), the first hanging member (53 and 32 combined, figure 2), and the second hanging member (53 and 32, figure 2) comprise wireframe panels; and wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprise a panel is rotatably connected to the base member (figure 3), wherein each of the first and second hanging members are movable between a storage position (figure 3) with the distal ends adjacent to the base member, and a use position (figure 4) with the distal ends spaced apart from the base member.
Regarding claim 50, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly wherein Cardinell discloses the shelf assembly comprising: a closet shelf (22, figure 1) to mount to a wall (24, figure 1); a closet rod (38) mounted to the closet shelf (22); and a shelf (40) according to claim 37, wherein the shelf (40) is removably supported by the closet shelf (22).
Regarding claim 51, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 50 wherein Cardinell discloses a front edge of the shelf (40) is offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22).
Claims 38 and 49 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Richardson et al (US 7798341 B2) in view of Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913) as applied to claims 37, 41, 43, 50 and 51 above, and further in view of Li (US Patent No. D948899 S).
With respect to claim 38, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf of claim 37 as advanced above, except for wherein the base member further comprises a front flange extending upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform adjacent to the closet rod; and with respect to claim 49, Richardson and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf of claim 43 as advanced above except for wherein the base member further comprises a rear flange extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform.
Li discloses a shelf assembly (See examiner’s Markup of Li above) comprising: a base member (P) comprising a support platform (P) to receive at least one object; comprises a front flange (F1) extending upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform (P), and a rear flange (F2) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform (P); wherein the front flange (F1) and the support platform (P) define an obtuse angle therebetween, and wherein the rear flange (F2) and the support platform (P) are substantially perpendicular to one another; a first hanging member (H1) extending upwardly from a first end region of the base member (P); and a second hanging member (H2) extending upwardly from a second end region of the base member (P) opposite to the first end region; wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to a support structure within a closet (see title of Li, “hanging closet basket”). Such front and rear flanges on the shelf has the well-known purposes of preventing objects from sliding off the shelf.
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the shelf of Richardson and Cardinell combined such that the front flange extends upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform and a rear flange extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform as taught by Li for the well-known advantage of preventing objects on the shelf from sliding off.
Claims 52-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Peters et al (US Pub. No. 2024/0237819) in view of Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913).
Regarding claim 52, Peters discloses a shelf assembly (100, figures 1-4B) comprising: a base member (105, figure 2A) comprising a support platform (105) to receive at least one object; comprises a front flange (125, figure 2A) extending upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform (105), and a rear flange (120, figure 1) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform (105); wherein the front flange (125, figure 2A) and the support platform (105, figure 2A) define an obtuse angle therebetween, and wherein the rear flange (120, figure 1) and the support platform (105) are substantially perpendicular to one another; a first hanging member (110, 170, 165) extending upwardly from a first end region of the base member (105); and a second hanging member (115, 170 and 165) extending upwardly from a second end region of the base member (105) opposite to the first end region; wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to a support structure such as a closet rail (405, see paragraph [0027]).
However, Peters does not disclose the specifics of the support structure as a closet shelf wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall.
Cardinell discloses a shelf (39 or 40, figure 1) comprising: a base member (any one of the shelves of rack 40 such as B, see EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) forming a support platform (B) to receive at least one object; and at least one hanging member (54, figure 4A) supported by the base member (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) and extending upwardly therefrom, the at least one hanging member (54) for use in connecting the shelf to a closet shelf (22) with the base member (B) positioned beneath the closet shelf (22) and spaced apart therefrom (figure 4B); wherein the base member (B) has a first width (figure 4A) that is less than a second width (width of 22, figure 4A) of the closet shelf (22) such that the base member (40) is sized to be offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22) and positioned between a closet rod (38) and an adjacent wall (24, figure 1, see figures 4A, 4B arrangement). Furthermore, Cardinell discloses “In operation, the attachment device 50 of the present invention is adapted for removable fastening or attachment to various portions of shelving 22, as is needed or required depending upon the shelving configuration or set-up. Specifically, and referring again to FIGS. 4(a)-(b) and 5(a)-(b), the attachment device 50 as shown therein is adapted for removable fastening to shelving either axially or transversely in relation to the wires 21 of the shelves 22 (e.g., ventilated shelves), with the storage unit opening remaining accessible (i.e., facing outward away from the shelving).” (see column 4, lines 32-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have connected the first and second hanging members of the shelf of Peters to a rail member of the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall for storing objects beneath a closet shelf as taught to be desirable by Cardinell.
Regarding claim 53, Peters and Cardinell combined disclosed the shelf assembly of claim 52 as discussed above, and wherein Peters discloses each of the first and second hanging members (110, 115) comprise a panel rotatably connected to the base member (Peters in paragraph [0030] discloses “For example, the panels may be attached to each other in any suitable manner. In some embodiments, one or more panels may be stackable and/or foldable relative to other panels prior to assembly by a user for compact shipping to a user (e.g., shipping a stack of panels instead of an assembled pod).”), wherein each of the first and second hanging members are movable between a storage position with the distal ends adjacent to the base member), and a use position with the distal ends spaced apart from the base member (since Peters disclosed the panels 110, 115 can be foldable as discussed above, that means they are movable from a storage position where the distal ends adjacent to the base member and a use position where the distal ends are spaced apart from the base member when unfolded).
Regarding claim 54, Peters and Cardinell combined disclosed the shelf assembly of claim 52 as discussed above, and wherein Peters discloses the base member (105) further comprises a first end flange (110, figure 1 and 2A) extending upwardly from the support platform (105) at the first end region, and a second end flange (115) extending upwardly from the support platform (105) at the second end region; wherein a proximal end of the first hanging member (170 and 165) extends upwardly from a distal end of the first end flange (110); and wherein a proximal end of the second hanging member (170 and 165) extends upwardly from a distal end of the second end flange (115).
Claims 52 and 54-57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent No. D948899 S) in view of Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913).
Regarding claim 52, Li discloses a shelf assembly (See examiner’s Markup of Li above) comprising: a base member (P) comprising a support platform (P) to receive at least one object; comprises a front flange (F1) extending upwardly from a front edge region of the support platform (P), and a rear flange (F2) extending upwardly from a rear edge region of the support platform (P); wherein the front flange (F1) and the support platform (P) define an obtuse angle therebetween, and wherein the rear flange (F2) and the support platform (P) are substantially perpendicular to one another; a first hanging member (H1) extending upwardly from a first end region of the base member (P); and a second hanging member (H2) extending upwardly from a second end region of the base member (P) opposite to the first end region; wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to a support structure within a closet (see title of Li, “hanging closet basket”).
However, Li does not disclose the specifics of the support structure as being a closet shelf wherein the first and second hanging members are adapted to connect the base member to the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall.
Cardinell discloses a shelf (39 or 40, figure 1) comprising: a base member (any one of the shelves of rack 40 such as B, see EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) forming a support platform (B) to receive at least one object; and at least one hanging member (54, figure 4A) supported by the base member (B, SEE EXAMINER’S MARKUP ABOVE) and extending upwardly therefrom, the at least one hanging member (54) for use in connecting the shelf to a closet shelf (22) with the base member (B) positioned beneath the closet shelf (22) and spaced apart therefrom (figure 4B); wherein the base member (B) has a first width (figure 4A) that is less than a second width (width of 22, figure 4A) of the closet shelf (22) such that the base member (40) is sized to be offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22) and positioned between a closet rod (38) and an adjacent wall (24, figure 1, see figures 4A, 4B arrangement). Furthermore, Cardinell discloses “In operation, the attachment device 50 of the present invention is adapted for removable fastening or attachment to various portions of shelving 22, as is needed or required depending upon the shelving configuration or set-up. Specifically, and referring again to FIGS. 4(a)-(b) and 5(a)-(b), the attachment device 50 as shown therein is adapted for removable fastening to shelving either axially or transversely in relation to the wires 21 of the shelves 22 (e.g., ventilated shelves), with the storage unit opening remaining accessible (i.e., facing outward away from the shelving).” (see column 4, lines 32-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have connected the first and second hanging members of the shelf of Li to a rail member of the closet shelf with the base member positioned beneath the closet shelf and spaced apart therefrom; and wherein the base member is sized to be offset from a front edge of the closet shelf and positioned between a closet rod and an adjacent wall for storing objects beneath a closet shelf as taught to be desirable by Cardinell.
Regarding claim 54, Li and Cardinell combined disclosed the shelf assembly of claim 52 as discussed above, and wherein Li discloses the base member (P) further comprises a first end flange (F3) extending upwardly from the support platform (P) at the first end region, and a second end flange (F4) extending upwardly from the support platform (P) at the second end region; wherein a proximal end of the first hanging member (H1) extends upwardly from a distal end of the first end flange (F3); and wherein a proximal end of the second hanging member (H2) extends upwardly from a distal end of the second end flange (F4).
Regarding claim 55, Li and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 52 wherein Li discloses each of the base member (P), the first hanging member (H1), and the second hanging member (H2) comprise wireframe panels.
Regarding claim 56, Li and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 52 wherein Li discloses each of the first and second hanging members (H1 and H2) comprises a first hook (K1) at a proximal end thereof to connect to the base member, and a second hook (K2) at a distal end thereof to connect to the closet shelf.
With respect to claim 57 (new), Li and Cardnell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 52 as advanced above, wherein Cardinell teaches wherein the base member (B) has a first width (figure 4A) that is less than a second width (width of 22, figure 4A) of the closet shelf (22) such that the base member (40) is sized to be offset from a front edge (E, SEE MARKUP ABOVE) of the closet shelf (22) and positioned between a closet rod (38) and an adjacent wall (24, figure 1, see figures 4A, 4B arrangement).
With respect to claim 58. (New) , Li and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 52 as advanced above, wherein Li discloses the base member further comprises a first end flange (F3, see markup above) extending upwardly from the support platform at the first end region, and a second end flange (F4) extending upwardly from the support platform at the second end region; wherein each of the first and second hanging members (H1, H2) comprise a panel; wherein a proximal end of the first hanging member extends upwardly from a distal end of the first end flange; and wherein a proximal end of the second hanging member extends upwardly from a distal end of the second end flange.
Claims 59-62 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US Patent No. D948899 S) in view of Cardinell (US Patent no. 6915913) as applied to claim 52 above, and further in view of Richardson et al (US 7798341 B2).
With respect to claim 59. (New) Li and Cardinell combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 58, wherein Li discloses each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of first attachment features (the two bottom hooks of H) positioned at the proximal end thereof to connect to the base member, and one second attachment feature (the single hook at the top of H) positioned at the distal end thereof to connect to the closet shelf.
However, Li and Cardinell combine does not discloses wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of first attachment features positioned at the proximal end thereof to connect to the base member, and a pair of second attachment features positioned at the distal end thereof to connect to the closet shelf.
Richardson discloses a shelf comprising: a base member (21) forming a support platform to receive at least one object, wherein the base member has a first end region and a second opposite end region; and first and second hanging members (together 32 and 53 define hanging member on each side of shelf 21, figure 2), each comprising a panel (32 and 53 define a wire frame panel, figure 2) to connect and suspend the shelf base member (21) to a support structure (15) with the base member positioned beneath the support structure and spaced apart therefrom, wherein the first hanging member is connected to the first end region, and the second hanging member is connected to the second end region, and wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprises a pair of attachment features (47, figure 5A) supported by the respective panel and adapted to connect the respective hanging member to the support structure; wherein Richardson discloses each of the first and second hanging members (32 and 53) are connected to the support platform at a proximal end, and extend upwardly therefrom to a distal end wherein the distal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise the pair of attachment features (47, figure 5A) as a first pair of hooks (47, figure 5A and figure 2); and wherein the proximal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise a second pair of hooks (48, figure 5B and figure 2) to connect to the support platform (21).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to have modify the first and second pair of features of Li and Cardinell combined such that they are pair of hooks for stability purposes as taught to be desirable by Richardson.
With respect to claim 60. (New), Li, Cardinell, and Richardson combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 59 as advanced above, wherein Richardson teaches wherein the distal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise the pair of attachment features (47, figure 5A) as a first pair of hooks (47, figure 5A and figure 2); and wherein the proximal ends of each of the first and second hanging members comprise a second pair of hooks (48, figure 5B and figure 2) to connect to the support platform (21).
With respect to claim 61, Li, Cardinell, and Richardson combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 59, wherein Richardson discloses each of the base member (21,figure 2), the first hanging member (53 and 32 combined, figure 2), and the second hanging member (53 and 32, figure 2) comprise wireframe panels;
With respect to claim 62. (New), Li, Cardinell, and Richardson combined discloses the shelf assembly of claim 61, wherein Richardson discloses each of the base member (21,figure 2), the first hanging member (53 and 32 combined, figure 2), and the second hanging member (53 and 32, figure 2) comprise wireframe panels; and wherein each of the first and second hanging members comprise a panel is rotatably connected to the base member (figure 3), wherein each of the first and second hanging members are movable between a storage position (figure 3) with the distal ends adjacent to the base member, and a use position (figure 4) with the distal ends spaced apart from the base member.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/19/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments to claims 37 and its dependent claims are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection as outlined above. Regarding independent claim 52, applicant’s base argument is that “it is not apparent that the shelf 40 is offset before a front edge of the closet shelf and therefore this limitation is not taught or described by Cardinell” (page 9, last paragraph of remark section). Examiner disagrees. As reproduced below, Carinell. Figures 4A-4B of Cardinell clearly demonstrates that the shelf 40 is behind or offset from front edge (E, as marked below) and is between the closet rod (38) and the wall to which the shelf is mounted to. The two hook elements of Peters or LI are capable of hung on the wire shelf rod (ROD, MARKED BELOW) for supporting the hanging shelf assembly behind the rod (38) of the shelf taught by Cardinell.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (ROD)]
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art of record further demonstrate suspended shelves of interest.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Ko H Chan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3631
Khc